yes, therapy helps!
Pfeiffer syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatments

Pfeiffer syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatments

June 12, 2024

The stage of intrauterine development is one of the most delicate periods of life, and since small alterations in the functioning of the organism can cause it to grow abnormally.

That is why the deformities that can appear during the development of the fetus they are capable of seriously compromising a person's quality of life, or even causing their death in a few months or weeks.

Pfeiffer syndrome is one of the diseases capable of leaving serious consequences physical and psychological in the life of the boy or girl, since it directly affects the growth of the encephalon. Next we will see what are the symptoms, causes, treatments and general characteristics of this health problem.


  • Related article: "The development of the nervous system during pregnancy"

What is Pfeiffer syndrome?

The pathology known as Pfeiffer syndrome is a disorder of genetic causes whose main effect is the premature fusion of the bones of the skull , which makes the brain, by exerting pressure on the vault that covers it, cause deformities that are seen by the naked eye and that, in turn, the brain does not develop in the correct way.

This disorder was discovered by the German geneticist Rudolf Arthur Pfeiffer, who studied the case of a family whose limbs presented deformities in the hands, feet and head.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Macrocephaly: causes, symptoms and treatment"


Causes

It is considered that Pfeiffer syndrome is a disease based on the genetic inheritance of a dominant trait , so that only one copy of the mutated gene is needed for the symptoms to develop. Both the father and the mother are capable of transmitting it.

In exceptional cases, it is possible that the mutation appears for the first time in the genealogical line of the last generations, which would also produce symptoms.

Types of Pfeiffer syndrome

There is more than one classification system for the types of Pfeiffer syndrome. One of the most popular is that of Greig and Warner, who distinguish forms of the pathology depending on its severity and highlighting the changes that are observed after the first corrective surgery, which must be early:

Type A: mild problems

No changes were observed after the operations, since the initial symptoms were mild.


Type B: moderate problems

The improvement is significant.

Type C: serious problems

The improvement after the operation is very significant.

symptom

As we have seen, the main symptom associated with Pfeiffer syndrome is the appearance of a deformity in the head .

In particular, the forehead is bulging, especially in the area that is above where the eyebrows will grow, and the eyes are bulging and with a large separation between them because of the lack of space inside the skull.

On the other hand, also because of the chain of deformations generated by the early fusion of the bones of the skull, the upper jaw is insufficiently developed , while the inferior one is, in comparison, disproportionately large, and hearing loss is frequent, since there is also no space for the parts of the ear to be well formed. It is also possible that mental retardation develops.

Another typical symptom of Pfeiffer syndrome is the incorrect alignment of the fingers and toes, or an excessive growth of the thickness of these. In some cases, in addition, they also appear malformations in organs of the chest, and breathing problems .

We must bear in mind that, although it is known that the causes of this pathology are fundamentally genetic, it does not appear simply due to the mutation of a gene, but that Pfeiffer syndrome can appear in different forms. In short, the same symptoms do not always appear nor are they equally evolved.

Diagnosis

Pfeiffer syndrome is diagnosed as soon as after birth. or , when the specialist doctor measures the proportions of the skull and fingers. However, before the birth it is already possible to detect signs of an abnormal development, which means that it remains waiting for birth to know exactly what pathology is involved.

Treatments

As we have said, it is very important to intervene quickly after detecting the symptoms of the pathology, in order to prevent deformities from causing secondary problems.

In any case, it is necessary to offer an individualized treatment to adapt to each specific situation, addressing the present problems taking into account the child's age and family context.In any case, the surgical procedure hurts to be recommended, since it allows to improve the development perspectives of the brain and the face, with all the benefits that this entails (especially for the eyes and the auditory capacity).

It is also common perform aesthetic operations simply to improve the appearance of the face , and prevent psychological problems that may arise linked to problems to relate to others, and self-esteem, etc.


Pfeiffer Syndrome ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Pfeiffer: causes, symptômes et traitements

Syndrome de Pfeiffer: causes, symptômes et traitements

Juillet 30, 2021

Le stade de développement intra-utérin est l'une des périodes les plus délicates de la vie et, de petites altérations dans le fonctionnement de l'organisme peuvent provoquer sa croissance anormale.

C'est pour ça que les malformations qui peuvent apparaître pendant le développement du fœtus ils sont capables de compromettre sérieusement la qualité de vie d'une personne, voire de causer sa mort en quelques mois ou quelques semaines.

Le syndrome de Pfeiffer est l’une des maladies pouvant avoir des conséquences graves physique et psychologique dans la vie du garçon ou de la fille, car cela affecte directement la croissance de l'encéphale. Nous verrons ensuite quels sont les symptômes, les causes, les traitements et les caractéristiques générales de ce problème de santé.


  • Article connexe: "Le développement du système nerveux pendant la grossesse"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Pfeiffer?

La pathologie appelée syndrome de Pfeiffer est un trouble de causes génétiques dont l’effet principal est la fusion prématurée des os du crâne , ce qui fait que le cerveau, en exerçant une pression sur la voûte qui le recouvre, provoque des déformations visibles à l'œil nu et qui, à leur tour, ne se développent pas correctement.

Ce désordre a été découvert par le généticien allemand Rudolf Arthur Pfeiffer, qui a étudié le cas d'une famille dont les membres présentaient des déformations aux mains, aux pieds et à la tête.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Macrocéphalie: causes, symptômes et traitement"


Les causes

On considère que le syndrome de Pfeiffer est un maladie basée sur l'héritage génétique d'un trait dominant , de sorte qu’une seule copie du gène muté est nécessaire au développement des symptômes. Le père et la mère sont tous deux capables de le transmettre.

Dans des cas exceptionnels, il est possible que la mutation apparaisse pour la première fois dans la lignée généalogique des dernières générations, ce qui produirait également des symptômes.

Types de syndrome de Pfeiffer

Il existe plusieurs systèmes de classification pour les types de syndrome de Pfeiffer. L'un des plus populaires est celui de Greig et Warner, qui distinguent les formes de la pathologie en fonction de sa gravité et soulignent les changements observés après la première intervention chirurgicale corrective, qui doit être précoce:

Type A: problèmes légers

Aucun changement n'a été observé après les opérations, car les symptômes initiaux étaient légers.


Type B: problèmes modérés

L'amélioration est significative.

Type C: problèmes graves

L'amélioration après l'opération est très significative.

Les symptômes

Comme nous l’avons vu, le principal symptôme associé au syndrome de Pfeiffer est l'apparition d'une difformité dans la tête .

En particulier, le front est bombé, en particulier dans la zone située au-dessus de la zone de croissance des sourcils, où les yeux sont bombés et séparés par une grande distance en raison du manque d'espace à l'intérieur du crâne.

D'autre part, également à cause de la chaîne de déformations générée par la fusion précoce des os du crâne, la mâchoire supérieure est insuffisamment développée , tandis que l’inférieur est, en comparaison, disproportionné, et la perte d’audition est fréquente, car il n’ya pas non plus de place pour que les parties de l’oreille soient bien formées. Il est également possible que le retard mental se développe.

Un autre symptôme typique du syndrome de Pfeiffer est l’alignement incorrect des doigts et des orteils, ou une croissance excessive de l’épaisseur de ceux-ci. Dans certains cas, en outre, ils apparaissent également malformations des organes de la poitrine et problèmes respiratoires .

Nous devons garder à l'esprit que, bien que l'on sache que les causes de cette pathologie sont fondamentalement génétiques, elles ne semblent pas simplement dues à la mutation d'un gène, mais le syndrome de Pfeiffer peut apparaître sous différentes formes. En bref, les mêmes symptômes n'apparaissent pas toujours ni ne se sont également développés.

Diagnostic

Le syndrome de Pfeiffer est diagnostiqué aussitôt après la naissance. o , quand le médecin spécialiste mesure les proportions du crâne et des doigts. Cependant, avant la naissance, il est déjà possible de détecter les signes d'un développement anormal, ce qui signifie qu'il reste en attente de la naissance pour savoir exactement quelle pathologie est impliquée.

Traitements

Comme nous l’avons dit, il est très important d’intervenir rapidement après la détection des symptômes de la pathologie, afin d’éviter que des malformations entraînent des problèmes secondaires.

En tout cas, il est nécessaire d'offrir un traitement individualisé s'adapter à chaque situation spécifique en abordant les problèmes actuels en tenant compte de l'âge de l'enfant et du contexte familial.Quoi qu’il en soit, la procédure chirurgicale fait mal à recommander, car elle permet d’améliorer les perspectives de développement du cerveau et du visage, avec tous les avantages que cela comporte (surtout pour les yeux et la capacité auditive).

C'est aussi commun effectuer des opérations esthétiques simplement pour améliorer l'apparence du visage , et prévenir les problèmes psychologiques qui peuvent survenir liés à des problèmes de relation avec les autres, l'estime de soi, etc.


Mononucléose infectieuse : causes, symptômes et traitement Maladies infantiles (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes