yes, therapy helps!
Pluviofobia (fear of rain): symptoms, causes and treatment

Pluviofobia (fear of rain): symptoms, causes and treatment

June 16, 2024

Pluviofobia, also known as ombrofobia , is the persistent and intense fear of the rains and the events related to them (thunder, lightning, etc.). It is a specific phobia to an environmental stimulus, which can be caused by several factors.

In this article we will see what pluviofobia is, what are some of its main characteristics and what strategies can be used to treat it.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Pluviofobia: persistent fear of rain

The word pluviofobia is composed of the adjective "pluvial", which means "relative to rain" (from the Latin "pluvialis"), and the word "phobia", which comes from the Greek "fobos" and means fear.


So, the pluviofobia is the persistent and intense fear of rain and those elements that are related. It is a fear that can occur during childhood , although it can also occur in adolescence and adulthood ..

But this is not the only term used to describe the persistent fear of rain. One of the synonyms of "pluviofobia" is the term "ombrofobia", which mixes the Greek "ombro" (meaning "rain"), and the word "fobos".

This last term has had other derivations. For example, there is a species of plants that can not withstand much exposure to rain, so they have been called "ombrofobas". On the other hand, there is a great variety of vegetation which is called "ombrofila", due to its high resistance to rain.


General characteristics of this disorder

While the characteristic fear of pluviofobia is caused by an environmental element (rain), this can be considered a type of phobia specific to the natural environment . The estimated age for the development of this type of phobias is about 23 years, and the one that occurs most often is the fear of heights.

The stimulus that is perceived as harmful, in this case the rain, can generate expectations of conscious or non-conscious dangers. That is, people can respond with anxiety to the stimulus even when it manifests only indirectly. Also, when it occurs in adults, they can recognize that the stimulus does not represent in itself an imminent danger; on the contrary, when it occurs in children this awareness is generally absent.


Rain, on the other hand, is an atmospheric phenomenon that results from the condensation of water vapor located in the clouds. But is the rain a really bad event? Why can it represent danger to some people and not to others? What degree of discomfort can it cause? We will see some answers later.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hydrophobia (fear of water): causes and treatment"

symptom

In general, the fear associated with phobias is triggered by exposure to a stimulus that is perceived as harmful. Such fear causes an immediate response of anxiety , which implies signs and symptoms such as tachycardia, hyperventilation, decreased gastrointestinal activity, increased blood pressure, palpitations, among others.

All of the above occurs as a consequence of the activation of the autonomic nervous system, which is stimulated in situations of risk. On the other hand, the anxiety response can manifest itself through disgust or repulsion, cardiovascular deceleration, dry mouth, nausea, dizziness and decrease in body temperature. The latter occurs when the specific part of the autonomic nervous system, known as the "parasympathetic nervous system", activates.

It should be noted that the intensity with which these manifestations occur depends to a large extent on the degree of exposure to the stimulus that is perceived as harmful. That is, the intensity of the response varies depending on whether the person is observing the rain from home, or if it is necessary to be directly exposed to a storm.

Likewise, the intensity of the response may vary according to the particular characteristics of the noxious stimulus and related associations, and the chances of escape that may present (For example, it may vary if it is a light rain or a thunderstorm).

In addition, a specific phobia can cause secondary behaviors that significantly impact a person's quality of life, but which usually provide momentary relief. For example, the avoidance of any situation related to the harmful stimulus. It can also cause hypervigilance towards these situations or the appearance of defensive behaviors.

Possible causes

According to Bados (2005), specific phobias can develop in people who do not have a predisposing condition, but who have any previous negative experience (direct or indirect), which generate intense warning reactions. In the specific case of pluviofobia, fear can be justified by previous experiences related to storms, architectural collapses, floods and other natural disasters.

With this, specific phobias are produced by an interaction of these experiences with other conditions such as biological, psychological and social vulnerability of the person. That is to say, it involves both neurobiological susceptibility and coping skills and social support of the person.

Furthermore, depending on the particular characteristics of the aforementioned interaction, the person can learn to respond with a disproportionate fear of the stimuli that he has associated with a danger or risk.

Treatment

First of all, the treatment of this phobia can begin by evaluating both the degree of anxiety that causes the stimulus, as well as the associated negative negative experiences and the types of vulnerability of each person.

The treatments that have been most researched and used to eradicate phobias are the live exhibition to the feared situations, the participant model, the imaginal exhibition , systematic desensitization and reprocessing by means of eye movements. Each one of these interventions can have effective results according to the particular characteristics of the phobia that is treated.

Bibliographic references:

  • Olesen, J. (2018). Fear of Rain Phobia - Ombrophobia. Fearof.net Retrieved September 7, 2018. Available at //docs.google.com/document/d/1GSzxHXnMzgala01LCZLVey9oGuAqDPB9Wx_NtzR6RiI/edit#.
  • Ombrophobia: the strange evil that makes people afraid of the rain (2011). Retrieved September 7, 2018. Available at //www.publimetro.cl/cl/ciencia/2011/12/10/ombrofobia-extrano-mal-que-que-personas-tengan-miedo-lluvia.html.
  • Bados, A. (2006). Specific phobias Faculty of Psychology Autonomous University of Barcelona. Retrieved September 7, 2018. Available at //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.

bizarre phobias (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pluviofobie (peur de la pluie): symptômes, causes et traitement

Pluviofobie (peur de la pluie): symptômes, causes et traitement

Octobre 3, 2022

Pluviofobie, également appelée ombrofobie , c’est la peur persistante et intense des pluies et des événements qui leur sont liés (tonnerre, éclairs, etc.). C'est une phobie spécifique à un stimulus environnemental, qui peut être causée par plusieurs facteurs.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce qu'est la pluviofobie, quelles sont ses principales caractéristiques et quelles stratégies peut-on utiliser pour la traiter.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Pluviofobia: peur persistante de la pluie

Le mot pluviofobia est composé de l'adjectif "pluvial", qui signifie "relatif à la pluie" (du latin "pluvialis"), et du mot "phobie", qui vient du grec "fobos" et qui signifie peur.


Ainsi, la pluviofobie est la peur persistante et intense de la pluie et des éléments qui y sont liés. C'est une peur qui peut survenir pendant l'enfance , bien que cela puisse aussi se produire à l’adolescence et à l’âge adulte.

Mais ce n'est pas le seul terme utilisé pour décrire la peur persistante de la pluie. Un des synonymes de "pluviofobia" est le terme "ombrofobia", qui mélange le grec "ombro" (qui signifie "pluie") et le mot "fobos".

Ce dernier terme a eu d'autres dérivations. Par exemple, il y a une espèce de plante qui ne peut pas supporter beaucoup d'exposition à la pluie, elle a donc été appelée "ombrofobas". D'autre part, il existe une grande variété de végétation appelée "ombrofila" en raison de sa grande résistance à la pluie.


Caractéristiques générales de ce trouble

Bien que la peur caractéristique de la pluviofobie soit causée par un élément environnemental (pluie), cette peut être considéré comme un type de phobie spécifique à l'environnement naturel . L'âge estimé pour le développement de ce type de phobies est d'environ 23 ans, et celui qui survient le plus souvent est la peur des hauteurs.

Le stimulus qui est perçu comme nuisible, dans ce cas la pluie, peut générer des attentes de dangers conscients ou non. C'est-à-dire que les personnes peuvent réagir avec anxiété au stimulus même s'il ne se manifeste que indirectement. En outre, lorsqu'ils surviennent chez l'adulte, ils peuvent reconnaître que le stimulus ne représente pas en soi un danger imminent. au contraire, chez les enfants, cette prise de conscience est généralement absente.


La pluie, par contre, est un phénomène atmosphérique résultant de la condensation de la vapeur d'eau située dans les nuages. Mais la pluie est-elle un très mauvais événement? Pourquoi peut-il représenter un danger pour certaines personnes et non pour d'autres? Quel degré d'inconfort peut-il causer? Nous verrons des réponses plus tard.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Hydrophobie (peur de l'eau): causes et traitement"

Les symptômes

En général, la peur associée aux phobies est déclenchée par l'exposition à un stimulus perçu comme étant néfaste. Une telle peur provoque une réponse immédiate de l'anxiété , qui implique des signes et des symptômes tels que tachycardie, hyperventilation, diminution de l’activité gastro-intestinale, augmentation de la pression artérielle, palpitations, entre autres.

Tout ce qui précède se produit en conséquence de l'activation du système nerveux autonome, qui est stimulé dans les situations à risque. D'autre part, la réponse à l'anxiété peut se manifester par le dégoût ou la répulsion, décélération cardiovasculaire, bouche sèche, nausée, vertiges et diminution de la température corporelle. Cette dernière survient lorsque la partie spécifique du système nerveux autonome, appelée "système nerveux parasympathique", s'active.

Il convient de noter que l'intensité avec laquelle ces manifestations se produisent dépend dans une large mesure du degré d'exposition au stimulus qui est perçu comme étant nuisible. En d’autres termes, l’intensité de la réponse varie selon que la personne observe la pluie depuis son domicile ou s’il est nécessaire d’être directement exposée à une tempête.

De même, l’intensité de la réponse peut varier en fonction des caractéristiques particulières du stimulus nocif et des associations associées, et les chances d'évasion que peut présenter (Par exemple, cela peut varier s’il s’agit d’une pluie légère ou d’un orage).

De plus, une phobie spécifique peut entraîner des comportements secondaires qui ont un impact significatif sur la qualité de vie d'une personne, mais qui procurent généralement un soulagement momentané. Par exemple, éviter toute situation liée au stimulus néfaste. Cela peut également provoquer une hypervigilance vis-à-vis de ces situations ou l'apparition de comportements défensifs.

Causes possibles

Selon Bados (2005), des phobies spécifiques peuvent se développer chez des personnes non prédisposées, mais qui ont une expérience négative antérieure (directs ou indirects), qui génèrent des réactions d’alerte intenses. Dans le cas particulier de la pluviofobie, la peur peut être justifiée par des expériences antérieures liées à des tempêtes, des effondrements architecturaux, des inondations et d'autres catastrophes naturelles.

Avec cela, des phobies spécifiques sont produites par une interaction de ces expériences avec d'autres conditions telles que la vulnérabilité biologique, psychologique et sociale de la personne. C'est-à-dire, il implique à la fois une susceptibilité neurobiologique et des compétences d'adaptation ainsi qu'un soutien social de la personne.

En outre, en fonction des caractéristiques particulières de l’interaction susmentionnée, la personne peut apprendre à réagir avec une peur disproportionnée des stimuli qu’elle a associés à un danger ou à un risque.

Traitement

Tout d'abord, le traitement de cette phobie peut commencer par évaluer à la fois le degré d'anxiété qui cause le stimulus, ainsi que les expériences négatives associées et les types de vulnérabilité de chaque personne.

Les traitements les plus recherchés et utilisés pour éradiquer les phobies sont: l'exposition en direct aux situations redoutées, le modèle du participant, l'exposition imaginale , désensibilisation systématique et retraitement au moyen de mouvements oculaires. Chacune de ces interventions peut avoir des résultats efficaces en fonction des caractéristiques particulières de la phobie traitée.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Olesen, J. (2018). La peur de la phobie de la pluie - Ombrophobie. Fearof.net Récupéré le 7 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //docs.google.com/document/d/1GSzxHXnMzgala01LCZLVey9oGuAqDPB9Wx_NtzR6RiI/edit#.
  • Ombrophobie: l'étrange mal qui fait peur à la pluie (2011). Consulté le 7 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.publimetro.cl/cl/ciencia/2011/12/10/ombrofobia-extrano-mal-que-que-queas-tengan-miedo-lluvia.html.
  • Bados, A. (2006). Phobies spécifiques Faculté de Psychologie Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. Extrait le 7 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/360/1/113.pdf.
Articles Connexes