yes, therapy helps!
Populist reason and bourgeois rationalism

Populist reason and bourgeois rationalism

June 12, 2024

I am writing this article in conjunction with the recently published "What is really populism?" of the companion Albert Borràs .

If Albert has chosen an analytical, descriptive and explanatory perspective of the concept of populism, I will choose a political perspective of the same.

Populist reason breaks in Spain

Much in vogue in the mass media and in the political and business elites of our country to try to discredit Podemos, the reviled populism seems to return to the order of the day. There has been a lot of talk about extreme right-wing populism in Europe and now it seems that the political winds of Latin American left populism are blowing strongly in our territory.


Why is populism so criticized?

As Albert explains well, he is usually equated to demagogy (win political support through favors to the people) but it has, obviously, a very different component. There is something common to extreme right and extreme left populism that is often overlooked: both born of the political passions of the "people ”.

What has the passions traditionally opposed? To the reason, and, more concretely, to the scientific and bourgeois reason born of the French Illumination. The debate of passion / reason or rationality versus irrationality has long since been overcome but we still suffer its impacts. If you criticize populism so much from the financial and political elites of our country is a structure of thought that comes from afar: the passions would be the "lowest" of the human being and the reason would be the highest, almost the very essence of the human condition, that which would distinguish us from the "beasts", from the animals.


For me, one of the most abject essays that clearly reflects this thinking is Mass psychology of Le Bon. The masses have always been assimilated to irrationality and low political passions. This has always been opposed by an elite of privileged, an elite of people who will be positioned above the crowd and who will believe the owners of the Truth and Reason, always far away and necessarily independent of the multitudes. And that, therefore, they stand as our sovereigns and as our rulers (and I add, to control ourselves).

When we read and interpret society following the classical and modern scheme of an uncultivated, passionate people, under against / opposed to a rational elite, "meritocratic" and separated from the crowds we find ourselves with the hard core of the debate that we have right now about populisms. It is the very scheme of modern sovereignty that we also find in the analysis of our own psyche (the will of our "conscience", our "rational" conscience to be sovereign over the body, over our decisions, over our "instincts" to the which would oppose).


What is so fascinating about the National Front? Why is it so strong among the French working classes?

The conventional argument to explain these phenomena is: "simple and miraculous solutions are offered to complex problems". We have to avoid this type of explanation for two reasons that, in my opinion, reinforce the current structure of domination.

First reason : By stating that people are convinced with simple things in front of complex problems, it is implicitly affirming that people are stupid and that they are not capable, on their own, to understand this world and what it suffers. That is, you are saying that you, as a well-lit one, are smarter than the rest and that we should leave the space of political decisions to technocrats who do understand the complexity of our world. This is a very classic right-wing paternalism, which was used as an argument to prohibit voting for the poor, African-Americans, women and children during the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.

Second reason : When conventional wisdom states that "to complicated problems, simple solutions" is affirming more its own framework of analysis than the idea that is transmitting. This framework remains that of bourgeois rationality: I make an observation of reality, I being an element external to it, and I can classify, describe, certain problems. This reproduces the illusory position of the observer who observes without influencing the process itself (an idea that quantum physics already denied).

People suffer in our flesh the effects and oppressions of this system. Nobody has to come and tell us how or how oppressed we are, it is something we already know. If the National Front has won an election it is not because it offers solutions, it has to do with a different political rationality that starts from the demos themselves, from the people themselves, although in this case it has a character of social decomposition.Marine Le Pen does one thing that other politicians do not have us used to: it speaks with passion. He talks as many of us talk in our streets and neighborhoods. It is aggressive. Many people from the popular classes can feel identified with it because it uses the same expressions, the same passionate force that already exists in the streets. This is neither bad nor good per se, has a very transgressive component, which is to combat bourgeois rationalism, that false set of interests and university people and well domesticated who would sit around a table to discuss the evils of the world while sipping their coffee cups or hot tea.

Whatever the social origin of Marine Le Pen is indifferent, it is enunciated and spoken as it is spoken in the popular classes, while generating a new framework of oppression. And for that reason it is a danger, for that reason it has strength and for those reasons in France they are going to have a huge problem. Few people, and even less in the political arena, seem to recognize Le Pen as having the merit of having created a terrifying link with the popular, middle and high classes of France. It is always attacked from a position of liberal elitism instead of recognizing it as an adversary, as a party and ideas that go as equals. We must not put ourselves hierarchically or intellectually above Marine, because we fall back into the game and into the realm of liberal parliamentarism, we must fight it from the popular and oppressed classes. It is a real threat, a threat that resides in the sad passions (in the spinozist sense) of the crowd.

We can and the populist rationality

We can, on the other hand, go much further than that. It does not make a passionate exaltation of rags and a hatred towards social minorities . We can create and realize through a populist rationality, a rationality that emerges from the demos, from the crowds. If the National Front stays in the populism of the modern people - of ONE people, with ONE idea, that takes ONE decision, that is closed and limited in itself, that creates a separation between its people and the rest of the peoples - Podemos abre to the people so that there is a multitude, so that there are no sovereign folds, so that many decisions are made and many rationalities arise. In addition to this, it reinforces cheerful passions, generating social composition and increasing collective power.

The populism of the National Front aspires to return to make of the many a first, pre-conflictual state unit (pre-class struggle constitutive of the capitalist order). On the other hand, as Paolo Virno says in Grammar of the crowd: "the multitude is furrowed by antagonisms, it can never be a unity. The many subsist like many without aspiring to state unity. "

Channeling and trying to confine the passions of the multitudes towards a game of liberal and bureaucratic interests is a crude attempt by the elites to manage and subjugate us with the subterfuge of the bourgeois reason (Cartesian, enlightenment, elitist). So that everything can become identifiable and can be fixed, so that everything enters into its rules, so that they are the ones that determine those rules and for those who can use them without changing those who continue to decide from above how to govern us. It is an update of the Platonic Idea. Reason and passion are always chained and juxtaposed.

The problem is never what is rational or what is irrational but who determines what is rational or irrational and in view of what objectives or in order to justify what social structure .

We, the citizens, the multitudes, generate political reason from below, a new "reason" far from the usual mechanisms of libidinal repression. We separate ourselves from the old axes: reason / passion, rational / irrational, left / right. We want to constitute a new world of the commons and for that reason we also carry out and continue the relevant criticism of those structures that are arbitrarily erected above us, be they kings and absolute monarchies that were carried out for divine reason, that is, by a hierarchical positioning of a a certain type of Reason, of pure reason that imposes a false dichotomy between reason and passion but which in truth remains its bourgeois reason against our reason of the people, of the multitudes.


Money as a Democratic Medium | History and Theory (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Raison populiste et rationalisme bourgeois

Raison populiste et rationalisme bourgeois

Janvier 17, 2023

J'écris cet article en conjonction avec le récent "Qu'est-ce que le populisme?" de la compagne Albert Borràs .

Si Albert a choisi une perspective analytique, descriptive et explicative du concept de populisme, je choisirai une perspective politique du même.

La raison populiste s'installe en Espagne

Très en vogue dans les médias et dans les élites politiques et commerciales de notre pays pour tenter de discréditer Podemos, le populisme révolté semble revenir à l'ordre du jour. On a beaucoup parlé du populisme d'extrême droite en Europe et il semble maintenant que les vents politiques du populisme de gauche latino-américain soufflent avec force sur notre territoire.


Pourquoi le populisme est-il si critiqué?

Comme Albert explique bien, il est généralement assimilé à démagogie (obtenir un soutien politique par le biais de faveurs envers le peuple), mais il comporte évidemment un élément très différent. Il y a quelque chose de commun au populisme d'extrême droite et d'extrême gauche qui est souvent négligé: les deux né des passions politiques du "peuple ”.

À quoi les passions se sont-elles traditionnellement opposées? À la raison et, plus concrètement, à la raison scientifique et bourgeoise née de l'illumination française. Le débat passion / raison ou rationalité versus irrationnalité est depuis longtemps surmonté, mais nous en subissons encore les effets. Si vous critiquez autant le populisme de la part des élites financières et politiques de notre pays, c'est une structure de pensée qui vient de loin: les passions seraient les "plus basses" de l'être humain et la raison, la plus haute, presque l'essence même de la condition humaine, celle qui nous distinguerait des "bêtes", des animaux.


Pour moi, l’un des essais les plus abjects qui reflète clairement cette pensée est Psychologie de masse de Le Bon. Les masses ont toujours été assimilées à l'irrationalité et à de faibles passions politiques. Une élite de privilégiés s'est toujours opposée à cela, une élite de personnes qui se positionneront au-dessus de la foule et qui croiront les propriétaires de la Vérité et de la Raison, toujours loin et nécessairement indépendantes des multitudes. Et que, par conséquent, ils sont nos souverains et nos dirigeants (et j'ajoute, pour se contrôler).

Lorsque nous lisons et interprétons la société selon le schéma classique et moderne d’un peuple inculte et passionné, opposé ou opposé à un élite rationnelle, "méritocratique" et séparés de la foule, nous nous trouvons au cœur du débat actuel sur les populismes. C’est le schéma même de la souveraineté moderne que nous retrouvons également dans l’analyse de notre propre psyché (la volonté de notre "conscience", notre conscience "rationnelle" d’être souveraine sur le corps, sur nos décisions, sur nos "instincts" du qui s'opposerait).


Qu'est-ce qui rend le front national si fascinant? Pourquoi est-il si fort parmi la classe ouvrière française?

L'argument classique pour expliquer ces phénomènes est le suivant: "des solutions simples et miraculeuses sont proposées à des problèmes complexes". Nous devons éviter ce type d'explication pour deux raisons qui, à mon avis, renforcent la structure de domination actuelle.

Première raison : En affirmant que les gens sont convaincus de choses simples face à des problèmes complexes, on affirme implicitement que les gens sont stupides et qu’ils ne sont pas capables, par eux-mêmes, de comprendre ce monde et ses souffrances. En d’autres termes, vous dites que vous êtes bien éclairé et que vous êtes plus intelligent que les autres et que nous devrions laisser l’espace des décisions politiques à des technocrates qui comprennent la complexité de notre monde. Il s'agit d'un paternalisme de droite très classique, qui a été utilisé comme argument pour interdire de voter pour les pauvres, les Afro-Américains, les femmes et les enfants aux 19e, 20e et 21e siècles.

Deuxième raison : Lorsque la sagesse conventionnelle affirme que "aux problèmes complexes, des solutions simples" affirme plus son propre cadre d'analyse que l'idée qui la transmet. Ce cadre reste celui de la rationalité bourgeoise: je fais une observation de la réalité, j'en suis un élément externe, et je peux classer, décrire, certains problèmes. Cela reproduit la position illusoire de l'observateur qui observe sans influencer le processus lui-même (une idée que la physique quantique avait déjà démentie).

Les gens subissent dans notre chair les effets et les oppressions de ce système. Personne ne doit venir nous dire comment et comment nous sommes opprimés, c'est quelque chose que nous savons déjà. Si le Front national a remporté une élection, ce n’est pas parce qu’il offre des solutions, mais bien avec une rationalité politique différente, qui part des manifestations mêmes, de la population elle-même, bien qu’il ait ici un caractère de décomposition sociale.Marine Le Pen fait une chose que les autres politiciens ne nous ont pas habituée: elle parle avec passion. Il parle comme beaucoup d'entre nous parlent dans nos rues et nos quartiers. C'est agressif. Beaucoup de gens des classes populaires peuvent s'y identifier, car ils utilisent les mêmes expressions, la même force passionnée qui existe déjà dans la rue. Ce n'est ni bon ni mauvais en soi, a une composante très transgressive, qui est de lutter contre le rationalisme bourgeois, ce faux groupe d’intérêts et de gens d’université bien domestiqués qui s’asseyaient autour d’une table pour discuter des maux du monde tout en sirotant leur tasse de café ou thé chaud

Quelle que soit l'origine sociale de Marine Le Pen qui soit indifférente, elle est énoncée et parlée comme elle est parlée dans les classes populaires, tout en générant un nouveau cadre d'oppression. Et pour cette raison, c'est un danger, pour cette raison, il a de la force et pour ces raisons, en France, ils vont avoir un problème énorme. Peu de gens, et encore moins dans l'arène politique, semblent reconnaître que Le Pen a le mérite d'avoir créé un lien terrifiant avec les classes populaires, moyennes et hautes de la France. Il est toujours attaqué par une position d'élitisme libéral au lieu de le reconnaître en tant qu'adversaire, en tant que parti et en tant qu'idées égales. Nous ne devons pas nous placer hiérarchiquement ou intellectuellement au-dessus de Marine, car nous retombons dans le jeu et dans le royaume du parlementarisme libéral, nous devons le combattre des classes populaires et opprimées. C'est une menace réelle, une menace qui réside dans les passions tristes (au sens spinoziste) de la foule.

Nous pouvons et la rationalité populiste

Nous pouvons, par contre, aller beaucoup plus loin que cela. Il ne fait pas une exaltation passionnée de chiffons et une haine envers les minorités sociales . Nous pouvons créer et réaliser à travers une rationalité populiste, une rationalité qui émerge des démos, des foules. Si le Front national reste dans le populisme des peuples modernes - de UN peuple, avec UNE idée, qui prend UNE décision, qui est fermé et limité en soi, qui crée une séparation entre son peuple et le reste des peuples - Podemos abre au peuple pour qu'il y ait une multitude, pour qu'il n'y ait pas de rangs souverains, pour que de nombreuses décisions soient prises et que de nombreuses rationalités apparaissent. En plus de cela, il renforce les passions gaies, générant une composition sociale et augmentant le pouvoir collectif.

Le populisme du Front national aspire à revenir à faire de la nombreuse première unité d'État pré-conflictuelle (lutte constitutive de l'ordre capitaliste pré-classe). Par ailleurs, comme le dit Paolo Virno dans Grammaire de la foule: "la multitude est sillonnée d’antagonismes, elle ne peut jamais être une unité. Beaucoup subsistent comme beaucoup sans aspirer à affirmer l'unité. "

Canaliser et tenter de limiter les passions des multitudes à un jeu d’intérêts libéraux et bureaucratiques est une tentative grossière de la part des élites pour nous gérer et nous soumettre au subterfuge de la raison bourgeoise (cartésienne, éclairée, élitiste). Pour que tout puisse devenir identifiable et puisse être corrigé, pour que tout soit inscrit dans ses règles, de sorte que ce soient elles qui déterminent ces règles et pour ceux qui peuvent les utiliser sans changer ceux qui continuent de décider par le haut comment nous gouverner. C'est une mise à jour de l'idée platonicienne. La raison et la passion sont toujours chaînées et juxtaposées.

Le problème n'est jamais de savoir ce qui est rationnel ou irrationnel, mais qui détermine ce qui est rationnel ou irrationnel et en fonction de quels objectifs ou pour justifier quelle structure sociale .

Nous, les citoyens, les multitudes, générons la raison politique par le bas, une nouvelle "raison" loin des mécanismes habituels de répression libidinale. Nous nous séparons des anciens axes: raison / passion, rationnel / irrationnel, gauche / droite. Nous voulons constituer un nouveau monde commun et c’est pour cette raison que nous menons et continuons également la critique pertinente de ces structures érigées arbitrairement au-dessus de nous, qu’il s’agisse de rois et de monarchies absolues menées pour des raisons divines, c’est-à-dire un certain type de Raison, de pure raison qui impose une fausse dichotomie entre raison et passion mais qui reste en réalité sa raison bourgeoise contre notre raison du peuple, des multitudes.


Les fondements philosophiques de Marine Le Pen [sous-titres français] (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes