yes, therapy helps!
Parts of the Nervous System: functions and anatomical structures

Parts of the Nervous System: functions and anatomical structures

March 20, 2023

Like the rest of animals, human beings are capable of perceiving and assimilating information both from the external space that surrounds them and from their own interior; capturing, consciously or unconsciously, the signals that the same body emits from any part of it.

The nervous system is responsible for receiving and issuing these signals, managing and organizing the various tasks and activities of the body. This task has made it considered the most complex structure of all that work in the human body. But being complicated to understand does not mean that we can not understand, at least superficially, how it is and how it works. We'll see now what are the parts of the nervous system and what are their tasks .


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the Nervous System and what parts does it have?

The nervous system has the function of organize, coordinate and govern the tasks that the human body carries out , constituting itself as a kind of internal network that covers the entire body. For this, it uses a grouping of organs and structures whose fundamental task is to collect and process the stimuli and signals, coming from both inside and outside, in order to achieve an adequate interaction with everything that surrounds the person.

All this set is originated from nervous tissue of ectodermic origin, this means that it is part of all those parts of the body that were first formed in the embryo.


Likewise, This nervous tissue is made up of cells called neurons , which are cells specialized in communicating through chemical and electrical signals that travel throughout the human body to reach the brain, which processes and sends a response to the rest of the body flies.

It has been found that the number of neurons that make up the brain is around 100.00 million.

There are several ways to study and divide the human nervous system, this article will focus on the anatomical point of view. From this perspective, this complex structure is formed by the central nervous system (CNS), which includes the brain and spinal cord; and the peripheral nervous system (SNP) which is composed of all the nerves that start from the CNS and extend throughout the body.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

The central nervous system (CNS)

The central nervous system has a series of own characteristics. Some of these are:


  • Its most important organs are highly protected of the external environment, specifically by three membranes called meninges.
  • The functional cells of the central nervous system are grouped into two different organizations: white matter and gray matter.
  • The means of transmission of information is through small holes located in the brain and in the marrow, within which is the cerebrospinal fluid.

As we saw earlier, the central nervous system is made up of two different structures: the brain and the spinal cord.

1. Encephalon

The brain is the structure of the central nervous system that is inside the skull . This set of organs dominates all the corporal aspects, including all the voluntary and involuntary functions that a person can do.

From the anatomical point of view The brain includes the brain, the cerebellum and the brainstem , these also being formed by other structures that are explained below.

1.1. Brain

It is the best-known organ of this whole system and also the one that has a larger size.

The brain is divided into two large hemispheres, the left hemisphere and the right , and in the middle of which is the interhemispheric fissure. Also, these two hemispheres communicate through a bundle of nerve fibers called the corpus callosum.

The outer area of ​​the brain it is known as cerebral cortex , formed from matter and gray, which takes the form of folds called convolutions. Under this layer of gray matter is the white matter. Further. The gray matter is also part of other structures such as the thalamus, the caudate nucleus and the hypothalamus.

Among many other functions, the brain is responsible for processing information from different senses, as well as controlling movement, cognition, emotions, memory and learning.

1.2. Cerebellum

Located in the lower and posterior part of the brain, the cerebellum is responsible for integrate the sensory and motor processes of the human body .

This is connected to other brain structures and the spinal cord by an infinity of nerve bundles, so that it gets to participate in all the signals that the cortex sends to the locomotor system.

Also, recent studies have revealed that it is possible for the cerebellum to participate in other functions, including those related to cognitive processing and language, learning, and even in the processing of other sensory stimuli such as music.

  • Related article: "Human cerebellum: its parts and functions"

1.3. Brain stem

Also known as brainstem or brainstem, this is the largest communication route between the brain, spinal cord and peripheral nerves. Likewise, this system formed by gray and white matter is able to control various tasks such as breathing or heart rate.

The structures that are part of the brainstem are the mesencephalon, the annular protuberance and the medulla oblongata , also known as medulla oblongata.

  • Related article: "Trunk of the encephalon: functions and structures"

2. Spinal cord

The spinal cord has the fundamental mission of transport nerve impulses from the brain to the 31 pairs of nerves of the peripheral nervous system.

There are two main ways in which the information passes:

  • Via afferent: in which information flows from the trunk, neck and all four limbs to the brain.
  • Via efferent: the signals travel from the brain to the rest of the body.

Also, some of its other tasks involve the control of vegetative and immediate movements.

Peripheral nervous system

The peripheral nervous system is responsible for transmit signals through the spinal and spinal nerves , which are outside the central nervous system but have the purpose of connecting it with the rest of structures and systems.

If we continue with the anatomical classification, the SNP is composed of cranial and spinal nerves.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Peripheral nervous system (autonomous and somatic): parts and functions"

3. Cranial nerves

The cranial nerves are composed of 12 pairs of nerves, hence they are also known as cranial nerves. These originate in the brain and at the height of the brainstem, distributing through the body through holes located at the base of the skull, neck, thorax and abdomen.

These nerves are born according to the work they will perform. Those who are responsible for transmitting motor information travel the efferent route , and have their origin in the brainstem.

While the fibers responsible for sensory and sensory signals, which cross the afferent pathway, are born outside the brainstem.

4. Spinal nerves

The spinal nerves or spinal nerves, are 31 pairs of nerves that are responsible for transmitting sensory signals, such as touch or pain, from the trunk and the four extremities to the central nervous system . In addition, they mediate information on posture, musculature and joints, then taking the information from the SCN to the rest of the body.

There is another classification of the peripheral nervous system according to the function of each of its pathways; separating between somatic nervous system , responsible for intermediating between the internal body and the external environment; and the autonomic or vegetative nervous system, which mediates the connections and internal communication of the body.


Anatomy of the Spinal Cord and How it Works (March 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Parties du système nerveux: fonctions et structures anatomiques

Parties du système nerveux: fonctions et structures anatomiques

Juillet 26, 2022

Comme le reste des animaux, les êtres humains sont capables de percevoir et d'assimiler des informations à la fois de l'espace extérieur qui les entoure et de leur propre intérieur; capturer, consciemment ou inconsciemment, les signaux que le même corps émet de n’importe quelle partie de celui-ci.

Le système nerveux est responsable de la réception et de l'émission de ces signaux, de la gestion et de l'organisation des différentes tâches et activités du corps. Cette tâche en a fait la structure la plus complexe de tout ce qui fonctionne dans le corps humain. Mais être compliqué à comprendre ne signifie pas que nous ne pouvons pas comprendre, du moins superficiellement, comment cela se passe et comment cela fonctionne. Ensuite nous verrons quelles sont les parties du système nerveux et quelles sont leurs tâches .


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Qu'est-ce que le système nerveux et quelles sont ses parties?

Le système nerveux a la fonction de organiser, coordonner et diriger les tâches que le corps humain accomplit , se constituant comme une sorte de réseau interne qui couvre tout le corps. Pour cela, il utilise un groupe d'organes et de structures dont la tâche fondamentale est de collecter et de traiter les stimuli et les signaux, provenant de l'intérieur et de l'extérieur, afin de réaliser une interaction adéquate avec tout ce qui entoure la personne.

Tout cet ensemble provient d’un tissu nerveux d’origine ectodermique, c’est-à-dire qu’il fait partie de toutes les parties du corps initialement formées dans l’embryon.


De même Ce tissu nerveux est constitué de cellules appelées neurones , sont des cellules spécialisées dans la communication par le biais de signaux chimiques et électriques qui traversent le corps humain pour atteindre le cerveau, qui traite et envoie une réponse au reste du corps.

Il a été constaté que le nombre de neurones composant le cerveau avoisine les 100 millions.

Il existe plusieurs façons d'étudier et de diviser le système nerveux humain. Cet article se concentre sur le point de vue anatomique. Dans cette perspective, cette structure complexe est formée par le système nerveux central (SNC), qui comprend le cerveau et la moelle épinière; et le système nerveux périphérique (SNP), composé de tous les nerfs qui partent du SNC et s’étendent dans tout le corps.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Le système nerveux central (SNC)

Le système nerveux central possède une série de caractéristiques propres. Certains d'entre eux sont:


  • Ses organes les plus importants sont hautement protégés de l'environnement externe, en particulier par trois membranes appelées méninges.
  • Les cellules fonctionnelles du système nerveux central sont regroupées en deux organisations différentes: la substance blanche et la substance grise.
  • Le moyen de transmission de l’information se fait par de petits trous situés dans le cerveau et dans la moelle osseuse, dans lesquels se trouve le liquide céphalorachidien.

Comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, le système nerveux central est constitué de deux structures différentes: le cerveau et la moelle épinière.

1. encéphale

Le cerveau est la structure du système nerveux central qui se trouve à l'intérieur du crâne . Cet ensemble d’organes domine tous les aspects corporels, y compris toutes les fonctions volontaires et involontaires qu’une personne peut accomplir.

Du point de vue anatomique Le cerveau comprend le cerveau, le cervelet et le tronc cérébral , celles-ci étant également formées par d'autres structures expliquées ci-dessous.

1.1. Cerveau

C'est l'organe le plus connu de tout ce système et aussi celui qui a une plus grande taille.

Le cerveau est divisé en deux grands hémisphères, l'hémisphère gauche et le droit et au milieu de laquelle se trouve la fissure interhémisphérique. En outre, ces deux hémisphères communiquent à travers un faisceau de fibres nerveuses appelé corps calleux.

La zone externe du cerveau il est connu comme le cortex cérébral , formé à partir de matière et de gris, qui prend la forme de plis appelés convolutions. Sous cette couche de matière grise se trouve la matière blanche. En outre. La matière grise fait également partie d'autres structures telles que le thalamus, le noyau caudé et l'hypothalamus.

Parmi de nombreuses autres fonctions, le cerveau est responsable du traitement des informations provenant de différents sens, ainsi que du contrôle des mouvements, de la cognition, des émotions, de la mémoire et de l'apprentissage.

1.2. Cervelet

Situé dans la partie inférieure et postérieure du cerveau, le cervelet est responsable de intégrer les processus sensoriels et moteurs du corps humain .

Ceci est relié aux autres structures du cerveau et à la moelle épinière par une infinité de faisceaux nerveux, de sorte qu'il puisse participer à tous les signaux que le cortex envoie au système locomoteur.

En outre, des études récentes ont révélé qu'il était possible pour le cervelet de participer à d'autres fonctions, notamment celles liées au traitement cognitif et au langage, à l'apprentissage, et même au traitement d'autres stimuli sensoriels tels que la musique.

  • Article connexe: "Cervelet humain: ses parties et ses fonctions"

1.3. Tronc cérébral

Également appelé tronc cérébral, il s’agit de la plus grande voie de communication entre le cerveau, la moelle épinière et les nerfs périphériques. De même, ce système formé de matière grise et blanche est capable de contrôler diverses tâches telles que la respiration ou la fréquence cardiaque.

Les structures qui font partie du tronc cérébral sont le mésencéphale, la protubérance annulaire et le bulbe rachidien , également appelée médulla oblongate.

  • Article connexe: "Tronc de l'encéphale: fonctions et structures"

2. moelle épinière

La moelle épinière a la mission fondamentale de transporter les impulsions nerveuses du cerveau aux 31 paires de nerfs du système nerveux périphérique.

Les informations sont transmises de deux manières principales:

  • Par afférence: dans laquelle l'information circule du tronc, du cou et des quatre membres jusqu'au cerveau.
  • Via efférente: les signaux voyagent du cerveau vers le reste du corps.

En outre, certaines de ses tâches impliquent le contrôle des mouvements végétatifs et immédiats.

Système nerveux périphérique

Le système nerveux périphérique est responsable de transmettre des signaux à travers les nerfs spinaux et spinaux , qui sont en dehors du système nerveux central mais ont pour but de le relier au reste des structures et des systèmes.

Si nous continuons avec la classification anatomique, le SNP est composé de nerfs crâniens et spinaux.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Système nerveux périphérique (autonome et somatique): parties et fonctions"

3. nerfs crâniens

Les nerfs crâniens sont composés de 12 paires de nerfs et sont donc également appelés nerfs crâniens. Celles-ci prennent naissance dans le cerveau et à la hauteur du tronc cérébral, se distribuant dans le corps à travers des trous situés à la base du crâne, du cou, du thorax et de l'abdomen.

Ces nerfs naissent en fonction du travail qu'ils vont accomplir. Ceux qui sont responsables de la transmission des informations sur le moteur empruntent la voie la plus éloignée , et ont leur origine dans le tronc cérébral.

Alors que les fibres responsables des signaux sensoriels et sensoriels, qui traversent la voie afférente, naissent en dehors du tronc cérébral.

4. nerfs spinaux

Les nerfs spinaux, ou nerfs spinaux, sont 31 paires de nerfs responsables de la transmission des signaux sensoriels, tels que le toucher ou la douleur, du tronc et des quatre extrémités au système nerveux central . En outre, ils transmettent des informations sur la posture, la musculature et les articulations, puis transmettent les informations du SCN au reste du corps.

Il existe une autre classification du système nerveux périphérique en fonction de la fonction de chacune de ses voies; séparer entre système nerveux somatique , responsable de l’intermédiaire entre le corps interne et l’environnement externe; et le système nerveux autonome ou végétatif, qui assure la médiation des connexions et de la communication interne du corps.


Chapitre 5 - 1ère Partie : Organisation du système nerveux et du neurone - Cours de Biologie (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes