yes, therapy helps!
Positive Psychology: how can you be really happy?

Positive Psychology: how can you be really happy?

May 24, 2022

Positive Psychology is one of the most recent trends of psychology, and it is not strange that it has aroused much interest. It is based on the study of the experiences and positive traits of individuals, as well as their strengths, virtues, motivations and abilities; how they help improve their quality of life and develop human potential.

Generally, psychological theories focus on pathologies and negative behaviors. On the contrary, Positive Psychology proposes strategies to achieve and optimize people's strengths. Thus, it proposes to focus attention more towards prevention than towards treatment.


Next we will see in detail what are the foundations of Positive Psychology , how it appeared and what objectives are proposed.

  • Related article: "15 essential positive psychology books"

This is how Positive Psychology appeared

The background of Positive Psychology goes back to the 20s and 30s in the works of Terman and Watson, which already mentioned some important concepts and themes such as student talent, infant care and psychological factors involved in marital happiness .

Before the Second World War, psychologists focused on actions that contributed to make the life of individuals more productive and full, so identified and reinforced talents and strengths in patients to face different situations.


However, as a consequence of the war the general approach of psychology was changed so that it was mainly concerned with evaluating mental disorders and trying to alleviate human suffering. In opposition to this tendency centered in the pathology, authors like Carl Rogers and Abraham Maslow within the humanist current, worked some ideas of strengths and happiness of the human being, setting a precedent from which Positive Psychology would later emerge.

At the end of 1990, Martin Seligman, American psychologist and educator, decided to give a twist to the dominant approach and presented for the first time his proposal of Positive Psychology in the ceremony in which he was named president of the American Psychiatric Association (APA for short). in English) in 1998. From that stage, many researchers oriented their work towards the study of the psychological potentialities of the human being.


Flow, strengths and positive emotions

Another of the important authors is Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi , a Hungarian psychologist who proposed the term flow as a positive mental state, as well as studies of factors that contribute to the motivation, challenge and success of individuals.

One of the fundamental components within the theory is the temperament, since it is considered as one of the most important predictors of the levels of positive experiences that a person will feel. There are also character strengths , which are traits or psychological characteristics that occur in different situations over time and their consequences are usually positive. Some are: optimism, interpersonal skills, faith, ethical work, hope, honesty, perseverance and ability to flow.

In addition, from Positive Psychology a categorization of positive emotions was made , depending on the time in which they are visualized: in the present they are joy, tranquility, euphoria, pleasure and the optimal experience; those of the past are satisfaction, complacency, personal fulfillment, pride and serenity; and in the future there is optimism, hope, faith and confidence.

There is currently enough evidence that positive emotions favor the health, personal growth and well-being of the individual. Increase the intellectual, physical and social resources of people so that they can respond in the best way when unexpected or difficult situations arise.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)"

The conquest of happiness, according to Seligman

On the other hand, Seligman proposed the model "The Three Ways to Happiness" (1999) which were:

  1. Pleasant life
  2. Committed life
  3. Meaningful life

Several years later he changed his proposal a bit and created the PERMA model (for its acronym in English), with the 5 components that are present in people who claim to be happy. With this he changed his object of study, from happiness to well-being. Each element must comply with 3 properties to be considered within the theory:

  • That contributes to the welfare.
  • That many people choose it for their own good, not just to get any of the other variables.
  • That is defined and measured independently of the rest of the variables of the model.

These are the components:

1. Positive emotions

Recognize the benefits of positive emotions in all aspects of the individual's life.

2. Commitment

Make a commitment with ourselves, focus on our strengths and seek to have optimal experiences . Generation of pleasure derived from the commitment to the effective task and the ability to experience experiences of flow.

3. Positive relationships

Increase our social skills to interrelate with other people.

  • Related article: "The 14 main social skills to succeed in life"

4. Sense

Search the meaning, meaning and purpose of our life.

5. Achievement

Personal agency that allows the growth and development of human capabilities.

Another of the theories of Positive Psychology is the Flow theory, proposed by Csikszentmihalyi. The flow, in simple terms, is the state in which the person is completely delivered to an activity for pleasure Everything flows and time flies. It usually occurs when the balance between the challenges of the task and the skills the individual has to solve it is reached.

Barbara Fredrickson and the proposal Enlargement - Construction

One more theory is the proposal Ampliación - Construcción, by Dr. Bárbara Fredrickson , social psychologist. The main idea is that positive emotions cause changes in cognitive activity, expand the possibilities of action and improve physical resources. According to this model, there are 3 sequential effects of positive emotions:

  • Extension: broaden trends of thought and action.
  • Building: the construction of personal resources is favored to face difficult or problematic situations.
  • Transformation: the individual becomes more creative, shows a deeper knowledge of situations, is more resistant to difficulties and socially better integrated. It reaches an ascending spiral that leads to the experimentation of new positive emotions.

This new experimentation based on Positive Psychology increases personal resources, which can be used in different contexts and under other emotional states. The traditional models of psychology, focused on negative emotions, deal with how these have the function of activating basic defense mechanisms for survival. Instead, this model presents positive emotions as Drivers of personal growth and construction of different thoughts and actions, which can be used depending on the present situation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Personal Development: 5 reasons for self-reflection"

Its use as a psychological intervention

The main fields of application of the proposal are the clinical, health and educational areas. In the clinic and health area, what is sought is the generation of prevention strategies and treatment of problems derived from negative emotions, mainly depression, stress and anxiety . It is proven that patients with affective and anxiety disorders have lower performance in daily tasks and it is much more difficult to solve problems. The goal is to promote positive emotions to create a barrier against psychological disorders.

Within the educational one, focuses on the extrinsic motivation of students , academic motivation, generation and optimization of strengths. This favors the students' reactions to situations that they have to face. Furthermore, in those institutions that promote the achievement of goals to obtain rewards, they increase motivation and decrease the conflicting attitudes of children and young people.

At present is beginning to be implemented in the organizational area ; The objective is to provide tools to generate strategies to improve the work environment and therefore the efficiency in processes and greater productivity on the part of employees.

And to learn more about Positive Psychology ...

Here are some recommendations of books in which the main theme revolves around positive psychology:

  • "Flow (Flow)": a psychology of happiness, by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi.
  • "The authentic happiness", by Martin E. P. Seligman.
  • "The science of well-being: foundations of a positive psychology", by Carmelo Vázquez and Gonzalo Hervás.
  • "Intelligent optimism: psychology of positive emotions", several authors.
  • "Overcoming adversity: the power of resilience", by Luis Rojas Marcos.
  • "Flow in business", by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi.
  • "Is your cube full? Strategies to enhance their positive emotions ", by Tom Rath and Donald O. Clifton.
  • "Positive Psychology: the scientific and practical explorations of human strengths", several authors.
  • "The science of happiness", by Sonja Lyubomirsky.
  • "The uselessness of suffering", by María Jesús Álava Reyes.
  • "The life that blooms", by Martin E. P. Seligman.
  • "Psychologically speaking", several authors.
  • "The trap of happiness", by Russ Harris.
  • "The habits of a happy brain", by Loretta Graziano.
  • "Positive psychology: the conscience of happiness", by Alan Carr.

How to be Happy - The Science of Happiness and Feeling Positive in Life (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie positive: comment pouvez-vous être vraiment heureux?

Psychologie positive: comment pouvez-vous être vraiment heureux?

Juin 13, 2021

La psychologie positive est l’une des tendances les plus récentes de la psychologie, et il n’est pas étonnant qu’elle ait suscité beaucoup d’intérêt. Il est basé sur l'étude des expériences et des traits positifs d'individus, ainsi que de leurs forces, leurs vertus, leurs motivations et leurs capacités. comment ils contribuent à améliorer leur qualité de vie et à développer le potentiel humain.

Généralement, les théories psychologiques se concentrent sur les pathologies et les comportements négatifs. Au contraire, la psychologie positive propose des stratégies pour atteindre et optimiser les forces des personnes. Ainsi, il propose de centrer davantage l’attention sur la prévention que sur le traitement.


Ensuite, nous verrons en détail Quels sont les fondements de la psychologie positive , comment il est apparu et quels objectifs sont proposés.

  • Article connexe: "15 livres essentiels sur la psychologie positive"

Voici comment la psychologie positive est apparue

Les antécédents de la psychologie positive remontent aux années vingt et trente dans les travaux de Terman et Watson, qui mentionnaient déjà certains concepts et thèmes importants tels que le talent des élèves, les soins aux nourrissons et facteurs psychologiques impliqués dans le bonheur conjugal .

Avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les psychologues se concentraient sur des actions qui contribuaient à rendre la vie des individus plus productive et plus complète. talents identifiés et renforcés chez les patients faire face à des situations différentes.


Cependant, à la suite de la guerre, l’approche générale de la psychologie a été modifiée de sorte qu’elle se préoccupe principalement d’évaluer les troubles mentaux et de tenter d’atténuer les souffrances humaines. En opposition à cette tendance centrée sur la pathologie, des auteurs tels que Carl Rogers et Abraham Maslow au sein du courant humaniste ont élaboré quelques idées sur les forces et le bonheur de l'être humain, créant ainsi un précédent à partir duquel la psychologie positive émergera.

À la fin de 1990, Martin Seligman, psychologue et éducateur américain, décida de modifier l’approche dominante et présenta pour la première fois sa proposition de psychologie positive lors de la cérémonie au cours de laquelle il fut nommé président de l’American Psychiatric Association (APA). en anglais) en 1998. À partir de ce stade, de nombreux chercheurs ont orienté leurs travaux vers l’étude des potentialités psychologiques de l’être humain.


Flux, forces et émotions positives

Un autre des auteurs importants est Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi , un psychologue hongrois qui a proposé le terme flux comme état mental positif, ainsi que des études sur les facteurs contribuant à la motivation, au défi et au succès des individus.

Le tempérament est l’une des composantes fondamentales de la théorie, car il est considéré comme l’un des facteurs de prédiction les plus importants des niveaux d’expériences positives qu’une personne ressentira. Il y a aussi des forces de caractère , qui sont des traits ou des caractéristiques psychologiques qui se produisent dans différentes situations au fil du temps et dont les conséquences sont généralement positives. Certains sont: l'optimisme, les compétences interpersonnelles, la foi, le travail éthique, l'espoir, l'honnêteté, la persévérance et la capacité de fluidité.

En outre, de la psychologie positive une catégorisation des émotions positives a été faite , selon le moment où ils sont visualisés: dans le présent, ce sont la joie, la tranquillité, l’euphorie, le plaisir et l’expérience optimale; ceux du passé sont la satisfaction, la complaisance, l'épanouissement personnel, l'orgueil et la sérénité; et à l'avenir, il y a de l'optimisme, de l'espoir, de la foi et de la confiance.

Il existe actuellement suffisamment de preuves que les émotions positives favorisent la santé, la croissance personnelle et le bien-être de l'individu. Augmenter les ressources intellectuelles, physiques et sociales des personnes afin qu’elles puissent réagir de la meilleure façon possible lorsque des situations imprévues ou difficiles se produisent.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les 8 types d'émotions (classification et description)"

La conquête du bonheur selon Seligman

De son côté, Seligman a proposé le modèle "Les trois voies du bonheur" (1999):

  1. Vie agréable
  2. Vie engagée
  3. Vie significative

Plusieurs années plus tard, il modifia un peu sa proposition et créa le modèle PERMA. (pour son acronyme en anglais), avec les 5 composants qui sont présents chez les personnes qui prétendent être heureuses. Avec cela, il changea son objet d'étude, du bonheur au bien-être. Chaque élément doit respecter 3 propriétés pour être pris en compte dans la théorie:

  • Cela contribue au bien-être.
  • Que beaucoup de gens le choisissent pour leur propre bien, pas seulement pour obtenir l'une des autres variables.
  • Cela est défini et mesuré indépendamment du reste des variables du modèle.

Ce sont les composants:

1. émotions positives

Reconnaître les avantages des émotions positives dans tous les aspects de la vie de l'individu.

2. engagement

Engagez-vous avec nous-mêmes, concentrez-vous sur nos forces et chercher à avoir des expériences optimales . Génération de plaisir découlant de l'engagement envers la tâche efficace et de la capacité de vivre des expériences de flux.

3. relations positives

Augmenter nos compétences sociales interagir avec d'autres personnes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie"

4. sens

Rechercher le sens, le sens et le but de notre vie.

5. Réalisation

Agence personnelle qui permet la croissance et le développement des capacités humaines.

Une autre des théories de la psychologie positive est la théorie du flux, proposée par Csikszentmihalyi. Le flux, en termes simples, est l'état dans lequel la personne est complètement livré à une activité pour le plaisir Tout coule et le temps passe. Cela se produit généralement lorsque l’équilibre entre les défis de la tâche et les compétences que l’individu doit résoudre est atteint.

Barbara Fredrickson et la proposition Elargissement - Construction

Une autre théorie est la proposition Ampliación - Construcción, du Dr. Bárbara Fredrickson , psychologue social. L'idée principale est que les émotions positives provoquent des modifications de l'activité cognitive, élargissent les possibilités d'action et améliorent les ressources physiques. Selon ce modèle, il existe 3 effets séquentiels d’émotions positives:

  • Extension: élargir les courants de pensée et d’action.
  • Construction: la construction de ressources personnelles est privilégiée pour faire face à des situations difficiles ou problématiques.
  • Transformation: l'individu devient plus créatif, démontre une connaissance plus approfondie des situations, est plus résistant aux difficultés et mieux intégré socialement. Il atteint une spirale ascendante qui conduit à l'expérimentation de nouvelles émotions positives.

Cette nouvelle expérimentation basée sur la psychologie positive augmente les ressources personnelles, qui peuvent être utilisées dans différents contextes et sous d'autres états émotionnels. Les modèles traditionnels de la psychologie, axés sur les émotions négatives, traitent de la manière dont celles-ci ont pour fonction d'activer les mécanismes de défense de base pour la survie. Au lieu de cela, ce modèle présente les émotions positives comme Facteurs de croissance personnelle et la construction de différentes pensées et actions, qui peuvent être utilisées en fonction de la situation actuelle.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Développement personnel: 5 raisons de réfléchir sur soi"

Son utilisation comme intervention psychologique

Les principaux domaines d’application de la proposition sont les domaines clinique, médical et éducatif. Dans le domaine de la clinique et de la santé, on cherche à élaborer des stratégies de prévention et de traitement des problèmes liés aux émotions négatives. principalement dépression, stress et anxiété . Il est prouvé que les patients atteints de troubles affectifs et anxieux ont des performances moindres dans les tâches quotidiennes et qu'il est beaucoup plus difficile de résoudre les problèmes. L'objectif est de promouvoir les émotions positives pour créer une barrière contre les troubles psychologiques.

Au sein de celui éducatif, se concentre sur la motivation extrinsèque des étudiants , motivation académique, génération et optimisation des forces. Cela favorise les réactions des élèves aux situations auxquelles ils doivent faire face. En outre, dans les institutions qui favorisent la réalisation des objectifs d’obtention de récompenses, elles renforcent la motivation et réduisent les attitudes conflictuelles des enfants et des jeunes.

Actuellement commence à être mis en œuvre dans le domaine organisationnel ; L'objectif est de fournir des outils pour générer des stratégies visant à améliorer l'environnement de travail et, partant, l'efficacité des processus et la productivité accrue des employés.

Et pour en savoir plus sur la psychologie positive ...

Voici quelques recommandations de livres dont le thème principal tourne autour de la psychologie positive:

  • "Flow (Flow)": une psychologie du bonheur, par Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi.
  • "Le bonheur authentique", de Martin E. P. Seligman.
  • "La science du bien-être: fondements d'une psychologie positive", de Carmelo Vázquez et Gonzalo Hervás.
  • "Optimisme intelligent: psychologie des émotions positives", plusieurs auteurs.
  • "Surmonter l'adversité: le pouvoir de la résilience", de Luis Rojas Marcos.
  • "Flow in business", de Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi.
  • "Votre cube est-il plein? Stratégies pour renforcer leurs émotions positives ", par Tom Rath et Donald O. Clifton.
  • "Psychologie positive: les explorations scientifiques et pratiques des forces humaines", plusieurs auteurs.
  • "La science du bonheur", par Sonja Lyubomirsky.
  • "L'inutilité de la souffrance", par María Jesús Álava Reyes.
  • "La vie qui fleurit", par Martin E. P. Seligman.
  • "Psychologiquement parlant", plusieurs auteurs.
  • "Le piège du bonheur", par Russ Harris.
  • "Les habitudes d'un cerveau heureux", par Loretta Graziano.
  • "Psychologie positive: la conscience du bonheur", par Alan Carr.

Comment positiver ? 5 astuces pour une vie plus heureuse !Colashood2 (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes