yes, therapy helps!
Pheromones: what are they and how do they influence our sex life?

Pheromones: what are they and how do they influence our sex life?

January 22, 2022

Romantic dinners, intimate and fascinating conversations in which seduction fills everything, sophisticated ways of finding attraction in the intelligence of the other ... It seems that human sexuality is one of the most subtle creations of nature, one in which everything what is related to reproduction is precisely what matters least of all.

However, it is still true that, rational or not, we are still part of the animal kingdom. And in the world of animals There is a chemical element that influences sexuality, also in our case: pheromones .

What are pheromones?

Pheromones are chemical substances generated by living beings that are used to generate reactions in other individuals, of the same or another species. They are, so to speak, the raw material with which some forms of life establish a communication with others.


Of course, the pheromones is a very simple and primitive communication, which even has problems to fit into what can be understood by non-verbal communication. On the one hand, this transmission of information, but does not use semantics or signs that can be processed cognitively . In fact, the whole process is automatic and not conscious (and no, not in the way that Sigmund Freud would have imagined it).

In it there are no possible interpretations. A chemical signal is simply received and reacted accordingly, almost always in a predictable and stereotypical manner. So that, Pheromones are like pieces that can only fit with a way of life in a certain way.


This definition is very broad, but in practice one of the most important roles of pheromones has to do with one very specific: that of reproduction.

Pheromones and the couple search

When human beings seek a partner (stable or punctual), the search for information about the people among whom they doubt themselves rarely has to do with the analysis of discourses and verbal messages. Non-verbal communication, such as gestures and postures, have a great influence, because they are expressed through aesthetics and physical appearance.

The exterior of a person is not everything, but it is a layer of reality that natural evolution has taught us to appreciate a lot, because we have gone developing ways to find relevant information on possible partners over millions of years, before we developed the ability to use language.


Pheromones are part of this primitive packaging that we tend to judge in the first place before trying to analyze the way of thinking and feeling of people. Its importance has to do with the following points:

1. They give an idea of ​​sexual compatibility

Pheromones make a lot of sense from the point of view of reproduction because, unconsciously, they give us an idea about the characteristics that a common son or daughter would have. Specifically, pheromones express aspects of the immune system of those who secrete them, and it has been seen that in many animals there is a tendency to prefer individuals with an immune system more different from their own . In this way the offspring have a more complete and comprehensive.

2. Indicate the presence of the state of sexual activation

Pheromones induce to direct one's behavior towards sexuality (either to feel attracted to someone or to feel the opposite), but they also tell us about the degree to which the person who segregates them shows a predisposition or not to have sex.

3. They give information about the ovulation cycle

This has been proven in non-human animals, and there are some signs that it could also be met in our species. In fact, it has been possible to register how the smell of women who are ovulating makes men's testosterone levels rise. Something similar has been seen in women, who through the smell could detect possible "competition" when detecting ovulation of other .

This does not have to have too much from the point of view of how sexuality is lived in modern societies, in which sexuality and reproduction have been separated, but for the selection of species it is very important.

Studying pheromones in humans

What is known about pheromones is, basically, thanks to research in biology with non-human animals. The clues about the role these chemicals might be having in the reproductive and affective behavior of humans is unclear, because its effects are difficult to register in a species as sophisticated as ours .

After all, It is easy to see how pheromones act in small animals and with a nervous system less developed than ours, but as the complexity of behavior and the influence of society and culture increases, the role of these chemicals is blurred and hidden after many layers of convoluted psychological processes.

Just as it is not the same to investigate about memory experimenting with chains of neurons than to do it with living human beings performing complex cognitive tasks, the study of pheromones in humans will need to be developed over many years to give us detailed explanations on how this element affects us.


Do Humans Have Pheromones? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les phéromones: de quoi s'agit-il et comment influencent-ils notre vie sexuelle?

Les phéromones: de quoi s'agit-il et comment influencent-ils notre vie sexuelle?

Janvier 22, 2022

Dîners romantiques, conversations intimes et fascinantes où la séduction occupe tout, moyens sophistiqués de séduire l’intelligence de l’autre ... Il semble que la sexualité humaine soit l’une des créations les plus subtiles de la nature, celle dans laquelle tout ce qui est lié à la reproduction est précisément ce qui compte le moins.

Cependant, il est toujours vrai que, rationnels ou non, nous faisons toujours partie du règne animal. Et dans le monde des animaux Il existe un élément chimique qui influence la sexualité, également dans notre cas: les phéromones .

Que sont les phéromones?

Les phéromones sont des substances chimiques générées par des êtres vivants qui sont utilisées pour générer des réactions chez d'autres individus, de la même espèce ou d'une autre. Ils sont, pour ainsi dire, la matière première avec laquelle certaines formes de vie établissent une communication avec d'autres.


Bien entendu, les phéromones constituent une communication très simple et primitive, qui a même des problèmes pour s’intégrer à ce que l’on peut comprendre par communication non verbale. D'une part, cette transmission d'informations, mais n'utilise pas de sémantique ou de signes pouvant être traités cognitivement . En fait, tout le processus est automatique et non conscient (et non, pas comme Sigmund Freud l’aurait imaginé).

Il n'y a aucune interprétation possible. Un signal chimique est simplement reçu et réagi en conséquence, presque toujours de manière prévisible et stéréotypée. Donc, Les phéromones sont comme des pièces qui ne peuvent s’intégrer qu’à un certain mode de vie.


Cette définition est très large mais, dans la pratique, l’un des rôles les plus importants des phéromones est lié à un principe très spécifique: celui de la reproduction.

Les phéromones et le couple

Lorsque des êtres humains recherchent un partenaire (stable ou ponctuel), la recherche d'informations sur les personnes parmi lesquelles ils se doutent est rarement liée à l'analyse de discours et de messages verbaux. La communication non verbale, telle que les gestes et les postures, a une grande influence, car elle s'exprime à travers l'esthétique et l'apparence physique.

L'extérieur d'une personne n'est pas tout, mais c'est une couche de réalité que l'évolution naturelle nous a appris à apprécier beaucoup, car nous sommes partis développer des moyens de trouver des informations pertinentes sur des partenaires potentiels sur des millions d'années, avant que nous ayons développé la capacité d'utiliser le langage.


Les phéromones font partie de cet emballage primitif que nous avons tendance à juger avant d'essayer d'analyser la façon de penser et de ressentir les gens. Son importance concerne les points suivants:

1. Ils donnent une idée de la compatibilité sexuelle

Les phéromones ont beaucoup de sens du point de vue de la reproduction car, inconsciemment, elles nous donnent une idée des caractéristiques qu’aurait un fils ou une fille ordinaire. Plus précisément, les phéromones expriment des aspects du système immunitaire de ceux qui les sécrètent et il a été constaté que chez de nombreux animaux il y a une tendance à préférer les individus avec un système immunitaire plus différent de leur propre . De cette façon, la progéniture ont un plus complet et complet.

2. Indiquer la présence de l'état d'activation sexuelle

Les phéromones incitent à orienter son comportement vis-à-vis de la sexualité (soit à se sentir attiré par quelqu'un ou à ressentir le contraire), mais ils nous indiquent également à quel point la personne qui les sépare montre une prédisposition ou non à avoir des rapports sexuels.

3. Ils donnent des informations sur le cycle de l'ovulation

Cela a été prouvé chez des animaux non humains, et certains signes indiquent que cela pourrait également être rencontré chez notre espèce. En fait, il a été possible d’enregistrer comment l’odeur des femmes ovulantes fait augmenter le taux de testostérone chez les hommes. On a vu quelque chose de semblable chez les femmes qui, à travers l’odeur, pouvaient détecter une éventuelle "compétition" lors de la détection de l'ovulation d'autres .

Cela n’a pas besoin d’avoir beaucoup de points de vue sur la façon dont la sexualité est vécue dans les sociétés modernes, dans lesquelles la sexualité et la reproduction ont été séparées, mais pour la sélection des espèces, cela est très important.

Etudier les phéromones chez l'homme

Ce que l’on sait sur les phéromones, c’est essentiellement grâce aux recherches en biologie sur des animaux non humains. Les indices sur le rôle que ces produits chimiques pourraient avoir dans le comportement reproductif et affectif de l'homme n'est pas claire, car ses effets sont difficiles à enregistrer chez une espèce aussi sophistiquée que la nôtre .

Après tout Il est facile de voir comment les phéromones agissent chez les petits animaux et avec un système nerveux moins développé que le nôtre, mais à mesure que la complexité des comportements et l'influence de la société et de la culture augmentent, le rôle de ces produits chimiques est flou et caché après plusieurs couches de processus psychologiques compliqués.

Tout comme il n’est pas la même chose d’étudier des expériences de mémoire utilisant des chaînes de neurones que de le faire avec des êtres humains vivants effectuant des tâches cognitives complexes, l’étude des phéromones chez l’homme devra être développée sur plusieurs années pour nous donner des explications détaillées élément nous affecte.


Équinoxe de printemps : pourquoi la libido se réveille-t-elle ? (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes