yes, therapy helps!
Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder (TIDP)

Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder (TIDP)

January 24, 2023

The Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder (TIDP) It is a complex disorder that has been little studied and represents a challenge for clinical professionals. The complexity lies partly in the difficulty in identifying it. Therefore, many cases are lost in anonymity.

Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder: what is it?

One of the first challenges that TIDP patients face in therapy is that they usually receive incomplete or simply wrong diagnoses. Incomplete in the sense that they may be relevant with respect to any of the alter egos, while inadequate in the context of multiplicity.


Many people with Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder never go to psychological or psychiatric consultation. And, when they do, they often get the wrong diagnosis. They find it impossible to receive the help they need.

What is the TIDP?

Among the specialists of this disorder, he is Valerie Sinason , psychoanalyst and director of the Clinic for studies of dissociation. She is the editor of the book "Attachment Trauma and Multiplicity" and in her introduction, she comments:

"In the last decade I have advised and treated children and adults, especially women, who have Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder (TIDP)." There is a very significant bias regarding the sex of people with this condition. victims of abuse are more likely to externalize their trauma, although both sexes use exteriorization responses.Most of the children and adults that I have evaluated have been wrongly diagnosed as schizophrenic, borderline, with an antisocial or psychotic disorder ... Despite the fact that the antipsychotic medication had little or no effect on them, that the voices they heard came from within and not from outside, and that they did not exhibit a disturbance of thought about time and place, except when they were In a state of trance, despite all this, the mental health professionals did not perceive failures in the diagnosis. At the level of social denial, some patients have managed to conceal their multiplicity when they have been accused of inventing it. In response to the key question concerning the small number of children with severe dissociated states, some patients confirmed the negative responses to their child confessions that led them to hide the symptoms. These children were told that it would happen to them and that it was a phenomenon of imaginary friends "(2002, p.5).


Dissociation

The purpose of the concept of dissociation: refers to process of encapsulating or separating the memory or emotion that is directly associated with the trauma of the I conscious . Dissociation is a creative way of keeping something unacceptable out of sight. Personality Dissociative Identity Disorder is a form that the internal system creates to protect secrets and continually learns to adapt to the environment. It is a survival mechanism. Likewise, it favors and maintains attachment with the abuser. It allows, at the mental level, some conflicting emotions to be kept in separate compartments.

More specifically, dissociation involves a wide variety of behaviors that represent lapses in the cognitive and psychological process . The three main types of dissociative behavior that have been recognized are: Amnesia, absorption and depersonalization.


  • The dissociative amnesia It implies suddenly finding yourself in a situation or having to face the evidence of having performed actions that the person does not remember.
  • The absorption It implies getting involved so much in what is being done that the person forgets what is happening around them.
  • The depersonalization it refers to experiencing events as if the individual were an observer, disconnected from the body or feelings.

Causes

North et al. (1983, cited by Sinason p.10) found that this condition was not only linked to a high percentage of child sexual abuse, but also to an occurrence between 24 and 67% of sexual abuse in adult life, and between 60% and 81% of suicide attempts.

It is clear that the TIDP is an important aspect of the grouping of conditions caused by traumas. In the USA, in a sample of 100 patients with TIDP, it was found that 97% of them had experienced major traumas in childhood and almost half of them had witnessed the violent death of someone close to them. (Putman et al., 1986, cited by Sinason p.11)

Until very recently, it has been extremely difficult to document children's cases of TIDP. Although some argue that this does not mean that they do not exist.The same happens with adolescent cases and it is only the cases of TIDP adults that receive the support of the scientific community.

Richard Kluft believed that his efforts to find the trace of the natural history of the TIDP had little success. His attempts to find children's cases were an "unmitigated fiasco". He described the case of an 8-year-old boy who appeared to manifest "a series of developed personality states," after witnessing a situation in which someone almost drowned in water, and suffered physical abuse. However, he realized with other colleagues that his field of vision was too narrow. He noticed that Gagan and MacMahon (1984, cited by Bentovim, A. p.21) described a notion of an incipient multiple personality disorder in children; They raised the possibility of a broader spectrum of dissociative phenomenology that children could manifest.

Diagnostic criteria of the TIDP

The DSM-V criteria specify that the TIDP manifests with:

  • The presence of one or more distinct identities or personality states (each with its relatively stable perception patterns, in relation to, and thinking about the environment and the self.
  • At least two of these identities or personality states take control of the person's behavior recurrently.
  • The inability to remember important personal information that is too widespread to be explained by ordinary forgetting and that is not due to the direct effects of a substance (eg loss of consciousness or chaotic behavior during intoxication with alcohol) or a condition general medical (eg, complex partial seizures).

Guidelines for diagnosis and treatment

Regardless of the diagnosis, if the dissociation is present, it is important to explore what role plays in the patient's life . Dissociation is a defense mechanism.

It is important that the therapist discriminate dissociation and talk about defense mechanisms as parts of a process. The therapist can then accompany the patient in exploring the reasons why he may be using this mechanism as a defense. If the therapist approaches the issue of dissociation as soon as there is any indication of it, the diagnosis will come more easily. Using the Scale of Dissociative Experiences (DES) or the Somatoform Dissociation Questionnaire (SDQ-20) can help determine the degree and function dissociation plays in a person's life. (Haddock, D.B., 2001, p.72)

The International Society for the Study of Dissociation (ISSD) has developed general guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of TIDP. He states that the basis for a diagnosis is an examination of the mental state that focuses on questions related to dissociative symptoms. The ISSD recommends the use of instruments for the dissociative review, such as the DES, the interview program for dissociative disorders (DDIS) and the structured clinical interview for the dissociative disorders of the DSM-IV.

The DDIS, developed by Ross, is a highly structured interview covering topics related to the TIDP diagnosis, as well as other psychological disorders. It is useful in terms of the differential diagnosis and provides the therapist with the average of the scores in each subsection, based on a sample of TIDP patients who answered the inventory. The SCID-D-R, developed by Marlene Steinberg, is another highly structured interview tool used to diagnose dissociation.

An important aspect of Steinberg's work consists of the five central dissociative symptoms that must be present to diagnose a person TIDP or TIDPNE (non-specific). These symptoms are: dissociative amnesia, depersonalization, derealization, confusion of identity and alteration of identity.

The TIDP is experienced by the dissociator as confusion in identity (while the non-dissociative typically experiences life in a more integrated way). The TIDP experience is composed of the dissociator feeling frequently disconnected from the world around him, as if he were living in a dream at times. The SCID-D-R helps the clinician identify the specific aspects of this story.

Diagnosis

In any case, the basic components of the therapist related to the diagnostic process include, but are not limited to the following:

A comprehensive history

An initial interview that can last between 1 and 3 sessions.

A special emphasis on matters related to the family of origin, as well as to the psychiatric and physical history . The therapist must pay attention to the memory gaps or inconsistencies found in the patient's accounts.

Direct observation

It is useful to make notes regarding the amnesia and the avoidance that is occurring in the session. It is also necessary to appreciate the changes in the facial characteristics or the quality of the voice, in case it seems out of context to the situation or to what is being treated at that moment.Note a state of extreme sleep or confusion that interferes with the patient's ability to follow the therapist during the session (Bray Haddock, Deborah, 2001, pp. 74-77)

Review of dissociative experiences

If it is suspected that there may be dissociation, a review tool such as DES, DDIS, SDQ-20 or SCID-R could be used to collect more information.

Note symptoms related to amnesia, depersonalization, derealization, identity confusion, and altered identity before diagnosing TIDP or TIDPNE.

Differential diagnosis to rule out specific disorders

You can start by considering the previous diagnoses. That is, taking into account the number of diagnoses, how many times the patient has received treatment, objectives achieved in previous treatments. Previous diagnoses are taken into consideration although they are not used, unless they currently meet the criteria of the DSM.

Then we must compare the criteria of the DSM with each disorder that has dissociation as part of its composition and diagnosing TIDP only after observing the change of alter egos.

Find out if there is a presence of substance abuse and eating disorders. If it is suspected that there may be dissociation, using a review tool such as the CD or the ED can get a greater perspective regarding the function of the dissociation process.

Diagnostic confirmation

If the dissociation is confirmed, once again comparing the DSM criteria in terms of possible diagnoses and the diagnosis of the TIDP, only after observing the relief of the alter egos. Until then, the most appropriate diagnosis will be Dissociative Identity Disorder of Non-Specific Personality (TIDPNE) or Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome (SEP).

Bibliographic references:

  • Bray Haddock, Deborah, 2001. The dissociative identity disorder. Sourcebook. McGrow-Hill Publishers, New York.
  • Fombellida Velasco, L. and J.A. Sánchez Moro, 2003. Multiple personality: a rare case in forensic practice. Forensic Medicine Notebooks. Sevilla Spain.
  • Orengo García, F, 2000. Prevalence, diagnosis and therapeutic approach of the dissociative identity disorder or multiple personality disorder. www.psiquiatria.com
  • Rich, Robert, 2005. Got parts ?: An insider's guide to managing life successfully with dissociative identity disorder. ATW and Loving Healing Press. USES.
  • Sinason, Valerie, 2002. Attachment, trauma and multiplicity. Working with Dissociative Identity Disorder. Routledge, UK.

Personal Identity: Crash Course Philosophy #19 (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble de l'identité dissociative de la personnalité (TIDP)

Trouble de l'identité dissociative de la personnalité (TIDP)

Décembre 4, 2022

Le Trouble de l'identité dissociative de la personnalité (TIDP) C'est un trouble complexe qui a été peu étudié et qui représente un défi pour les professionnels de la santé. La complexité réside en partie dans la difficulté à l'identifier. Par conséquent, de nombreux cas sont perdus dans l'anonymat.

Trouble identitaire dissociatif de la personnalité: de quoi s'agit-il?

L'un des premiers défis auxquels sont confrontés les patients atteints de TIDP en thérapie est qu'ils reçoivent généralement des diagnostics incomplets ou tout simplement erronés. Incomplètes dans le sens où elles peuvent être pertinentes par rapport à l’un quelconque des alter egos, bien qu’insuffisante dans le contexte de la multiplicité.


De nombreuses personnes atteintes d'un trouble de l'identité par dissociation de la personnalité ne se rendent jamais en consultation psychologique ou psychiatrique. Et quand ils le font, ils obtiennent souvent le mauvais diagnostic. Ils trouvent qu'il est impossible de recevoir l'aide dont ils ont besoin.

Qu'est-ce que le TIDP?

Parmi les spécialistes de ce trouble, il est Valerie Sinason , psychanalyste et directeur de la clinique d’études de dissociation. Elle est l'éditeur du livre "Attachment Trauma and Multiplicity" et dans son introduction, elle commente:

"Au cours de la dernière décennie, j'ai conseillé et traité des enfants et des adultes, en particulier des femmes présentant un trouble de l'identité dissociative de la personnalité (TIDP)." Il existe un biais très important en ce qui concerne le sexe des personnes atteintes de cette maladie. les victimes d'abus sont plus susceptibles d'externaliser leur traumatisme, bien que les deux sexes utilisent des réponses d'extériorisation. La plupart des enfants et des adultes que j'ai évalués ont été diagnostiqués à tort comme schizophrènes, à la limite, avec un désordre antisocial ou psychotique ... En dépit du fait que les médicaments antipsychotiques n’avaient que peu ou pas d’effet sur eux, les voix qu’ils entendaient venaient de l’intérieur et non de l’extérieur, et ils ne manifestaient aucune perturbation de la pensée au sujet du temps et du lieu, sauf quand En état de transe, malgré tout, les professionnels de la santé mentale n’ont pas perçu d’échec dans le diagnostic. Au niveau du déni social, certains patients ont réussi à dissimuler leur multiplicité quand ils ont été accusés de l’inventer. En réponse à la question clé concernant le petit nombre d'enfants présentant des états dissociés graves, certains patients ont confirmé les réponses négatives aux aveux de leur enfant qui les ont conduits à masquer les symptômes. On a dit à ces enfants que cela leur arriverait et que c'était un phénomène d'amis imaginaires "(2002, p.5).


Dissociation

Le but de la notion de dissociation: fait référence à processus d’encapsulation ou de séparation de la mémoire ou de l’émotion directement associée au traumatisme de la Je suis conscient . La dissociation est une façon créative de garder quelque chose d'inacceptable hors de la vue. Personnalité Le trouble interne dissociatif est une forme créée par le système interne pour protéger les secrets et apprendre continuellement à s'adapter à l'environnement. C'est un mécanisme de survie. De même, il favorise et maintient l'attachement avec l'agresseur. Cela permet, au niveau mental, de garder certaines émotions contradictoires dans des compartiments séparés.

Plus spécifiquement, la dissociation implique une grande variété de comportements qui représentent des défaillances dans le processus cognitif et psychologique . Les trois principaux types de comportement dissociatif qui ont été reconnus sont: l'amnésie, l'absorption et la dépersonnalisation.


  • Le amnésie dissociative Cela implique de se retrouver soudainement dans une situation ou de devoir faire face à la preuve d'avoir accompli des actes que la personne ne se souvient pas.
  • Le l'absorption Cela implique de s'impliquer tellement dans ce qui est fait que la personne oublie ce qui se passe autour d'elle.
  • Le dépersonnalisation il fait référence à l'expérience d'événements comme si l'individu était un observateur, déconnecté du corps ou des sentiments.

Les causes

North et al. (1983, cité par Sinason, p. 10) ont constaté que cette affection était non seulement liée à un pourcentage élevé d'abus sexuels sur enfants, mais également à une occurrence entre 24 et 67% d'abus sexuel à l'âge adulte et entre 60% et 81% des tentatives de suicide.

Il est clair que le TIDP est un aspect important du regroupement des affections causées par des traumatismes. Aux États-Unis, sur un échantillon de 100 patients atteints de TIDP, il a été constaté que 97% d'entre eux ont vécu des traumatismes majeurs dans leur enfance et près de la moitié d'entre eux avaient été témoins de la mort violente de l'un de leurs proches. (Putman et al., 1986, cité par Sinason p.11)

Jusqu'à tout récemment, il était extrêmement difficile de documenter les cas de TIDP chez les enfants. Bien que certains soutiennent que cela ne signifie pas qu'ils n'existent pas.Il en va de même pour les cas d’adolescents et ce n’est que les cas d’adultes du TIDP qui bénéficient du soutien de la communauté scientifique.

Richard Kluft pensait que ses efforts pour retrouver la trace de l'histoire naturelle du TIDP avaient eu peu de succès. Ses tentatives pour trouver des cas d'enfants étaient un "fiasco absolu". Il a décrit le cas d'un garçon de 8 ans qui semblait manifester "une série d'états de personnalité développés", après avoir été témoin d'une situation dans laquelle une personne se noyait dans l'eau et subissait des violences physiques. Cependant, il s'est rendu compte avec d'autres collègues que son champ de vision était trop étroit. Il a remarqué que Gagan et MacMahon (1984, cité par Bentovim, A. p. 21) décrivaient la notion d'un trouble de la personnalité multiple naissant chez les enfants; Ils ont évoqué la possibilité d'un spectre plus large de la phénoménologie dissociative que les enfants pourraient manifester.

Critères de diagnostic du TIDP

Le Critères DSM-V spécifier que le TIDP se manifeste avec:

  • La présence d'une ou de plusieurs identités distinctes ou d'états de personnalité (chacun avec ses schémas de perception relativement stables, en relation avec l'environnement, et en pensant à lui-même.
  • Au moins deux de ces identités ou états de personnalité prennent le contrôle du comportement de la personne de façon récurrente.
  • L'incapacité de se souvenir d'informations personnelles importantes qui sont trop répandues pour être expliquées par un oubli ordinaire et qui ne sont pas dues aux effets directs d'une substance (par exemple, perte de conscience ou comportement chaotique lors d'une intoxication par l'alcool) ou d'une condition médecine générale (p. ex. crises partielles complexes).

Lignes directrices pour le diagnostic et le traitement

Quel que soit le diagnostic, si la dissociation est présente, il est important d'explorer quel rôle joue dans la vie du patient . La dissociation est un mécanisme de défense.

Il est important que le thérapeute discrimine la dissociation et parle des mécanismes de défense en tant que parties d’un processus. Le thérapeute peut ensuite accompagner le patient dans l'exploration des raisons pour lesquelles il peut utiliser ce mécanisme comme défense. Si le thérapeute aborde le problème de la dissociation dès qu'il y a indication, le diagnostic sera posé plus facilement. En utilisant le Échelle des expériences dissociatives (DES) ou le Questionnaire sur la dissociation de Somatoform (SDQ-20) peut aider à déterminer le degré et la fonction de la dissociation dans la vie d'une personne. (Haddock, D.B., 2001, p.72)

Le Société internationale pour l'étude de la dissociation (ISSD) a élaboré des directives générales pour le diagnostic et le traitement du TIDP. Il déclare que le diagnostic repose sur un examen de l'état mental axé sur des questions liées aux symptômes dissociatifs. L'ISSD recommande l'utilisation d'instruments pour la revue dissociative, tels que le DES, le programme d'entretien pour les troubles dissociatifs (DDIS) et l'entretien clinique structuré pour les troubles dissociatifs du DSM-IV.

Le DDIS, développé par Ross, est une interview hautement structurée couvrant des sujets liés au diagnostic TIDP, ainsi que d’autres troubles psychologiques. Il est utile en termes de diagnostic différentiel et fournit au thérapeute la moyenne des scores de chaque sous-section, sur la base d’un échantillon de patients TIDP ayant répondu à l’inventaire. Le SCID-D-R, développé par Marlene Steinberg, est un autre outil d’entretien hautement structuré utilisé pour diagnostiquer la dissociation.

Un aspect important du travail de Steinberg consiste en les cinq symptômes dissociatifs centraux qui doivent être présents pour diagnostiquer une personne TIDP ou TIDPNE (non spécifique). Ces symptômes sont les suivants: amnésie dissociative, dépersonnalisation, déréalisation, confusion d'identité et altération d'identité.

Le dissociateur perçoit le TIDP comme une confusion d'identité (tandis que le non-dissociatif expérimente généralement la vie de manière plus intégrée). L’expérience TIDP consiste en un sentiment de dissociation souvent déconnecté du monde qui l’entoure, comme s’il vivait parfois dans un rêve. Le SCID-D-R aide le clinicien à identifier les aspects spécifiques de cette histoire.

Diagnostic

Dans tous les cas, les composants de base du thérapeute liés au processus de diagnostic incluent, sans toutefois s'y limiter, les suivants:

Une histoire complète

Une première entrevue pouvant durer entre 1 et 3 séances.

Un accent particulier sur questions liées à la famille d'origine, ainsi qu'aux antécédents psychiatriques et physiques . Le thérapeute doit faire attention aux lacunes de mémoire ou aux incohérences trouvées dans les comptes du patient.

Observation directe

Il est utile de prendre des notes concernant l'amnésie et l'évitement qui se produit pendant la session. Il est également nécessaire d’apprécier les modifications des caractéristiques faciales ou de la qualité de la voix, si cela semble hors de contexte par rapport à la situation ou à ce qui est en train d’être traité.Notez un état de sommeil extrême ou de confusion qui empêche le patient de suivre le thérapeute pendant la séance (Bray Haddock, Deborah, 2001, p. 74-77).

Bilan des expériences dissociatives

Si l'on soupçonne une possible dissociation, un outil d'analyse tel que DES, DDIS, SDQ-20 ou SCID-R pourrait être utilisé pour collecter plus d'informations.

Notez les symptômes liés à l'amnésie, à la dépersonnalisation, à la déréalisation, à la confusion d'identité et à une identité modifiée avant de diagnostiquer le TIDP ou le TIDPNE.

Diagnostic différentiel pour exclure des troubles spécifiques

Vous pouvez commencer par considérer les diagnostics précédents. C'est-à-dire, compte tenu du nombre de diagnostics, du nombre de fois que le patient a reçu un traitement, des objectifs atteints lors des traitements précédents. Les diagnostics antérieurs sont pris en compte bien qu'ils ne soient pas utilisés, à moins qu'ils ne répondent actuellement aux critères du DSM.

Ensuite, nous devons comparer les critères du DSM avec chaque trouble présentant une dissociation dans le cadre de sa composition et ne diagnostiquant le TIDP qu'après avoir observé le changement d'alter ego.

Découvrez s'il y a présence de toxicomanie et de troubles de l'alimentation. Si l'on soupçonne qu'il peut y avoir une dissociation, l'utilisation d'un outil de révision tel que le CD ou le DE peut donner une perspective plus large de la fonction du processus de dissociation.

Confirmation de diagnostic

Si la dissociation est confirmée, comparez une nouvelle fois les critères du DSM en termes de diagnostics possibles et de diagnostic du TIDP, uniquement après avoir observé le relief des alter ego. Jusque-là, le diagnostic le plus approprié sera le trouble dissociatif de la personnalité non spécifique (TIDPNE) ou le syndrome de stress post-traumatique (SEP).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bray Haddock, Deborah, 2001. Le trouble de l'identité dissociative. Sourcebook. McGrow-Hill Publishers, New York.
  • Fombellida Velasco, L. et J.A. Sánchez Moro, 2003. Personnalité multiple: un cas rare en médecine légale. Carnets de médecine légale. Séville, Espagne.
  • Orengo García, F, 2000. Prévalence, diagnostic et approche thérapeutique du trouble de l'identité dissociative ou du trouble de la personnalité multiple. www.psiquiatria.com
  • Rich, Robert, 2005. Vous avez des parties?: Guide de l'initié pour bien gérer sa vie avec les troubles de l'identité dissociative. ATW et Loving Healing Press. USA
  • Sinason, Valerie, 2002. Attachement, traumatisme et multiplicité. Travailler avec un trouble de l'identité dissociative. Routledge, Royaume-Uni.

"Phénomènes Inexpliqués" : Le Dédoublement de Personnalité - Trouble Dissociatif de l'identité (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes