yes, therapy helps!
Potter syndrome or sequence: types, symptoms and causes

Potter syndrome or sequence: types, symptoms and causes

November 15, 2022

Different factors, including malformations in the kidneys, can interfere with intrauterine development and cause alterations in other body systems.

In this article we will talk about the causes, symptoms and types of Potter syndrome , name with which this phenomenon is known, often of genetic origin.

  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

What is the Potter sequence?

The terms "Potter sequence" and "Potter syndrome" they are used to refer to a set of physical malformations that occur in babies as a result of alterations in the kidneys, the absence of amniotic fluid (oligohydramnios) or compression during intrauterine development.


In 1946 the doctor Edith Potter described twenty cases of people without kidneys that also presented peculiar physical features in the head and lungs . Potter's contributions were key to raising awareness about this disease, more frequent than previously thought.

Potter believed that this type of physical malformation was always due to the absence of the kidneys, or renal agenesis; however, it was later found that there were other possible causes. The typological classification that we use today was developed around these and the associated alterations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to take care during the first month of pregnancy: 9 tips"

Causes of this alteration

Frequently Potter syndrome It is associated with diseases and problems of the urinary system as the agenesis of the kidneys and the ureter, the polycystosis and the renal multicystosis or the obstruction of the urinary tract, which may be due to both genetic and environmental causes.


Many cases of Potter syndrome have a genetic origin (although not always hereditary); mutations have been identified in chromosomes 1, 2, 5 and 21 in the variants with bilateral renal agenesis, and similar causes have been identified in the other types.

The development of the classical variant consists of a series of interrelated events; this is why it is also called "Potter sequence". Incomplete formation of the kidneys and / or the ureter or rupture of the amniotic sac They make the fetus do not have enough amniotic fluid to form properly.

  • You may be interested: "The 13 types of abortion and its psychological and physical effects"

Symptoms and main signs

Sometimes the signs that characterize Potter syndrome can be observed during intrauterine development. The most common is that medical tests reveal the presence of Kidney cysts or oligohydramnios or absence of amniotic fluid , which is usually due to the rupture of the sack that contains it.


After birth, the facial features described by Potter become evident: a flattened nose, epithelial folds in the eyes, a retracted chin, and abnormally low ears. In addition, alterations can occur in the lower and upper extremities. However, these characteristics are not always present in the same degree.

Potter syndrome is also associated with Malformations in the eyes, in the lungs, in the cardiovascular system , in the intestines and bones, especially in the vertebrae. The urogenital system is usually altered in a very significant way.

Types of Potter syndrome

At present, the different forms adopted by Potter syndrome are classified into five major categories or types. These differ both in the causes and in the nuclear clinical manifestations. On the other hand, it is important to mention also the classic form of this disease and that which is associated with multicystic renal dysplasia, discovered very recently.

1. Type I

This variant of Potter syndrome occurs as consequence of autosomal recessive polycystic kidney disease , a hereditary disease that affects the kidneys and is characterized by the appearance of numerous cysts of small size and full of fluid. This causes an increase in the size of the kidneys and interferes with the production of urine.

2. Type II

The main feature of type II is agenesis or renal aplasia, that is, the congenital absence of one or both kidneys ; in the second case, we speak of bilateral renal agenesis. Since other parts of the urinary system, such as the ureter, are also often affected, these signs are often referred to as "urogenital agenesis". The origin is usually hereditary.

3. Type III

In this case, malformations are due to autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease (unlike type I, in which the disease is transmitted by recessive inheritance). Cysts are observed in the kidneys and an enlargement of their size, as well as an increase in the frequency of vascular diseases. Symptoms usually manifest in adult life .

4. Type IV

Potter type IV syndrome is diagnosed when cysts appear and / or water accumulates (hydronephrosis) in the kidneys due to a chronic obstruction of this organ or the ureter. It is a common variant during the fetal period that usually does not cause spontaneous abortion. The cause of these alterations can be both genetic and environmental .

5. Classic shape

When we talk about classical Potter syndrome, we are referring to cases in which the kidneys do not develop (bilateral renal agenesis), nor does the ureter. It has been proposed that the classic form described by Potter in 1946 can be considered an extreme version of type II, also characterized by renal agenesis.

6. Multicystic renal dysplasia

Multicystic renal dysplasia is an alteration characterized by the presence of numerous and irregular cysts in the kidneys ; in comparison with the term "polycystic", "multicystic" indicates a lower severity. In recent years cases of Potter syndrome due to this disorder have been identified that could indicate a possible new type.


P POTTERS SYNDROME (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Potter ou séquence: types, symptômes et causes

Syndrome de Potter ou séquence: types, symptômes et causes

Juin 13, 2021

Différents facteurs, notamment les malformations des reins, peuvent interférer avec le développement intra-utérin et altérer d'autres systèmes de l'organisme.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de les causes, les symptômes et les types de syndrome de Potter , nom avec lequel ce phénomène est connu, souvent d’origine génétique.

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Quelle est la séquence de Potter?

Les termes "séquence de Potter" et "syndrome de Potter" ils sont utilisés pour désigner un ensemble de malformations physiques survenant chez les bébés suite à des altérations des reins, à l'absence de liquide amniotique (oligohydramnios) ou à une compression au cours du développement intra-utérin.


En 1946, le docteur Edith Potter décrivit vingt cas de personnes sans reins qui présentaient également particularités physiques de la tête et des poumons . Les contributions de Potter ont été essentielles pour sensibiliser le public à cette maladie, plus fréquemment qu'on ne le pensait auparavant.

Potter pensait que ce type de malformation physique était toujours dû à l'absence de reins ou à une agénésie rénale; Cependant, il a été découvert plus tard qu'il y avait d'autres causes possibles. La classification typologique que nous utilisons aujourd'hui a été développée autour de ces modifications et des modifications associées.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment faire attention pendant le premier mois de grossesse: 9 conseils"

Causes de cette altération

Syndrome de Potter fréquemment Il est associé à des maladies et à des problèmes du système urinaire comme l'agénésie des reins et de l'uretère, la polykystose et la multicystose rénale ou l'obstruction des voies urinaires, qui peuvent être dues à des causes génétiques et environnementales.


De nombreux cas de syndrome de Potter ont une origine génétique (bien que pas toujours héréditaire); des mutations ont été identifiées sur les chromosomes 1, 2, 5 et 21 chez les variants à agénésie bilatérale du rein, et des causes similaires ont été identifiées chez les autres types.

Le développement de la variante classique consiste en une série d’événements liés entre eux; c'est pourquoi on l'appelle aussi "séquence de Potter". Formation incomplète des reins et / ou de l'uretère ou rupture du sac amniotique Ils font que le fœtus n'a pas assez de liquide amniotique pour se former correctement.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 13 types d’avortement et ses effets psychologiques et physiques"

Symptômes et principaux signes

Parfois, les signes qui caractérisent le syndrome de Potter peuvent être observés au cours du développement intra-utérin. Le plus commun est que les tests médicaux révèlent la présence de Kystes rénaux ou oligohydramnios ou absence de liquide amniotique , ce qui est généralement dû à la rupture du sac qui le contient.


Après la naissance, les traits du visage décrits par Potter deviennent évidents: un nez aplati, des plis épithéliaux des yeux, un menton rétracté et des oreilles anormalement basses. De plus, des altérations peuvent se produire dans les extrémités inférieures et supérieures. Cependant, ces caractéristiques ne sont pas toujours présentes au même degré.

Le syndrome de Potter est également associé à Malformations des yeux, des poumons, du système cardiovasculaire , dans les intestins et les os, en particulier dans les vertèbres. Le système urogénital est généralement altéré de manière très significative.

Types de syndrome de Potter

Actuellement, les différentes formes adoptées par le syndrome de Potter sont classées en cinq grandes catégories ou types. Celles-ci diffèrent à la fois par les causes et par les manifestations cliniques nucléaires. D'autre part, il est important de mentionner également la forme classique de cette maladie et celle associée à la dysplasie rénale multicystystique, découverte très récemment.

1. Type I

Cette variante du syndrome de Potter se présente sous la forme conséquence d'une maladie rénale polykystique autosomique récessive , maladie héréditaire qui affecte les reins et se caractérise par l’apparition de nombreux kystes de petite taille et pleins de liquide. Cela provoque une augmentation de la taille des reins et interfère avec la production d'urine.

2. Type II

La principale caractéristique du type II est l’agénésie ou l’aplasie rénale, c’est-à-dire l'absence congénitale d'un ou des deux reins ; dans le second cas, on parle d'agénésie rénale bilatérale. Etant donné que d'autres parties du système urinaire, telles que l'uretère, sont également souvent atteintes, ces signes sont souvent appelés «agénésie urogénitale». L'origine est généralement héréditaire.

3. Type III

Dans ce cas, les malformations sont dues à une insuffisance rénale polykystique autosomique dominante (contrairement au type I, dans lequel la maladie est transmise par héritage récessif). Les kystes sont observés dans les reins et une augmentation de leur taille, ainsi qu'une augmentation de la fréquence des maladies vasculaires. Les symptômes se manifestent généralement à l'âge adulte .

4. Type IV

Le syndrome de Potter de type IV est diagnostiqué lorsque des kystes apparaissent et / ou de l'eau s'accumule (hydronéphrose) dans les reins en raison d'une obstruction chronique de cet organe ou de l'uretère. C'est une variante commune pendant la période fœtale qui ne provoque généralement pas d'avortement spontané. La cause de ces altérations peut être à la fois génétique et environnementale .

5. forme classique

Lorsque nous parlons du syndrome de Potter classique, nous faisons référence aux cas dans lesquels les reins ne se développent pas (agénésie bilatérale du rein), pas plus que l'uretère. Il a été proposé que la forme classique décrite par Potter en 1946 puisse être considérée comme une version extrême du type II, caractérisée également par une agénésie rénale.

6. Dysplasie rénale multicystique

La dysplasie rénale multicystique est une altération caractérisée par la présence de kystes nombreux et irréguliers dans les reins ; en comparaison avec le terme "polykystique", "multicystique" indique une gravité inférieure. Ces dernières années, des cas de syndrome de Potter dus à ce trouble ont été identifiés, qui pourraient indiquer un nouveau type possible.


P POTTERS SYNDROME (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes