yes, therapy helps!

"Perverse polymorphous": what does this concept of Freud mean?

January 3, 2023

The conception of children under 5 as "perverse polymorphs" It is a very striking aspect of the work of Sigmund Freud, creator of psychoanalysis.

In this article we will describe what exactly this curious concept means, which is related to the potentiality of obtaining sexual pleasure from any object during early life.

  • Related article: "The Psychoanalytic Therapy developed by Sigmund Freud"

The Freudian concept of perversion

Freud affirmed that the main characteristic of sexuality during childhood is polymorphous perversion. To understand this concept it is necessary to define first how perversion is defined in the work of the father of psychoanalysis.


For this author perversion is simply a non-normative sexual behavior ; in the context in which Freud lived, heterosexual genital intercourse was considered normal, while practically any other type of sexual behavior was seen as a deviation from the dominant morality. To a great extent this idea is still valid today.

However, in Freud's work the vision of "perversion" is not necessarily negative. Although rape or pedophilia, which bring suffering to the victim, are forms of perversion, according to Freud's definition so are fetishism or homosexuality , which considered abnormal behavior patterns but not pathological ones.


  • Related article: "The 10 strangest and most curious sexual fetishes"

What does "perverse polymorph" mean?

According to Freud, during the first years of life, girls and boys obtain sexual gratification from very different sources. The drives are directed towards any object that can provide pleasure ; In addition, the stimulation does not have to be limited to the genitals, but all parts of the body are susceptible to receiving gratification.

Thus, as we will explain in detail later, depending on the stage of psychosexual development the little ones would get sexual pleasure from sucking the mother's nipple, from holding or expelling the feces and from many other behaviors.

At the beginning of life, sexuality has not yet focused on the objects that normative socialization demands, that is, heterosexual intercourse. From the work of Freud it follows that this type of sex education depends more on culture than on biology , whereby each society or group would reinforce these patterns to a different extent.


This means that young children lack sexual and gender identity. Once the period of latency is over, that is, with the arrival of puberty, sexual gratification is progressively redirected to heterosexual intercourse with the ultimate goal of reproduction. There is a clear relationship between this fact and the development of the moral or superego.

So, describe children as "perverse polymorphs" it implies that they are capable of feeling sexual pleasure in many different ways that move away from the established social norm. This includes sexual orientation; thus, we could say that according to Freud in the first stages of life all people are bisexual or even pansexual.

The stages of psychosexual development

Psychoanalytic theory is largely based on the five stages of psychosexual development described by Freud. According to this author, people go through these phases in the process towards puberty and adolescence, a time when sexuality is definitively configured.

In each of these phases the sexual energy is focused on a different erogenous zone: the mouth, the anus or the genitals. If the gratification of the needs is insufficient or excessive during any of these stages, there is the risk of psychological "fixation" ; this would imply the appearance of neuroses and concrete perversions.

  • Related article: "The 5 stages of psychosexual development of Sigmund Freud"

1. Oral phase

The first phase of sexual development corresponds approximately to the first year of life. During this period the baby gets pleasure through the mouth, for example by introducing objects in it, which also allows him to explore his environment. The id dominates the psychic structure, so the operation is based on the pleasure principle.

The fixation in the oral phase would cause the appearance of psychological traits such as immaturity, passivity and manipulability. At the sexual level, perversions related to the mouth would develop, such as focus of pleasure in kissing, fellatio or cunnilingus .

2. Anal phase

The anal stage occurs between the second and the fourth year of life.During this period the children learn to control personal hygiene, including the retention and expulsion of feces and urine. According to Freud in the anal phase, sexual pleasure is obtained from the elimination of excrement through the intestinal and urinary tracts.

If a fixation occurs at this stage of development, traits and behaviors of the obsessive type may appear (if the parents' emphasis on cleanliness is excessive) or a tendency towards lack of organization, self-indulgence and rebellion (in the case opposite). Regarding sexuality, the coprofilia and the urofilia would be related to the anal phase .

3. Phallic phase

Between three and six years of age, the genitals become the main erogenous zone. At this age, girls and boys become aware of their own body and that of others, and therefore of the differentiation of sex and gender. The famous Oedipus and Electra complexes (proposed by Carl Jung and rejected by Freud) would occur during this phase.

Compulsive masturbation is the perversion that can be related more clearly to the phallic phase. There would be a focus on the pleasure obtained through the penis or clitoris, depending on the biological sex of the person.

  • Related article: "The Oedipus Complex: one of the most controversial concepts of Freud's theory"

4. Latency phase

Between the anal phase and puberty (that is, approximately between 6 and 10 years old) the sexual impulses are silenced and the energy is redirected towards social interaction, learning, leisure activities ... During this period the character is consolidated acquired during the previous psychosexual stages.

It is considered that fixations in the latency stage are less common than in other phases. When they happen tend to be related to intense sexual frustration and / or with an inability to focus pleasure on activities considered acceptable by the individual's social context.

5. Genital phase

Freud considered that after puberty people reach the final stage of psychosexual development: the genital phase, in which we will remain throughout adult life. The gratification focuses again on the genitals, although in this case normality includes obtaining pleasure through other people, and not in a solitary way.

Failures in the progress of this period can interfere with the acquisition of adaptive sexual relationship patterns. Thus, it is common for them to appear Sexual dysfunctions as difficulties for excitement (mainly erection and lubrication, depending on sex) in sexual relationships, and also that these are not satisfactory.

  • Related article: "The main sexual and psychosexual disorders"

What is POLYMORPHOUS PERVERSITY? What does POLYMORPHOUS PERVERSITY mean? (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!

"Polymère pervers": que veut dire ce concept de Freud?

Décembre 9, 2021

La conception des enfants de moins de 5 ans en tant que "polymorphes pervers" C'est un aspect très frappant du travail de Sigmund Freud, créateur de la psychanalyse.

Dans cet article, nous décrirons exactement ce que signifie ce concept curieux, qui est lié à la possibilité d’obtenir du plaisir sexuel à partir de n’importe quel objet au début de la vie.

  • Article connexe: "La thérapie psychanalytique développée par Sigmund Freud"

Le concept freudien de perversion

Freud a affirmé que la principale caractéristique de la sexualité durant l'enfance est la perversion polymorphe. Pour comprendre ce concept, il faut d'abord définir comment se définit la perversion dans le travail du père de la psychanalyse.


Pour cet auteur la perversion est simplement un comportement sexuel non normatif ; dans le contexte de vie de Freud, les rapports génitaux hétérosexuels étaient considérés comme normaux, tandis que pratiquement tout autre type de comportement sexuel était considéré comme un écart par rapport à la morale dominante. Dans une large mesure, cette idée est toujours valable aujourd'hui.

Cependant, chez Freud, la vision de "perversion" n'est pas nécessairement négative. Bien que le viol ou la pédophilie, qui font souffrir la victime, sont des formes de perversion, selon la définition de Freud il en va de même du fétichisme ou de l'homosexualité , qui considérait des comportements anormaux mais pas pathologiques.


  • Article connexe: "Les 10 fétiches sexuels les plus étranges et les plus curieux"

Que signifie "polymorphe pervers"?

Selon Freud, au cours des premières années de vie, les filles et les garçons obtiennent une gratification sexuelle de sources très différentes. Les entraînements sont dirigés vers tout objet pouvant procurer du plaisir ; De plus, la stimulation ne doit pas nécessairement être limitée aux organes génitaux, mais toutes les parties du corps sont susceptibles de recevoir une gratification.

Ainsi, comme nous l'expliquerons en détail plus loin, selon le stade de développement psychosexuel, les petits auront un plaisir sexuel à sucer le mamelon de la mère, à tenir ou à expulser les selles et à de nombreux autres comportements.

Au début de la vie, la sexualité ne s'est pas encore concentrée sur les objets qu'exige la socialisation normative, à savoir les rapports hétérosexuels. Il ressort des travaux de Freud que ce type d’éducation sexuelle dépend plus de la culture que de la biologie , chaque société ou groupe renforçant ces schémas dans des proportions différentes.


Cela signifie que les jeunes enfants n'ont pas d'identité sexuelle et de genre. Une fois la période de latence terminée, c'est-à-dire avec l'arrivée de la puberté, la gratification sexuelle est progressivement réorientée vers des rapports hétérosexuels dans le but ultime de la reproduction. Il existe une relation claire entre ce fait et le développement de la morale ou du surmoi.

Pourtant, décrire les enfants comme des "polymorphes pervers" cela implique qu'ils soient capables de ressentir le plaisir sexuel de nombreuses façons différentes, qui s'éloignent de la norme sociale établie. Cela comprend l'orientation sexuelle; on pourrait donc dire que, selon Freud, au début de la vie, tout le monde est bisexuel ou même pansexuel.

Les étapes du développement psychosexuel

La théorie psychanalytique est largement basée sur les cinq étapes du développement psychosexuel décrit par Freud. Selon cet auteur, les gens traversent ces phases du processus menant à la puberté et à l'adolescence, une période où la sexualité est définitivement configurée.

Dans chacune de ces phases, l'énergie sexuelle est concentrée sur une zone érogène différente: la bouche, l'anus ou les organes génitaux. Si la satisfaction des besoins est insuffisante ou excessive au cours de l’une ou l’autre de ces étapes, le risque de "fixation" psychologique ; cela impliquerait l'apparition de névroses et de perversions concrètes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 étapes du développement psychosexuel de Sigmund Freud"

1. phase orale

La première phase du développement sexuel correspond approximativement à la première année de la vie. Pendant cette période, le bébé prend du plaisir par la bouche, par exemple en y introduisant des objets, ce qui lui permet également d'explorer son environnement. Le ça domine la structure psychique, donc l'opération est basée sur le principe du plaisir.

La fixation dans la phase orale provoquerait l'apparition de traits psychologiques tels que l'immaturité, la passivité et la manipulabilité. Au niveau sexuel, des perversions liées à la bouche se développeraient, telles que centre de plaisir à embrasser, fellation ou cunnilingus .

2. phase anale

Le stade anal se produit entre la deuxième et la quatrième année de la vie.Pendant cette période, les enfants apprennent à contrôler l’hygiène personnelle, notamment la rétention et l’expulsion des selles et de l’urine. Selon Freud dans la phase anale, le plaisir sexuel est obtenu par l'élimination des excréments par les voies intestinale et urinaire.

Si une fixation se produit à ce stade de développement, des traits et des comportements de type obsessionnel peuvent apparaître ci-contre). En ce qui concerne la sexualité, le coprofilia et l'urofilia seraient liés à la phase anale .

3. Phase phallique

Entre trois et six ans, les organes génitaux deviennent la principale zone érogène. À cet âge, les filles et les garçons prennent conscience de leur corps et de celui des autres, et donc de la différenciation entre les sexes. Les célèbres complexes Œdipe et Electre (proposé par Carl Jung et rejeté par Freud) aurait lieu pendant cette phase.

La masturbation compulsive est la perversion qui peut être reliée plus clairement à la phase phallique. L'accent serait mis sur le plaisir obtenu à travers le pénis ou le clitoris, en fonction du sexe biologique de la personne.

  • Article connexe: "Le complexe d'Œdipe: l'un des concepts les plus controversés de la théorie de Freud"

4. Phase de latence

Entre la phase anale et la puberté (c'est-à-dire entre 6 et 10 ans environ), les impulsions sexuelles sont réduites au silence et l'énergie est redirigée vers les interactions sociales, l'apprentissage, les loisirs acquis au cours des stades psychosexuels précédents.

On considère que les fixations au stade de latence sont moins courantes que dans les autres phases. Quand ils se produisent ont tendance à être liés à une frustration sexuelle intense et / ou avec une incapacité à concentrer le plaisir sur des activités considérées comme acceptables par le contexte social de l'individu.

5. Phase génitale

Freud considérait qu'après la puberté, les personnes atteignaient le stade final du développement psychosexuel: la phase génitale, dans laquelle nous resterons tout au long de la vie adulte. La gratification se concentre à nouveau sur les organes génitaux, bien que, dans ce cas, la normalité implique d’obtenir du plaisir par le biais d’autres personnes et non de manière solitaire.

Les échecs dans le progrès de cette période peuvent interférer avec l'acquisition de modèles de relations sexuelles adaptatives. Ainsi, il est fréquent qu'ils apparaissent Dysfonctionnements sexuels comme difficultés d'excitation (principalement érection et lubrification, selon le sexe) dans les relations sexuelles, et aussi que celles-ci ne sont pas satisfaisantes.

  • Article connexe: "Les principaux troubles sexuels et psychosexuels"

Mass Effect Andromeda - Eos : Bayn, fils de Zaeed Massani (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes