yes, therapy helps!
Permissive families: the 4 risks of this type of parenting

Permissive families: the 4 risks of this type of parenting

June 12, 2024

Being a parent is not an easy task, it is usual to constantly doubt whether you are being too permissive or too strict about the behavior of your children. However, as parents a degree of authority must be exercised that can vary according to the context.

In relation to this type of authority, there are three styles of parenting that vary according to the level of permissiveness and power that parents exercise over their children. In this article, we will talk about permissive families ; what they consist of, how the children are and what disadvantages or mistakes can be made in this type of parenting.

  • Related article: "The 8 types of families and their characteristics"

How are permissive families?

There are different ways or styles of parenting to which the parents can choose according to their personal characteristics, vital priorities or according to the environment that surrounds them.


These types of styles are the authoritarian or democratic upbringing, in which there are a series of norms and rules of more or less rigid upbringing, or the style of permissive upbringing, which occupies us in this article, and that is characterized by leave a great margin of freedom to the behavior of young sons and daughters .

Permissive families are considered the opposite of the authoritarian parenting style. In these cases, parents exercise little or no control over the behavior of their children, letting them make their own decisions on everything, even when it is not possible for them to have sufficient reason to do so.

However, it is not about letting children follow their instinct, ignoring them or not worrying about their needs. Fathers and mothers who are members of permissive families tend to be very affectionate , always showing their emotions and thoughts to the children.


In this line, another point that characterizes these families is the fluidity in the communication between its members; sometimes becoming excessive in terms of the level of adequacy of certain information. It is common for children to be treated as equals, regardless of their age, which sometimes precipitates conversations or statements disproportionate to their age and reasoning ability.

  • Related article: "Child attachment: definition, functions and types"

Characteristics of children

In comparison with children raised in another type of environment or with another type of upbringing, the children of permissive families tend to be more cheerful and cheerful; at least initially. However, over time they have to develop a low self-esteem because they do not know how to face tasks appropriate to their abilities.

In addition, the fact of having been raised without any schemes or guides for social interaction present many problems when communicating or interacting with other people, being too insistent and, at times, somewhat uncontrolled.


Come to adolescence, a stage already difficult for any child, they tend to transgress any type of social norm, making a constant search for external limits.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Low self-esteem? When you become your worst enemy"

Parenting errors in permissive families

Parents are first and foremost people, and as such are liable to make certain permissible errors in the education of their children. However, there are parenting styles, such as permissive families, which tend to present more errors or disadvantages than others in which a minimum of standards are applied in the child.

These parenting errors have to do with the granting of any desire that the child demands at any time, the association of the feeling of happiness with the satisfaction of these desires, the lack of acceptance of some emotions such as disappointment or sadness and a decrease in the self-esteem of the boy or girl .

1. Grant all the wishes of the son

Giving the children any desire or demand that they express can suppose the development and empowerment of a low tolerance to frustration, insofar as these desires are only solved at home.

The moment the child finds out that he will not always be able to get everything he wants, frustration can turn into irritability, aggression and low self-esteem , and in addition, will not be able to understand the limits and authority figures present in other external fields.

These desires can go from wanting to play more hours than established, go to bed late at night, watch certain television programs or even want parents to buy anything or take you to a certain place.

2. Associate happiness with the satisfaction of desires

These children tend to believe that other people have an obligation to fulfill their wishes or desires, since it is practically the only thing they know. Therefore, you will live with a constant need to get something since this is the only thing that will bring you happiness .

In addition, in the long run this will affect the relationship between parents and children since, surely, at some point these parents will not be able to monopolize all their desires.

  • Related article: "What is frustration and how does it affect our life?"

3. Intolerance to certain feelings and emotions

When the child learns to live surrounded by satisfying feelings and without any contact with less rewarding emotions, but necessary for good psychological functioning, it eliminates tolerance to negative feelings such as sadness or disappointment .

This fact will entail that the child tries, by all possible means, not to experience these emotions since for him they will be absolutely unbearable.

As a result, it is very likely that he will end up carrying out destructive and damaging behaviors for himself.

4. Lack of discipline, self-control and self-esteem

Children raised in environments without any discipline, will not be able to develop the ability to establish their own limits and therefore, both in adolescence and in adulthood will experience serious difficulties in achieving their goals or objectives; since discipline and self-control will be something alien to them .

These problems in self-regulation and in achieving one's own goals will also have a negative impact on the person's self-esteem. Reducing your ability to value yourself positively.


Permissive Parenting (The Pros & Cons of this Parenting Style) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Familles permissives: les 4 risques de ce type de parentalité

Familles permissives: les 4 risques de ce type de parentalité

Juillet 30, 2021

Être un parent n'est pas une tâche facile, il est habituel de douter constamment de votre attitude trop permissive ou trop stricte concernant le comportement de vos enfants. Cependant, en tant que parents, il faut exercer un degré d'autorité pouvant varier en fonction du contexte.

En ce qui concerne ce type d’autorité, il existe trois styles de parentalité qui varient en fonction du degré de permissivité et du pouvoir que les parents exercent sur leurs enfants. Dans cet article, nous parlerons des familles permissives ; en quoi ils consistent, comment sont les enfants et quels inconvénients ou erreurs peuvent être commis dans ce type de parentalité.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de familles et leurs caractéristiques"

Comment sont les familles permissives?

Il y a différentes manières ou styles de parentalité les parents peuvent choisir en fonction de leurs caractéristiques personnelles, de leurs priorités vitales ou de l’environnement qui les entoure.


Ces types de styles sont l’éducation autoritaire ou démocratique, dans laquelle il existe une série de normes et de règles d’éducation plus ou moins rigide, ou le style d’éducation permissive qui nous occupe dans cet article et qui se caractérise par: laisser une grande marge de liberté au comportement des jeunes fils et filles .

Les familles permissives sont considérées comme le contraire du style parental autoritaire. Dans ces cas-là, les parents n’exercent que peu ou pas de contrôle sur le comportement de leurs enfants, ce qui leur permet de prendre leurs propres décisions en toutes circonstances, même s’ils ne peuvent disposer de motifs suffisants.

Cependant, il ne s'agit pas de laisser les enfants suivre leur instinct, de les ignorer ou de ne pas se soucier de leurs besoins. Les pères et les mères membres de familles permissives ont tendance à être très affectueux , montrant toujours leurs émotions et leurs pensées aux enfants.


Dans cette ligne, un autre point qui caractérise ces familles est la fluidité dans la communication entre ses membres; devient parfois excessif en termes de niveau d'adéquation de certaines informations. Il est courant que les enfants soient traités sur un pied d'égalité, quel que soit leur âge, ce qui entraîne parfois des conversations ou des déclarations disproportionnées par rapport à leur âge et à leur capacité de raisonnement.

  • Article connexe: "Pièce jointe enfant: définition, fonctions et types"

Caractéristiques des enfants

En comparaison avec les enfants élevés dans un autre type d’environnement ou avec un autre type d’éducation, les enfants de familles permissives ont tendance à être plus gais et plus gais; au moins au début. Cependant, avec le temps ils doivent développer une faible estime de soi parce qu'ils ne savent pas comment faire face à des tâches correspondant à leurs capacités.

En outre, le fait d’avoir été élevé sans plans ni guides d’interaction sociale pose de nombreux problèmes lors de la communication ou des interactions avec d’autres personnes, étant trop insistant et, parfois, quelque peu incontrôlé.


Arriver à l'adolescence, une étape déjà difficile pour tout enfant, ils ont tendance à transgresser tout type de norme sociale, faire une recherche constante de limites externes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Faible estime de soi? Quand vous devenez votre pire ennemi"

Erreurs parentales dans les familles permissives

Les parents sont avant tout des personnes et, à ce titre, sont susceptibles de commettre certaines erreurs admissibles dans l'éducation de leurs enfants. Cependant, il existe des styles parentaux, tels que les familles permissives, qui ont tendance à présenter plus d'erreurs ou d'inconvénients que d'autres, dans lesquels un minimum de normes est appliqué à l'enfant.

Ces erreurs parentales ont à voir avec l’octroi du désir que l’enfant réclame à tout moment, l’association du sentiment de bonheur à la satisfaction de ces désirs, le manque d’acceptation de certaines émotions telles que la déception ou la tristesse. et une diminution de l'estime de soi du garçon ou de la fille .

1. Accorder tous les voeux du fils

Donner aux enfants tout désir ou demande qu’ils expriment peut supposer le développement et l’autonomisation d’une faible tolérance à la frustration, dans la mesure où ces désirs ne sont résolus qu’à la maison.

Au moment où l’enfant découvre qu’il ne pourra pas toujours obtenir tout ce qu’il veut, la frustration peut se transformer en irritabilité, agressivité et manque d'estime de soi , et, en outre, ne sera pas capable de comprendre les limites et les chiffres d’autorité présents dans d’autres domaines extérieurs.

Ces désirs peuvent aller de vouloir passer plus d'heures que prévu, aller se coucher tard, regarder certaines émissions de télévision ou même demander aux parents de tout acheter ou de vous emmener à un certain endroit.

2. Associer le bonheur à la satisfaction des désirs

Ces enfants ont tendance à croire que les autres ont l'obligation de réaliser leurs souhaits ou leurs désirs, car c'est pratiquement la seule chose qu'ils sachent. Par conséquent, vous vivrez avec un besoin constant d’obtenir quelque chose depuis c'est la seule chose qui vous apportera le bonheur .

En outre, cela affectera à long terme les relations entre les parents et les enfants car, à un moment donné, ces parents ne pourront sûrement pas monopoliser tous leurs désirs.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la frustration et comment affecte-t-elle notre vie?"

3. Intolérance à certains sentiments et émotions

Lorsque l'enfant apprend à vivre entouré de sentiments satisfaisants et sans aucun contact avec des émotions moins enrichissantes, mais nécessaires au bon fonctionnement psychologique, il élimine la tolérance aux sentiments négatifs tels que la tristesse ou la déception .

Ce fait impliquera que l’enfant essaie, par tous les moyens possibles, de ne pas expérimenter ces émotions car pour lui elles seront absolument insupportables.

En conséquence, il est très probable qu'il finisse par adopter des comportements destructeurs et dommageables pour lui-même.

4. Manque de discipline, maîtrise de soi et estime de soi

Les enfants élevés dans des environnements sans aucune discipline ne pourront pas développer la capacité d'établir leurs propres limites et, par conséquent, à la fois à l'adolescence et à l'âge adulte, éprouveront de sérieuses difficultés pour atteindre leurs buts ou objectifs; puisque la discipline et la maîtrise de soi seront quelque chose d'extraordinaire pour eux .

Ces problèmes d’autorégulation et d’atteinte de ses objectifs auront également un impact négatif sur l’estime de soi de la personne. Réduire votre capacité à vous apprécier positivement.


Comment poser des limites avec bienveillance ? (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes