yes, therapy helps!
People with AIDS: these are their special needs

People with AIDS: these are their special needs

June 17, 2024

Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome or AIDS is one of the biggest pandemics worldwide that exist today, being still today an incurable disease of great severity. The suffering of AIDS is a severe blow for those who suffer from it, being a very serious condition in which any infection can become complicated to dangerous levels and, without treatment, even deadly.

In the absence of a curative treatment, the prevention of this disease is fundamental, and there is a vast amount of information available about both AIDS and human immunodeficiency virus infection (which originates it).

But despite the fact that there are large prevention campaigns, many people do not just know what it is exactly or understand the emotional suffering of those who suffer from it. What is this disease and how do people with AIDS live with their condition? How can this disease be treated? We will talk about it along the following lines.


  • Related article: "Dementia associated with HIV: symptoms, stages and treatment"

Symptoms of Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome

It is called Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome or AIDS to the last stage of infection by the human immunodeficiency virus or HIV, being a very serious syndrome that appears when the immune system has been practically destroyed and stops being able to deal with infections. Specifically, those who have it have a number of T lymphocytes (especially CD4 +) below 200 per cubic millimeter of blood, something insufficient to protect the body from opportunistic infections or certain cancers (some of which increase the possibility of appearance) .


Although HIV infection itself may not generate symptoms, if this infection leads to AIDS, the appearance of sudden and rapid weight loss, fatigue at the minimum effort, headaches, fevers, edema in the lymph nodes are frequent. , diarrhea that may continue for a month, kaposi sarcomas (vascular tumors in the form of spots and red lesions that in fact can in many cases be one of the clearest signs of AIDS).

All this is due to the affectation of the virus , as well as the loss of the ability of the immune system to protect itself. In addition to this, the symptoms of opportunistic infections that may happen, such as tuberculosis (the main cause of death of infected people in African countries) may be added.

It is common that neurological or nervous alterations also appear, such as motor slow down, tingling or loss of muscle tone. In some cases cognitive impairment and emotional and behavioral problems also appear , and sometimes even it can generate a fast dementia in which the patient loses faculties quickly until his death a few months later.


All this without taking into account the deep emotional impact that the fact of receiving the diagnosis implies, which often generates panic and anxiety and can easily lead to the suffering of a depression. The person with AIDS can have a constant feeling of being threatened and in danger , have a feeling of lack of control over the situation, hopelessness, feelings of guilt and fear of their future. In some cases, ideas and suicide attempts may also appear.

In addition, it has to face a situation with deadly potential that will generate the need to change the habits of life , such as taking medication or other self-management strategies. Finally, it can also lead to the loss of a partner, work or even travel restrictions.

It is important to bear in mind that, fortunately, AIDS today is a syndrome that does not have to appear in those who are infected with HIV, since The existing treatments, although they do not cure the infection, do allow control . Now, in the absence of adequate treatment, most people will develop it.

Also, when there is no treatment (especially in those countries with a poor health system, such as in poor areas of Africa) AIDS can cause death a few years after its appearance, which is a problem that remains very serious and that causes the death of millions of people even today (although it is not so common in Western society).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 types of viruses, and how they work"

How do people with AIDS get it? Contagion

AIDS is, as we have said, a syndrome that occurs in the final and most severe stages of HIV infection, the latter being the cause of Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. Said infection reaches the human organism through contact between mucous membranes and infected fluids , mainly blood and sexual fluids. Breast milk could also cause the transmission of the virus. Other fluids such as saliva, feces, mucus, vomit or urine have a very limited or no viral load.

Thus, the infection usually comes through the maintenance of unprotected sex in which they come into contact with mucous membranes or through the shared use of syringes in drug addicts, or razor blades. Formerly it was infected through blood transfusions, although at present this is not likely.

It could also be spread from mother to child in the case of pregnant women , at the time of delivery or during breastfeeding. However, casual contact, hugs, kisses, sharing cutlery or glasses, using the same toilet or bathing in the same pool are not contagious methods.

It's important to put attention on what is contagious is the HIV virus, not AIDS itself . From the infection, the worsening of the situation will be progressive, expanding the virus through the body and increasing the viral load while destroying the lymphocytes and the immune system.

Among other things, there is a decrease in lymphoids (which generate lymphocytes) for example in the digestive tract. Initially it is usual that symptoms do not occur, although in the long run and if you get to suffer from AIDS the previous problems may appear.

Treatment of this disease

AIDS is a serious condition that without treatment can cause death in a few years . But even though it is still a very serious condition in areas with a sanitary level, there are enough treatments that make the survival rate even when HIV leads to AIDS is much higher, not being a death sentence as before (although it is still a serious illness).

The first of the treatments that must be taken into account is the pharmacological, being like in other phases of the infection the taking of antiretrovirals necessary to maintain the remains of the immune system, slightly increasing the levels of lymphocytes and decreasing the viral load to the pair that diminishing the possibility of suffering other infections, improving both the life expectancy and the quality of it. For this, it is used a treatment that includes multiple antiretrovirals, such as zidovudine or tenofovir .

However, it is likely that this treatment may cause the inflammatory syndrome of immune reconstitution, an alteration of inflammatory type that does not however prevent the treatment from being followed.

Given that the immune system has already lost most of its capacity to defend itself in AIDS, it is essential to carry out periodic checks (every six months or one year) and employ preventive measures to avoid as much as possible the arrival of opportunistic infections, as well as to control the possible emergence of tumors (more frequent and dangerous when AIDS exists). In addition to this measures should be taken to prevent possible bone, liver and kidney damage, and control and encourage the feeding and avoidance of drugs and alcohol.

Psychological care for people with AIDS

People with AIDS are suffering from one of the most feared diseases worldwide, something that undoubtedly and as we have said previously can generate a series of serious emotional and cognitive complications that can even worsen their health status. In this sense, those affected by this disease may require psychological treatment .

The first thing to keep in mind in these cases is that the subject is facing a very distressing situation, requiring emotional containment and the possibility of expressing their fears, doubts and thoughts in an environment where they do not feel judged and that generates the enough confidence. It will also need, especially in case the diagnosis is unexpected (for example a case that did not know the fact of being infected until then), psychoeducational guidelines to understand what is happening and what preventive measures should be taken.

It is essential to work adherence to treatment with antiretrovirals, as well as to the extent possible the prevention of substance abuse and risk practices.

It is not uncommon for some people with HIV or AIDS to think that because they already have the infection they can have unprotected relationships with other people with the same disease, but the fact is that since there are a variety of strains of HIV, it could generate superinfections much more dangerous and difficult to treat. Psychoeducation is not only necessary for the patient himself , but it can also be essential for the couple of this and / or their closest environment.

Another aspect to highlight is the need to work on the significance of AIDS for the patient, how the person lives, his / her state of health, the meaning it gives him / her and how he / she feels about it.

In addition to this it will also be necessary to work on the possible existence of vital barriers that the subject has raised, limiting for example their social life due to fear or isolating themselves due to feelings of guilt or rejection . In this sense, it is important to assess what type of barriers it has generated, why and what effects they have in its life, to later rethink the need for a change that breaks down these barriers and facilitates its day to day.

Another noteworthy element to work with is the lack of perception of control, as well as sociability. Problem solving and social skills training can be fundamental, as well as programming enjoyable activities.

Working with values ​​and the cognitive restructuring of maladaptive beliefs and false AIDS myths are also very helpful, especially in those cases with anxious or depressive problems (especially in those who have suicidal risk). Another measure that can help them to a large extent is to go to mutual aid groups or associations of people affected by the disease, since they make it easier to feel understood and share their experiences as well as being able to learn different ways of acting or living with the disease.

Bibliographic references:

  • Avelar, V.Y .; Cornejo, I.B. and Torres, J.D. (2011). Psychological effects in people of both sexes between the ages of 20 to 50 years diagnosed with HIV in the period from January 2006 to June 2010 pertaining to the Salvadoran foundation for the fight against AIDS "María Lorena" (CONTRASIDA) of the municipality of San Salvador. El Salvador University. Faculty of Sciences and Humanities. Department of Psychology
  • Gulick, RM. (2016). Antiretroviral therapy of human immunodeficiency virus and acquired immunodeficiency. In: Goldman L, Schafer AI, eds. Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Saunders; 2016: chap 388.
  • Vyas, J.M .; Zieve, D .; Conaway, B. et al. (2017). HIV AIDS. MedlinePlus [Online]. Available at: //medlineplus.gov/english/article/000594.htm.

11-Year-Old HIV/AIDS Activist Who Moved Oprah to Tears | Where Are They Now | Oprah Winfrey Network (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes atteintes du sida: ce sont leurs besoins particuliers

Personnes atteintes du sida: ce sont leurs besoins particuliers

Septembre 17, 2022

Le syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise ou le sida est l'une des plus grandes pandémies qui existent aujourd’hui dans le monde entier et qui sont encore aujourd’hui une maladie incurable de grande gravité. La souffrance du SIDA est un coup dur pour ceux qui en souffrent, car elle est une maladie très grave dans laquelle toute infection peut devenir compliquée à des niveaux dangereux et, même sans traitement, être mortelle.

En l'absence de traitement curatif, la prévention de cette maladie est fondamentale et de nombreuses informations sont disponibles sur le SIDA et l'infection par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (qui en est à l'origine).

Mais malgré le fait qu'il y ait de grandes campagnes de prévention, beaucoup de gens ne savent pas exactement ce que c'est exactement ou comprennent la souffrance émotionnelle de ceux qui en souffrent. Quelle est cette maladie et comment les personnes atteintes du sida vivent-elles avec leur maladie? Comment cette maladie peut-elle être traitée? Nous en parlerons comme suit.


  • Article connexe: "Démence associée au VIH: symptômes, stades et traitement"

Symptômes du syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise

C'est ce qu'on appelle le syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise ou SIDA jusqu'au dernier stade de l'infection par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine ou le VIH. Il s'agit d'un syndrome très grave qui apparaît lorsque le système immunitaire a été pratiquement détruit et cesse d'être en mesure de traiter les infections. Plus précisément, ceux qui en souffrent ont un nombre de lymphocytes T (en particulier CD4 +) inférieur à 200 par millimètre cube de sang, ce qui est insuffisant pour protéger le corps contre les infections opportunistes ou certains cancers (dont certains augmentent les chances d'apparition). .


Bien que l’infection à VIH ne produise pas de symptômes, elle entraîne souvent une perte de poids soudaine et rapide, une fatigue au minimum nécessaire, des maux de tête, des fièvres, un œdème des ganglions lymphatiques. , la diarrhée qui peut durer un mois, les sarcomes de Kaposi (tumeurs vasculaires sous la forme de taches et de lésions rouges qui peuvent en fait être souvent l’un des signes les plus évidents du sida).

Tout cela est dû à l'affectation du virus , ainsi que la perte de la capacité du système immunitaire à se protéger. En plus de cela, les symptômes d'infections opportunistes qui peuvent survenir, tels que la tuberculose (la principale cause de décès des personnes infectées dans les pays africains) peuvent être ajoutés.

Il est fréquent que des altérations neurologiques ou nerveuses apparaissent également, telles qu'un ralentissement moteur, des picotements ou une perte du tonus musculaire. Dans certains cas une déficience cognitive et des problèmes émotionnels et comportementaux apparaissent également , et parfois même cela peut générer une démence rapide dans laquelle le patient perd ses facultés rapidement jusqu'à sa mort quelques mois plus tard.


Tout cela sans prendre en compte l'impact émotionnel profond que implique le fait de recevoir le diagnostic, ce qui génère souvent de la panique et de l'anxiété et peut facilement conduire à la souffrance d'une dépression. La personne atteinte du sida peut avoir le sentiment constant d'être menacée et en danger , ont un sentiment de manque de contrôle sur la situation, de désespoir, de culpabilité et de peur de leur avenir. Dans certains cas, des idées et des tentatives de suicide peuvent également apparaître.

En outre, il doit faire face à une situation au potentiel mortel qui va générer le besoin de changer les habitudes de vie , comme la prise de médicaments ou d’autres stratégies d’autogestion. Enfin, cela peut également entraîner la perte d'un partenaire, de contraintes de travail ou même de déplacement.

Il est important de garder à l’esprit que, heureusement, le sida est aujourd’hui un syndrome qui n’a pas à apparaître chez les personnes infectées par le VIH, car Les traitements existants, bien qu’ils ne guérissent pas l’infection, permettent de contrôler . Maintenant, en l'absence d'un traitement adéquat, la plupart des gens vont le développer.

En outre, en l’absence de traitement (en particulier dans les pays dotés d’un système de santé défaillant, notamment dans les régions pauvres d’Afrique), le sida peut causer la mort quelques années après son apparition, un problème qui reste très grave. et cela cause la mort de millions de personnes, même aujourd'hui (bien que ce ne soit pas si courant dans la société occidentale).

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 5 types de virus et leur fonctionnement"

Comment les personnes atteintes du sida l'obtiennent-elles? Contagion

Comme nous l’avons dit, le sida est un syndrome qui apparaît aux stades ultime et le plus grave de l’infection par le VIH, ce dernier étant à l’origine du syndrome d’immunodéficience acquise. Cette infection atteint l'organisme humain par contact entre les muqueuses et les liquides infectés , principalement le sang et les fluides sexuels. Le lait maternel pourrait également causer la transmission du virus. D'autres liquides tels que la salive, les selles, le mucus, les vomissures ou l'urine ont une charge virale très limitée, voire nulle.

Ainsi, l’infection résulte généralement du maintien de rapports sexuels non protégés lorsqu’ils entrent en contact avec les muqueuses ou de l’utilisation partagée de seringues chez les toxicomanes ou de lames de rasoir. Auparavant, il était infecté par des transfusions sanguines, bien que ce soit peu probable pour le moment.

Il pourrait aussi se transmettre de mère en enfant chez les femmes enceintes , au moment de l'accouchement ou pendant l'allaitement. Toutefois, les contacts occasionnels, les câlins, les bisous, le partage des couverts ou des verres, l'utilisation des mêmes toilettes ou le même bain dans la même piscine ne sont pas des méthodes contagieuses.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que ce qui est contagieux, c'est le virus VIH, pas le sida lui-même . A partir de l'infection, la situation s'aggravera progressivement, élargissant le virus dans l'organisme et augmentant la charge virale tout en détruisant les lymphocytes et le système immunitaire.

Entre autres choses, il y a une diminution des lymphoïdes (qui génèrent des lymphocytes), par exemple dans le tube digestif. Au début, il est habituel que les symptômes ne se manifestent pas, bien que les problèmes précédents puissent apparaître si vous souffrez du SIDA à long terme.

Traitement de cette maladie

Le SIDA est une maladie grave qui sans traitement peut entraîner la mort dans quelques années . Mais même s'il s'agit toujours d'une maladie très grave dans les zones à niveau sanitaire, il existe suffisamment de traitements pour que le taux de survie même lorsque le VIH entraîne le SIDA soit beaucoup plus élevé, sans être une condamnation à mort comme avant (bien que ce soit toujours une maladie grave).

Le premier des traitements à prendre en compte est le traitement pharmacologique, car, comme dans les autres phases de l’infection, la prise d’antirétroviraux est nécessaire au maintien des vestiges du système immunitaire, augmentant légèrement les taux de lymphocytes et diminuant la charge virale du patient. Ce couple réduit le risque de souffrir d’autres infections et améliore à la fois l’espérance de vie et la qualité de celle-ci. Pour cela, il est utilisé un traitement comprenant plusieurs antirétroviraux, tels que la zidovudine ou le ténofovir .

Cependant, il est probable que ce traitement puisse provoquer le syndrome inflammatoire de reconstitution immunitaire, altération de type inflammatoire qui n'empêche toutefois pas le traitement de suivre.

Etant donné que le système immunitaire a déjà perdu l'essentiel de sa capacité à se défendre face au sida, il est essentiel d'effectuer des contrôles périodiques (tous les six mois ou un an) et employer des mesures préventives d'éviter autant que possible l'arrivée d'infections opportunistes, ainsi que de contrôler l'apparition éventuelle de tumeurs (plus fréquentes et plus dangereuses en présence du SIDA). En plus de cela, des mesures devraient être prises pour prévenir d'éventuels dommages aux os, au foie et aux reins, ainsi que pour contrôler et encourager l'alimentation et le fait d'éviter les drogues et l'alcool.

Soins psychologiques pour les personnes atteintes du sida

Les personnes atteintes du sida souffrent de l’une des maladies les plus redoutées au monde, ce qui, comme nous l’avons dit précédemment, peut induire une série de complications émotionnelles et cognitives graves pouvant même aggraver leur état de santé. Dans ce sens, les personnes touchées par cette maladie peuvent nécessiter un traitement psychologique .

La première chose à garder à l'esprit dans ces cas est que le sujet fait face à une situation très pénible, nécessitant un endiguement émotionnel et la possibilité d'exprimer ses peurs, ses doutes et ses pensées dans un environnement où il ne se sent pas jugé et génère le assez de confiance. Il faudra également, en particulier si le diagnostic est imprévu (par exemple, un cas qui ignorait le fait d’être infecté jusque-là), des directives psychoéducatives pour comprendre ce qui se passe et quelles mesures préventives doivent être prises.

Il est essentiel de suivre le traitement aux antirétroviraux, ainsi que, dans la mesure du possible, la prévention de la toxicomanie et des pratiques à risques.

Il n’est pas rare que certaines personnes vivant avec le VIH ou le sida pensent que, parce qu’elles sont déjà infectées, elles peuvent entretenir des relations non protégées avec d’autres personnes atteintes du même virus, mais le fait est qu’il existe différentes souches du VIH, générer des surinfections beaucoup plus dangereuses et difficiles à traiter. La psychoéducation est non seulement nécessaire pour le patient lui-même , mais cela peut aussi être essentiel pour le couple de ceux-ci et / ou leur environnement le plus proche.

Un autre aspect à souligner est la nécessité de travailler sur l'importance du SIDA pour le patient, son mode de vie, son état de santé, le sens que cela lui donne et ce qu'il / elle en pense.

De plus, il faudra aussi travailler sur l’existence éventuelle d’obstacles essentiels soulevés par le sujet, limiter par exemple leur vie sociale en raison de la peur ou s'isoler en raison d'un sentiment de culpabilité ou de rejet . En ce sens, il est important d’évaluer le type de barrières qu’elle a générées, pourquoi et quels effets elles ont sur sa vie, pour ensuite repenser la nécessité d’un changement qui élimine ces barrières et en facilite la gestion quotidienne.

Un autre élément notable avec lequel travailler est le manque de perception du contrôle, ainsi que la sociabilité. La résolution de problèmes et la formation aux compétences sociales peuvent être fondamentales, tout comme la programmation d'activités agréables.

Travailler avec les valeurs et la restructuration cognitive des croyances mésadaptées et des faux mythes sur le SIDA sont également très utiles, en particulier dans les cas de problèmes anxieux ou dépressifs (surtout chez ceux qui ont un risque suicidaire). Une autre mesure qui peut les aider dans une large mesure consiste à s'adresser à des groupes d'entraide ou à des associations de personnes touchées par la maladie, car cela leur permet de se sentir compris et de partager leurs expériences, tout en leur permettant d'apprendre différentes manières d'agir ou de vivre avec la maladie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Avelar, V.Y.; Cornejo, I.B. et Torres, J.D. (2011). Effets psychologiques chez les hommes et les femmes de 20 à 50 ans chez qui le VIH a été diagnostiqué entre janvier 2006 et juin 2010 et appartenant à la fondation salvadorienne de lutte contre le sida "María Lorena" (CONTRASIDA) de la municipalité de San Salvador Université d'El Salvador. Faculté des sciences et sciences humaines. Département de psychologie
  • Gulick, RM. (2016). Traitement antirétroviral du virus de l’immunodéficience humaine et immunodéficience acquise. Dans: Goldman L, Schafer AI, eds. Médecine Goldman-Cecil. 25 e éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier Saunders; 2016: chap 388.
  • Vyas, J.M .; Zieve, D .; Conaway, B. et al. (2017). VIH SIDA. MedlinePlus [en ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: //medlineplus.gov/english/article/000594.htm.

Bref ! J'ai donné au SIDACTION car le combat n'est pas terminé (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes