yes, therapy helps!
Postcoital dysphoria: symptoms, causes and treatment

Postcoital dysphoria: symptoms, causes and treatment

July 15, 2022

Sex is an activity that for the great majority of people is pleasurable, being a desirable and satisfactory experience under normal conditions. Usually we enjoy the whole process and once the interaction is over and when we reach orgasm, a feeling of relaxation and satisfaction usually appears.

However, in some people there are feelings of sadness and anguish after the orgasm, which may appear what is known as postcoital dysphoria or post-coitus depression . It is about this concept that we are going to talk about throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The 7 most widespread erroneous beliefs about sex"

What is postcoital dysphoria?

It receives the name of postcoital dysphoria or post-coitus depression to the syndrome characterized by the presence of sensations and feelings of sadness, melancholy and discomfort subsequent to the moment of orgasm. Anxiety, feelings of emptiness, restlessness, restlessness and irritability may also appear. Is about a situation that usually appears after having a sexual relationship , although it can also appear after masturbation.


Technically, it is considered a sexual dysfunction linked to the resolution phase, being a diagnostic label proposed for investigation with a view to a possible incorporation in different diagnostic classifications. However, the diagnosis would only be possible if the dysphoria appeared in the majority of sexual relations (not being a disorder if its appearance was something punctual and sporadic) and as long as it was not explainable by other disorders .

It is important to keep in mind that this sensation is not the product of an unsatisfactory sexual relationship, which may be entirely pleasurable for both parties and desired by the person who feels this dysphoria. Post-coitus depression (rather a sadness, not really being a depression) usually appears either immediately or shortly after orgasm and usually disappears in minutes , although it can arrive even several days.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 differences between sadness and depression"

Who suffers?

This type of syndrome is not new, there are references to it since ancient times. Although it has traditionally been considered that postcoital dysphoria is something specific for women of a certain age, the truth is that it can appear in both sexes and at any age. Apparently it is more frequent in the female sex, although in general there have been few studies done with men in this sense.

Although it is usually an unrecognized syndrome, recent studies show that it is much more frequent than is believed, varying the percentage of affected according to the study. In addition, postcoital dysphoria may not always be present and it is normal to appear at specific times sporadically, being only a problem when it occurs consistently over time. In some cases, it has been observed that practically half of the participants have recognized having suffered at some time in their lives.


Symptoms and repercussions

Postcoital dysphoria is as we said something little socially recognized, and can have an impact on the sexual life of those who suffer from it. Often his presence is lived with discomfort and guilt on the part of the person who experiences it, considering that he should feel satisfied and not understanding his own reactions. A possible fear of the existence of couple conflicts may also develop, or even an avoidance of sexual contact may appear. It is also a situation that, as in other sexual dysfunctions, is often hidden and lived with shame.

Likewise, the sexual partner may come to feel little competent or unwelcome to the reactions of their partner, and there could also be real conflicts and other sexual dysfunctions such as aversion to sex.

Possible causes

Since ancient times, an attempt has been made to give an explanation to the appearance of sexual dysphoria, both at the level of its punctual appearance and in the face of its consistent appearance.

One of the theories in this regard refers to the causes of this alteration are mainly neurochemical: after the orgasm certain hormones are released that counteract those responsible for sexual pleasure, appearing sadness and low mood as a result of this regulation. In this same sense it has been observed that at the biological level the amygdala (which is linked to anxiety and fear among other emotions) decreases its activity during intercourse, and dysphoria can appear as consequence of the reactivation of this part of the brain .

Another theory, which is also compatible with the previous one, indicates that the appearance of postcoital dysphoria may be linked to the influence of a restrictive and religious education, in which the idea of ​​sex and enjoyment and sexual pleasure may have been internalized as something sinful or criminalized.

Another option is derived from the experience of traumatic situations such as child sexual abuse or violations, unconsciously associating the enjoyment of a normative and consensual relationship with the one lived during the abusive experience and appearing sadness, anguish and even disgust with the current enjoyment.

There are also theories that speak of sadness as the emotions of sadness and discomfort are due to the end of the act of union with the couple. There may also be the possibility that the sadness is due to the presence of couple difficulties or the consideration that the relationship is based or sustained only in sex.

Treatment

At the level of the person and his partner it is recommended that the orgasm is not the end of all interaction between the members of the couple, being able to enjoy activities such as caressing or hugging unless this generates discomfort or discomfort to the person with dysphoria. It is about generating a link after the sexual encounter . In any case, if it is common, it may be useful to consult a psychologist or a sexologist.

Although not usual, postcoital dysphoria may require psychological treatment. First it is necessary to assess the possible existence of organic alterations . In the event that there are traumatic experiences, these could be worked in consultation. Likewise, the presence of guilt or consideration regarding sex may need to be worked on. In case it is necessary or due to a couple conflict, it can be useful to use couples therapy and sexual therapy to favor.

Bibliographic references:

  • Schweitzer, R.D., O'Brien, J., & Burri, A. (2015). Postcoital dysphoria: Prevalence and psychological correlates. Sex Med, 3: 229-237.
  • Burri, A.V. & Spector, T.D. (2011). An epidemiological survey of post-coital psychological symptoms in a UK population sample of female twins. Twin Res Hum Genet, 14: 240-248.

What is POST-COITAL TRISTESSE? What does POST-COITAL TRISTESSE mean? POST-COITAL TRISTESSE meaning (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dysphorie post-coïtale: symptômes, causes et traitement

Dysphorie post-coïtale: symptômes, causes et traitement

Avril 1, 2020

Le sexe est une activité agréable pour la grande majorité des gens et constitue une expérience souhaitable et satisfaisante dans des conditions normales. Habituellement, nous apprécions l'ensemble du processus et une fois que l'interaction est terminée et lorsque nous atteignons l'orgasme, un sentiment de relaxation et de satisfaction apparaît généralement.

Cependant, chez certaines personnes, il existe des sentiments de tristesse et d'angoisse après l'orgasme, qui peuvent apparaître ce qu'on appelle la dysphorie post-coïtale ou la dépression post-coït . C'est à propos de ce concept que nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 croyances erronées les plus répandues sur le sexe"

Qu'est-ce que la dysphorie post-coïtale?

Il reçoit le nom de dysphorie post-coïtale ou de dépression post-coïtale au syndrome caractérisé par la présence de sensations et de sentiments de tristesse, de mélancolie et de malaise postérieurs au moment de l'orgasme. Une anxiété, des sentiments de vide, d’agitation, d’agitation et d’irritabilité peuvent également apparaître. Il s'agit de une situation qui apparaît généralement après une relation sexuelle , bien qu'il puisse aussi apparaître après la masturbation.


Techniquement, il est considéré comme un dysfonctionnement sexuel lié à la phase de résolution, car il s’agit d’une étiquette de diagnostic proposée à la recherche en vue d’une possible incorporation dans différentes classifications de diagnostic. Cependant, le diagnostic ne serait possible que si la dysphorie apparaissait dans la majorité des relations sexuelles (n'étant pas un trouble si son apparence était ponctuelle et sporadique) et tant que cela n'était pas explicable par d'autres troubles .

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que cette sensation n'est pas le produit d'une relation sexuelle insatisfaisante, qui peut être tout à fait agréable pour les deux parties et souhaitée par la personne qui ressent cette dysphorie. La dépression post-coïtale (plutôt une tristesse, qui n'est pas vraiment une dépression) apparaît généralement immédiatement ou peu de temps après l'orgasme et disparaît généralement en quelques minutes , bien qu'il puisse arriver même plusieurs jours.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 6 différences entre tristesse et dépression"

Qui souffre?

Ce type de syndrome n'est pas nouveau, il y a des références depuis les temps anciens. Bien que l'on ait traditionnellement considéré que la dysphorie post-coïtale était spécifique aux femmes d'un certain âge, la vérité est qu'elle peut apparaître chez les deux sexes et à tout âge. Apparemment, il est plus fréquent chez les femmes, bien qu’en général peu d’études aient été réalisées avec des hommes dans ce sens.

Bien qu'il s'agisse généralement d'un syndrome non reconnu, des études récentes montrent qu'il est beaucoup plus fréquent qu'on ne le croit, ce qui fait varier le pourcentage de personnes affectées selon les études. En outre, la dysphorie post-coïtale peut ne pas toujours être présent et il est normal de comparaître à des heures précises sporadiquement, étant seulement un problème quand il se produit de manière constante dans le temps. Dans certains cas, il a été observé que pratiquement la moitié des participants ont reconnu avoir souffert à un moment de leur vie.


Symptômes et répercussions

La dysphorie post-coïtale est comme nous l’avons dit quelque chose de peu socialement reconnu et peut avoir un impact sur la vie sexuelle de ceux qui en souffrent. Souvent sa présence est vécue avec inconfort et culpabilité de la part de la personne qui en fait l'expérience, considérant qu'elle devrait se sentir satisfaite et ne pas comprendre ses propres réactions. Une peur possible de l'existence de conflits de couple peut également se développer, voire même éviter un contact sexuel. C'est aussi une situation qui, comme dans d'autres dysfonctionnements sexuels, est souvent cachée et vécue avec honte.

De même, le partenaire sexuel peut en venir à se sentir peu compétent ou mal accueilli par les réactions de son partenaire, et il pourrait aussi y avoir de vrais conflits et autres dysfonctionnements sexuels comme l'aversion pour le sexe.

Causes possibles

Depuis l'Antiquité, on a tenté d'expliquer l'apparition de la dysphorie sexuelle, tant au niveau de son apparence ponctuelle que face à son apparence cohérente.

L'une des théories à cet égard fait référence au fait que les causes de cette altération sont principalement neurochimiques: après la libération de l'orgasme, certaines hormones neutralisant les responsables du plaisir sexuel, peuvent entraîner une tristesse et une humeur basse. Dans le même sens, il a été observé qu’au niveau biologique, l’amygdale (liée à l’anxiété et à la peur, entre autres émotions) diminue son activité pendant les rapports sexuels et que la dysphorie peut apparaître. conséquence de la réactivation de cette partie du cerveau .

Une autre théorie, également compatible avec la précédente, indique que l’apparition de la dysphorie post-coïtale peut être liée à l’influence d’une éducation restrictive et religieuse, dans laquelle l’idée du sexe, de la jouissance et du plaisir sexuel peut avoir été intériorisée criminalisé.

Une autre option est dérivée de l'expérience de situations traumatiques telles que l'abus sexuel d'un enfant ou des violations, associant inconsciemment la jouissance d'une relation normative et consensuelle à celle vécue au cours de l'expérience abusive et apparaissant tristesse, angoisse et même dégoût de la jouissance actuelle.

Il y a aussi des théories qui parlent de tristesse car les émotions de tristesse et de malaise sont dues à la fin de l'acte d'union avec le couple. Il est également possible que la tristesse soit due à la présence de difficultés de couple ou à la considération que la relation est basée ou maintenue uniquement dans le sexe.

Traitement

Au niveau de la personne et de sa partenaire, il est recommandé que l'orgasme ne soit pas la fin de toute interaction entre les membres du couple, car il est possible de pratiquer des activités telles que caresser ou étreindre, à moins que cela ne cause un inconfort à la personne dysphorique. Il s'agit de générer un lien après la rencontre sexuelle . Dans tous les cas, s’il est courant, il peut être utile de consulter un psychologue ou un sexologue.

Bien que cela ne soit pas courant, la dysphorie post-coïtale peut nécessiter un traitement psychologique. En premier lieu il est nécessaire d'évaluer l'existence éventuelle d'altérations organiques . En cas d’expériences traumatisantes, celles-ci pourraient être travaillées en consultation. De même, il peut être nécessaire de travailler sur la présence de culpabilité ou de considération sexuelle. Si cela est nécessaire ou en raison d'un conflit de couple, il peut être utile de recourir à la thérapie de couple et à la thérapie sexuelle.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Schweitzer, R. D., O'Brien, J. et Burri, A. (2015). Dysphorie post-coïtale: prévalence et corrélats psychologiques. Sex Med, 3: 229-237.
  • Burri, A.V. & Spector, T.D. (2011). Enquête épidémiologique sur les symptômes psychologiques post-coïtaux dans un échantillon de jumeaux de population britannique. Twin Res Hum Genet, 14: 240-248.

What is POST-COITAL TRISTESSE? What does POST-COITAL TRISTESSE mean? POST-COITAL TRISTESSE meaning (Avril 2020).


Articles Connexes