yes, therapy helps!
Precariat: the new social class of enslaved youth

Precariat: the new social class of enslaved youth

July 13, 2024

The precariat is a modern term conceptualized by the economist Guy Standing in 2011, when the world economic crisis had consolidated and deepened in the so-called First World or developed economies such as Spain, France or even Germany, the economic engine of Europe.

In a way, the precariat stands as a new emerging class, a new mass phenomenon that requires, according to experts, urgent attention to be able to resolve potential crises for the following decades. It is no longer just a question of the economic needs of individual people, but the complexity will come from can not guarantee minimum social welfare .


  • Related article: "Poverty affects the brain development of children"

What exactly is precarious?

Textually, the precariate is a hybrid between the concepts of precarity and the proletariat , given that it is a working class of middle or lower class, whose economic aspirations are matched by their success in finding work, and live in the instability that currently generates the labor market.

Precarious for the following reasons: this new class faces unprecedented job insecurity , to a volatility of the labor market and to a lack of definition and classification of a specific identity as a working class.


  • Related article: "Burnout (burn syndrome): how to detect it and take action"

Causes that have given rise to the phenomenon

Some expert economists and political analysts such as the mentioned guy Standing, father of the definition, the renowned doctor in economics Santiago Niño Becerra or Professor José María Gay de Liébana among others, point directly to the capitalist system in general, and the Globalization system in particular .

In a certain sense, the precariate is even below the poor who work many hours and the labor force / salary remuneration relationship has a mismatch, since in some cases it does not charge the stipulated by law, as in the case of the fellows or those workers who need to perform multiple jobs and who do not even reach a minimum to pay for their lives.


Global Globalization has caused this new social class to spread across the globe, due to its asymmetric economic policies, its extremely harsh working conditions in some cases and its policy of free movement of people ; Migrations are another mechanism for the perpetuation of the precariat.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Work addiction, related to psychiatric disorders"

The 3 types of the precariado

Within this worrying phenomenon, there are different types of classification according to the nature of the precarious . They are the following.

1. Immigrant youth

This group responds to that generation of young people who have had to emigrate from their countries of origin due to lack of social guarantees such as public health, education and, of course, lack of job offer. The problem is that the destination country has the same complexity.

2. Young people with university degrees

In this case the situation is even more serious. Here the most prepared generations in history, have an education and knowledge that surpass or exceed the needs of the labor market. That is, they become so excellent in their abilities, that are excluded from the professional offer . In this context, his reaction to the labor scene can be one of great frustration or, at the other extreme, of a feeling of resignation that Bertrand Regader defined as 'satisfied slave syndrome'.

3. The seniors

Surely it is the most urgent case to attend. Seniors are those elderly people, between 40 and 55 years old, who have stayed outside the labor market by failing to meet the requirements demanded by the economy modern (technologies, displacements).

What do these groups have in common?

As we have already pointed out, the precariat is a socio-economic group that is characterized by distinctive features: labor instability (they do not manage to have fixed contracts), the remuneration for their work lacks social guarantees (they are paid below the legal in most cases) and are also deprived of some civil privileges such as paid vacations or leave days that the rest of society enjoys.

Unlike the working class typical of the industrial revolution era, the precariate has even less security to find work, and the areas in which they can work are so unstable that in a matter of a few years their skills may be insufficient for the job they have been occupying.

Universal income as a possible and only solution

In different meetings of economic circles, global development forums and other socio-political events, and all national governments admit not knowing how to face the next challenge of the XXI century. The world population is increasing, human strength is becoming dispensable and resources are scarce .

And it is at this point that politicians encounter an often insurmountable wall when it comes to addressing the problem, and that is to convince financial and business entities of the need to make a change in the model of production systems.

Globalization responds to capitalism, which at the same time is nourished by a neoliberal ideology that fosters fierce competition at the national level, both in the strictly professional and personal spheres. This results in lower salaries , greater durability in the working day and a constant transformation of the labor market, which means constant updating (and that is not always possible) by the worker.

In this sense, Standing, the author of the book The precariat, a new social class, visualizes a violent and obscure future for this phenomenon, appealing to a single solution: universal basic income as a new fundamental right that can guarantee a minimum monetary income for those individuals who identify themselves within this socio-economic group.


The Secrets Of The Precariat Slave System Exposed (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le précariat: la nouvelle classe sociale de la jeunesse asservie

Le précariat: la nouvelle classe sociale de la jeunesse asservie

Décembre 7, 2021

Le précariat est un terme moderne conceptualisé par l'économiste Guy Standing en 2011, lorsque la crise économique mondiale s'était consolidée et aggravée dans les économies dites du «premier monde» ou développées telles que l'Espagne, la France ou même l'Allemagne, le moteur économique de l'Europe.

D'une certaine manière, le précariat constitue une nouvelle classe émergente, un nouveau phénomène de masse qui nécessite, selon les experts, une attention urgente pour pouvoir résoudre les crises potentielles des décennies à venir. Ce n’est plus seulement une question de besoins économiques des individus, mais la complexité viendra de ne peut pas garantir le minimum social .


  • Article connexe: "La pauvreté affecte le développement du cerveau des enfants"

Qu'est-ce qui est précaire exactement?

Textuellement, la précarité est un hybride entre les concepts de précarité et le prolétariat , étant donné qu’il s’agit d’une classe ouvrière de classe moyenne ou inférieure, dont les aspirations économiques vont de pair avec sa capacité à trouver du travail et vivent dans l’instabilité qui génère actuellement le marché du travail.

Précaire pour les raisons suivantes: cette nouvelle classe est confrontée insécurité d'emploi sans précédent , à une volatilité du marché du travail et à l’absence de définition et de classification d’une identité spécifique en tant que classe ouvrière.


  • Article connexe "Burnout (syndrome de brûlure): comment le détecter et agir"

Causes ayant donné lieu au phénomène

Certains économistes experts et analystes politiques, tels que le type mentionné, Standing, père de la définition, le célèbre docteur en économie Santiago Niño Becerra ou le professeur José María Gay de Liébana, entre autres, renvoient directement au système capitaliste en général, et le système de mondialisation en particulier .

Dans un certain sens, le précaire est même inférieur aux pauvres qui travaillent de nombreuses heures et la relation travail / salaire est asymétrique, car dans certains cas, elle n’applique pas les montants prévus par la loi, comme dans le cas suivant: des boursiers ou des travailleurs qui doivent accomplir plusieurs tâches et qui n’atteignent même pas le minimum pour payer leur vie.


La mondialisation a provoqué la propagation de cette nouvelle classe sociale à travers le monde, en raison de sa politique économique asymétrique, de ses conditions de travail extrêmement pénibles dans certains cas. et sa politique de libre circulation des personnes ; Les migrations sont un autre mécanisme permettant de perpétuer le précariat.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "La dépendance au travail, liée aux troubles psychiatriques"

Les 3 types de precariado

Au sein de ce phénomène inquiétant, il existe différents types de classification en fonction de la nature de la situation précaire . Ils sont les suivants.

1. Jeunes immigrés

Ce groupe répond à cette génération de jeunes qui ont dû émigrer de leur pays d'origine en raison du manque de garanties sociales telles que la santé publique, l'éducation et, bien sûr, le manque d'offres d'emploi. Le problème est que le pays de destination a la même complexité.

2. Jeunes diplômés universitaires

Dans ce cas, la situation est encore plus grave. Ici, les générations les plus préparées de l’histoire ont une éducation et des connaissances qui surpassent ou surpassent les besoins du marché du travail. Autrement dit, ils deviennent si excellents dans leurs capacités, que sont exclus de l'offre professionnelle . Dans ce contexte, sa réaction sur le lieu du travail peut être une grande frustration ou, à l’autre extrême, un sentiment de résignation que Bertrand Regader a qualifié de «syndrome de l’esclave satisfait».

3. Les aînés

C’est sûrement le cas le plus urgent à assister. Les personnes âgées sont les personnes âgées de 40 à 55 ans qui ont séjourné hors du marché du travail en ne répondant pas aux exigences de l'économie moderne (technologies, déplacements).

Qu'est-ce que ces groupes ont en commun?

Comme nous l'avons déjà signalé, le précariat est un groupe socio-économique caractérisé par des caractéristiques distinctives: instabilité du travail (ils ne parviennent pas à avoir des contrats à durée déterminée), la rémunération de leur travail est dépourvue de garanties sociales dans la plupart des cas) et sont également privés de certains privilèges civils tels que les vacances payées ou les jours de congé dont bénéficie le reste de la société.

Contrairement à la classe ouvrière typique de l'ère de la révolution industrielle, la précarité a encore moins de sécurité pour trouver du travail, et les domaines dans lesquels ils peuvent travailler sont tellement instables qu’en quelques années, leurs compétences pourraient être insuffisantes pour le travail qu’ils occupaient.

Le revenu universel comme solution possible et unique

Lors de différentes réunions de cercles économiques, de forums mondiaux de développement et d’autres événements sociopolitiques, tous les gouvernements nationaux ont admis ne pas savoir comment faire face au prochain défi du XXIe siècle. La population mondiale augmente, la force humaine devient indispensable et les ressources sont rares .

Et c’est à ce stade que les politiciens se heurtent à un mur souvent insurmontable pour s’attaquer au problème, c’est-à-dire convaincre les entités financières et commerciales de la nécessité de modifier le modèle des systèmes de production.

La mondialisation répond au capitalisme, nourri dans le même temps par une idéologie néolibérale qui favorise une concurrence féroce au niveau national, tant dans le domaine strictement professionnel que personnel. Cela se traduit par des salaires plus bas , une plus grande durabilité dans la journée de travail et une transformation constante du marché du travail, ce qui implique une mise à jour constante (et cela n’est pas toujours possible) du travailleur.

En ce sens, Standing, l'auteur du livre Le précariat, une nouvelle classe sociale, visualise un avenir violent et obscur pour ce phénomène, en faisant appel à une solution unique: le revenu de base universel en tant que nouveau droit fondamental pouvant garantir un revenu monétaire minimum aux personnes qui s’identifient au sein de ce groupe socio-économique.


Mélenchon: les emplois d'avenir, "nouvelle forme de précariat" (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes