yes, therapy helps!
Pica (allotrophagia): causes, symptoms and possible treatments

Pica (allotrophagia): causes, symptoms and possible treatments

May 6, 2021

There are different types of eating disorders, such as anorexia or bulimia. Even though the latter are well known, for most people, some of them are not. One of these is the Pica Syndrome or Alotrophagia , an eating disorder that affects mostly children.

Its main characteristic is that the person who suffers feels an uncontainable desire or impulse to ingest substances that are not nutritious , among them, earth, ants, bicarbonate, glue, insects, paper, small pieces of plastic or wood.

Pica Syndrome is associated with children with cognitive difficulties and other developmental disorders, for example, autism. Up to 30% of children with this disorder have Pica. Although this behavior can be seen in other children of young age, individuals with autism continue to perform this practice at older ages.


  • Recommended article: "10 signs and symptoms to identify Autism"

Pica syndrome: main characteristics

Therefore, this disorder is characterized by a persistent desire that leads the person to want to eat substances such as earth or paint . Substances that, in addition to containing zero nutritional value, cause the person with Pica to put their health at risk.

The Manual of Child Clinical Psychology It is estimated that currently the prevalence of this disorder corresponds to between 4% and 26% of the institutionalized population. Some of the most frequent causes of Pica Syndrome are nutritional disorders, mental illnesses and psychological problems. However, in most cases the detonator of this behavior is not known.


But nevertheless, It is important to treat this problem as soon as possible to avoid complications , as a greater risk of suffering gastrointestinal diseases and social maladjustment

How Pica Syndrome is diagnosed

If there are suspicions that someone may suffer from this disorder, an immediate medical evaluation is important to know if there is anemia, intestinal problems or toxicity caused by the ingested substances . The doctor may use X-ray tests or blood tests to determine the extent or consequences of such use.

In addition, the doctor can also perform a thorough evaluation to see if there are possible infections caused by objects or substances contaminated with batteries. On the other hand, it is important to carry out a review of the patient's eating habits.

The presence of the psychologist is also important when making a correct diagnosis . It is essential to assess the presence of other disorders, such as mental retardation, developmental disorders or obsessive-compulsive disorder.


According to the DSM-V, the pattern of behavior of the person with Pica has the following characteristics:

  • The persistent feeding of inappropriate substances must last at least one month for the diagnosis of Pica Syndrome.
  • The feeding of non-nutritive substances is inappropriate for the level of development of the individual.
  • Inappropriate eating behavior is not part of a cultural or social practice.
  • If it occurs in the presence of another mental disorder (eg, autism) or during a medical condition (eg, pregnancy) it is severe enough to require independent medical attention.

Treatments and follow-ups

Due to the high risk of medical complications (eg, poisoning) associated with Pica, Close medical supervision is necessary during the entire treatment of the eating behavior . Obviously, this treatment is not understood without the figure of a psychologist and / or psychiatrist expert in the treatment of eating behavior.

The Manual of Child Clinical Psychology emphasizes the application of cognitive-behavioral strategies due to its effectiveness for the treatment of this type of psychopathologies. For example, it is possible to train the subjects to eat or not to eat harmful substances with the application of reinforcement techniques .

Complications associated with Pica Syndrome

As already mentioned, This disorder can cause serious health problems . Some of the complications associated with Pica Syndrome are:

  • Certain products such as paint may include toxic substances , and eating them can lead to poisoning. This can cause serious complications, for example, brain damage and even death.
  • The ingestion of substances that can not be digested (eg stones) can cause constipation or blockage in the digestive tract, including the intestines. In addition, sharp objects can cause injuries to the mouth, neck or stomach.
  • Ingested bacteria or parasites can cause infections serious that can damage both the liver and the kidneys.
  • The existence of other psychological disorders can hinder the treatment of Pica Syndrome.

Prevention

In general, the Pica Syndrome begins in childhood and lasts only a few months. However, it is likely to be more difficult for children with developmental disabilities to manage, since they can continue to show this behavior in advanced ages .

But can this eating disorder be prevented? There is no specific way to prevent it. However, careful attention to the children's eating habits and close supervision of children more likely to put things in their mouths can help prevent the disease before complications can arise.

As always happens with this type of disorders, avoid that this type of behavior becomes part of the daily habits of the person is essential, so that the earlier you intervene, the better. Once this behavior is consolidated, it is more complicated to make it disappear.

An irrational impulse

The Pica Syndrome is a sign that, in certain circumstances, the human being is capable of embracing extremely harmful and maladaptive behavior patterns that have no clear advantage. In the allotrofagia not only the stomach is filled impulsively , but also the substances that are ingested are not nutritious and, in many cases, they are toxic.

To come to understand what psychological mechanisms are behind the Pica Syndrome is to find the mental processes that reinforce this "loop" of actions that is maintained over time, giving up explanations based on rational decisions of the patient.


Pica-Pica - Se acabaron las navidades (20 minutos) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pica (allotrophagie): causes, symptômes et traitements possibles

Pica (allotrophagie): causes, symptômes et traitements possibles

Septembre 3, 2022

Il existe différents types de troubles de l'alimentation, tels que l'anorexie ou la boulimie. Même si ces dernières sont bien connues, certaines ne le sont pas pour la plupart des gens. L'un d'entre eux est le Syndrome de pica o Alotrophagie , un trouble de l'alimentation qui affecte principalement les enfants.

Sa principale caractéristique est que la personne qui en souffre éprouve un désir incontrôlable ou une impulsion à ingérer des substances qui ne sont pas nutritives. parmi eux, la terre, les fourmis, le bicarbonate, la colle, les insectes, le papier, les petits morceaux de plastique ou de bois.

Le syndrome de Pica est associé à des enfants présentant des difficultés cognitives et d'autres troubles du développement, tels que l'autisme. Jusqu'à 30% des enfants atteints de cette maladie ont Pica. Bien que ce comportement puisse être observé chez d’autres enfants jeunes, les autistes continuent à pratiquer cette pratique à un âge plus avancé.


  • Article recommandé: "10 signes et symptômes pour identifier l'autisme"

Syndrome de pica: principales caractéristiques

Par conséquent, ce désordre se caractérise par un désir persistant qui amène la personne à vouloir manger des substances telles que de la terre ou de la peinture . Substances qui, en plus de ne contenir aucune valeur nutritionnelle, font que la personne atteinte de pica met sa santé en péril.

Le Manuel de psychologie clinique de l'enfant On estime qu'actuellement, la prévalence de ce trouble correspond à 4% à 26% de la population institutionnalisée. Certaines des causes les plus fréquentes de syndrome de pica sont les désordres nutritionnels, les maladies mentales et les problèmes psychologiques. Cependant, dans la plupart des cas, le détonateur de ce comportement n'est pas connu.


Cependant, Il est important de traiter ce problème le plus tôt possible pour éviter les complications. , en tant que risque accru de souffrir de maladies gastro-intestinales et de dérèglement social

Comment le syndrome de pica est diagnostiqué

S'il y a des soupçons que quelqu'un puisse souffrir de ce trouble, une évaluation médicale immédiate est importante pour savoir s'il existe une anémie, des problèmes intestinaux ou une toxicité causée par les substances ingérées. . Le médecin peut utiliser des tests aux rayons X ou des analyses de sang pour déterminer l'étendue ou les conséquences d'une telle utilisation.

En outre, le médecin peut également procéder à une évaluation approfondie pour déterminer s’il existe des infections éventuelles causées par des objets ou des substances contaminés par des piles. D'autre part, il est important de procéder à un examen des habitudes alimentaires du patient.

La présence du psychologue est également importante pour poser un diagnostic correct . Il est essentiel d’évaluer la présence d’autres troubles, tels que le retard mental, les troubles du développement ou les troubles obsessionnels compulsifs.


Selon le DSM-V, le comportement de la personne atteinte de pica présente les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • L'alimentation persistante en substances inappropriées doit durer au moins un mois pour que le diagnostic du syndrome de Pica soit diagnostiqué.
  • L'alimentation en substances non nutritives n'est pas adaptée au niveau de développement de l'individu.
  • Un comportement alimentaire inapproprié ne fait pas partie d'une pratique culturelle ou sociale.
  • S'il survient en présence d'un autre trouble mental (par exemple, l'autisme) ou au cours d'une condition médicale (par exemple, une grossesse), il est suffisamment grave pour nécessiter des soins médicaux indépendants.

Traitements et suivis

En raison du risque élevé de complications médicales (par exemple, empoisonnement) associées à Pica, Une surveillance médicale étroite est nécessaire pendant tout le traitement du comportement alimentaire . De toute évidence, ce traitement n'est pas compris sans la figure d'un psychologue et / ou d'un psychiatre expert dans le traitement du comportement alimentaire.

Le Manuel de psychologie clinique de l'enfant met l'accent sur l'application de stratégies cognitivo-comportementales en raison de son efficacité pour le traitement de ce type de psychopathologies. Par exemple, il est possible d'apprendre aux sujets à manger ou à ne pas manger de substances nocives avec l'application de techniques de renforcement .

Complications associées au syndrome de pica

Comme déjà mentionné, Ce trouble peut causer de graves problèmes de santé . Certaines des complications associées au syndrome de pica sont:

  • Certains produits tels que la peinture peuvent contenir des substances toxiques , et les manger peut conduire à un empoisonnement. Cela peut entraîner de graves complications, par exemple, des lésions cérébrales et même la mort.
  • L'ingestion de substances qui ne peuvent pas être digérées (par exemple, des calculs) peuvent provoquer une constipation ou un blocage du tube digestif, y compris des intestins. De plus, les objets tranchants peuvent causer des blessures à la bouche, au cou ou à l'estomac.
  • Les bactéries ou parasites ingérés peuvent causer des infections grave qui peut endommager le foie et les reins.
  • L'existence d'autres troubles psychologiques peut entraver le traitement du syndrome de pica.

Prévention

En général, le syndrome de pica commence dans l'enfance et ne dure que quelques mois. Cependant, il sera probablement plus difficile pour les enfants ayant une déficience intellectuelle de prendre en charge, car ils peuvent continuer à montrer ce comportement dans les âges avancés .

Mais peut-on prévenir ce trouble de l'alimentation? Il n'y a pas de moyen spécifique pour l'empêcher. Cependant, une attention particulière aux habitudes alimentaires des enfants et une surveillance étroite des enfants plus susceptibles de mettre des choses dans leur bouche peuvent aider à prévenir la maladie avant que des complications ne surviennent.

Comme c'est toujours le cas avec ce type de troubles, il est essentiel d'éviter que ce type de comportement devienne partie intégrante des habitudes quotidiennes de la personne. Ainsi, plus vous intervenez tôt, mieux c'est. Une fois ce comportement consolidé, il est plus compliqué de le faire disparaître.

Une impulsion irrationnelle

Le syndrome de Pica est un signe que, dans certaines circonstances, l'être humain est capable d'adopter des comportements extrêmement nocifs et inadaptés qui ne présentent aucun avantage évident. Dans le allotrofagia non seulement l'estomac est rempli impulsivement , mais aussi les substances ingérées ne sont pas nutritives et, dans de nombreux cas, elles sont toxiques.

Pour comprendre quels sont les mécanismes psychologiques derrière le syndrome de Pica, il faut trouver les processus mentaux qui renforcent cette "boucle" d’actions maintenue au fil du temps, en abandonnant les explications fondées sur des décisions rationnelles du patient.


Pica-Pica - Se acabaron las navidades (20 minutos) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes