yes, therapy helps!
Positive discipline: educating from mutual respect

Positive discipline: educating from mutual respect

December 1, 2022

In recent years there has been a change in education on the part of fathers and mothers, who work for an increasingly conscious education and that takes into account the global well-being of young people. This has resulted in more and more families becoming interested in finding a different way of educating their children, leaving aside the most authoritarian traditional punitive methods.

But on this transition path we also find ourselves fathers and mothers lost, disoriented, who have fallen into overprotection in trying to avoid authoritarianism, because they lack tools that allow them to find a middle ground between both educational styles. And these parents, mothers, and also educators, ask themselves, is education possible without rewards and punishments, without my son ending up being a tyrant?


Fortunately, it is possible, thanks to the methodology of mutual respect, positive discipline .

  • Related article: "Education in values: what is it?"

What is positive discipline?

Parents, mothers and educators. We have the responsibility in our hands to improve the world, promoting an education based on respect for the other , an education based on love, on understanding, and on the use of error as an opportunity to learn ... and not in anger, not in blackmail, not in vertical relationships that only generate discomfort and power struggles between parents and sons. This pretension of humanistic character is what forms the basis of positive discipline.


This discipline has its origin in the individualistic psychology of Alfred Adler. Adler already explained that all people, in all situations, have the right to be treated with the same dignity and respect. And for that reason he understood that the person, as a social being, is you need to forge the feeling of community through some key aspects, namely: belonging, and significance. That is, the human being has the need to belong and be part of the various systems that make up (the family, groups, the community ...) and to feel that it is important in this system, that what he does contributes and is useful .

Likewise, Adler was able to verify through his work that children who lacked affection and love, developed behavioral problems; in the same way that children who grew without limits, could also have many difficulties in the development of their long-term skills.


When the child feels that these aspects of belonging and meaning are not guaranteed, what we understand as "bad behavior" appears. Dreikurs, a disciple of Adler, went further and said that a child who behaves badly, is only a discouraged child , and coined the term we know as "democratic education".

  • Maybe you're interested: "Educational psychology: definition, concepts and theories"

Understanding democratic education

This democratic education is based on the application of the fundamental principle of kindness and firmness at the same time . Kindness as respect towards the child, firmness as respect towards myself as an adult and towards the situation. With both things in balance we can carry out an education that is respectful for all, and teach the most important to children, life skills.

In this way we create a respectful environment in which we can teach, and in which children can learn, freed from negative feelings such as shame, guilt, pain or humiliation, and therefore, feel, through the connection, that belonging, significance, and contribution , it's possible. This is how we contribute to the child exploring for himself the possible consequences of his actions, empowering him to create capable children.

The objectives of positive discipline

Positive discipline puts the focus on the long term , understanding that the behavior of the child, what we observe (crying, having a tantrum, ...) is only the tip of the iceberg, but that below it, there are deeper feelings, needs and beliefs that are forged in the child in function to the decisions that they are taking.

If we abandon the urge to immediately correct bad behavior , we can go on to validate the feelings of the child, and connect before correcting, trying to understand the interpretation that children make about themselves and the world, and what they are feeling, thinking and deciding at every moment to survive and prosper in the world . One more step to approach and empathize with them!

Positive discipline is based, then, on or An education that does not use prizes, but motivates and encourages. An education that does not punish, but it does focus on solutions. An education in which limits are so necessary to guide children as love and respect. Because, as Jane Nelsen said, maximum figure in the dissemination of this methodology, whose was the absurd idea that for a child to behave well, first you have to make him feel bad?

And that's what we make a child feel when we use punishment , which can be summarized in 4 Rs: resentment, desire for revenge, rebellion, and withdrawal (feelings of inferiority and low self-esteem).

In short, an education that model skills, which teaches the courage to be imperfect Accompanying through trust, which takes into account the needs of children and respects the nature of childhood, which encourages the child to gradually learn self-regulation skills and become an adult with competences, capable, and self-motivated.


Positive Discipline Webinar (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Discipline positive: éduquer par respect mutuel

Discipline positive: éduquer par respect mutuel

Novembre 26, 2022

Au cours des dernières années, l’éducation des pères et des mères a changé. qui travaillent pour une éducation de plus en plus consciente et cela prend en compte le bien-être global des jeunes. Cela a amené de plus en plus de familles à s'intéresser à une autre façon d'éduquer leurs enfants, en laissant de côté les méthodes punitives traditionnelles les plus autoritaires.

Mais sur ce chemin de transition nous nous trouvons aussi pères et mères perdus, désorientés, tombés dans la surprotection en essayant d'éviter l'autoritarisme, car ils manquent d'outils leur permettant de trouver un juste milieu entre les deux styles d'enseignement. Et ces parents, mères, mais aussi éducateurs, se demandent si l’éducation est possible sans récompenses ni punitions, sans que mon fils finisse par devenir un tyran?


Heureusement, c'est possible, grâce à la méthodologie du respect mutuel, de la discipline positive .

  • Article connexe: "L'éducation en valeurs: qu'est-ce que c'est?"

Quelle est la discipline positive?

Parents, mères et éducateurs. Nous avons la responsabilité entre nos mains d'améliorer le monde, promouvoir une éducation basée sur le respect de l'autre , une éducation basée sur l’amour, la compréhension et l’utilisation de l’erreur comme une occasion d’apprendre ... et non pas dans la colère, ni dans le chantage, ni dans des relations verticales qui ne génèrent que de l’inconfort et des rapports de force entre parents et les enfants. C'est cette prétention de caractère humaniste qui constitue la base de la discipline positive.


Cette discipline a son origine dans la psychologie individualiste d'Alfred Adler. Adler a déjà expliqué que toutes les personnes, dans toutes les situations, ont le droit d'être traitées avec la même dignité et le même respect. Et pour cette raison, il comprit que la personne, en tant qu’être social, est vous devez forger le sentiment de communauté à travers certains aspects clés, à savoir: appartenance et signification. C'est-à-dire que l'être humain a le besoin d'appartenir et de faire partie des différents systèmes qui le composent (la famille, les groupes, la communauté ...) et de sentir qu'il est important dans ce système que ce qu'il fait contribue et soit utile. .

De même, Adler a pu vérifier à travers son travail que des enfants dénués d'affection et d'amour développaient des problèmes de comportement. de la même manière que les enfants qui grandissent sans limites, pourraient également avoir beaucoup de difficultés dans le développement de leurs compétences à long terme.


Lorsque l'enfant estime que ces aspects d'appartenance et de signification ne sont pas garantis, ce que nous comprenons par "mauvais comportement" apparaît. Dreikurs, un disciple d'Adler, alla plus loin et dit que un enfant qui se comporte mal n'est qu'un enfant découragé , et a inventé le terme que nous connaissons comme "éducation démocratique".

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie de l'éducation: définition, concepts et théories"

Comprendre l'éducation démocratique

Cette éducation démocratique est basée sur l'application du principe fondamental de gentillesse et de fermeté en même temps . Bonté comme respect envers l'enfant, fermeté comme respect envers moi-même en tant qu'adulte et envers la situation. Avec un équilibre entre les deux, nous pouvons mener à bien une éducation respectueuse de tous et enseigner aux enfants les compétences de la vie les plus importantes.

De cette façon, nous créons un environnement respectueux où nous pouvons enseigner et où les enfants peuvent apprendre, libérés de sentiments négatifs tels que la honte, la culpabilité, la douleur ou l'humiliation, et par conséquent ressentent, par le biais de la connexion, que l'appartenance, la signification et la contribution , c'est possible. C’est ainsi que nous contribuons à ce que l’enfant explore lui-même les conséquences possibles de ses actes et lui permette de créer des enfants capables.

Les objectifs de la discipline positive

La discipline positive met l’accent sur le long terme , comprenant que le comportement de l’enfant, ce que nous observons (pleurer, avoir une crise de colère, ...) n’est que la partie visible de l’iceberg, mais qu’en dessous se cachent des sentiments, des besoins et des croyances plus profonds aux décisions qu'ils prennent.

Si nous abandonnons l'envie de corriger immédiatement le mauvais comportement , nous pouvons valider les sentiments de l’enfant et établir des liens avant de corriger, en essayant de comprendre l’interprétation que les enfants font d’eux-mêmes et du monde et de ce qu’ils ressentent, pensent et décident à tout moment de survivre et de prospérer dans le monde. . Un pas de plus pour approcher et compatir avec eux!

La discipline positive repose donc sur vous Une éducation qui n’utilise pas de prix, mais qui motive et encourage. Une éducation qui ne punit pas, mais se concentre sur les solutions. Une éducation dans laquelle les limites sont si nécessaires pour guider les enfants que l'amour et le respect. Parce que, comme Jane Nelsen l’a dit, le chiffre maximum dans la diffusion de cette méthodologie était l’idée absurde que, pour qu’un enfant se comporte bien, il faut d’abord le faire sentir mal

Et c'est ce que nous faisons ressentir à un enfant lorsque nous utilisons la peine , que l’on peut résumer en 4 R: ressentiment, désir de vengeance, rébellion et retrait (sentiments d’infériorité et de faible estime de soi).

En bref, une éducation qui compétences de modèle, qui enseigne le courage d'être imparfait L'accompagnement par la confiance, qui prend en compte les besoins des enfants et respecte la nature de l'enfance, encourage l'enfant à acquérir progressivement les compétences de maîtrise de soi et à devenir un adulte doté de compétences, capable et motivé.


EDUCATION : AUTORITÉ OU DISCIPLINE POSITIVE ? [TÉMOIGNAGE] (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes