yes, therapy helps!
Perinatal psychology: what is it and what functions does it perform?

Perinatal psychology: what is it and what functions does it perform?

July 18, 2024

Being a mother is one of the most incredible and rewarding life experiences that can be experienced . But this culminating moment of life also brings many challenges, since the mother figure is extremely important for the growth of a child and decisively influences how it develops in different areas of his life: personal well-being, academic environment, work, interpersonal relationships, etc.

Although motherhood is a wonderful moment and maternal feeling will accompany a mother throughout her life, some mothers may feel lonely, suffer anxiety before or after pregnancy, experience a complicated delivery, suffer stress in these circumstances or suffer postpartum depression, among many other psychological phenomena.


Luckily, experts in perinatal psychology help mothers control these concerns or overcome the emotional problems that may arise during the process of conception, pregnancy and the initial parenting stage.

What is perinatal psychology?

Perinatal Psychology can be defined as a specialty of Psychology that covers all psychological aspects that are present before and during pregnancy, delivery, postpartum, parenting and the bond with the baby. Therefore, it provides knowledge and tools to help mothers or expectant mothers (although also parents) to overcome the difficulties that may appear in these important stages of their lives, and aims to offer them the necessary psychological resources to increase their well-being and improving their quality of life, as well as that of their baby and, in general, that of their family.


Being a mother can bring new challenges, demanding periods, unstable periods and can generate stress, so all the resources you have at this specific moment in the life cycle will decisively influence your adaptation and the success of this transition.

Difficulties faced by mothers and fathers

Throughout our lives, people must face different situations of change that require the necessary adaptation to face them and evolve . Maternity / paternity is one of the most outstanding stages of transition, and causes moments of great impact in the life of an individual.

In this context, the application of Perinatal Psychology is of great importance, which, according to the Spanish Association of Perinatal Psychology, intervenes in the following areas:

  • Fears and fear associated with childbirth and pregnancy.
  • Complicated and traumatic births.
  • Emotional management of pregnancy and recovery after childbirth.
  • Babies born prematurely.
  • Parenting at early ages and early childhood.
  • Difficulties in breastfeeding.
  • Puerperio with difficulties of bond with the baby.
  • Awareness of the experience of childbirth and cesarean section.
  • Postpartum depression or other pathologies associated with this life stage.
  • Loss of a baby and grieving process.
  • Problems of adaptation to motherhood or fatherhood
  • Development of a secure bond with the baby
  • Personal growth from a conscious motherhood
  • Difficulties in conceiving a child

How does perinatal psychology help families?

One of the main tasks of Perinatal Psychology is the protection of the mental health of both parents and babies , so it is aimed at prevention, support, diagnosis and treatment throughout the process that precedes the birth of a child. Psychoeducation is key in this sense.


However, experts in this field not only intervene and act before the birth, but also afterwards, with the aim of promoting a healthy bond between the parents and the baby. The effect that the intervention has on the parents is crucial not only for them, but also for the family relationship in general and for all the actors that make up the family. Perinatal Psychology fosters the abilities and skills and self-esteem of parents, and addresses the difficulties that may arise along the way

When to seek help?

Perinatal psychologists offer psychological support in varied situations.

1. Support before conception

Some couples may have trouble conceiving. At other times, they simply want to be prepared for this important moment in their life: the birth of a child. Perinatal psychologists, for example, can work with parents to modify their beliefs about what it means to have a child if they are irrational or can work with them to overcome past traumatic experiences, such as the loss of a baby.

2. Prenatal and perinatal support

Perinatal Psychology helps pregnant mothers who face emotional or physical challenges during childbirth, but can also be helpful in preparing for the birth process. Anxiety in pregnancy or fear of childbirth are psychological phenomena experienced by some mothers.

3. Postnatal support

If the delivery was an excessive or traumatic challenge for the mother and / or the baby, the mother (and the father) can benefit from the psychological support provided by experts in perinatal psychology, who also offer assistance to overcome, for example, depression postpartum

  • Related article: "Postpartum depression: causes, symptoms and treatment"

4. Family support

The arrival of a new child (or when the birth has been traumatic) not only changes the life of the mother, but the rest of the family members can also have problems of adaptation in this context. Perinatal Psychology is key because it provides necessary tools for parents and the family in these situations.

Where to find a trusted perinatal psychologist?

To be able to benefit from this therapeutic practice it is necessary to put yourself in good hands. In Spain there are good professionals who offer the maximum guarantees of psychological assistance in this specialty, but it is necessary to find a trustworthy clinic, where you feel comfortable exposing your problem. If you are going through a situation similar to the one presented in the previous lines, do not be discouraged because it is possible to overcome it.

The Psychology Center El Prado Psychologists has some of the best experts in Perinatal Psychology, all with extensive training and experience. It is located in Madrid, employs short and effective treatments from an integrative orientation, and is qualified as a Health Center by the government of this autonomous community. The professionals at El Prado Psychologists put different techniques into practice so that you can enjoy the beautiful experience of being a mother or father and recover the emotional balance to live a full and satisfying life.

This reference clinic is at the forefront of psychotherapy, and applies the latest advances in research and the most effective therapeutic procedures: clinical hypnosis, mindfulness, relaxation techniques and other techniques such as EFT for emotional release, etc. Its methodology does not exclude any therapeutic model, since its purpose is to adapt better to the needs of each patient.

You can contact El Prado Psychologists through this link.


Day in the Life of: A Clinical Psychologist (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie périnatale: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles sont ses fonctions?

Psychologie périnatale: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles sont ses fonctions?

Juin 18, 2022

Être une mère est l'une des expériences de vie les plus incroyables et les plus enrichissantes que l'on puisse vivre . Mais ce moment culminant de la vie apporte également de nombreux défis, car la figure maternelle est extrêmement importante pour la croissance de l’enfant et influe de manière décisive sur son évolution dans différents domaines de sa vie: bien-être personnel, environnement scolaire, etc. travail, relations interpersonnelles, etc.

Bien que la maternité soit un moment merveilleux et que les sentiments maternels accompagnent une mère tout au long de sa vie, certaines mères peuvent se sentir seules, souffrir d'anxiété avant ou après la grossesse, avoir un accouchement compliqué, souffrir de stress la dépression post-partum, parmi beaucoup d'autres phénomènes psychologiques.


Heureusement, des experts en psychologie périnatale aident les mères à maîtriser ces préoccupations ou à surmonter les problèmes émotionnels pouvant survenir au cours du processus de conception, de la grossesse et du stade initial de la parentalité.

Qu'est-ce que la psychologie périnatale?

La psychologie périnatale peut être définie comme une spécialité de la psychologie couvrant tous les aspects psychologiques présents avant et pendant la grossesse, l'accouchement, le post-partum, la parentalité. et le lien avec le bébé. Par conséquent, il fournit des connaissances et des outils pour aider les mères ou les femmes enceintes (bien que aussi les parents) à surmonter les difficultés pouvant surgir à ces étapes importantes de leur vie, et vise à leur offrir les ressources psychologiques nécessaires pour accroître leurs capacités. bien-être et améliorer leur qualité de vie, ainsi que celle de leur bébé et, en général, celle de leur famille.


Être mère peut engendrer de nouveaux défis, des périodes difficiles, des périodes instables et peut générer du stress. Ainsi, toutes les ressources dont vous disposez à ce moment précis du cycle de vie influenceront de manière décisive votre adaptation et le succès de cette transition.

Les difficultés rencontrées par les mères et les pères

Tout au long de notre vie, les gens doivent faire face à différentes situations de changement qui nécessitent l’adaptation nécessaire pour y faire face et évoluer. . La maternité / paternité est l’une des étapes les plus marquantes de la transition et provoque des moments de grande influence dans la vie d’un individu.

Dans ce contexte, l’application de la psychologie périnatale revêt une grande importance et, selon l’association espagnole de psychologie périnatale, intervient dans les domaines suivants:

  • Peurs et peurs associées à l'accouchement et à la grossesse.
  • Accouchements compliqués et traumatiques.
  • Gestion émotionnelle de la grossesse et du rétablissement après l'accouchement.
  • Bébés nés prématurément.
  • Parenting chez les jeunes enfants et les jeunes enfants.
  • Difficultés d'allaitement.
  • Puerperio avec des difficultés de lien avec le bébé.
  • Prise de conscience de l'expérience de l'accouchement et de la césarienne.
  • Dépression post-partum ou autres pathologies associées à ce stade de la vie.
  • Perte d'un bébé et processus de deuil.
  • Problèmes d'adaptation à la maternité ou à la paternité
  • Développement d'un lien sécurisé avec le bébé
  • Croissance personnelle d'une maternité consciente
  • Difficultés à concevoir un enfant

Comment la psychologie périnatale aide-t-elle les familles?

Une des tâches principales de la psychologie périnatale est la protection de la santé mentale des parents et des bébés. Il vise donc la prévention, l’appui, le diagnostic et le traitement tout au long du processus précédant la naissance d’un enfant. La psychoéducation est la clé dans ce sens.


Toutefois, les experts dans ce domaine interviennent non seulement avant la naissance, mais également après, dans le but de promouvoir un lien sain entre les parents et le bébé. L'effet de l'intervention sur les parents est crucial, non seulement pour eux, mais aussi pour la relation familiale en général et pour tous les acteurs qui composent la famille. La psychologie périnatale favorise les capacités, les compétences et l'estime de soi des parents et s'attaque aux difficultés susceptibles de survenir en cours de route.

Quand demander de l'aide?

Les psychologues périnatals offrent un soutien psychologique dans des situations variées.

1. Soutien avant la conception

Certains couples peuvent avoir du mal à concevoir. D'autres fois, ils veulent simplement être préparés à ce moment important de leur vie: la naissance d'un enfant. Les psychologues périnatals, par exemple, peuvent travailler avec les parents pour modifier leurs croyances sur ce que signifie avoir un enfant s'ils sont irrationnels ou pour surmonter des expériences traumatisantes passées, telles que la perte d'un bébé.

2. Soutien prénatal et périnatal

La psychologie périnatale aide les femmes enceintes confrontées à des problèmes émotionnels ou physiques lors de l'accouchement, mais peut également être utile pour se préparer au processus d'accouchement. L'anxiété pendant la grossesse ou la peur de l'accouchement sont des phénomènes psychologiques vécus par certaines mères.

3. Soutien postnatal

Si l'accouchement était un défi excessif ou traumatisant pour la mère et / ou le bébé, la mère (et le père) peuvent bénéficier du soutien psychologique fourni par des experts en psychologie périnatale, qui offrent également une assistance pour surmonter, par exemple, la dépression. post-partum

  • Article connexe: "Dépression postpartum: causes, symptômes et traitement"

4. Soutien familial

L'arrivée d'un nouvel enfant (ou lorsque la naissance a été traumatique) non seulement change la vie de la mère, mais le reste des membres de la famille peut également avoir des problèmes d'adaptation dans ce contexte. La psychologie périnatale est essentielle car elle fournit les outils nécessaires aux parents et à la famille dans ces situations.

Où trouver un psychologue périnatal de confiance?

Pour pouvoir bénéficier de cette pratique thérapeutique, il est nécessaire de se mettre entre de bonnes mains. En Espagne, il existe de bons professionnels qui offrent les garanties maximales d'assistance psychologique dans cette spécialité, mais il est nécessaire de trouver une clinique fiable dans laquelle vous vous sentez à l'aise d'exposer votre problème. Si vous vivez une situation similaire à celle présentée dans les lignes précédentes, ne vous découragez pas car il est possible de la surmonter.

Le Centre de psychologie El Prado Psychologists compte certains des meilleurs experts en psychologie périnatale, tous dotés d'une formation et d'une expérience approfondies. Il est situé à Madrid, emploie des traitements courts et efficaces d’orientation intégrative et est qualifié de centre de santé par le gouvernement de cette communauté autonome. Les professionnels de psychologues El Prado mettent en pratique différentes techniques pour que vous puissiez profiter de la belle expérience de mère ou de père et retrouver l’équilibre émotionnel nécessaire pour vivre une vie pleine et satisfaisante.

Cette clinique de référence est à la pointe de la psychothérapie et applique les dernières avancées en matière de recherche et les procédures thérapeutiques les plus efficaces: hypnose clinique, pleine conscience, techniques de relaxation et autres techniques telles que l'EFT pour la libération émotionnelle, etc. Sa méthodologie n'exclut aucun modèle thérapeutique, car son objectif est de mieux s'adapter aux besoins de chaque patient.

Vous pouvez contacter les psychologues El Prado via ce lien.


IDÉE REÇUE #24 : L'homosexualité est contre-nature ? (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes