yes, therapy helps!
Pomegranate: 10 properties and benefits of this healthy fruit

Pomegranate: 10 properties and benefits of this healthy fruit

October 1, 2022

Five pieces of fruit a day . This is the recommendation that a large number of experts make regarding the need for vegetable consumption in our diet in order to make it balanced and healthy. And if this recommendation is made it is because this type of vegetable contains a great amount of essential and valuable elements for the optimal maintenance for our health.

In addition, we have a wide variety of this type of food, each of them having different compositions that can be more or less beneficial in different aspects.

One of them, which usually is not the first we imagine when thinking about fruits, is the pomegranate. And although it is not usually taken into account as the orange or apple, the truth is that we are facing a fruit very beneficial to health. That is why throughout this article we will emphasize the properties and benefits of the pomegranate in our health .


  • Related article: "18 benefits of ginger for your body and your health"

The pomegranate: a very healthy fruit

We call pomegranates an important and very healthy fruit from the tree Punica granatum , popularly known as pomegranate. This fruit that outwardly resembles a bulb of yellowish and reddish coloration, is consumed today in most of the world despite being considered exotic. The part that is consumed are its numerous seeds or arils, fleshy and of a reddish color, which are usually extracted and used in different ways.

Although it is not the most consumed fruit, the truth is that it is a food that has been available and has enjoyed popularity since ancient times in much of the Mediterranean, being known by civilizations such as the Greek or Egyptian and even being in deposits of the Bronze Age, such as Jericho. In fact, references to it can be found in the sacred texts of the Hebrew and Muslim religions, the Torah and the Koran, as well as in Christianity.


It is considered that its region of origin is in an area that includes from ancient Persia and Babylon to India , from where little by little it was introduced to the rest of Asia and with time to Europe (in Spain it was introduced by the Arabs during the Middle Ages) and to America.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 best infusions to relax"

Properties and benefits of the pomegranate

The pomegranate is a very healthy fruit and beneficial to health, which have discovered several very interesting properties due to its composition rich in vitamins, minerals and fiber among many other elements. Specifically, the following properties of the pomegranate are usually highlighted.

1. A powerful antioxidant

The seeds of the pomegranate contain components such as punicalagins, a type of hydrolysable tannin, and flavonoids such as cyanidin. Both groups of elements have a high antioxidant power. It helps keep cell damage caused by free radicals at bay , as well as a lower level of cellular degeneration and a slowing down of tissue aging.


2. It has an astringent effect

Thanks to its high content of polyphenols, the pomegranate has the property of helping to retain and absorb the liquid of the digested food, making it difficult to expel soft and continuous stools. That is why it is sometimes recommended to treat cases of diarrhea. In this case, this property is more specific to the peel, with which you can prepare infusions .

3. Reduce blood pressure and help prevent cardiovascular problems

Several studies seem to show that the pomegranate has the interesting property of reducing blood pressure and the risk of suffering cardiovascular problems. It has also been observed that it contributes to reducing atherosclerosis, reducing the risk of thrombi and favoring a healthier blood circulation.

4. Aphrodisiac and sexual health effects

Another property that has traditionally been attributed to pomegranate is the fact that it is an aphrodisiac fruit. And some research seems to suggest that generates an increase in the level of testosterone in both sexes , as well as estrogen in the case of women, something that could contribute not only to a sexual level but also in aspects such as the strengthening of bones and muscles.

Likewise and as mentioned above, the fact of helping to prevent atherosclerosis makes the vascular system remain healthy and the passage of blood to erogenous zones is not so difficult for this reason.

5. Anti-inflammatory

The pomegranate juice and specifically one of its components which we have already mentioned above, the punicalagins, also has an interesting anti-inflammatory action that can be useful when contributing to improve states of inflammation of some body systems .

6. Possible antitumor action

The pomegranate has also been effective in preventing different types of cancer, such as colon cancer, as well as interfering in some studies in the proliferation of certain tumors.

7. Memory function support

The aforementioned antioxidant effects and the increase of testosterone in both sexes seem to be associated to a better functioning of the memory, being able to help to prevent a possible deterioration derived from the effects of free radicals that damage neurons .

8. Diuretic and slimming

With a high potassium content, it has been observed that the pomegranate It is also a diuretic fruit , contributing and facilitating the urination and the expulsion of harmful elements of the blood through the urine. In addition, being rich seems to have a positive effect on the control of body fat, as well as being low in calories helps reduce body fat and prevent obesity.

9. It promotes the immune system

The consumption of pomegranate can be an interesting option for the reinforcement of the immune system, since it provides a large amount of essential nutrients, minerals such as calcium, potassium and iron and vitamins as important as C or A .

This makes it easier to fight different infections and problems, as well as to prevent and combat anemia.
Likewise, it is good for tissue regeneration.

10. Antiseptic, antifungal and antiparasitic action

Other interesting properties of this fruit is the fact that it has been observed that it helps to fight different bacteria, fungi and even intestinal parasites, something that makes the pomegranate fruit useful for the prevention of infections. This effect is not only achieved by consuming the arils, but also observed in its use as a mouthwash.

Bibliographic references:

  • Stowe, C.B. (2011). The effects of pomegranate juice in blood pressure and cardiovascular health. Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice, 14 (2). PubMed. [On-line]. Available at: //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21457902.
  • Seeram, N.P .; Adams, L.S .: Henning, S.M .; Niu, Y .; Zhang, Y .; Nair, M.F. & Heber, D. (2005). In-vitro antiproliferative, apoptotic and antioxidant activities of punicalagin, ellagic acid and a total pomegranate tannin extract are enhanced in combination with other polyphenols as found in pomegranate juice.The Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry, 16 (6): 360-367.

Nutrition Tips : Health Benefits of a Pomegranate (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Grenade: 10 propriétés et bienfaits de ce fruit sain

Grenade: 10 propriétés et bienfaits de ce fruit sain

Avril 22, 2019

Cinq fruits par jour . Telle est la recommandation d’un grand nombre d’experts en ce qui concerne la nécessité de consommer des légumes dans notre alimentation afin de les rendre équilibrés et sains. Et si cette recommandation est faite, c'est parce que ce type de légume contient une grande quantité d'éléments essentiels et précieux pour le maintien optimal de notre santé.

De plus, nous avons une grande variété de ce type d’aliments, chacun d’eux ayant des compositions différentes pouvant être plus ou moins bénéfiques sous différents aspects.

L’un d’eux, qui n’est généralement pas le premier qu’on imagine en matière de fruits, est la grenade. Et bien que cela ne soit généralement pas pris en compte comme l’orange ou la pomme, la vérité est que nous sommes face à un fruit très bénéfique pour la santé. C’est pourquoi, tout au long de cet article, nous soulignerons les propriétés et les avantages de la grenade dans notre santé .


  • Article connexe: "18 bienfaits du gingembre pour votre corps et votre santé"

La grenade: un fruit très sain

Nous appelons les grenades un fruit important et très sain de l'arbre Punica granatum , communément appelé grenade. Ce fruit qui ressemble extérieurement à un bulbe de coloration jaunâtre et rougeâtre est consommé aujourd'hui dans la plupart des pays du monde, même s'il est considéré comme exotique. La partie consommée est constituée de nombreuses graines ou arilles, charnues et de couleur rougeâtre, qui sont généralement extraites et utilisées de différentes manières.

Bien que ce ne soit pas le fruit le plus consommé, la vérité est qu’il s’agit d’un aliment disponible et jouissant d’une popularité depuis l’antiquité dans une grande partie de la Méditerranée, connu des civilisations telles que la Grèce ou l’Égypte dépôts de l'âge du bronze, tels que Jericho. En fait, des références à cela peuvent être trouvées dans les textes sacrés des religions hébraïque et musulmane, la Torah et le Coran, ainsi que dans le christianisme.


Il est considéré que sa région d'origine se situe dans une région qui comprend l'ancienne Perse et Babylone jusqu'en Inde , d’où peu à peu il a été introduit dans le reste de l’Asie et avec le temps en Europe (en Espagne, il a été introduit par les Arabes au Moyen Âge) et en Amérique.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 12 meilleures infusions pour se détendre"

Propriétés et avantages de la grenade

La grenade est un fruit très sain et bénéfique pour la santé, qui a découvert plusieurs propriétés très intéressantes en raison de sa composition riche en vitamines, minéraux et fibres, parmi de nombreux autres éléments. Plus précisément, les propriétés suivantes de la grenade sont généralement mises en évidence.

1. Un puissant antioxydant

Les graines de la grenade contiennent des composants tels que des punicalagines, un type de tanin hydrolysable et des flavonoïdes tels que la cyanidine. Les deux groupes d'éléments ont un pouvoir antioxydant élevé. Il aide à garder les dommages aux cellules causés par les radicaux libres aux abois , ainsi qu’un faible niveau de dégénérescence cellulaire et un ralentissement du vieillissement tissulaire.


2. Il a un effet astringent

Grâce à sa teneur élevée en polyphénols, la grenade a la propriété d'aider à retenir et à absorber le liquide de la nourriture digérée, ce qui rend difficile l'expulsion des selles molles et continues. C'est pourquoi il est parfois recommandé de traiter les cas de diarrhée. Dans ce cas, cette propriété est plus spécifique à la peau, avec laquelle vous pouvez préparer des infusions .

3. Réduire la tension artérielle et aider à prévenir les problèmes cardiovasculaires

Plusieurs études semblent montrer que la grenade a la propriété intéressante de réduire la pression artérielle et le risque de souffrir de problèmes cardiovasculaires. Il a également été observé qu'il contribue à réduire l'athérosclérose, à réduire le risque de thrombi et à favoriser une circulation sanguine plus saine.

4. Effets sur la santé sexuelle et aphrodisiaque

Une autre propriété traditionnellement attribuée à la grenade est le fait qu’il s’agit d’un fruit aphrodisiaque. Et certaines recherches semblent suggérer que génère une augmentation du niveau de testostérone chez les deux sexes , ainsi que des œstrogènes chez les femmes, ce qui pourrait contribuer non seulement à un niveau sexuel, mais également à des aspects tels que le renforcement des os et des muscles.

De même et comme mentionné ci-dessus, le fait de contribuer à la prévention de l'athérosclérose fait que le système vasculaire reste en bonne santé et le passage du sang dans les zones érogènes n'est pas si difficile pour cette raison.

5. anti-inflammatoire

Le jus de grenade et, en particulier, l’un de ses composants, les punicalagines, ont également une action anti-inflammatoire intéressante qui peut être utile pour contribuer à améliorer les états d'inflammation de certains systèmes du corps .

6. Action antitumorale possible

La grenade a également permis d’empêcher différents types de cancer, tels que le cancer du côlon, et d’interférer dans certaines études sur la prolifération de certaines tumeurs.

7. Support de fonction de mémoire

Les effets antioxydants susmentionnés et l'augmentation de la testostérone chez les deux sexes semblent être associés à un meilleur fonctionnement de la mémoire, ce qui peut aider à prévenir une possible détérioration. dérivé des effets des radicaux libres qui endommagent les neurones .

8. Diurétique et minceur

Avec une teneur élevée en potassium, il a été observé que la grenade C'est aussi un fruit diurétique , contribuant et facilitant la miction et l’expulsion d’éléments nocifs du sang par l’urine. En outre, le fait d'être riche semble avoir un effet positif sur le contrôle de la graisse corporelle. En outre, être faible en calories aide à réduire la graisse corporelle et à prévenir l'obésité.

9. Il favorise le système immunitaire

La consommation de grenade peut être une option intéressante pour le renforcement du système immunitaire, car elle fournit une grande quantité de nutriments essentiels, de minéraux tels que le calcium, le potassium et le fer et de vitamines aussi importantes que C ou A. .

Cela facilite la lutte contre différentes infections et problèmes, ainsi que la prévention et la lutte contre l'anémie.
De même, c'est bon pour la régénération des tissus.

10. Action antiseptique, antifongique et antiparasitaire

Une autre propriété intéressante de ce fruit est le fait qu’il a été observé qu’il aide à combattre différentes bactéries, champignons et même les parasites intestinaux, ce qui rend le fruit de la grenade utile pour la prévention des infections. Cet effet est non seulement obtenu en consommant de l'arille, mais également observé dans son utilisation comme bain de bouche.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Stowe, CB (2011). Les effets du jus de grenade sur la pression artérielle et la santé cardiovasculaire. Thérapies complémentaires en pratique clinique, 14 (2). PubMed. [En ligne] Disponible à l'adresse: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21457902.
  • Seeram, N.P .; Adams, L. S.: Henning, S. M.; Niu, Y .; Zhang, Y .; Nair, M.F. & Heber, D. (2005). Des activités in vitro antiprolifératives, apoptotiques et antioxydantes de la punicalagine, de l'acide ellagique et d'un extrait de tanin de grenade total sont renforcées en association avec d'autres polyphénols, comme dans le jus de grenade. The Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry, 16 (6): 360-367.

10 bienfaits du jus de grenade sur la santé - BonPasBon.Com (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes