yes, therapy helps!
Pituitary gland (hypophysis): the nexus between neurons and hormones

Pituitary gland (hypophysis): the nexus between neurons and hormones

May 6, 2021

All the mental processes that occur from the nervous system of the human being do not depend solely on the activity of the neurons.

Between the parts of the brain, there are several whose activity depends directly on what is happening in the endocrine system, that is, the set of organs that secrete hormones.

The pituitary gland (or pituitary gland) is, precisely, one of the structures of our brain in which draws a bridge between the world of hormones and that of nerve impulses that travel our neurons. Thanks to the hypophysis, what we think and perceive through the senses has an impact on the way we enter into one or another emotional state.


What is the pituitary or pituitary gland?

The pituitary gland is an endocrine gland that helps us to make all those hormonal responses that occur in the body are well coordinated with each other and keep us in a state of harmony in relation to what happens in the environment.

The pituitary gland is one of the areas where orders of producing certain hormones are rapidly transmitted when certain stimuli are detected in the environment . For example, if we see a snake, this visual information, before reaching the areas of the cerebral cortex responsible for converting this signal into something that can be thought of in abstract terms, passes through a region called the thalamus.


The thalamus processes this visual information and, by detecting patterns of information that relate this data to the danger, transmits a signal that will quickly pass to the pituitary gland, located very close, and this will begin to secrete hormones related to the use of force , the reaction speed and strength. These hormones will travel through the bloodstream and activate other glands spread throughout the body , which will ensure that the entire organism is in a certain activation situation for several minutes.

All this, without waiting for the cerebral cortex to process the visual information and the reasoning that the snakes are poisonous.

The pituitary gland and the limbic system

The example we have just seen is a sample of the way in which the pituitary gland converts nerve signals into the production of hormones that remain for several seconds floating in the bloodstream. Whereas each "action" of a neuron lasts thousandths of a second, the hormonal effects of the pituitary gland are more lasting , although its effects are also less precise.


While neurons are connected only with some other nerve cells, and not all, the hormones are navigating in the blood without control, activating areas of the body very far from each other, and in a longer time frame. That is why, once we have finished running, not only does it cost us more to breathe during the following seconds or minutes, but our way of thinking is also altered; It is a side effect of the hormones, something that is not useful for us but that occurs anyway due to the broad temporal reach of the endocrine system.

The pituitary gland and Descartes

The pituitary gland is one of the parts of the brain that is most centered. In fact, it is located just below the hypothalamus. another of the structures that make up the limbic system.

It is partly because of this that the famous philosopher René Descartes identified it as the possible place where, according to his dualistic perspective, the soul (res cogitans) interacts with the matter of the human body (res extensa). Of course, this theory is rejected by the scientific community , since it does not really provide an explanation about the functioning of the pituitary gland.

Concluding

The pituitary gland is an example that psychological processes are totally linked to hormonal processes and, therefore, also to the emotional side of our personality .

Taking this into account is important, as it reminds us to what extent rationality and irrationality are not two compartments and, also, that there are certain automatic emotional responses that do not depend on our way of thinking about what happens to us.


Hypothalamus and Pituitary Gland Functions, Animation (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Glande pituitaire (hypophyse): le lien entre les neurones et les hormones

Glande pituitaire (hypophyse): le lien entre les neurones et les hormones

Avril 14, 2021

Tous les processus mentaux qui se produisent à partir du système nerveux de l'être humain ne dépendent pas uniquement de l'activité des neurones.

Entre les parties du cerveau, il en existe plusieurs dont l'activité dépend directement de ce qui se passe dans le système endocrinien, c'est-à-dire de l'ensemble des organes qui sécrètent des hormones.

Le l'hypophyse (ou l'hypophyse) est précisément l'une des structures de notre cerveau dans laquelle établit un pont entre le monde des hormones et celui de l'influx nerveux qui voyagent nos neurones. Grâce à l'hypophyse, ce que nous pensons et percevons par le biais des sens a un impact sur la façon dont nous entrons dans l'un ou l'autre état émotionnel.


Qu'est-ce que l'hypophyse ou l'hypophyse?

La glande pituitaire est une glande endocrine qui nous aide à faire en sorte que toutes les réponses hormonales qui se produisent dans le corps soient bien coordonnées et nous maintiennent dans un état d’harmonie par rapport à ce qui se passe dans l’environnement.

La glande pituitaire est un des domaines où les ordres de production de certaines hormones sont rapidement transmis lorsque certains stimuli sont détectés dans l'environnement . Par exemple, si nous voyons un serpent, cette information visuelle, avant d’atteindre les zones du cortex cérébral responsables de la conversion de ce signal en quelque chose qui peut être pensé de manière abstraite, passe par une région appelée le thalamus.


Le thalamus traite ces informations visuelles et, en détectant des schémas d’informations reliant ces données au danger, transmet un signal qui passera rapidement à l’hypophyse, située très près, ce qui commencera à sécréter des hormones liées à l’emploi de la force. , la vitesse de réaction et la force. Ces hormones vont voyager dans le sang et activer d'autres glandes qui se propagent dans tout le corps , ce qui garantira que l’organisme tout entier se trouve dans une certaine situation d’activation pendant plusieurs minutes.

Tout cela, sans attendre que le cortex cérébral traite l'information visuelle et le raisonnement selon lequel les serpents sont toxiques.

La glande pituitaire et le système limbique

L'exemple que nous venons de voir est un exemple de la façon dont l'hypophyse convertit les signaux nerveux en production d'hormones qui restent pendant plusieurs secondes dans le sang. Alors que chaque "action" d'un neurone dure des millièmes de seconde, les effets hormonaux de l'hypophyse sont plus durables , bien que ses effets soient également moins précis.


Alors que les neurones ne sont connectés qu’à d’autres cellules nerveuses, et pas toutes, les hormones naviguent dans le sang sans contrôle, activant des régions du corps très éloignées les unes des autres et dans un laps de temps plus long. C'est pourquoi, une fois que nous avons fini de courir, non seulement cela nous coûte plus de respirer pendant les secondes ou minutes suivantes, mais notre façon de penser est également modifiée; C'est un effet secondaire des hormones, quelque chose qui ne nous est pas utile, mais qui survient malgré tout en raison de l'étendue du système endocrinien dans le temps.

La glande pituitaire et Descartes

L'hypophyse est l'une des parties du cerveau les plus centrées. En fait, il est situé juste en dessous de l'hypothalamus. une autre des structures qui composent le système limbique.

C'est en partie à cause de cela que le célèbre philosophe René Descartes l'a identifié comme le lieu possible où, selon sa perspective dualiste, l'âme (res cogitans) interagit avec la matière du corps humain (res extensa). Bien sûr, cette théorie est rejetée par la communauté scientifique , car il n’explique pas vraiment le fonctionnement de l’hypophyse.

En conclusion

L'hypophyse est un exemple que les processus psychologiques sont totalement liés aux processus hormonaux et, par conséquent, aussi au côté émotionnel de notre personnalité .

Il est important de prendre cela en compte, car cela nous rappelle à quel point la rationalité et l'irrationalité ne sont pas deux compartiments et, en outre, qu'il existe certaines réactions émotionnelles automatiques qui ne dépendent pas de notre façon de penser à ce qui nous arrive.


???? L'EXPLICATION LA PLUS CLAIRE DE L'HYPOPHYSE-HYPOTHALAMUS - DR ASTUCE (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes