yes, therapy helps!
People with tattoos: 3 personality traits that define them

People with tattoos: 3 personality traits that define them

May 23, 2022

Tattoos are already a real social and aesthetic phenomenon. Since they moved from prison environments to fashionable fashion shows and all types of demographic groups in most Western countries, they have normalized so much that they no longer seem strange, as happened a few decades ago.

According to the estimates of the Spanish Academy of Dermatology, one in three Spaniards aged between 18 and 35, the millennial generation, has at least one tattoo. It is not an isolated case: in the United States, almost a third of the inhabitants have their skin tattooed in one way or another, according to the Pew Research Center.

Given this rapid expansion, it is normal for social and personality psychologists to be interested in knowing what traits and psychological characteristics define the people who wear tattoos.


  • Maybe you're interested: "40 symbolic tattoos with a deep meaning (with photos)"

Personality traits of people with tattoos

It is clear that each individual is a world; This is a principle that all researchers dedicated to the study of individual differences take into account.

However, it is also true that, in many cases, certain personality traits make us more prone to perform certain behaviors. It happens with the propensity to consume drugs, to marry, and to many others, among which apparently also the fact of getting a tattoo or more.

Recently, a group of researchers from the Anglia Ruskin University has conducted a study just to detect those personality traits in which people with tattoos are characterized when compared to the rest of the population.


To carry out this study, a number of volunteers were recruited, with or without tattoos, to fill out personality tests. From the analysis of all the accumulated data, the team discovered three basic personality traits in those who carry tattoos. They are, fundamentally, the three that we will see next.

1. Extraversion

Extraversion is a personality trait that tells us about the degree to which people depend on external stimuli in the immediate environment. Specifically, who is extraverted tends to look for complex and socially rich environments , and full of stimuli, unlike introverted people, who show a certain degree of anxiety if they feel overwhelmed by external stimuli.

In practice, extroverted people are more sociable, since they like to be very often in crowded places and where there are large groups, sounds and visual stimuli. They give the impression of being individuals full of energy, although situations in which there is a certain degree of loneliness and isolation can cause their mood to fall, something that does not happen with introverts.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between extraverted, introverted and timid people"

2. Openness to experience

This research shows that people with tattoos have a significant tendency to joyfully receive new experiences . That means that, in general, the changes that occur in life over time are not seen as bad, something that does occur, for example, in conservative people.

On the other hand, the search for new experiences is seen as something exciting by those who present this type of personality, while monotonous situations quickly cause weariness. In general, everything related to adventure and the possibility of assuming a certain degree of risk It is experienced with pleasure.

3. Motivation for highlighting

It is well known that many people claim to get tattoos simply because they like them or because they have a meaning that they know more than anyone else. Of course, it is very possible that in the case of hundreds of thousands of people with tattoos this is so, but this study has detected that, in general, Whoever decides to tattoo their skin shows a significant motivation to stand out from the rest.

From this data, the fact of resorting to this kind of aesthetic and symbolic resources can be seen as an attempt to build an identity in front of others; have something to tell through stories traced by the ink that decorates the body , being these narrations, normally, something that has to do with the philosophy of life of the one who takes it, or with important events that have happened in their lives.

After all, even the smallest and most hidden tattoos give rise to questions and excuses in order to explain how life is lived or lived. The fact that only very few people see some of them is in itself something that gives strength to their power to express, given that the discretion and intimacy associated with them cause a clear emotional impact on those who contemplate them.


The Most Attractive Traits Men Really Notice (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes tatouées: 3 traits de personnalité qui les définissent

Personnes tatouées: 3 traits de personnalité qui les définissent

Juin 29, 2022

Les tatouages ​​sont déjà un véritable phénomène social et esthétique. Depuis qu'ils sont passés des environnements carcéraux aux défilés de mode à la mode et à tous les types de groupes démographiques dans la plupart des pays occidentaux, ils se sont tellement normalisés qu'ils ne semblent plus étranges, comme il y a quelques décennies.

Selon les estimations de l'Académie espagnole de dermatologie, un Espagnol sur trois âgé de 18 à 35 ans, la génération du millénaire, porte au moins un tatouage. Ce n’est pas un cas isolé: aux États-Unis, près d’un tiers des habitants se font tatouer la peau d’une manière ou d’une autre, selon le Pew Research Center.

Compte tenu de cette expansion rapide, il est normal que les psychologues sociaux et de la personnalité s'intéressent à la connaissance quels traits et caractéristiques psychologiques définissent les personnes qui portent des tatouages.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "40 tatouages ​​symboliques au sens profond (avec photos)"

Traits de personnalité des tatoués

Il est clair que chaque individu est un monde. C’est un principe que tous les chercheurs consacrés à l’étude des différences individuelles prennent en compte.

Cependant, il est également vrai que, dans de nombreux cas, certains traits de personnalité nous rendent plus enclins à adopter certains comportements. Cela se produit avec la propension à consommer de la drogue, à se marier et à beaucoup d’autres, parmi lesquelles apparemment aussi le fait de se faire tatouer ou plus.

Récemment, un groupe de chercheurs de l’Université Anglia Ruskin a mené une étude juste pour détecter les traits de personnalité qui caractérisent les tatoués par rapport au reste de la population.


Pour mener à bien cette étude, un certain nombre de volontaires ont été recrutés, avec ou sans tatouages, pour passer des tests de personnalité. À partir de l'analyse de toutes les données accumulées, l'équipe a découvert trois traits de personnalité de base chez ceux qui portent des tatouages. Ce sont, fondamentalement, les trois que nous verrons ensuite.

1. Extraversion

L'extraversion est un trait de personnalité qui nous indique à quel point les personnes dépendent de stimuli externes dans leur environnement immédiat. Plus précisément, qui est extraverti a tendance à rechercher des environnements complexes et socialement riches , et plein de stimuli, contrairement aux personnes introverties, qui font preuve d’un certain degré d’anxiété s’ils se sentent dépassés par des stimuli externes.

En pratique, les personnes extraverties sont plus sociables, car elles aiment être très souvent dans des endroits surpeuplés et où se trouvent de grands groupes, des sons et des stimuli visuels. Ils donnent l'impression d'être des individus pleins d'énergie, bien que des situations dans lesquelles il existe un certain degré de solitude et d'isolement puissent faire tomber leur humeur, ce qui n'est pas le cas chez les introvertis.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre personnes extraverties, introverties et timides"

2. Ouverture à l'expérience

Cette recherche montre que les tatoués avoir une tendance significative à recevoir avec joie de nouvelles expériences . Cela signifie que, en général, les changements qui se produisent dans la vie au fil du temps ne sont pas perçus comme tels, ce qui se produit, par exemple, chez les personnes conservatrices.

Par ailleurs, ceux qui présentent ce type de personnalité voient dans la recherche de nouvelles expériences quelque chose d’exaltant, alors que les situations monotones causent rapidement de la lassitude. En général, tout ce qui a trait à l'aventure et à la possibilité d'assumer un certain degré de risque C'est expérimenté avec plaisir.

3. Motivation pour mettre en évidence

Il est bien connu que beaucoup de gens prétendent se faire tatouer simplement parce qu’ils les aiment ou parce qu’ils veulent en savoir plus que tout le monde. Bien sûr, il est très possible que ce soit le cas pour des centaines de milliers de personnes tatouées, mais cette étude a détecté qu'en général, Quiconque décide de tatouer sa peau montre une motivation importante pour se distinguer des autres.

À partir de ces données, le recours à ce type de ressources esthétiques et symboliques peut être perçu comme une tentative de construction d’une identité devant les autres; avoir quelque chose à raconter à travers des histoires tracées par l'encre qui décore le corps , étant ces narrations, normalement, quelque chose qui a à voir avec la philosophie de la vie de celui qui la prend, ou avec des événements importants qui se sont produits dans leur vie.

Après tout, même les tatouages ​​les plus petits et les plus cachés suscitent des questions et des excuses pour expliquer comment la vie est vécue ou vécue. Le fait que très peu de gens voient certaines d’entre elles est en soi quelque chose qui renforce leur pouvoir d’exprimer, étant donné que la discrétion et l’intimité qui leur sont associées ont un impact émotionnel évident sur ceux qui les contemplent.


Voici la chose la plus sexy chez vous selon votre signe astrologique (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes