yes, therapy helps!
Polygon of Willis: parts and arteries that form it

Polygon of Willis: parts and arteries that form it

January 17, 2022

Our brain is a complex organ that governs and coordinates the totality of the systems that make up our organism. But this organ, and the nervous system in general, does not work from scratch: it needs a continuous supply of oxygen and nutrients in order to function. This contribution will reach him through the blood supply, reaching the different structures through the cerebrovascular system. Within this system we have different veins and arteries, which converge in the polygon of Willis .

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

The polygon of Willis: description, location and functions

We call the polygon of Willis a structure of heptagonal form present in the brain. This structure is formed by the union of the different arteries that irrigate the brain, playing an important role in the supply of oxygen and nutrients from it. It is considered an anastomosis, or interconnection in a network of parts or elements (in this case the arteries) differentiated from each other.


The polygon of Willis can be found in the lower part of the brain , surrounding the heptagon that forms structures such as the optic chiasm, the hypothalamus and the pituitary gland. Its structure can vary greatly from one person to another, finding that more than half of the population has a structuring of this polygon different from what is considered classic or typical.

The functions carried out by the polygon of Willis are of great importance for our survival, since through it flows the blood that irrigates a large part of the brain . In addition, we are facing the main auxiliary mechanism that allows blood to continue to reach the different regions of the brain even if there is an alteration or damage to the artery that in principle governs it. It also balances the blood supply received by both cerebral hemispheres, allowing the blood that reaches one hemisphere to communicate with the blood of others.


Arteries that converge in this polygon

As we have said, the polygon of Willis is the structure through which the different main arteries that supply the brain are interconnected. Among these arteries, the main ones and from which many others branch out are the following (although there are many other ramifications).

1. Internal carotid artery

The carotid arteries ascend through the body to the head, on both sides of the neck , to end up penetrating the skull (moment they are called internal carotids). Once inside, they will be in charge of supplying blood to the anterior part of the brain, taking care of a large part of the oxygen supply and nutrients to most of the brain (both cortex and subcortical structures), to conform with its branches the anterior part of the polygon of Willis. Later it will be divided into anterior and middle cerebral arteries, among many others.


2. Basilar artery

Another of the main arteries that supply the brain, the basilar artery, appears after the union in the brainstem of the vertebral arteries , which enter the base of the skull directly ascending around the vertebrae. This artery and its ramifications (the posterior cerebral arteries) are responsible for providing blood flow to the brainstem and the posterior regions of the brain (including the occipital lobe), forming the back of the polygon of Willis.

3. Subsequent communicating arteries

We are facing two arteries of great importance, since they allow communication between the internal carotid and the posterior cerebral artery in such a way that the main cerebral arteries on the same side of the brain are connected to each other.

4. Previous communicating artery

The anterior communicating artery is a small artery that connects the right anterior cerebral artery and the left anterior cerebral artery, acting as a bridge between both hemispheres .

5. Anterior cerebral artery

Part of the bifurcation of the internal carotid artery, this artery is part of the circle or polygon of Willis directly. Its ramifications allow to irrigate sensorimotor and orbitofrontal areas, among other areas of interest.

6. Middle cerebral artery

The larger branch of the carotid and the more vulnerable to occlusions, its blood supply tends to be directed into the brain. Your blood supply reaches the striate, the insula , and to orbital, frontal, parietal and temporal regions. It follows Silvio's fissure, which is why it is also called Silvia's or Silviana's artery.

7. Posterior cerebral artery

Artery arising from the connection between basilar artery and posterior communicating artery. Especially important for Irrigation of the lower and deeper areas of the temporal and occipital lobes , since its action allows aspects related to vision

8. Cerebellar arteries

These are the arteries that help irrigate the cerebellum, as well as other structures of the brainstem. We can find the superior cerebellum, anteroinferior and posteroinferior

9. Spinal arteries

The spinal artery is the artery that supplies blood to the spinal cord, being of great importance for the autonomic nervous system and the transmission of information from the brain to the different organs.

When injuries appear

The polygon of Willis is an area of ​​great importance for the human being, arising in its interconnections a great amount of ramifications that can reach up to 80% of the cerebral blood flow . But sometimes you may suffer that this polygon is damaged after a trauma, that an aneurysm appears or that there is a cardiovascular accident in this region.

If some kind of obstruction appears in the polygon, it is possible that the irrigated areas run out of oxygen and die. The consequences can be multiple, from death (if for example the nuclei that regulate the vital signs are lost) to the loss of mental and physical functions, sensitivity or motor ability .

Another problem that can occur is the fact that an aneurysm appears (in fact, the polygon of Willis is one of the main places where problems of this type usually appear) and it ends up producing a spill, which can have disastrous consequences for the Affected subject. And even if the outcome is not fatal, you may lose your vision due to compression of the optic chiasm.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gómez García,; .; Espejo-Saavedra, J.C .; Taravillo, B. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 12. CEDE, Madrid.
  • Gray, D.J. (1985). Arterial circle of Willis. In: Treaty of Human Anatomy, Editorial Interamericana. 1st Edition: 760-3.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Quintero-Oliveros, S.T .; Ballesteros-Acuña, L.E .; Ayala-Pimentel, J.O. and Forero-Porras, P.L. (2009). Morphological characteristics of cerebral aneurysms of the polygon of Willis: direct anatomical study. Neurosurgery, 20 (2): 110-116.

Anatomy - Brain (Circle of Willis and Stroke) (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Polygone de Willis: parties et artères qui le composent

Polygone de Willis: parties et artères qui le composent

Septembre 22, 2022

Notre cerveau est un organe complexe qui régit et coordonne la totalité des systèmes qui composent notre organisme. Mais cet organe, et le système nerveux en général, ne fonctionne pas à partir de rien: il a besoin d'un apport continu en oxygène et en nutriments pour fonctionner. Cette contribution lui parviendra par la circulation sanguine, atteignant les différentes structures par le système cérébro-vasculaire. Dans ce système, nous avons différentes veines et artères, qui convergent dans le polygone de Willis .

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Le polygone de Willis: description, localisation et fonctions

Nous appelons le polygone de Willis une structure de forme heptagonale présente dans le cerveau. Cette structure est formée par l'union des différentes artères qui irriguent le cerveau, jouant un rôle important dans l'apport d'oxygène et de nutriments à partir de celui-ci. Il s’agit d’une anastomose ou d’une interconnexion dans un réseau de pièces ou d’éléments (dans ce cas les artères) différenciés les uns des autres.


Le polygone de Willis se trouve dans la partie inférieure du cerveau entourant l’heptagone qui forme des structures telles que le chiasma optique, l’hypothalamus et l’hypophyse. Sa structure peut varier considérablement d'une personne à l'autre, constatant que plus de la moitié de la population a une structure de ce polygone différente de ce qui est considéré comme classique ou typique.

Les fonctions remplies par le polygone de Willis revêtent une grande importance pour notre survie, car à travers elle coule le sang qui irrigue une grande partie du cerveau . De plus, nous sommes confrontés au principal mécanisme auxiliaire qui permet au sang de continuer à atteindre les différentes régions du cerveau, même en cas de modification ou de lésion de l’artère qui le régit en principe. Il équilibre également l'apport sanguin reçu par les deux hémisphères cérébraux, permettant ainsi au sang qui atteint un hémisphère de communiquer avec le sang des autres.


Les artères qui convergent dans ce polygone

Comme nous l'avons dit, le polygone de Willis est la structure à travers laquelle les différentes artères principales qui alimentent le cerveau sont interconnectées. Parmi ces artères, les principales et desquelles de nombreuses autres se ramifient sont les suivantes (bien qu’il existe de nombreuses autres ramifications).

1. artère carotide interne

Les artères carotides remonter du corps à la tête, des deux côtés du cou , pour finir par pénétrer dans le crâne (appelées carotides internes). Une fois à l'intérieur, ils seront chargés de fournir du sang à la partie antérieure du cerveau, en prenant soin d'une grande partie de l'apport en oxygène et des éléments nutritifs à la plus grande partie du cerveau (à la fois le cortex et les structures sous-corticales), pour épouser la partie antérieure de ses branches. du polygone de Willis. Plus tard, il sera divisé en artères cérébrales antérieures et moyennes, parmi beaucoup d'autres.


2. artère basilaire

Une autre des principales artères qui alimentent le cerveau, l’artère basilaire, apparaît après l'union dans le tronc cérébral des artères vertébrales , qui pénètrent à la base du crâne en remontant directement autour des vertèbres. Cette artère et ses ramifications (les artères cérébrales postérieures) sont responsables de la circulation du sang dans le tronc cérébral et les régions postérieures du cerveau (y compris le lobe occipital), formant l'arrière du polygone de Willis.

3. Artères communicantes ultérieures

Nous sommes confrontés à deux artères de grande importance, car elles permettent la communication entre l'artère carotide interne et l'artère cérébrale postérieure, de telle sorte que les principales artères cérébrales situées du même côté du cerveau soient connectées l'une à l'autre.

4. Artère communicante antérieure

L'artère communicante antérieure est une petite artère qui relie l'artère cérébrale antérieure droite et l'artère cérébrale antérieure gauche. agissant comme un pont entre les deux hémisphères .

5. Artère cérébrale antérieure

Partie de la bifurcation de l'artère carotide interne, cette artère fait partie du cercle ou du polygone de Willis directement. Ses ramifications permettent d'irriguer les zones sensorimotrices et orbitofrontales, entre autres domaines d'intérêt.

6. artère cérébrale moyenne

La plus grande branche de la carotide et le plus vulnérable aux occlusions, son approvisionnement en sang a tendance à être dirigé dans le cerveau. Votre réserve de sang atteint le striate, l'insula et aux régions orbitale, frontale, pariétale et temporale. Il suit la fissure de Silvio, c'est pourquoi on l'appelle aussi artère de Silvia ou de Silviana.

7. Artère cérébrale postérieure

Artère issue de la connexion entre l'artère basilaire et l'artère communicante postérieure. Particulièrement important pour Irrigation des zones inférieures et plus profondes des lobes temporaux et occipitaux , puisque son action permet des aspects liés à la vision

8. artères cérébelleuses

Ce sont les artères qui aident à irriguer le cervelet, ainsi que d'autres structures du tronc cérébral. Nous pouvons trouver le cervelet supérieur, antéro-inférieur et postéro-inférieur

9. artères rachidiennes

L'artère spinale est l'artère qui alimente la moelle épinière en sang. Elle revêt une grande importance pour le système nerveux autonome et pour la transmission d'informations du cerveau aux différents organes.

Quand les blessures apparaissent

Le polygone de Willis est un espace d’une grande importance pour l’être humain. Ses interconnexions entraînent de nombreuses ramifications qui peut atteindre jusqu'à 80% du débit sanguin cérébral . Mais vous pouvez parfois souffrir que ce polygone soit endommagé après un traumatisme, qu’un anévrisme apparaisse ou qu’un accident cardiovasculaire se produise dans cette région.

Si une sorte d'obstruction apparaît dans le polygone, il est possible que les zones irriguées manquent d'oxygène et meurent. Les conséquences peuvent être multiples, de la mort (si par exemple les noyaux qui régulent les signes vitaux sont perdus) à la perte de fonctions mentales et physiques, de sensibilité ou de motricité .

Un autre problème qui peut survenir est le fait qu’un anévrisme apparaisse (en fait, le polygone de Willis est l’un des principaux endroits où des problèmes de ce type apparaissent généralement) et qu’il finit par produire un déversement, ce qui peut avoir des conséquences désastreuses pour les utilisateurs. Sujet concerné. Et même si l'issue n'est pas fatale, vous risquez de perdre la vue à cause de la compression du chiasme optique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gómez García ,;; Espejo-Saavedra, J. C.; Taravillo, B. (2012). Psychobiologie Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 12. CEDE, Madrid.
  • Gray, D.J. (1985). Cercle artériel de Willis. Dans: Traité d'anatomie humaine, Éditorial Interamericana. 1ère édition: 760-3.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Quintero-Oliveros, S.T .; Ballesteros-Acuña, L.E .; Ayala-Pimentel, J.O. et Forero-Porras, P.L. (2009). Caractéristiques morphologiques des anévrismes cérébraux du polygone de Willis: étude anatomique directe. Neurochirurgie, 20 (2): 110-116.

Anatomie du système nerveux : Vascularisation de l'encéphale (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes