yes, therapy helps!
Positivism and Logical Empiricism in the 19th century

Positivism and Logical Empiricism in the 19th century

July 14, 2024

The term positivism it derivates from August Comte . For its critical work, however, it can be considered Hume as the first great positivist. It showed the impossibility of deductive reasoning producing assertions of fact, since the deduction takes place and affects a second level, that of the concepts.

Positivism and Logical Empiricism

The development of the term positivism It has, however, been incessant. The basic affirmations of positivism are:

1) That all knowledge of the facts is based on "positive" data of the experience . -that reality exists, the opposite belief is called solipsism-.


2) That beyond the realm of facts there are logic and pure mathematics , recognized by Scottish empiricism and especially by Hume as belonging to "the relationship of ideas".

In a later stage of positivism the sciences thus defined acquire a purely formal character.

Mach (1838-1916)

Affirms that all factual knowledge consists of the conceptual organization and the elaboration of the data of the immediate experience. Theories and theoretical conceptions are only predictive tools.

In addition, theories can change, while observational facts maintain empirical regularities and constitute a firm (immutable) terrain for scientific reasoning to be grounded. Positivist philosophers radicalized empiricist anti-intellectualism, maintaining a radical utilitarian view of theories.


Avenarius (1843-1896)

He developed a biologically oriented theory of knowledge that influenced much of American pragmatism. Just as adaptation needs develop organs in organisms -Lamarckismo-, so knowledge develops theories for the prediction of future conditions.

The concept of cause it is explained according to the regularity observed in the sequence of events, or as a functional dependency between the observable variables. Causal relations are not necessary logically, they are only contingent and determined by observation and especially by experimentation and inductive generalization.

Many twentieth-century scientists, following the path opened by Mach, to which was added the influence of some "philosophers of mathematics" such as Whithead, Russell, Wittgenstein, Frege, etc., came together more or less unanimously around the positivist problem of the legitimacy of scientific theories.


Russell says: "Either we know something independently of experience, or else science is a chimera."

Some philosophers of science, known as the group of Circle of Vienna, established the principles of logical empiricism:

1. First of all, they believed that the logical structure of some sciences could be specified without taking into account their contents .

2. Second established the principle of verifiability , according to which the meaning of a proposition must be established through experience and observation. In this way ethics, metaphysics, religion and aesthetics were beyond scientific consideration.

3. Third, they proposed a unified doctrine of science , considering that there were no fundamental differences between physics and the biological sciences, or between natural sciences and social sciences. The Circle of Vienna reached its maximum activity during the period before the second war.

Conventionalists

Another group of inductivists, of different orientation -including those of influence Marxist , which is known as school of frankfurt - are the Conventionalists , who maintain that the main discoveries of science are, fundamentally, inventions of new and simpler classification systems.

The fundamental features of classical conventionalism - Poincaré - are, therefore, decision and simplicity. They are also, of course, anti-realistic. In terms of Karl Popper (1959, page 79):

"The source of conventional philosophy seems to be amazement at the austere and beautiful simplicity of the world as revealed in the laws of physics. The conventionalists (...) treat this simplicity as our own creation ... (Nature is not simple), only the "laws of Nature" are; and these, conventionalists maintain, are our creations and inventions, our arbitrary decisions and conventions. "

Wittgenstein and Popper

This form of Logical Empiricism was soon opposed by other forms of thought: Wittgenstein , also a positivist, faces, however, the verificationist positions of the Vienna Circle.

Wittgenstein argues that verification is useless. What language can communicate what "shows" is an image of the world. For Wittgenstein's logical heirloom positivism logical formulas say nothing about the meanings of propositions, but merely show the connection between the meanings of propositions.

The fundamental answer will come from the falsificationist theory of Popper , which supports the impossibility of an inductive probability with the following argument:

"In a universe that contains an infinite number of distinguishable things or spatiotemporal regions, the probability of any universal law (not tautological) will be equal to zero." This means that the increase in content of an affirmation decreases its probability, and vice versa. (+ content = - probability).

To solve this dilemma, he proposes that one should try to falsify the theory, seeking the demonstration of the refutation or counter-example. In addition, it proposes a purely deductivist methodology, in fact a negative hypothetical-deductive or falsificationist one.

As a reaction to this approach arise a number of theorists who criticize logical positivism-Kuhn, Toulmin, Lakatos and even Feyerabend-although they differ about the nature of the rationality exhibited by scientific change. They defend notions like scientific revolution, in opposition to progress -Kuhn-, or the intervention of irrational processes in science -Feyerabend's anarchist approach-.

The heirs of Popper are now grouped under the Critical rationalism , in a last effort to save science, theory and the notion of "scientific progress", which they do not without some difficulty, proposing as alternatives, among others, the establishment of rival Research Programs, defined by their heuristics, and that compete with each other.

The difficulties of the logical models applied to the methodology of Science, therefore, could be summarized as follows:

The induction of the theory, from particular data, was already clearly not justified. A deductivist theory will achieve nothing because there are no sure general principles from which deduction can be derived. A falsificationist vision is inadequate because it does not reflect scientific practice - scientists do not operate like this, abandoning theories, when they present anomalies.

The result seems to be a skepticism generalized in terms of the possibility of distinguishing between valid theories and ad hoc theories, so it is usually ended by appealing to history, that is, the passage of time as the only safe method, or at least with certain guarantees, to judge the adequacy of the models - another form of conventionalism.


A History of Philosophy | 76 Logical Positivism (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le positivisme et l’empirisme logique au XIXe siècle

Le positivisme et l’empirisme logique au XIXe siècle

Décembre 9, 2021

Le terme positivisme dérivé de August Comte . Pour son travail critique, cependant, il peut être considéré Hume comme le premier grand positiviste. Elle a montré l'impossibilité d'un raisonnement déductif produisant des assertions de fait, puisque la déduction a lieu et affecte un deuxième niveau, celui des concepts.

Positivisme et Empirisme Logique

Le développement du terme positivisme Il a cependant été incessant. Les affirmations fondamentales du positivisme sont les suivantes:

1) Que toute connaissance des faits repose sur des données "positives" de l'expérience . -que la réalité existe, la croyance opposée s'appelle le solipsisme-.


2) Au-delà du domaine des faits il y a la logique et les mathématiques pures , reconnu par l'empirisme écossais et surtout par Hume comme appartenant à "la relation des idées".

À un stade ultérieur du positivisme, les sciences ainsi définies acquièrent un caractère purement formel.

Mach (1838-1916)

Affirme que toute connaissance factuelle consiste en organisation conceptuelle et élaboration des données de l'expérience immédiate. Les théories et les conceptions théoriques ne sont que des outils prédictifs.

De plus, les théories peuvent changer, tandis que les faits d'observation maintiennent des régularités empiriques et constituent un terrain ferme (immuable) pour le raisonnement scientifique. Les philosophes positivistes ont radicalisé l'anti-intellectualité empiriste en maintenant une vision utilitariste radicale des théories.


Avenarius (1843-1896)

Il a développé une théorie de la connaissance orientée biologiquement qui a beaucoup influencé le pragmatisme américain. Tout comme les besoins d'adaptation développent des organes dans des organismes -Lamarckismo-, la connaissance développe des théories pour la prédiction de conditions futures.

Le concept de cause il s'explique selon la régularité observée dans la séquence d'événements ou sous la forme d'une dépendance fonctionnelle entre les variables observables. Les relations causales ne sont pas logiquement nécessaires, elles ne sont que contingentes et déterminées par l'observation et surtout par l'expérimentation et la généralisation inductive.

De nombreux scientifiques du XXe siècle, suivant le chemin tracé par Mach, auxquels se sont ajoutés l'influence de "philosophes des mathématiques" tels que Whithead, Russell, Wittgenstein, Frege, etc., se sont réunis plus ou moins à l'unanimité autour du problème positiviste. de la légitimité des théories scientifiques.


Russell dit: "Soit nous savons quelque chose indépendamment de l'expérience, soit la science est une chimère."

Certains philosophes de la science, connus sous le nom de groupe de Cercle de Vienne, établi les principes de l'empirisme logique:

1. Tout d'abord, ils croyaient que la structure logique de certaines sciences pourrait être spécifiée sans tenir compte de leur contenu .

2. deuxième établi le principe de vérifiabilité , selon lequel le sens d'une proposition doit être établi par l'expérience et l'observation. De cette manière, l’éthique, la métaphysique, la religion et l’esthétique dépassaient les considérations scientifiques.

3. Troisièmement, ils ont proposé une doctrine unifiée de la science , considérant qu'il n'y avait pas de différences fondamentales entre la physique et les sciences biologiques, ou entre les sciences naturelles et les sciences sociales. Le cercle de Vienne a atteint son activité maximale au cours de la période précédant la seconde guerre.

Conventionnalistes

Un autre groupe d'inductivistes, d'orientation différente, y compris ceux d'influence Marxiste , qui est connu comme école de francfort - sont les Conventionnalistes , qui soutiennent que les principales découvertes de la science sont, fondamentalement, des inventions de systèmes de classification nouveaux et plus simples.

Les caractéristiques fondamentales du conventionnalisme classique - Poincaré - sont donc la décision et la simplicité. Ils sont aussi, bien sûr, anti-réalistes. En termes de Karl Popper (1959, page 79):

"La philosophie conventionnelle semble émerveillée devant la simplicité austère et belle du monde révélée par les lois de la physique. Les conventionnistes (...) considèrent cette simplicité comme notre propre création ... (La nature n'est pas simple), seules les "lois de la nature" le sont; et ceux-ci, soutiennent les conventionnalistes, sont nos créations et inventions, nos décisions et conventions arbitraires ".

Wittgenstein et Popper

Cette forme d’empirisme logique s’est rapidement opposée à d’autres formes de pensée: Wittgenstein , également positiviste, fait toutefois face aux positions vérificationnistes du cercle de Vienne.

Wittgenstein soutient que la vérification est inutile. Quelle langue peut communiquer ce que "montre" est une image du monde. Pour Wittgenstein, les formules logiques du positivisme héritage logique ne disent rien sur le sens des propositions, mais montrent simplement la connexion entre les significations des propositions.

La réponse fondamentale viendra de la théorie falsificationniste de Popper , qui soutient l’impossibilité d’une probabilité inductive avec l’argument suivant:

"Dans un univers contenant un nombre infini de choses distinctes ou de régions spatio-temporelles, la probabilité d'une loi universelle (non tautologique) sera égale à zéro." Cela signifie que l'augmentation du contenu d'une affirmation diminue sa probabilité, et inversement. (+ contenu = - probabilité).

Pour résoudre ce dilemme, il propose d'essayer de falsifier la théorie en cherchant à démontrer la réfutation ou le contre-exemple. En outre, il propose une méthodologie purement déductiviste, en fait une méthode hypothétique-déductive ou falsificationniste.

En réaction à cette approche, un certain nombre de théoriciens critiquent le positivisme logique - Kuhn, Toulmin, Lakatos et même Feyerabend - bien qu'ils diffèrent quant à la nature de la rationalité présentée par le changement scientifique. Ils défendent des notions telles que la révolution scientifique, en opposition au progrès (Kuhn), ou l'intervention de processus irrationnels dans la science (l'approche anarchiste de Feyerabend).

Les héritiers de Popper sont maintenant regroupés sous le Rationalisme critique , dans un dernier effort pour sauver la science, la théorie et la notion de "progrès scientifique", ce qu’ils font avec une certaine difficulté, en proposant comme alternatives, entre autres, la mise en place de programmes de recherche rivaux, définis par leurs heuristiques, et qui se font concurrence.

Les difficultés des modèles logiques appliqués à la méthodologie de la science pourraient donc être résumées comme suit:

L'induction de la théorie, à partir de données particulières, n'était déjà clairement pas justifiée. Une théorie déductiviste n'aboutira à rien car il n'existe pas de principes généraux sûrs permettant de déduire des déductions. Une vision falsificationniste est inadéquate car elle ne reflète pas la pratique scientifique - les scientifiques ne fonctionnent pas comme cela, abandonnant les théories, lorsqu'elles présentent des anomalies.

Le résultat semble être un scepticisme généralisée en ce qui concerne la possibilité de distinguer les théories valables des théories ad hoc; on finit donc généralement par faire appel à l'histoire, c'est-à-dire que le temps est la seule méthode sûre, ou au moins avec certaines garanties, pour juger de l'adéquation des modèles - une autre forme de conventionnalisme.


Leçon n°7 : le positivisme (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes