yes, therapy helps!
Paul Feyerabend: biography of this philosopher

Paul Feyerabend: biography of this philosopher

September 17, 2022

When we think of science as a whole, we can usually get a somewhat romantic idea of ​​something unified in its conception despite being able to divide into multiple disciplines, there being great coincidences in how data are interpreted and what methodology is used with the order to try to explain the reality. However, this is not the case: throughout history there have been numerous ways of seeing and doing science , passing among others by empiricism, rationalism or scientific realism.

Each of these perspectives has different implications at the level of research and has different considerations regarding what things are, how they should be investigated and even what effect a belief has on a certain theory about the phenomena observed. One of the most critical visions is Paul Feyerabend's epistemological anarchism. It is about this author that we are going to talk about in this article, in which we are going to make a little biography of Paul Feyerabend .


  • Related article: "Rudolf Carnap: biography of this analytical philosopher"

Brief biography of Paul Feyerabend

Paul Karl Feyerabend was born in the city of Vienna in 1924, being the only son of a middle-class family at a time characterized by famine after the First World War and the inflation that weighed on the economy of the country. As an official father and seamstress mother, he was held at an advanced age due to the difficulties of life at that time.

Since childhood he showed great intelligence. He studied at a Realgymnasium in his hometown, learning natural sciences, Latin and English and obtaining very high grades. Also, in some subjects such as physics and mathematics he seemed to have a greater mastery even than his own teachers. As well would show off certain eccentric, ironic and sarcastic behavior , to the point of being expelled from school.


During this same vital stage he began to acquire a great taste for reading (including philosophy books, a subject that would begin to interest him and in which he would stand out many years later), theater and singing (getting to do classes in the latter and participating in choirs).

When in 1938 Germany annexed Austria to the third Reich , his parents were happy about it and the young Feyerabend (then a teenager) was impressed by the oratory of Hitler, although he would never become an extremist supporter of the Nazis. According to his own autobiography, those years prior to the Second World War, when he observed political changes and ethnic persecution, were confusing for him.

The Second World War

World War II would break out in 1939, a year before Feyerabend graduated from high school. Once graduated, in 1940, was incorporated into the compulsory labor service introduced by the Nazis, the Arbeitsdienst . After being trained in Pirmasens he would be sent to France, performing the task of digging and preparing ditches. At that time I would begin to value the idea of ​​joining the army, specifically the SS, asking to join the front.


After leaving compulsory service, he returned to Vienna but immediately enlisted in the army. He joined the Wehrmacht Pioneers Corps, receiving military training and subsequently volunteering at the officer school in Yugoslavia, in 1942. There he would receive some hard news, which, however, did not generate an intense response: his mother had dead, committing suicide. His autobiography indicates that he hoped that the war would have ended before finishing his training, but it was not like this: Feyerabend would be sent to the battle front in Russia .

He received the Iron Cross of second class in 1944, after having successfully occupied a village under enemy fire, the same year being promoted to lieutenant. After that he would be sent to Poland in 1945, where the Nazi army had to start retreating while the Soviets advanced. There he would receive several shots in the hands and in the gut, affecting one of them to his spine and leaving him paralyzed. He was sent to a hospital in Apolda, where he would spend the rest of the war recovering from his injuries. However, although he walked again the impact of the bullet caused that in future he needed cane the rest of his life.

After the war and still recovering, he would work temporarily as a playwright in Apolda and work in the local education department. As he was improving his health status and his abilities he moved to Weimar. There he entered various centers such as the Weimar Academy to perform different courses of singing, theater, Italian, piano, stage direction and vocalization.

University studies

In 1947 Feyerabend He returned to Vienna, where he would start university studies . Initially he studied History and Sociology since another of his favorite branches, physics, seemed far from reality after the experiences in the war. However, his studies did not seem satisfactory and he decided to leave History and start studying Physics at the University of Vienna.

During his studies he also received philosophy classes , that would deeply call your attention. Initially, he would embrace a positivist and empiricist view of science, even though contact with professionals such as Ehrenhaft influenced his later vision. He wrote his first article in 1947, about illustration in physics.

In 1948 met Karl Popper at a seminar at the Austrian Society in Alpbach , something that would awaken the germ of a change in its position regarding science. He continued attending the meetings and seminars of that society, at first as a mere spectator but little by little getting to expose and even to act as scientific secretary. There he would also meet Hollitscher, who would convince him that it is realism that guides and allows the progress of research in science and not positivism or empiricism. That same year he would marry for the first time an ethnography student named Edeltrud, although they would soon be separated.

In addition to the above, in 1949 also became part of the Kraft Circle , a group of students and philosophers gathered around the figure of the only survivor of the members of the Circle of Vienna, Víctor Kraft, whose activity was based on the discussion of philosophical issues from a scientific perspective. In this circle he met numerous personalities of great relevance.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Karl Popper's philosophy and psychological theories"

Development of his philosophy

Finished his studies Feyerabend began to develop a doctoral thesis focused on electrodynamics, but failed to solve a number of problems in that field and chose to vary the subject of his thesis from physics to philosophy. Thus, and under the direction of Kraft, he received his doctorate in 1951 with the thesis Zur Theorie der Basissätze, in which discussed the basic statements that underlie scientific knowledge according to logical positivism .

After this and after rejecting an offer to become secretary of Bertolt Brecht, he tried to be accepted as a disciple by another author of the Kraft Circle, Wittgenstein. Although he accepted, unfortunately died before Feyerabend could work with him, in 51. Despite this he managed to work with Karl Popper, whose defense of falsificationism (belief that you can not prove the veracity of a theory but its falsehood through experimentation) and critical rationalism convinced him initially, abandoning empiricism and positivism definitely.

In 1952 Feyerabend presented his ideas regarding scientific change. A year later he would return to Vienna, where he would work in several universities and later as an assistant to Arthur Pap. This would introduce him to Herbert Feigl, who would influence Feyerabend's ideas with his realistic stance (in line with Popper's point of view). He wrote several philosophical articles on quantum mechanics , of great relevance, he considered that the quantum theory was not unquestionable.

In 1955 he was appointed Professor of Philosophy of Science at the University of Bristol. A year later and after knowing and being influenced by professionals such as David Bohm, Joseph Agassi or Philipp Frank, he would marry for the second time an ex-student named Mary O'Neill who would also be separated after a year (it would not be the last of his wives, having married a total of four times throughout his life). They began to publish some of his most critical works with empiricism, embracing scientific realism and Popper's vision and considering that the interpretation of a relationship is determined by the theories used to explain them.

Relocation and life in the United States

In 1958 he also received an offer to work as a professor at the University of Berkeley, an offer he accepted. In 1959 he was nationalized as an American, and in 1960 he joined the University of California where, under the influence of Kuhn, he began to use historical examples in his work. In his works of this time the concept of incommensurability arises , which determines the impossibility of comparing two theories that do not enjoy the same theoretical language.

He participated in the student revolts and began to be born in him some interest in politics, making various types of protest and was even about to be expelled from the University of Berkeley after approving students without having finished the course as a method of protest. Also the contact with the hippie movement that prevailed in those years influenced his thinking.In 65 he participated in a seminar in Hamburg, in which his thought would end up being derived to what he would later call epistemological anarchism, which is one of his main contributions.

In this context, and alternating his work in Berkeley with those of California (to which he would end up resigning in 1968) and later with others that he would realize in London, Berlin, Yale and Auckland, the author's thought went away more and more from the traditional positions and was also moving away from falsificationism and rationalism.

He met Imre Lakatos in London , with whom I would have a great friendship that would last until the death of the latter. With him he had planned to make a publication as an intellectual debate called For and Against Method, making Lakatos a defense of the rationalist conception of science while Feyerabend would attack it.

However Lakatos died in 1974, without completing his part of the work. Feyerabend would finish and publish his in the book Against Method, a year after the death of his friend. In this publication I would fully embrace epistemological anarchism , considering that there are no universal methodological rules that always generate the progress of science and that it is necessary to vary the methodology to be able to carry out an authentic development of knowledge. Deep criticism of this publication was made, something that despite actively responding led to a fall in depression (as happened after the death of Lakatos).

In the 80's I continue to work in Berkeley, as well as in Zurich , mostly as a philosophy professor.

His death and legacy

Feyerabend's health had several ups and downs throughout his life, but it would be in the nineties when the author suffered a final deterioration. In 1991 he retired, thinking about enjoying his retirement and writing a final book. However, unfortunately in 1993 he was found a brain tumor. He continued and finished the writing of the book, his autobiography, with the title of Killing Time: The Autobiography of Paul Feyerabend. In 1995, after several problems such as suffering from a stroke, the tumor would end up killing him on February 11, 1994, at the Genolier clinic in Switzerland.

Even though his ideas were highly controversial and criticized , the legacy of Paul Feyerabend is of great interest to science, given that his idea of ​​epistemological anarchism and its contributions throughout his life allow a different view of science and stimulate the need to vary the general methodology that applies face to generate new advances.

Bibliographic references:

  • Feyerabend, P. K .; (1996) Killing Time. University of Chicago Press. Chicago
  • Tejada, J.A. (2017). Paul Karl Feyerabend: an anarchist proposal against scientific rationalism. Pural, 1 (1): 3-52.

Paul Feyerabend Interview (1993) (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Paul Feyerabend: biographie de ce philosophe

Paul Feyerabend: biographie de ce philosophe

Septembre 22, 2020

Lorsque nous pensons à la science dans son ensemble, nous pouvons généralement avoir une idée un peu romantique de quelque chose d’unifié dans sa conception, même s’il est capable de se diviser en plusieurs disciplines. Il existe donc de grandes coïncidences dans la façon dont les données sont interprétées et quelle méthodologie est utilisée avec le logiciel. afin d’essayer d’expliquer la réalité. Cependant, ce n'est pas le cas: tout au long de l'histoire il y a eu de nombreuses façons de voir et de faire de la science , passant entre autres par l'empirisme, le rationalisme ou le réalisme scientifique.

Chacune de ces perspectives a des implications différentes au niveau de la recherche et des considérations différentes concernant ce que sont les choses, comment elles devraient être étudiées et même quel effet une croyance a sur une certaine théorie des phénomènes observés. L'anarchisme épistémologique de Paul Feyerabend est l'une des visions les plus critiques. C'est à propos de cet auteur que nous allons parler dans cet article, dans lequel nous allons faire une petite biographie de Paul Feyerabend .


  • Article connexe: "Rudolf Carnap: biographie de ce philosophe analytique"

Brève biographie de Paul Feyerabend

Paul Karl Feyerabend est né à Vienne en 1924. Il était le fils unique d'une famille de la classe moyenne à une époque caractérisée par la famine qui a suivi la Première Guerre mondiale et l'inflation qui a pesé sur l'économie du pays. En tant que père officiel et mère de couturière, il était détenu à un âge avancé en raison des difficultés de la vie à cette époque.

Depuis son enfance, il a fait preuve d'une grande intelligence. Il a étudié dans un Realgymnasium dans sa ville natale, apprenant les sciences naturelles, le latin et l'anglais et obtenant de très bonnes notes. En outre, dans certaines matières telles que la physique et les mathématiques, il semblait avoir une plus grande maîtrise que ses propres professeurs. Aussi montrerait certains comportements excentriques, ironiques et sarcastiques , au point d'être expulsé de l'école.


Durant cette même étape vitale, il commence à acquérir un goût prononcé pour la lecture (y compris les livres de philosophie, sujet qui commencera à l’intéresser et dans lequel il se distinguera de nombreuses années plus tard), le théâtre et le chant (apprendre à y suivre des cours). et participer à des chorales).

Quand en 1938, l'Allemagne annexa l'Autriche au troisième Reich , ses parents étaient heureux et le jeune Feyerabend (alors adolescent) était impressionné par l’oratoire de Hitler, bien qu’il ne devienne jamais un partisan extrémiste des nazis. Selon sa propre autobiographie, les années précédant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, lorsqu'il observait des changements politiques et des persécutions ethniques, étaient source de confusion pour lui.

La seconde Guerre mondiale

La Seconde Guerre mondiale éclaterait en 1939, un an avant que Feyerabend obtienne son diplôme d'études secondaires. Une fois diplômé, en 1940, a été intégré au service de travail obligatoire introduit par les nazis, l’Arbeitsdienst . Après avoir été formé à Pirmasens, il serait envoyé en France pour y creuser et préparer des fossés. À ce moment-là, je commençais à apprécier l'idée de rejoindre l'armée, en particulier les SS, demandant à rejoindre le front.


Après avoir quitté le service obligatoire, il est retourné à Vienne mais s'est immédiatement enrôlé dans l'armée. Il rejoignit le corps des pionniers de la Wehrmacht après avoir suivi une formation militaire et ensuite fait du bénévolat à l'école d'officiers en Yougoslavie en 1942. Il y recevait des nouvelles dures, qui ne suscitaient toutefois pas une réaction intense: sa mère avait mort, se suicider. Son autobiographie indique qu'il espérait que la guerre serait finie avant la fin de son entraînement, mais ce n'était pas comme ça: Feyerabend serait envoyé au front en Russie .

Il reçut la Croix de fer de deuxième classe en 1944, après avoir occupé avec succès un village sous le feu ennemi, et fut promu lieutenant cette même année. Après cela, il serait envoyé en Pologne en 1945, où l'armée nazie devait commencer à se replier pendant que les Soviétiques progressaient. Là, il aurait reçu plusieurs coups de feu dans les mains et l’intestin, affectant l’un d’eux à la colonne vertébrale et le laissant paralysé. Il a été envoyé dans un hôpital à Apolda, où il passera le reste de la guerre à se remettre de ses blessures. Cependant, bien qu'il ait encore marché l'impact de la balle a causé qu'il avait besoin de canne à l'avenir le reste de sa vie.

Après la guerre et toujours en convalescence, il travaillait temporairement comme auteur dramatique à Apolda et travaillait dans le département de l'éducation locale. Alors qu'il améliorait son état de santé et ses capacités, il a déménagé à Weimar. Là, il entra dans divers centres tels que l'Académie de Weimar pour effectuer différents cours de chant, théâtre, italien, piano, mise en scène et vocalisation.

Etudes universitaires

En 1947, Feyerabend Il est retourné à Vienne, où il commencerait des études universitaires . Au début, il étudia l'histoire et la sociologie puisqu'un autre de ses domaines de prédilection, la physique, semblait loin de la réalité après les expériences de la guerre. Cependant, ses études ne semblant pas satisfaisantes, il décida de quitter l’histoire et de commencer des études de physique à l’Université de Vienne.

Pendant ses études, il a également suivi des cours de philosophie , cela attirerait votre attention. Au départ, il adopterait une vision positiviste et empiriste de la science, même si le contact avec des professionnels tels que Ehrenhaft avait influencé sa vision ultérieure. Il a écrit son premier article en 1947 sur l'illustration en physique.

En 1948 a rencontré Karl Popper lors d'un séminaire à la Société autrichienne d'Alpbach , quelque chose qui réveillerait le germe d’un changement de position vis-à-vis de la science. Il a continué d'assister aux réunions et aux séminaires de cette société, d'abord en tant que spectateur, mais peu à peu, il a pu exposer et même agir en tant que secrétaire scientifique. Il y rencontrerait également Hollitscher, qui le convaincrait que c’est le réalisme qui guide et permet le progrès de la recherche scientifique et non le positivisme ou l’empirisme. La même année, il épousera pour la première fois un étudiant en ethnographie, Edeltrud, qui sera bientôt séparé.

En plus de ce qui précède, en 1949 fait également partie du cercle de Kraft , un groupe d’étudiants et de philosophes réunis autour de la figure du seul survivant des membres du Cercle de Vienne, Víctor Kraft, dont l’activité était basée sur la discussion des questions philosophiques d’un point de vue scientifique. Dans ce cercle, il a rencontré de nombreuses personnalités d'une grande pertinence.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Philosophie et théories psychologiques de Karl Popper"

Développement de sa philosophie

Ayant terminé ses études, Feyerabend a commencé à développer une thèse de doctorat axée sur l'électrodynamique, mais n'a pas réussi à résoudre un certain nombre de problèmes dans ce domaine et a choisi de varier le sujet de sa thèse de la physique à la philosophie. Ainsi, et sous la direction de Kraft, il obtint son doctorat en 1951 avec la thèse Zur Theorie der Basissätze, dans laquelle discuté des déclarations de base qui sous-tendent les connaissances scientifiques selon le positivisme logique .

Après cela et après avoir rejeté une offre de devenir secrétaire de Bertolt Brecht, il tenta d'être accepté comme disciple par un autre auteur du cercle de Kraft, Wittgenstein. Bien qu'il ait accepté, il est malheureusement décédé avant que Feyerabend ne puisse travailler avec lui, en 51. Malgré cela, il réussit à collaborer avec Karl Popper, dont la défense du falsificationnisme (conviction que vous ne pouvez pas prouver la véracité d'une théorie mais ses le mensonge par l'expérimentation) et le rationalisme critique l'ont d'abord convaincu, abandonnant définitivement l'empirisme et le positivisme.

En 1952, Feyerabend exposa ses idées concernant le changement scientifique. Un an plus tard, il reviendrait à Vienne, où il travaillerait dans plusieurs universités et plus tard en tant qu'assistant d'Arthur Pap. Cela le présenterait à Herbert Feigl, qui influencerait les idées de Feyerabend par son attitude réaliste (en accord avec le point de vue de Popper). Il a écrit plusieurs articles philosophiques sur la mécanique quantique , d’une grande pertinence, il a estimé que la théorie quantique n’était pas indiscutable.

En 1955, il fut nommé professeur de philosophie des sciences à l'Université de Bristol. Un an plus tard, après avoir connu et influencé des professionnels tels que David Bohm, Joseph Agassi ou Philipp Frank, il épousa pour la deuxième fois une ancienne étudiante, Mary O'Neill, qui serait également séparée après un an (ce ne serait pas le dernier de ses épouses, ayant épousé au total quatre fois au cours de sa vie). Ils ont commencé à publier certaines de ses œuvres les plus critiques avec l'empirisme, embrasser le réalisme scientifique et la vision de Popper et considérant que l'interprétation d'une relation est déterminée par les théories utilisées pour les expliquer.

Délocalisation et vie aux Etats-Unis

En 1958, il accepta également de travailler comme professeur à l'Université de Berkeley. En 1959, il est nationalisé en tant qu'Américain et, en 1960, il entre à l'Université de Californie où, sous l'influence de Kuhn, il commence à utiliser des exemples historiques dans son travail. Dans ses œuvres de cette époque, le concept d'incommensurabilité se pose , qui détermine l’impossibilité de comparer deux théories qui ne jouissent pas du même langage théorique.

Il a participé aux révoltes étudiantes et a commencé à susciter chez lui un certain intérêt pour la politique, en manifestant divers types de protestations et était même sur le point d'être expulsé de l'Université de Berkeley après avoir approuvé des étudiants sans avoir terminé le cours en tant que méthode de protestation. Le contact avec le mouvement hippie qui a prévalu durant ces années a également influencé sa pensée.À 65 ans, il participa à un séminaire à Hambourg, au cours duquel sa pensée serait dérivée de ce qu'il appellerait plus tard l'anarchisme épistémologique, qui est l'une de ses principales contributions.

Dans ce contexte, et alternant ses travaux à Berkeley avec ceux de Californie (auxquels il démissionnerait en 1968) et plus tard avec d'autres qu'il réaliserait à Londres, Berlin, Yale et Auckland, la pensée de l'auteur s'éloigna de plus en plus de la positions traditionnelles et s’éloignait également du falsificationnisme et du rationalisme.

Il a rencontré Imre Lakatos à Londres avec qui j’aurais une grande amitié qui durerait jusqu’à la mort de ce dernier. Avec lui, il avait prévu de faire une publication sous forme de débat intellectuel appelé Pour et contre la méthode, faisant de Lakatos une défense de la conception rationaliste de la science alors que Feyerabend l'attaquerait.

Cependant Lakatos est décédé en 1974, sans avoir terminé sa part du travail. Feyerabend finirait et publierait le sien dans le livre Contre la méthode, un an après la mort de son ami. Dans cette publication, j'embrasserais pleinement l'anarchisme épistémologique , considérant qu’il n’existe pas de règles méthodologiques universelles générant toujours les progrès de la science et qu’il est nécessaire de faire varier la méthodologie pour pouvoir réaliser un développement authentique des connaissances. Cette publication a suscité de vives critiques, ce qui malgré une réaction active a entraîné une chute de la dépression (comme ce fut le cas après le décès de Lakatos).

Dans les années 80 Je continue à travailler à Berkeley, ainsi qu'à Zurich , principalement en tant que professeur de philosophie.

Sa mort et son héritage

La santé de Feyerabend a connu plusieurs hauts et bas au cours de sa vie, mais ce serait dans les années quatre-vingt-dix lorsque l'auteur aurait subi une détérioration définitive. En 1991, il prend sa retraite, songeant à profiter de sa retraite et à écrire un dernier livre. Malheureusement, en 1993, il a été trouvé une tumeur au cerveau. Il a poursuivi et terminé l’écriture du livre, son autobiographie, avec le titre de Killing Time: l'autobiographie de Paul Feyerabend. En 1995, après plusieurs problèmes comme un accident vasculaire cérébral, la tumeur finira par le tuer le 11 février 1994 à la clinique Genolier en Suisse.

Bien que ses idées étaient très controversées et critiquées , l'héritage de Paul Feyerabend est d'un grand intérêt pour la science, étant donné que son idée d'anarchisme épistémologique et ses contributions tout au long de sa vie permettent une vision différente de la science et suscitent la nécessité de faire varier la méthodologie générale qui s'applique face à générer de nouvelles avancées.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Feyerabend, P. K .; (1996) Killing Time. Presses de l'Université de Chicago. Chicago
  • Tejada, J.A. (2017). Paul Karl Feyerabend: une proposition anarchiste contre le rationalisme scientifique. Pural, 1 (1): 3-52.

Tomas Petricek on Paul Feyerabend's The Against Method (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes