yes, therapy helps!
Persuasion: definition and elements of the art of convincing

Persuasion: definition and elements of the art of convincing

May 6, 2021

Since the beginning of time human beings have tried to achieve their goals in the most optimal way possible by creating long-term plans and strategies for this. However, as social beings that we are, in many occasions our objectives are that others act or think in a certain way.

Although in some cases the objectives of others coincide with their own, it is common to find that normally this is not the case, having incompatibility of objectives and conflicts that make it difficult to reach our goals. How to solve this problem? One of the methods that can be used for this is to try to change the behavior, affection or opinion of others in a way that favors their own interests. That is, make use of persuasion .


  • Related article: "The 3 keys to persuasion: How to convince others?"

What is persuasion?

We understand persuasion as the process by which messages are used that are endowed with arguments that support them, with the purpose of changing a person's attitude, causing them to do, believe or think things that they would not originally do, create or think .

According to McGuire, This process of change depends mainly on the existence of the probability of receiving the message , that is to say, if the receiver of this has the capacity to attend and understand the message that is wanted to give him, and of acceptance on the part of the receiver of this one.


This acceptance will depend mainly on how the message is processed, as well as the level of involvement and familiarity that we have with the subject we are trying to persuade. Thus, someone who gives a high importance to the topic that is spoken and that is felt interpellated by this will especially pay attention to the content of the message, evaluating it critically, while someone who does not consider relevant the subject will be less likely to even begin to analyze the content of the message may not be so analyzed, although it can be persuaded by elements external to the message itself.

For example, if someone tells us that this text is going to be examined in a subject next week, those students who have the subject in question will be highly motivated to believe it, while others will hardly change their attitude.

Persuasion is not based on slogans

Of course, we must bear in mind that the persuasion process is not direct: that is, because one person tells another that he should exercise more or use X product with a convincing technique this does not mean that the last one is going to obey him . Some elements that make it difficult to make a real change are the fact of presenting weak arguments that the recipient can counteract by further strengthening his initial point of view.


Furthermore, believing that they want to manipulate us through deceit or simplistic proclamations makes the process of being persuaded more difficult, provoking a resistance and even an action contrary to what was intended to be attacked by our personal freedom. This phenomenon is called reactance.

Key elements of persuasion

In order to better understand the process by which a person or means can influence another by changing his or her mind, one must take into account the key elements of the process, being these the source, the receiver, the message itself and the technique used to transmit it .

1. Issuer

With regard to who transmits the information, the source that tries to persuade, there are two characteristics that are taken into account at the time of being or not being persuaded: its attractiveness and its credibility . It has been demonstrated in multiple experiments that we generally consider more reliable those individuals that we perceive as more attractive (partly because of the halo effect, in which we assume that someone who has a good quality will surely have others). This is one of the reasons that in advertising appear frequently men and women of great physical attractiveness, or famous well valued, in order to sell us a product.

But nevertheless, the most influential characteristic of the source when persuading us is the credibility , which is given before the level of competence of the source in the subject in question and the perceived sincerity.

Let's see it with a simple example. They tell us that within ten years the comet Halley will crash into Earth. If the person who tells us is a person that we meet on the street, we probably will not change our way of acting, but if the person who says it is a NASA expert, the concern for it is more likely to increase. Another example would be found once again in the use of celebrities to advertise products in advertising pieces.In this case, most celebrities not only tend to be attractive, but they are also associated with a good level of credibility based on their public image.

2. Receiver

In regard to the recipient of the message, The main characteristics that affect the time to be influenced are the level of intelligence, self-esteem and the level of involvement with the subject .

It must be taken into account that the effect of the level of intelligence should not be taken as a direct measure. It is not that the most influential person has less intelligence, but someone with greater intelligence will have more resources to question the arguments used in persuasion. By having a greater capacity when it comes to learning and using memorized information in real time, the way to talk of the smartest people is more fluid and consistent, something that is reflected in the results they get when it comes to convincing.

With regard to self-esteem, we generally find that at lower self-esteem, we are less likely to consider our own arguments as valid, accepting more easily those of others.

3. Message

Another of the main elements when persuading someone is the message itself . Several studies indicate that the use of a more rational or more emotional message will depend on the type of response that one wants to favor. It also affects that the message incorporates elements that provoke fear or a sense of threat: according to Rogers' theory of protective motivation, we will tend to look for and consider more certain messages that allow us to minimize or avoid damage.

The fact that persuasion occurs more often with a closed or open message has also been investigated, indicating that it is generally better to leave a conclusion open to interpretation, although guided in the direction from which one wishes to persuade. This may be because in this way listeners are more satisfied when they reach those conclusions , something that they experience as if it were a discovery made by themselves, without someone trying to impose an idea from outside.

Finally, it has been discussed whether it is convenient to indicate only the arguments that favor one's position or the arguments of the opposite position should also be indicated. In this aspect it has been suggested that it is more persuasive to show both positions, otherwise it is more noticeable that the intention of the message is to create advertising or propaganda rather than to provide data to rationally decide, and this ends up causing reactance.

A way to influence others

As we have seen, persuasion consists partly in detecting those "cracks" in a person's psychological defenses that can be influenced and easier to convince them to make a decision. Of course, this process should not give the feeling that the person you are trying to convince loses or gives in to the person who convinces you, given that the simple fact of experiencing an exchange of ideas perceiving it from this perspective generates resistance that is difficult to overturn. .

Therefore, persuasion it does not act through rationality, but through heuristics and mental shortcuts in general. People who are persuaded hardly realize it, since in many cases they think they are acting only from their rationality.

That is why these strategies are so used; they allow a person to opt for a certain option without noticing the presence of a plan to persuade them.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cialdini, R. (1983, 1984). Influence. The Psychology of Persuasion. Revised Edition. HarperCollins.
  • McGuire, W.J. (1969). An information-processing model of advertising effectiveness. In H.L. Davis & A.J. Silk (Eds.), Behavioral and Management Sciences in Marketing. New York: Ronald.
  • Rivas, M. & López, M. (2012). Social psychology and organizations. CEDE Manual of Preparation PIR, 11. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Rogers, R.W. (1985). Attitude change and information integration in fear appeals. Psychological Reports, 56, 179-182.

Science Of Persuasion (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Persuasion: définition et éléments de l'art de convaincre

Persuasion: définition et éléments de l'art de convaincre

Octobre 13, 2019

Depuis le début des temps, les êtres humains ont essayé d'atteindre leurs objectifs de la manière la plus optimale possible en élaborant des stratégies et des plans à long terme. Cependant, en tant qu'êtres sociaux que nous sommes, nos objectifs sont souvent que les autres agissent ou pensent d'une certaine manière.

Bien que, dans certains cas, les objectifs d’autres coïncident avec les leurs, il est courant de constater que ce n’est normalement pas le cas, en raison de l’incompatibilité des objectifs et des conflits qui rendent difficile la réalisation de nos objectifs. Comment résoudre ce problème? L’une des méthodes qui peuvent être utilisées à cette fin consiste à essayer de changer le comportement, l’affection ou l’opinion des autres d’une manière qui favorise leurs propres intérêts. C'est-à-dire, utilisez la persuasion .


  • Article connexe: "Les 3 clés de la persuasion: comment convaincre les autres?"

Qu'est-ce que la persuasion?

Nous comprenons la persuasion comme le processus par lequel les messages utilisés sont dotés d’arguments qui les soutiennent, dans le but de changer l’attitude d’une personne en la forçant à faire, croire ou penser des choses qu’elle ne ferait pas, ne créait pas ou ne pensait pas à l’origine. .

Selon McGuire, Ce processus de changement dépend principalement de l’existence de la probabilité de recevoir le message , c’est-à-dire si le destinataire de celui-ci a la capacité d’assister et de comprendre le message que l’on veut lui transmettre, et d’acceptation de la part du destinataire de celui-ci.


Cette acceptation dépendra principalement de la manière dont le message est traité, ainsi que du niveau d'implication et de familiarité que nous avons avec le sujet que nous essayons de convaincre. Ainsi, une personne qui accorde une grande importance au sujet qui est parlé et qui est ressenti comme interpellé par ceci s’intéressera particulièrement au contenu du message, l’évaluant de façon critique, tandis que celui qui ne le jugera pas pertinent sera moins susceptible de commencer. d’analyser le contenu du message peut ne pas l’être de la sorte, bien qu’il puisse être persuadé par des éléments extérieurs au message lui-même.

Par exemple, si quelqu'un nous dit que ce texte sera examiné dans un sujet la semaine prochaine, les étudiants qui ont le sujet en question seront très motivés pour le croire, alors que d'autres changeront à peine leur attitude.

La persuasion n'est pas basée sur des slogans

Bien sûr, nous devons garder à l’esprit que le processus de persuasion n’est pas direct: c’est-à-dire parce qu'une personne dit à une autre qu'elle devrait faire plus d'exercice ou utiliser un produit X avec une technique convaincante, cela ne veut pas dire que la dernière va lui obéir . Certains éléments qui rendent difficile un changement réel sont le fait de présenter des arguments faibles que le destinataire peut neutraliser en renforçant encore son point de vue initial.


En outre, le fait de croire qu'ils veulent nous manipuler par le biais de tromperies ou de proclamations simplistes rend le processus de persuasion plus difficile, provoquant une résistance et même une action contraire à ce que notre liberté personnelle était censée attaquer. Ce phénomène s'appelle réactance.

Éléments clés de la persuasion

Afin de mieux comprendre le processus par lequel une personne ou ses moyens peuvent influencer une autre en changeant d'avis, il faut prendre en compte les éléments clés du processus, étant ceux-ci la source, le récepteur, le message lui-même et la technique utilisée pour le transmettre .

1. Emetteur

S'agissant de la personne qui transmet l'information, la source qui tente de convaincre, deux caractéristiques sont prises en compte au moment de la persuasion ou non: son attractivité et sa crédibilité . De multiples expériences ont démontré que nous considérons généralement comme plus fiables les individus que nous percevons comme plus attractifs (en partie à cause de l'effet de halo, dans lequel nous supposons qu'une personne de bonne qualité en aura sûrement d'autres). C'est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles, dans la publicité, apparaissent fréquemment des hommes et des femmes très attractifs sur le plan physique, ou réputés pour leur valeur, afin de nous vendre un produit.

Cependant, la caractéristique la plus influente de la source pour nous convaincre est la crédibilité , qui est donnée avant le niveau de compétence de la source dans le sujet en question et la sincérité perçue.

Voyons cela avec un exemple simple. Ils nous disent que dans dix ans, la comète Halley va s'écraser sur Terre. Si la personne qui nous dit est une personne que nous rencontrons dans la rue, nous ne changerons probablement pas notre façon d'agir, mais si la personne qui dit que c'est un expert de la NASA, l'inquiétude que cela suscite augmentera probablement. On trouvera encore un autre exemple dans l’utilisation des célébrités pour annoncer des produits dans des publicités.Dans ce cas, non seulement la plupart des célébrités ont tendance à être attrayantes, mais elles sont également associées à un bon niveau de crédibilité basé sur leur image publique.

2. Récepteur

En ce qui concerne le destinataire du message, Les principales caractéristiques qui affectent le temps à influencer sont le niveau d'intelligence, l'estime de soi et le niveau d'implication dans le sujet. .

Il faut tenir compte du fait que l’effet du niveau de renseignement ne doit pas être pris comme une mesure directe. Ce n'est pas que la personne la plus influente a moins d'intelligence, mais une personne plus intelligente aura plus de ressources pour remettre en question les arguments de la persuasion. En ayant une plus grande capacité à apprendre et à utiliser des informations mémorisées en temps réel, la manière de parler des personnes les plus intelligentes est plus fluide et cohérente, ce qui se reflète dans les résultats obtenus en matière de conviction.

En ce qui concerne l'estime de soi, nous constatons généralement que, lorsque l'estime de soi est faible, nous sommes moins susceptibles de considérer nos propres arguments comme valables, acceptant plus facilement ceux des autres.

3. Message

Un autre élément essentiel pour persuader quelqu'un est le message lui-même . Plusieurs études indiquent que l'utilisation d'un message plus rationnel ou plus émotionnel dépendra du type de réponse que l'on veut favoriser. Cela implique également que le message intègre des éléments qui suscitent la peur ou un sentiment de menace: selon la théorie de Rogers sur la motivation de protection, nous aurons tendance à rechercher et à prendre en compte certains messages permettant de minimiser ou d'éviter les dommages.

Le fait que la persuasion se produise plus souvent avec un message fermé ou ouvert a également été étudié, indiquant qu'il est généralement préférable de laisser une conclusion ouverte à l'interprétation, bien que guidée par la direction dans laquelle on souhaite persuader. Cela peut être parce que de cette façon les auditeurs sont plus satisfaits quand ils parviennent à ces conclusions , quelque chose qu’ils vivent comme s’il s’agissait d’une découverte faite par eux-mêmes, sans que personne ne tente d’imposer une idée de l’extérieur.

Enfin, on s'est demandé s'il convenait d'indiquer uniquement les arguments en faveur d'une position ou les arguments de la position opposée. Dans cet aspect, il a été suggéré qu'il est plus convaincant de montrer les deux positions, sinon il est plus évident que le message a pour but de créer de la publicité ou de la propagande plutôt que de fournir des données permettant de prendre des décisions rationnelles, ce qui finit par provoquer une réactance.

Un moyen d'influencer les autres

Comme nous l'avons vu, la persuasion consiste en partie à détecter les "fissures" des défenses psychologiques d'une personne qui peuvent être influencées et qui sont plus faciles à convaincre de prendre une décision. Bien sûr, ce processus ne doit pas donner le sentiment que la personne que vous essayez de convaincre perd ou cède à la personne qui vous convainc, étant donné que le simple fait de vivre un échange d’idées perçu dans cette perspective génère une résistance difficile à renverser. .

Par conséquent, la persuasion il n'agit pas par rationalité, mais par heuristique et raccourcis mentaux en général. Les gens qui sont persuadés le réalisent à peine, car ils pensent souvent qu’ils n’agissent que par rationalité.

C'est pourquoi ces stratégies sont tellement utilisées. ils permettent à une personne d’opter pour une option donnée sans se rendre compte de la présence d’un plan de persuasion.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cialdini, R. (1983, 1984). Influence La psychologie de la persuasion. Edition révisée. HarperCollins.
  • McGuire, W.J. (1969). Un modèle de traitement de l'information de l'efficacité de la publicité. Dans H.L. Davis et A.J. Silk (Eds.), Sciences du comportement et de la gestion en marketing. New York: Ronald.
  • Rivas, M. et López, M. (2012). Psychologie sociale et organisations. CEDE Manuel de préparation PIR, 11. CEDE. Madrid
  • Rogers, R.W. (1985). Changement d'attitude et intégration de l'information dans les appels à la peur. Rapports psychologiques, 56, 179-182.

Comment convaincre un client avec 1 technique de PERSUASION simple & efficace ? (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes