yes, therapy helps!
Potomania: symptoms, causes and treatment

Potomania: symptoms, causes and treatment

December 3, 2022

Water is essential for the body and to be healthy . It has usually been stated that we must be hydrated all day to make our body work easier and prevent problems such as constipation.

So, does that mean it's healthy to drink large amounts of water every day? Where is the line between healthy and problematic? Do people who do not separate from the water bottle have a problem? Can water be harmful to our body?

In general terms it has always been recommended to ingest 1 to 2 liters of water per day for the proper functioning of the organism, although this statement is subject to multiple factors that can vary the amount of desirable intake: metabolism, the amount of sport performed, the time of year, the life stage, the amount of vegetables and fruit ingested ... In this article we are going to talk about the potomania (Also known as psychogenic polydipsia), what are its causes and its treatment.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Trichotillomania: the strange obsession to tear the hair"

What is potomania?

Potomania, also known as psychogenic polydipsia , is the desire to drink large amounts of fluid, usually water, as a result of a mental or organic disorder.

It is an alteration that is reflected in compulsive acts, and it is not governed by the physical sensation of thirst , that is, the person with this syndrome will drink large quantities of water without thirst.

At the nosological level, potomania it is not included in any classification system for psychiatric disorders , but due to its characteristics it could be included under DSM 5 "Eating disorders or food ingestion not specified" (APA, 2013). Other professionals advocate including it within impulse control disorders.


symptom

The potomania is characterized by compulsive fluid intake , that generates in the person a sensation of relief and pleasure.

Predominant symptoms characteristic of the ingestion of foods that cause clinically significant discomfort or deterioration in the social, labor, or other important areas of the person's functioning. For example, they feel clinically significant anxiety if they can not access the fluid quickly what do you want to drink. The desire to drink liquid governs the person, who can not lead a normal life.

In the most serious cases, you can get between 8 and 15 liters of water a day. At the time when the person consumes more than 6 liters of water per day, you should consult a doctor immediately, although apparently there are no other symptoms.

High anxiety coexists when they do not have access to the liquid they wish to ingest, problems sleeping, panic attacks and headaches .


On the other hand, potomania it is confused in many occasions with the dipsomania . The latter is the irresistible tendency to abuse alcoholic beverages. It refers to an impulsive form of intake, related to external stressors, which generates very maladaptive behaviors.

Negative consequences in the organism of potomania

What can happen to our body if we exceed the intake of water systematically and over time? It is known that drinking more than 3 liters of water per day ceases to be beneficial for the body, because can alter the balance between fluids and electrolytes .

Some symptoms that indicate that our body is overhydrated are:

  • Muscle cramps, feeling fatigue and fatigue (consequence of the dilution of potassium and sodium in blood).
  • Nausea and headache .
  • Reduced concentration and loss of mental agility (the low concentration of sodium in the blood affects the functioning of the brain).
  • Drowsiness and body paralysis .
  • In very extreme cases, coma and death.

Psychological and organic causes

We must highlight the hypothalamus as the main organic cause. One of the functions of this region of the brain is to warn of the lack of fluid in the organism through the signal of thirst. An alteration in this brain structure could generate episodes of potomania. Another possible organic cause that must be taken into consideration is diabetes mellitus .

However, experts say that the origins of this syndrome are due mostly to certain mental illnesses, delusional disorders and eating disorders. Among the causes, they stand out :

1. Psychotic disorders and dementias

Diseases such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorders, or Alzheimer's can influence its appearance.

2. Anorexia

In these cases the person drinks large amounts of liquids with the aim of being satiated without ingesting calories , or to gain weight before passing a medical examination.

  • Related article: "Types of anorexia (symptoms, causes and characteristics)"

3. Vigorexia and orthorexia

Their motivations would lie in distorted beliefs about the benefits of the intake of certain liquids.

4. Medications

We must also highlight the use of certain medications as causes, such as some anti-inflammatories, diuretics and lithium , which interfere with the function of the kidney.

Treatment

In this section we will explain the psychological treatment of this syndrome. It should be noted that in severe cases the psychological treatment must be accompanied by medical and / or pharmacological treatment for the control of hypnoatremia (low sodium level).

One of the great challenges for psychologists when it comes to treating this syndrome is that the person is not able to control the intense desire to drink water, so it will hardly follow the guidelines and recommendations that are indicated to reduce the intake of liquid. In extreme cases, the clinician may be forced to reduce patient mobility to a specific area that lacks sources of fluids.

Fundamentally, the treatment of psychogenic polydipsia will be based on the restriction of fluid intake accompanied by the therapist (The patient should ingest between 1L-1.5L of water every 24 hours) along with cognitive-behavioral techniques. Some of them are:

  • Techniques to reduce anxiety : muscle relaxation, controlled breathing, deep breathing, self-instructions ...
  • Techniques to reduce the intake of water gradually: drink in small sips a certain limited amount of water a day, full attention to each sip of water ...
  • Techniques aimed at Redirect the patient's attention when he feels the desire to drink water .
  • Economy of cards: in some cases this system can be implemented to reinforce self-control behavior, as for example in people with schizophrenia.
  • Cognitive restructuring in cases where distorted beliefs exist in relation to water intake (eg, existing myths about the benefits of drinking large amounts of water).

Hyponatremia: Causes: Liver disease (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Potomanie: symptômes, causes et traitement

Potomanie: symptômes, causes et traitement

Août 3, 2022

L'eau est essentielle pour le corps et pour être en bonne santé . Il a généralement été dit que nous devons être hydratés toute la journée pour faciliter le travail de notre corps et prévenir les problèmes tels que la constipation.

Cela signifie-t-il qu'il est sain de boire de grandes quantités d'eau chaque jour? Où est la limite entre sain et problématique? Les personnes qui ne se séparent pas de la bouteille d'eau ont-elles un problème? L'eau peut-elle être nocive pour notre corps?

De manière générale, il a toujours été recommandé d’ingérer 1 à 2 litres d’eau par jour pour le bon fonctionnement de l’organisme, bien que cette affirmation soit sujette à de multiples facteurs pouvant faire varier la quantité de consommation souhaitée: métabolisme, quantité de sport pratiqué, la période de l'année, le stade de la vie, la quantité de légumes et de fruits ingérés ... Dans cet article, nous allons parler de la potomanie (Aussi appelée polydipsie psychogène), quelles en sont les causes et le traitement.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Trichotillomanie: l'étrange obsession de se déchirer les cheveux"

Qu'est ce que la potomanie?

Potomanie, également connue sous le nom de polydipsie psychogène , est le désir de boire de grandes quantités de liquide, généralement de l’eau, à la suite d’un trouble mental ou organique.

C’est une modification qui se traduit par des actes compulsifs, et il n'est pas régi par la sensation physique de soif c'est-à-dire que la personne atteinte de ce syndrome boira de grandes quantités d'eau sans soif.

Au niveau nosologique, la potomanie il n'est inclus dans aucun système de classification des troubles psychiatriques , mais en raison de ses caractéristiques, il pourrait être inclus dans DSM 5 "Troubles de l'alimentation ou ingestion de nourriture non spécifiés" (APA, 2013). D'autres professionnels préconisent de l'inclure dans les troubles du contrôle des impulsions.


Les symptômes

La potomanie se caractérise par un apport liquidien compulsif , qui génère chez la personne une sensation de soulagement et de plaisir.

Symptômes prédominants caractéristiques de l'ingestion d'aliments qui provoquent un inconfort cliniquement significatif ou une détérioration de la société, du travail ou d'autres domaines importants du fonctionnement de la personne. Par exemple, ils ressentent une anxiété cliniquement significative s'ils ne peuvent pas accéder rapidement au liquide qui veulent boire. Le désir de boire un liquide régit la personne, qui ne peut mener une vie normale.

Dans les cas les plus graves, vous pouvez obtenir entre 8 et 15 litres d’eau par jour. Au moment où la personne consomme plus de 6 litres d’eau par jour, vous devriez consulter un médecin immédiatement, bien qu’apparemment il n’y ait aucun autre symptôme.

Une anxiété élevée coexiste quand ils n'ont pas accès au liquide qu'ils souhaitent ingérer, problèmes de sommeil, attaques de panique et maux de tête .


En revanche, la potomanie il est confondu dans de nombreuses occasions avec la dipsomanie . Ce dernier est la tendance irrésistible à abuser des boissons alcoolisées. Il fait référence à une forme d'apport impulsif, liée à des facteurs de stress externes, qui génère des comportements très mésadaptés.

Conséquences négatives dans l'organisme de la potomanie

Que peut-il arriver à notre corps si nous dépassons la consommation d’eau systématiquement et dans le temps? On sait que boire plus de 3 litres d’eau par jour cesse d’être bénéfique pour le corps, car peut modifier l'équilibre entre les fluides et les électrolytes .

Certains symptômes indiquant que notre corps est surhydraté sont:

  • Crampes musculaires, sensation de fatigue et fatigue (conséquence de la dilution du potassium et du sodium dans le sang).
  • Nausée et mal de tête .
  • Concentration réduite et perte d'agilité mentale (la faible concentration de sodium dans le sang affecte le fonctionnement du cerveau).
  • Somnolence et paralysie corporelle .
  • Dans des cas très extrêmes, le coma et la mort.

Causes psychologiques et organiques

Il faut souligner l'hypothalamus comme cause organique principale. L'une des fonctions de cette région du cerveau est d'avertir du manque de liquide dans l'organisme par le biais du signal de soif. Une altération de cette structure cérébrale pourrait générer des épisodes de potomanie. Une autre cause organique qui doit être prise en compte est diabète sucré .

Toutefois, selon les experts, ce syndrome est dû principalement à certaines maladies mentales, troubles délirants et troubles de l’alimentation. Parmi les causes, ils se démarquent :

1. Troubles psychotiques et démences

Des maladies telles que la schizophrénie, les troubles bipolaires ou la maladie d'Alzheimer peuvent influer sur son apparence.

2. Anorexie

Dans ces cas, la personne boit de grandes quantités de liquides dans le but d'être rassasié sans ingérer de calories , ou pour prendre du poids avant de passer un examen médical.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'anorexie (symptômes, causes et caractéristiques)"

3. Vigorexia et orthorexia

Leurs motivations seraient dans croyances déformées sur les avantages de la consommation de certains liquides.

4. médicaments

Nous devons également souligner l’utilisation de certains médicaments en tant que causes, telles que certains anti-inflammatoires, diurétiques et lithium , qui interfèrent avec la fonction du rein.

Traitement

Dans cette section, nous expliquerons le traitement psychologique de ce syndrome. Il convient de noter que dans les cas graves, le traitement psychologique doit être accompagné d'un traitement médical et / ou pharmacologique permettant de contrôler l'hypnoatrémie (faible taux de sodium).

Un des grands défis pour les psychologues en ce qui concerne le traitement de ce syndrome est que la personne n'est pas en mesure de contrôler le désir intense de boire de l'eau; elle ne suivra donc pas les directives et les recommandations indiquées pour réduire l'absorption de liquide. Dans les cas extrêmes, le clinicien peut être obligé de réduire la mobilité des patients à un domaine spécifique qui manque de sources de fluides.

Fondamentalement, le traitement de la polydipsie psychogène sera basé sur la restriction de l'apport hydrique accompagné par le thérapeute (Le patient devrait ingérer entre 1 et 1,5 litre d’eau toutes les 24 heures) ainsi que des techniques cognitivo-comportementales. Certaines d'entre elles sont:

  • Techniques pour réduire l'anxiété : relaxation musculaire, respiration contrôlée, respiration profonde, auto-instructions ...
  • Techniques permettant de réduire progressivement la consommation d’eau: buvez chaque jour, par petites gorgées, une certaine quantité d’eau limitée, portez une attention particulière à chaque gorgée d’eau ...
  • Techniques visant à Réorienter l'attention du patient lorsqu'il ressent le désir de boire de l'eau .
  • Économie de cartes: dans certains cas, ce système peut être mis en œuvre pour renforcer le comportement de contrôle de soi, comme par exemple chez les personnes atteintes de schizophrénie.
  • Restructuration cognitive dans les cas où les croyances sont faussées en ce qui concerne la consommation d'eau (par exemple, les mythes existants sur les avantages de boire de grandes quantités d'eau).

Mon enfant est-il diabétique ? Comment détecter le diabète ? Causes, symptômes (diabète de type 1) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes