yes, therapy helps!
Physical and psychological benefits of masturbation

Physical and psychological benefits of masturbation

May 9, 2021

The search for pleasure is one of the main objectives of the human being. Not only men and women live through reflection and hard work. Pleasure, in its many facets, is associated with happiness and is (or should at least be) something that we should all look for.

To feel pleasure there are many forms, including sex, either with other people or with oneself. Of this last possibility we will speak today, deepening in the masturbation and its multiple positive effects for our physical, psychological and physiological health .

Related article: "Smart people masturbate more, according to a study"

Masturbation: giving pleasure to oneself has its advantages

Masturbation is a sexual behavior that can be defined as any form of sexual self-pleasure obtained through any type of direct physical stimulation. This sexual behavior is widely practiced, since 95% of men and 63% of women have ever masturbated .


Masturbation as a usual practice usually begins during adolescence, with boys beginning earlier than girls as a trend, with an average age of beginning of 14 and 16, respectively. A curious fact is that women tend to masturbate more often when they are in a stable relationship, whereas men tend to masturbate more when they lose a relationship and become single again.

This sexual behavior is not specifically human, since It is also observed in other animals , especially among mammals.

Historical vision of masturbation: religion and taboo

Masturbation has been condemned throughout history , giving it a negative connotation and provoking or attributing diverse physical and mental problems to the people who have practiced it.


Thus, for example, the Christian religion has historically persecuted it, considering it even a worse sin than incest or rape in past ages. Culturally, masturbation was considered the cause of health problems such as loss of vision or sterility, something that science denies sharply. Despite this, in times when information and access to scientific sources was a utopia, people firmly believed that masturbation would cause them severe problems, and therefore repressed their instinct to practice it.

But not only religion has transmitted negativity and has generated cultural taboo towards this sexual behavior: several scientists and health professionals have written extensively about the negative effects of masturbation on the health of the people who practice it. For example, Tissot , in 1758, considered masturbation as a cause of brain softening .


It was also theorized that this practice was one of the causes of homosexuality, and Kraepelin He explained that masturbation was a symptom of several mental illnesses. Sigmund Freud also wrote about this sexual behavior, and had the theory that masturbation was normal in childhood, but a symptom of immaturity in adulthood, especially in the case of female masturbation.

Physical and psychological benefits of masturbation

Clinical research has been able to show that masturbation is beneficial both physically and psychologically , and in fact, it is widely used as a technique in sexual and couple therapy

These are some of the benefits of this practice.

Physical benefits

  • Causes an analgesic effect and can help with menstrual pain, as it causes a deflation of the genital area.
  • Maintains a healthy state of the genitals : it helps to maintain a good lubrication in the case of women, and a good reflection of the erection and ejaculation in the case of men.
  • Some studies indicate that masturbating helps strengthen the immune system and prevents infections, due to the higher levels of immunoglobulin A that can be seen in people who get more orgasms.

Psychological benefits

  • It helps to improve sleep, especially in the case of men, due to the release of serotonin and opioids.
  • It has a relaxing effect and a feeling of well-being , helping to release sexual, physiological and psychological stresses.
  • Help to explore and learn about one's sexuality , promoting positive attitudes towards sex and genitals, and can improve sexual functioning in the couple.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hair, F (2010). Manual of sexology and sexual therapy. Madrid: Editorial synthesis.

** Effects of excessive masturbation** on your health (including hair loss and depression) NO FAP (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Avantages physiques et psychologiques de la masturbation

Avantages physiques et psychologiques de la masturbation

Janvier 22, 2022

La recherche du plaisir est l'un des objectifs principaux de l'être humain. Non seulement les hommes et les femmes vivent à travers la réflexion et le travail acharné. Le plaisir, dans ses nombreuses facettes, est associé au bonheur et est (ou devrait du moins être) quelque chose que nous devrions tous rechercher.

Pour ressentir du plaisir, il en existe de nombreuses formes, y compris le sexe, avec d'autres personnes ou avec soi-même. De cette dernière possibilité nous parlerons aujourd’hui, approfondissant dans la masturbation et ses multiples effets positifs sur notre santé physique, psychologique et physiologique .

Article connexe: "Selon une étude, les gens intelligents se masturbent davantage"

Masturbation: se faire plaisir a ses avantages

La masturbation est un comportement sexuel qui peut être défini comme toute forme de plaisir sexuel obtenu par n'importe quel type de stimulation physique directe. Ce comportement sexuel est largement pratiqué, car 95% des hommes et 63% des femmes se sont déjà masturbés .


La pratique habituelle de la masturbation commence généralement à l'adolescence, les garçons commençant plus tôt que les filles constituant une tendance, l'âge moyen étant respectivement de 14 et 16 ans. Un fait curieux est que les femmes ont tendance à se masturber plus souvent lorsqu'elles sont dans une relation stable, alors que les hommes ont tendance à se masturber davantage lorsqu'ils perdent une relation et redeviennent célibataires.

Ce comportement sexuel n'est pas spécifiquement humain, puisque Il est également observé chez d'autres animaux , surtout chez les mammifères.

Vision historique de la masturbation: religion et tabou

La masturbation a été condamnée à travers l'histoire en lui donnant une connotation négative et en provoquant ou en attribuant divers problèmes physiques et mentaux aux personnes qui l'ont pratiqué.


Ainsi, par exemple, la religion chrétienne l'a historiquement persécutée, le considérant même comme un péché plus grave que l'inceste ou le viol des siècles passés. Culturellement, la masturbation était considérée comme la cause de problèmes de santé tels que la perte de vision ou la stérilité, ce que la science nie brutalement. Malgré cela, à une époque où l’information et l’accès aux sources scientifiques étaient une utopie, les gens étaient convaincus que la masturbation leur causerait de graves problèmes et réprimaient donc leur instinct de la pratiquer.

Mais non seulement la religion a transmis la négativité et a généré un tabou culturel sur ce comportement sexuel: plusieurs scientifiques et professionnels de la santé ont beaucoup écrit sur les effets négatifs de la masturbation sur la santé de ceux qui la pratiquent. Par exemple, Tissot , en 1758, considéré la masturbation comme une cause de ramollissement du cerveau .


Il a également été théorisé que cette pratique était l'une des causes de l'homosexualité, et Kraepelin Il a expliqué que la masturbation était un symptôme de plusieurs maladies mentales. Sigmund Freud a également écrit sur ce comportement sexuel et a avancé l'hypothèse que la masturbation était normale dans l'enfance, mais un symptôme d'immaturité à l'âge adulte, en particulier dans le cas de la masturbation féminine.

Avantages physiques et psychologiques de la masturbation

Des recherches cliniques ont montré que la masturbation était bénéfique à la fois physiquement et psychologiquement. , et en fait, il est largement utilisé comme technique en thérapie sexuelle et de couple

Ce sont quelques-uns des avantages de cette pratique.

Avantages physiques

  • Provoque un effet analgésique et peut aider avec la douleur menstruelle, car elle provoque une déflation de la région génitale.
  • Maintient un état sain des organes génitaux : il aide à maintenir une bonne lubrification chez les femmes et un bon reflet de l'érection et de l'éjaculation chez les hommes.
  • Certaines études indiquent que la masturbation contribue à renforcer le système immunitaire et prévient les infections, en raison des taux plus élevés d'immunoglobuline A que l'on peut observer chez les personnes qui ont plus d'orgasmes.

Avantages psychologiques

  • Il contribue à améliorer le sommeil, en particulier chez les hommes, en raison de la libération de sérotonine et d'opioïdes.
  • Il a un effet relaxant et une sensation de bien-être , aidant à libérer les tensions sexuelles, physiologiques et psychologiques.
  • Aide à explorer et à apprendre sur sa sexualité , favorise des attitudes positives envers le sexe et les organes génitaux et peut améliorer le fonctionnement sexuel du couple.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cheveux, F (2010). Manuel de sexologie et thérapie sexuelle. Madrid: synthèse éditoriale.

Danger de l'excés de masturbation - La Masturbation et perte de cheveux (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes