yes, therapy helps!
Partisan bias: a mental distortion that leads to partisanship

Partisan bias: a mental distortion that leads to partisanship

June 17, 2024

In the context of politics, the committed member of a political party is known as a "partisan," "partisan," or "partisan." In this sense, the partisan bias or partisan bias is the tendency to prefer the proposals of some parties or political actors to the detriment of others, considering our affinity with the party more than the content of said proposals.

All of the above occurs through an identification process that leads us to take certain positions, and in which different elements are involved that the studies on the partisan bias has allowed us to know . In this article we will see what this is about.

  • Related article: "Cognitive biases: discovering an interesting psychological effect"

What is partisan or partisan bias?

It is assumed that when we assume an inclination or position with respect to a party, it is because we have prioritized and even analyzed in depth its political proposals, independently of the affinity that the party itself generates.


The partisan bias shows us that, in reality, the opposite phenomenon usually occurs: even if we do not realize it, we tend to be guided more by our identification with the party, and not so much by their political proposals, when we assume a certain position. Evidently this ends up being decisive when developing opinions and making decisions in political activity.

In fact, scientific research in this context is abundant and has shown how partisanship has an important influence on individual and collective attitudes and behaviors.

On the other hand, studies in partisan bias have also observed how this bias often sneaks into the media and the information they transmit , benefiting some parties to the detriment of others, especially during election campaign periods.


But how is party bias generated? Do some people manifest it and others do not? Does identification with the party, and our political position, occur by a purely rational mechanism? or, are they mediated by an affective and emotional dimension? We will see below some proposals to answer these questions.

  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Political Psychology?"

Identification and partisanship: how is this bias generated?

As we have said, studies on partisan or partisan bias have shown how people tend to sympathize with the proposals of the parties with which we identify the most , regardless of the content of the proposal itself.

This identification refers to the process by which we recognize in the values ​​promoted by a party our own values, desires, interests, expectations, life stories, and so on. That is, the general preferences of a voter are combined with the general positions of a party, which implies an affective orientation of the individual towards this.


Research on party bias suggests that this arises from attempts to defend a highly valued group identity. In other words, this bias is generated as a psychological mechanism to reduce the anguish of disagreeing with a group to which we feel an important emotional attachment. The latter is what ultimately generates the motivation to follow the line or position of the party, and leave the content of your policy in the background .

As with other group identifications, this process is established from the earliest moments of our life and from the significant changes that occur in our immediate environment.

Thus, we tend to approve the policies of a party or candidate a priori, even without having to carry out an in-depth analysis of them or a process of collation with the policies of other candidates or parties.

In the same sense we tend to discard, also a priori, the proposals of the opposing parties without having reviewed them in depth . All this because it allows us to reduce the cognitive effort that would involve finding ourselves in opposition; It is preferable to choose any position that adopts the part we prefer.

A study on affective orientation

In a study on physiological responses related to partisan bias, Michael Bang, Ann Giessing and Jesper Nielsen (2015) analyze the participation of the affective dimension in the identification process with a political party in the Danish population. 27 men and 31 women between 19 and 35 years participated, many of them affiliated to political parties both center-left and center-right .

In a laboratory they measured the changes that occurred in the activity of the sympathetic nervous system (linked to the emotional and affective activity) of the participants, before the visual presentation of logos of different parties. They also used partisan signals as advertising sponsors and specific political proposals.

Subsequently, the participants were questioned to determine if they were in agreement with the proposals of the parties to which they were affiliated, or to those who showed affinity without necessarily being affiliated. In this they found that there was greater approval of the political proposals when the participants were affiliated .

On the other hand, when analyzing the reactions of the sympathetic nervous system to the presented stimuli, they found that the partisan bias only manifested itself in the people who exhibited a strong physiological reaction during the exposure to the advertising sponsors. From this it is concluded that there is a very important affective component in the identification towards the parties, which finally generates a partisan bias.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bang, M., Giessing, A. and Nielsen, J. (2015). Physiological responses and partisan bias: beyond self-reported measures of party identification, 10 (5): DOI: 10.1371 / journal.pone.0126922.
  • Bullock, J., Gerber, A., Hill, S. and Huber, G. (2013). Partisan bias in factual beliefs about politics. NBER: Massachusetts.
  • Echeverría, M. (2017). Partisan bias in the news media. A methodological criticism and proposal. Communication and Society, 30: 217-238.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Partisan: une distorsion mentale menant à la partisanerie

Partisan: une distorsion mentale menant à la partisanerie

Septembre 18, 2019

Dans le contexte de la politique, le membre engagé d'un parti politique est appelé "partisan", "partisan" ou "partisan". En ce sens, le parti pris partisan ou parti pris est la tendance à préférer les propositions de certains partis ou acteurs politiques au détriment des autres, considérant notre affinité avec le parti plus que le contenu desdites propositions.

Tout ce qui précède se produit à travers un processus d’identification qui nous amène à prendre certaines positions et dans lequel différents éléments sont impliqués que les études sur le parti pris nous a permis de savoir . Dans cet article, nous verrons de quoi il s’agit.

  • Article connexe: "Biais cognitifs: découvrir un effet psychologique intéressant"

Qu'est-ce qu'un parti pris ou un parti pris?

On suppose que lorsque nous assumons une inclination ou une position vis-à-vis d'un parti, c'est parce que nous avons hiérarchisé et même analysé en profondeur ses propositions politiques, indépendamment de l'affinité que génère le parti lui-même.


La partialité partisane nous montre que, dans la réalité, le phénomène inverse se produit généralement: même si nous ne le réalisons pas, nous avons tendance à être davantage guidés par notre identification au parti que par leurs propositions politiques, lorsque nous adoptons une certaine position. Évidemment cela finit par être décisif lors de l'élaboration des opinions et la prise de décisions dans l'activité politique.

En fait, la recherche scientifique dans ce contexte est abondante et a montré à quel point la partisanerie avait une influence importante sur les attitudes et les comportements individuels et collectifs.

D'autre part, des études sur les biais partisans ont également montré comment ce biais se faufile souvent dans les médias et les informations qu'ils transmettent , bénéficiant à certains partis au détriment d’autres, en particulier en période de campagne électorale.


Mais comment le parti pris est-il généré? Est-ce que certaines personnes le manifestent et d'autres pas? L'identification avec le parti et notre position politique se font-elles par un mécanisme purement rationnel? ou sont-ils médiés par une dimension affective et émotionnelle? Nous verrons ci-dessous quelques propositions pour répondre à ces questions.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie politique?"

Identification et partisanerie: comment ce biais est-il généré?

Comme nous l’avons dit, des études sur les préjugés partisans ou partisans ont montré comment les gens ont tendance à sympathiser avec les propositions des partis avec lesquels nous identifions le plus , quel que soit le contenu de la proposition elle-même.

Cette identification fait référence au processus par lequel nous reconnaissons dans les valeurs promues par un parti nos propres valeurs, désirs, intérêts, attentes, histoires de vie, etc. C'est-à-dire que les préférences générales d'un électeur sont combinées aux positions générales d'un parti, ce qui implique une orientation affective de l'individu vers cela.


Les recherches sur les partis politiques suggèrent que cela découle de tentatives de défense d'une identité de groupe hautement valorisée. En d'autres termes, ce biais est généré en tant que mécanisme psychologique pour réduire l'angoisse de désaccord avec un groupe auquel nous ressentons un attachement émotionnel important. Ce dernier est ce qui génère finalement la motivation pour suivre la ligne ou la position du parti, et laissez le contenu de votre politique en arrière-plan .

Comme pour les autres identifications de groupe, ce processus est établi dès les premiers instants de notre vie et des changements importants qui se produisent dans notre environnement immédiat.

Nous avons donc tendance à approuver a priori les politiques d’un parti ou d’un candidat, même sans avoir à les analyser de manière approfondie ni à les rapprocher des politiques d’autres candidats ou partis.

Dans le même sens, nous avons tendance à écarter, même à priori, les propositions des parties adverses sans les avoir revues en profondeur . Tout cela parce que cela nous permet de réduire l'effort cognitif qui impliquerait de nous trouver en opposition; Il est préférable de choisir une position qui adopte la partie que nous préférons.

Une étude sur l'orientation affective

Dans une étude sur les réponses physiologiques liées aux partisans, Michael Bang, Ann Giessing et Jesper Nielsen (2015) analysent la participation de la dimension affective au processus d'identification d'un parti politique dans la population danoise. 27 hommes et 31 femmes entre 19 et 35 ans ont participé, beaucoup d'entre eux sont affiliés à des partis politiques de centre-gauche et de centre-droit .

Dans un laboratoire, ils ont mesuré les changements survenus dans l'activité du système nerveux sympathique (lié à l'activité émotionnelle et affective) des participants, avant la présentation visuelle des logos de différentes parties. Ils ont également utilisé des signaux partisans comme sponsors publicitaires et des propositions politiques spécifiques.

Par la suite, les participants ont été interrogés pour déterminer s’ils étaient d’accord avec les propositions des parties auxquelles ils étaient affiliés ou avec ceux qui faisaient preuve d’affinité sans nécessairement s’affilier. En cela, ils ont constaté que il y avait une plus grande approbation des propositions politiques lorsque les participants ont été affiliés .

D'autre part, en analysant les réactions du système nerveux sympathique aux stimuli présentés, ils ont constaté que le parti pris partisan ne se manifestait que chez les personnes ayant présenté une forte réaction physiologique lors de l'exposition aux sponsors publicitaires. On en conclut qu’il existe un élément affectif très important dans l’identification vis-à-vis des parties, qui génère finalement un parti pris partisan.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bang, M., Giessing, A. et Nielsen, J. (2015). Réponses physiologiques et biais partisans: au-delà des mesures auto-déclarées d'identification de parti, 10 (5): DOI: 10.1371 / journal.pone.0126922.
  • Bullock, J., Gerber, A., S. Hill et Huber, G. (2013). Partisan dans les croyances factuelles sur la politique. NBER: Massachusetts.
  • Echeverría, M. (2017). Partisan dans les médias. Une critique méthodologique et une proposition. Communication et société, 30: 217-238.

CIA Covert Action in the Cold War: Iran, Jamaica, Chile, Cuba, Afghanistan, Libya, Latin America (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes