yes, therapy helps!
Pineal gland (or epiphysis): functions and anatomy

Pineal gland (or epiphysis): functions and anatomy

July 24, 2022

Within the encephalon there are numerous structures with very diverse functions, which are connected with a large number of body systems. Although we can generally consider that the nervous system has an effect on other body systems, some of the structures that are part of it are also considered part of other body systems.

It is the case of the pineal gland or epiphysis , which besides part of the nervous system is an important part of the endocrine system.

Pineal gland or epiphysis

Considered by René Descartes as the place where the animal spirits that governed processes such as sensitivity, imagination, impulsivity or emotion lived, the nerve center where the human soul lived, the pineal gland has been studied for many centuries .


The first records on the study of this structure date from the third century BC, in which it was proposed that it regulated the flow of thoughts. Later it would be analyzed by Galeno, Descartes and other multiple thinkers and professionals from various fields. The study of the pineal gland advanced and deepened especially since the 20th century, in which began to study their functions scientifically from the study of cases of patients with tumors in this area.

To this day, we know that the pineal gland or epiphysis is a structure located in the dorsomedial part of the diencephalon, between the superior colliculi and over the third cerebral ventricle . Is about an endocrine regulatory center that participates in a multitude of different processes fundamental for the development of the organism, sending to the sanguineous circuit different hormones.


With a shape similar to that of a cone of a pine (resemblance from which it derives its name), the pineal gland has interesting properties, since It has been shown to be photosensitive, reacting to the level of ambient lighting . In the same way, it seems to be affected by external chemicals and even electromagnetic waves.

Irrigation and innervation

The pineal gland is strongly irrigated at the blood level, at a level similar to that of the kidneys. It is a structure that participates actively in the secretion of various hormones , the main one being melatonin but also influencing the emission of the follicle-stimulating and luteinizing hormones. Later these hormones reach the blood, which carries them to their target organs.

As regards the nerve connections of the pineal gland, it is innervated by the autonomic nervous system, both by the sympathetic and parasympathetic branches. At the sympathetic level, its main nervous connection is the superior cervical ganglion. With regard to the lymph nodes that innervate it at the parasympathetic level, we can find the otic and pterygopalatine ganglion.


Main functions: what does it participate in?

The pineal gland is a relevant structure and linked to different situations. Being part of both the nervous system and the endocrine system, its basic functioning is the emission of various hormones that will alter different brain and other body systems. Specifically we can establish that some of The main functions of this structure are the following .

1. Regulation of biorhythms

The pineal gland is the part of the brain that, in reaction to the amount of light present in the environment, is responsible for secreting melatonin. Synthesized from serotonin, this hormone is involved in the regulation of circadian and infradian rhythms, so being the main secretor of melatonin, the epiphysis has a primordial function in regulating the sleep-wake cycle.

When the visual information coming from the optic nerve reaches the epiphysis (having passed through the suprachiasmatic nucleus) superior cervical ganglion, indicates that the ambient illumination is low or non-existent, the pineal gland proceeds to secrete the hormone known as melatonin , which will subsequently be sent to different brain regions. In the presence of illumination, however, the production of melatonin is inhibited.

2. Development and maturation

Some of the medical cases that in modern times have stimulated the investigation of the pineal gland or epiphysis reflected a fact that has subsequently been confirmed experimentally: the epiphysis has a great relevance when it comes to establishing the onset of puberty . In these cases adolescents with tumors in this gland manifested precocious puberty. Subsequent investigations have put this fact in relation to the melatonin production of this structure .

During the first years of life the pineal gland is strongly activated, with melatonin production declining towards eight to twelve years, when the first physiological changes that will culminate with the passage from child to adult begin to take shape. Thus, through various investigations It has been shown that the activity of the pineal gland delays puberty , beginning this stage of life when it is less active. In other words, another of the main functions of the pineal gland is to regulate the entrance to sexual maturity.

3. Sexual behavior

The pineal gland participates actively in the secretion of various hormones, among which are some of those that govern the menstrual cycle in women, specifically luteinizing and follicle-stimulating hormones.

In addition to this, by regulating the biological rhythms through melatonin, the epiphysis also influences seasonal sexual behavior in other animal species. The pineal gland interacts with other structures linked to sexuality , like for example the septal nuclei, to guarantee the correct functioning in this activity so important from the point of view of the evolution.

4. Emotion and happiness

The participation of the pineal epiphysis or gland in the emotional sphere has a great relevance. In addition to other hormones with an effect on mood, the pineal gland participates in the generation of endorphins, the hormones that cause states of happiness and allow pain to be regulated . In fact, its involvement in the limbic system makes it a fundamental component of emotional processes, which depend on the interaction between the brain and organs distributed by the body that secrete hormones.

5. Pigmentation

While it may not seem as relevant as the previous ones, the melanin secreted by the pineal gland It participates in the pigmentation of the skin, giving a slightly dark tone in multiple species. This function is secondary, and in fact there are genetic variants of the human being in which melanin has little effect on the way in which the skin tone changes. On the other hand, in cases of albinism this function disappears, with all the biological and social problems that this entails.

6. Participation in other aspects

Regardless of their participation in the previously mentioned, the pineal gland participates in other processes. For example, it has been shown that it has to do with the regulation of body temperature . Likewise, the hormones that it generates also have an effect in aspects such as attention, concentration, memory and other higher mental functions . Keep in mind that virtually any brain structure linked to the secretion of hormones has an effect on cognition, and the pineal gland is no exception.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Triglia, A .; Regader, B. and García-Allen, J. (2016). Psychologically speaking. Barcelona: Paidós.

What is the Pituitary Gland? (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Glande pinéale (ou épiphyse): fonctions et anatomie

Glande pinéale (ou épiphyse): fonctions et anatomie

Décembre 9, 2021

Dans l'encéphale, il y a de nombreuses structures avec des fonctions très diverses, qui sont reliées à un grand nombre de systèmes corporels. Bien que nous puissions généralement considérer que le système nerveux a un effet sur d’autres systèmes corporels, certaines de ses structures sont également considérées comme faisant partie d’autres systèmes corporels.

C'est le cas de la glande pinéale ou de l'épiphyse , qui en plus d’une partie du système nerveux est une partie importante du système endocrinien.

Glande pinéale ou épiphyse

Considéré par René Descartes comme le lieu où vivaient les esprits animaux qui régissaient des processus tels que la sensibilité, l'imagination, l'impulsivité ou l'émotion, le centre névralgique où vivait l'âme humaine, la glande pinéale a été étudiée pendant de nombreux siècles .


Les premiers comptes rendus sur l'étude de cette structure datent du troisième siècle avant notre ère, dans lesquels il a été proposé de réguler le flux de pensées. Plus tard, il serait analysé par Galeno, Descartes et d’autres penseurs et professionnels de divers domaines. L’étude de la glande pinéale a progressé et s’approfondi surtout depuis le 20ème siècle, dans a commencé à étudier scientifiquement leurs fonctions de l'étude de cas de patients atteints de tumeurs dans cette région.

À ce jour, nous savons que la glande pinéale ou l'épiphyse est une structure située dans la partie dorsomédiale du diencephale, entre les collicules supérieurs et sur le troisième ventricule cérébral . Il s'agit de un centre de régulation endocrinien qui participe à une multitude de processus différents fondamental pour le développement de l'organisme, l'envoi au circuit sanguin de différentes hormones.


Avec une forme similaire à celle d'un cône de pin (ressemblance d'où il tire son nom), la glande pinéale a des propriétés intéressantes, car Il a été démontré qu'il était photosensible et réagissait au niveau d'éclairage ambiant . De même, il semble être affecté par des produits chimiques externes et même par des ondes électromagnétiques.

Irrigation et innervation

La glande pinéale est fortement irriguée au niveau sanguin, à un niveau similaire à celui des reins. C'est une structure qui participe activement à la sécrétion de diverses hormones , le principal étant la mélatonine, mais influençant également l’émission des hormones folliculostimulantes et lutéinisantes. Plus tard, ces hormones atteignent le sang, qui les porte aux organes cibles.

En ce qui concerne les connexions nerveuses de la glande pinéale, elle est innervée par le système nerveux autonome, à la fois par les branches sympathique et parasympathique. Au niveau sympathique, son principal lien nerveux est le ganglion cervical supérieur. En ce qui concerne les ganglions lymphatiques qui l’innervent au niveau parasympathique, on peut trouver le ganglion otique et pterygopalatine.


Fonctions principales: à quoi participe-t-il?

La glande pinéale est une structure pertinente et liée à différentes situations. Faisant partie à la fois du système nerveux et du système endocrinien, son fonctionnement fondamental consiste à émettre diverses hormones qui modifieront différents systèmes cérébraux et corporels. Plus précisément, nous pouvons établir que certains Les fonctions principales de cette structure sont les suivantes .

1. Régulation des biorythmes

La glande pinéale est la partie du cerveau qui, en réaction à la quantité de lumière présente dans l'environnement, est responsable de la sécrétion de mélatonine. Synthétisée à partir de sérotonine, cette hormone est impliquée dans la régulation des rythmes circadiens et infradiens. Elle est donc le principal sécréteur de la mélatonine. Elle a donc pour fonction essentielle de réguler le cycle veille-sommeil.

Lorsque les informations visuelles provenant du nerf optique atteignent l'épiphyse (ayant passé par le noyau suprachiasmatique), le ganglion cervical supérieur indique que l'éclairage ambiant est faible ou inexistant, la glande pinéale procède à la sécrétion de l'hormone appelée mélatonine , qui sera ensuite envoyé à différentes régions du cerveau. En présence d'illumination, cependant, la production de mélatonine est inhibée.

2. Développement et maturation

Certains des cas médicaux qui, dans les temps modernes, ont stimulé l'investigation de la glande pinéale ou de l'épiphyse reflètent un fait qui a ensuite été confirmé expérimentalement: l'épiphyse a une grande pertinence pour établir le début de la puberté . Dans ces cas, les adolescents présentant des tumeurs dans cette glande manifestaient une puberté précoce. Des enquêtes ultérieures ont mis ce fait en relation avec la production de mélatonine de cette structure .

Au cours des premières années de vie, la glande pinéale est fortement activée, la production de mélatonine diminuant vers huit à douze ans, lorsque les premiers changements physiologiques qui aboutissent au passage de l’enfant à l’adulte commencent à se dessiner. Ainsi, à travers diverses enquêtes Il a été démontré que l'activité de la glande pinéale retarde la puberté , commençant cette étape de la vie quand elle est moins active. En d'autres termes, une autre des fonctions principales de la glande pinéale est de réguler l'entrée dans la maturité sexuelle.

3. comportement sexuel

La glande pinéale participe activement à la la sécrétion de diverses hormones, parmi lesquelles celles qui régissent le cycle menstruel chez les femmes, en particulier les hormones lutéinisantes et stimulantes du follicule.

En plus de cela, en régulant les rythmes biologiques via la mélatonine, l'épiphyse influence également le comportement sexuel saisonnier chez d'autres espèces animales. La glande pinéale interagit avec d'autres structures liées à la sexualité , comme par exemple les noyaux septaux, pour garantir le bon fonctionnement de cette activité si importante du point de vue de l’évolution.

4. Emotion et bonheur

La participation de l'épiphyse pinéale ou de la glande dans la sphère émotionnelle revêt une grande importance. En plus d'autres hormones ayant un effet sur l'humeur, la glande pinéale participe à la génération d'endorphines, les hormones qui provoquer des états de bonheur et permettre à la douleur d'être régulée . En fait, son implication dans le système limbique en fait un élément fondamental des processus émotionnels, qui dépendent de l'interaction entre le cerveau et les organes distribués par le corps qui sécrètent des hormones.

5. pigmentation

Bien que cela puisse sembler moins pertinent que les précédents, la mélanine sécrétée par la glande pinéale Il participe à la pigmentation de la peau, donnant un ton légèrement foncé chez plusieurs espèces. Cette fonction est secondaire et il existe en fait des variantes génétiques de l'être humain dans lesquelles la mélanine a peu d'effet sur la façon dont le ton de la peau change. En revanche, dans les cas d'albinisme, cette fonction disparaît avec tous les problèmes biologiques et sociaux que cela entraîne.

6. Participation à d'autres aspects

Indépendamment de leur participation à ce qui précède, la glande pinéale participe à d’autres processus. Par exemple, il a été démontré que cela a à voir avec la régulation de la température corporelle . De même, les hormones qu’elle génère ont également des effets sur l’attention, la concentration, la mémoire et autres fonctions mentales supérieures . N'oubliez pas que pratiquement toute structure cérébrale liée à la sécrétion d'hormones a un effet sur la cognition et que la glande pinéale ne fait pas exception.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Triglia, A .; Regader, B. et García-Allen, J. (2016). Psychologiquement parlant. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.

la glande pinéale : Cette partie du corps renferme le plus grand secret dissimulé à l’humanité (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes