yes, therapy helps!
Posverdad (emotive lie): definition and examples

Posverdad (emotive lie): definition and examples

June 23, 2022

In the myth of Plato's cave, the famous Greek philosopher argued that truth is independent of our opinions. It will always be there even if no one believes in it. It is a very idealistic vision of what exists.

However, this powerful idea also has a dark side: the lie can also subsist and monopolize all the attention because, although it does not faithfully describe reality, it does not need it; it simply "works" in our heads. It allows us to build a story about our lives. That's why he survives.

A few months ago the Oxford Dictionary pointed out that the word of the year 2016 had been post-truth, which in Spanish is something like post-truth . This concept indicates that between the truth and the lie there is a turbid waters territory that escapes those two definitions.


What is post-truth?

Postverity has been defined as a cultural and historical context in which the empirical testing and the search for objectivity are less relevant than the belief in itself and the emotions it generates when creating public opinion currents.

Basically, the word serves to indicate a tendency in the creation of arguments and discourses that is characterized by starting from the assumption that objectivity matters much less that the way in which what is affirmed fits with the belief system that we feel and that makes us feel good.

Postverity supposes a blurring of the border between truth and lies, and creates a third category different from the previous two. One in which a fact, fictitious or not, is accepted in advance for the simple fact of fitting in with our mental schemes.


The alternative facts

The popularization of post-truth has been joined by the concept of alternative facts, which in Castilian are translated as "alternative facts". Lies, come on. But with one nuance: the alternative facts, unlike the lies in general, they have behind them a powerful media and propaganda device that supports them and that they will do everything possible to make these falsehoods seem to explain the reality or, at least, that they do not seem like lies.

At the end of the day, for something to be an alternative fact, it needs something that gives it momentum and that allows it to generate a parallel discourse to reality without sticking it up. Otherwise, it would not be the alternative of anything.

The alternative facts are, before being baptized as such by the head of Trump's electoral campaign when she was reproached for having used false information, the raw material of post-truth. Or, seen in another way, the elements whose existence have forced someone to create the concept of post-truth and use it in political science and sociology.


Some examples of post-truth

As clear examples of the influence of the post-truth culture we could mention the fact that led to the first use of the concept "alternative facts" in a professional policy context. Kellyanne Conway, the aforementioned head of the Donald Trump campaign, justified the barriers placed on citizens from countries of Muslim tradition who want to enter the US by noting that two Iraqi refugees they had been involved in the killing of Bowling Green . The killing of Bowling Green has not existed.

Another simple example of post truth is the statements of Sean Spicer, White House Press Secretary, claiming that the mass media had deliberately concealed the massive attendance of citizens with which Trump's presidential inauguration counted; according to him, the inauguration with the largest audience in the world.

But, of course, alternative facts have not been born with Trump; they are a constant in politics. Here we could mention, for example, the statements made by the Spanish government that pensions are guaranteed when the indicators that cross demographics with socioeconomic data show the opposite. If it fits into a discourse that arouses strong emotions because it represents us, it is valid, whether it is true or not.

  • Related article: "90 phrases of Donald Trump that gave a lot to talk (controversial and sexist)"

Cognitive dissonances

In reality, what the term after-truth refers to more or less has been known for some years in psychology; the intellectual sacrifices that we accept in order to keep standing a belief system that has taken root in our identity . A phenomenon noted, for example, by social psychologist Leon Festinguer.

The cognitive dissonance of which Festinguer spoke is that state of tension and internal conflict that we notice when reality collides with our beliefs. When it occurs, we try to resolve the situation by readjusting the fit between that belief system and the information that comes from the outside; many times, we choose to manipulate reality to keep the first thing as it is.

The afterlife as an opportunity

But not all aspects of the post-truth are formulated in negative, as something that destroys the way of seeing things that characterized us before. There is also a positive aspect of post truth; not because it is morally good, but because it leads to building something new, instead of undoing what is already there.

And what does post-truth contribute? The possibility of creating a context in which the truth and the testing and presentation of evidence is valued so little that can live all kinds of lies and ideas without feet or head . Since climate change is a myth until homosexuality is unnatural, going through all kinds of inventions about distant countries to create an excuse to invade them.

This tendency to renounce intellectual honesty for one's own good has in the "alternative facts" a name that allows it to legitimize itself.

In the world of post-truth literally any idea can give way to a valid discourse on what happens in reality, as long as the speakers through which it is transmitted are powerful enough. Knowing if it is true or not, is over.


Alternative Math | Short Film (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Posverdad (mensonge émotif): définition et exemples

Posverdad (mensonge émotif): définition et exemples

Novembre 21, 2022

Dans le mythe de la grotte de Platon, le célèbre philosophe grec a affirmé que la vérité est indépendante de nos opinions. Il sera toujours là même si personne n'y croit. C'est une vision très idéaliste de ce qui existe.

Cependant, cette idée puissante a aussi un côté obscur: le mensonge peut aussi subsister et monopoliser toute l’attention car, même s’il ne décrit pas fidèlement la réalité, il n’en a pas besoin; cela "fonctionne" simplement dans nos têtes. Cela nous permet de construire une histoire sur nos vies. C'est pourquoi il survit.

Il y a quelques mois, le dictionnaire Oxford a souligné que le mot de l'année 2016 avait été post-vérité, qui en espagnol est quelque chose comme post-vérité . Ce concept indique qu'entre la vérité et le mensonge, il existe un territoire aux eaux troubles qui échappe à ces deux définitions.


Qu'est-ce que la post-vérité?

La postérité a été définie comme un contexte culturel et historique dans lequel les tests empiriques et la recherche de l’objectivité sont moins pertinents que la conviction en soi et les émotions qu’elle génère en créant des courants d’opinion publique.

Fondamentalement, le mot sert à indiquer une tendance dans la création d'arguments et de discours qui se caractérise en partant de l'hypothèse que l'objectivité compte beaucoup moins que la manière dont ce qui est affirmé est en accord avec le système de croyance que nous ressentons et qui nous fait nous sentir bien.

La postérité suppose un flou de la frontière entre vérité et mensonge et crée une troisième catégorie différente des deux précédentes. Une situation dans laquelle un fait, fictif ou non, est accepté à l’avance pour le simple fait de s’intégrer à nos schémas mentaux.


Les faits alternatifs

La vulgarisation de la post-vérité a été rejointe par le concept de faits alternatifs, qui en castillan est traduit par "faits alternatifs". Mensonges, allez. Mais avec une nuance: les faits alternatifs, contrairement aux mensonges en général, ils ont derrière eux un puissant média et un dispositif de propagande qui les soutient et qu’ils feront tout leur possible pour que ces mensonges semblent expliquer la réalité ou, au moins, qu’ils ne semblent pas être des mensonges.

En fin de compte, pour que quelque chose soit un fait alternatif, il lui faut quelque chose qui lui donne un élan et qui lui permette de générer un discours parallèle à la réalité sans le retarder. Sinon, ce ne serait l'alternative de rien.

Les faits alternatifs sont, avant d’être baptisés en tant que tels par la responsable de la campagne électorale de Trump, qui lui a reproché d’avoir utilisé de fausses informations, constitue la matière première de la post-vérité. Ou, vu sous un autre angle, les éléments dont l'existence a forcé quelqu'un à créer le concept de post-vérité et à l'utiliser dans les sciences politiques et la sociologie.


Quelques exemples de post-vérité

En tant qu'exemples clairs de l'influence de la culture post-vérité, nous pourrions mentionner le fait qui a conduit à la première utilisation du concept de "faits alternatifs" dans un contexte de politique professionnelle. Kellyanne Conway, la responsable susmentionnée de la campagne Donald Trump, a justifié les barrières imposées aux citoyens de pays de tradition musulmane souhaitant entrer aux États-Unis en notant que deux réfugiés irakiens ils avaient été impliqués dans l'assassinat de Bowling Green . L’assassinat de Bowling Green n’existe pas.

Les déclarations de Sean Spicer, attaché de presse de la Maison Blanche, selon lesquelles les médias avaient délibérément dissimulé la présence massive de citoyens sur lesquels comptait l'inauguration présidentielle de Trump sont un autre exemple simple de post vérité. selon lui, l'inauguration avec le plus large public au monde.

Mais, bien entendu, d'autres faits ne sont pas nés avec Trump; ils sont une constante en politique. Nous pourrions citer ici, par exemple, les déclarations du gouvernement espagnol selon lesquelles les retraites sont garanties lorsque les indicateurs qui croisent la démographie avec les données socioéconomiques montrent le contraire. S'il s'inscrit dans un discours qui suscite des émotions fortes parce qu'il nous représente, il est valable, que cela soit vrai ou non.

  • Article connexe: "90 phrases de Donald Trump qui ont beaucoup parlé (controversées et sexistes)"

Dissonances cognitives

En réalité, ce que le terme après-vérité désigne plus ou moins est connu depuis quelques années en psychologie; les sacrifices intellectuels que nous acceptons pour rester debout un système de croyance qui a pris racine dans notre identité . Un phénomène noté, par exemple, par le psychologue social Leon Festinguer.

La dissonance cognitive dont parle Festinguer est cet état de tension et de conflit interne que nous remarquons lorsque la réalité se heurte à nos croyances. Lorsque cela se produit, nous essayons de résoudre la situation en réajustant la correspondance entre ce système de croyance et les informations provenant de l'extérieur; plusieurs fois nous choisissons de manipuler la réalité garder la première chose telle qu'elle est.

La vie après la mort comme une opportunité

Mais tous les aspects de la post-vérité ne sont pas formulés de manière négative, comme quelque chose qui détruit la façon de voir les choses qui nous caractérisaient auparavant. Il y a aussi un aspect positif de la post-vérité; non pas parce que c'est moralement bon, mais parce que cela conduit à construire quelque chose de nouveau, au lieu de défaire ce qui existe déjà.

Et à quoi contribue la post-vérité? La possibilité de créer un contexte dans lequel la vérité, l’expérimentation et la présentation des preuves sont si peu valorisées que peut vivre toutes sortes de mensonges et d'idées sans pieds ni tête . Puisque le changement climatique est un mythe jusqu'à ce que l'homosexualité ne soit plus naturelle, il est nécessaire de passer à travers toutes sortes d'inventions sur des pays lointains pour créer un prétexte pour les envahir.

Cette tendance à renoncer à l'honnêteté intellectuelle pour son bien a dans les "faits alternatifs" un nom qui lui permet de se légitimer.

Dans le monde de la post-vérité, toute idée peut littéralement céder le pas à un discours valable sur ce qui se passe dans la réalité, à condition que les locuteurs par lesquels elle est transmise soient suffisamment puissants. Savoir si c'est vrai ou non, c'est fini.


Noticias Falsas | Fake News | Posverdad | Post Verdad | Desinformacion | Fakebook | Todo es Mentira (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes