yes, therapy helps!
Primperan (metoclopramide): uses and side effects

Primperan (metoclopramide): uses and side effects

November 3, 2022

Metoclopramide, better known as Primperan , is a medication widely used to treat all types of nausea and vomiting since the 1980s. For a long period of time it was considered one of the safest drugs on the market.

However, Primperan is indicated for specific uses and should not be used without medical prescription, as many people usually do; In this article we explain why.

What is metoclopramide?

The generic name of Primperan is 'metoclopramide'. Other less common commercial names include Digespar, Clopan, Metoclox, Bitecain, Aeroflat, Novomit and Rilaquin.

The main effect of metoclopramide is antiemetic : it acts as an antagonist of D2 dopamine receptors and 5-HT3 serotonergic receptors, decreasing the likelihood that the user will vomit.


In addition the Primperan relaxes the digestive tract , increases the tone of the lower esophageal sphincter and widens gastric contractions. This is why it is classified within the group of prokinetic drugs, which facilitate intestinal transit.

Metoclopramide is administered orally. Its effects last approximately 6 hours, and its maximum power occurs between half an hour and two hours after taking it.

What is Primperan good for?

Metoclopramide is usually used to treat any type of nausea; However, in recent years scientific studies have materialized the main indications of this medicine .

1. Nausea induced by chemotherapy and radiotherapy

It is usually prescribed Primperan to prevent the onset or reduce the intensity of nausea and vomiting that occur during treatments with chemotherapy and radiation therapy for cancer.


The use of antiemetic medicines also serves to avoid the development of anticipatory nausea and vomiting , which take place when the body associates the therapy with the appearance of these symptoms. It can also happen that nausea is conditioned to the smell or taste of foods that were consumed after these treatments.

2. Postoperative treatments

Metoclopramide is indicated in people who experience nausea and vomiting as a result of surgical operations . It is also used to treat the decrease in the speed of intestinal transit that occurs after some interventions, especially the digestive system.

3. Vomiting caused by migraine

Nausea and vomiting induced by acute migraine they are frequently treated with Primperan. It is also usually combined with analgesic medications for migraine such as paracetamol because metoclopramide facilitates its absorption, increasing its effectiveness.


If used to treat migraines, Primperan should be taken in small doses because increasing them does not potentiate the effects but it does increase the likelihood of developing side effects, especially drowsiness and akathisia (physical restlessness).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 types of migraine (characteristics and causes)"

4. Digestive and stomach disorders

The Primperan can be effective to relieve the symptoms of various gastrointestinal disorders . Particularly noteworthy is chronic acidity or gastroesophageal reflux, a condition in which stomach fluid rises into the esophagus, irritating it and causing symptoms such as coughing and swallowing difficulties.

Also used to treat gastroparesis , that is, the decrease in stomach emptying capacity. In particular, it seems useful for diabetic gastroparesis; In this disorder, the elevated glucose levels of diabetes damage the nerves of the stomach and make it empty more slowly.

When using Primperan to treat digestive problems it is advisable to be very careful due to the possible side effects of its continued use.

Side effects and adverse

The greatest risk of taking Primperan is the development of dyskinesia , a disorder in which involuntary movements of the facial muscles occur, such as chewing, tightening the lips, creasing the eyebrows or blinking.

It is not recommended to take metoclopramide for more than three months because the longer it is consumed, the more likely it is that you will develop dyskinesia and that it will continue after you stop taking it; this phenomenon is known as 'tardive dyskinesia'.

There is also a risk of agranulocytosis, a disorder consisting of a severe reduction in the number of white blood cells. and the neuroleptic malignant syndrome , which includes fever, delirium and respiratory, circulatory and digestive alterations.

In addition to the above, the serious adverse effects of Primperan include depression, agitation or akathisia, heart rhythm disturbances, muscle stiffness and vision problems. It is recommended to consult the doctor if these symptoms appear.

Among the most common and benign side effects are tiredness, drowsiness, weakness, dizziness, headache, nausea, vomiting, constipation, frequent urination, breast growth, decreased sexual function and disappearance of menstruation.

Contraindications and warnings

The likelihood of adverse effects is greater in children. Therefore, it is Especially advised against the usual use of Primperan in children , reducing its applications in these cases to postoperative treatments and chemotherapy. Under no circumstances should metoclopramide be administered to children under one year of age.

The Primperan May worsen the symptoms of Parkinson's disease , since it has an antidopamine effect and the symptoms of this disorder are due to low levels of dopamine. Something similar happens with depression, in which the function of this neurotransmitter is also altered.

It is also not recommended that people who are diagnosed with restless legs syndrome, hyperprolactinemia, or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder should take Primperan.

Metoclopramide interacts with various medications, including sedatives, insulin, aspirin, antihistamines, levodopa, monoamine oxidase inhibitors, and antipsychotics such as haloperidol.

Take Primperan during pregnancy It seems quite safe, except in the last trimester, when the risk of extrapyramidal syndrome in the baby increases. Metoclopramide is excreted in breast milk, so it should not be taken during breast-feeding.


METOCLOPRAMIDE (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Primperan (métoclopramide): utilisations et effets secondaires

Primperan (métoclopramide): utilisations et effets secondaires

Janvier 22, 2021

Métoclopramide, mieux connu sous le nom de Primperan , est un médicament largement utilisé pour traiter tous les types de nausées et de vomissements depuis les années 1980. Pendant longtemps, il a été considéré comme l’un des médicaments les plus sûrs sur le marché.

Cependant, Primperan est indiqué pour des utilisations spécifiques et ne doit pas être utilisé sans ordonnance, comme le font généralement de nombreuses personnes; Dans cet article, nous expliquons pourquoi.

Qu'est-ce que le métoclopramide?

Le nom générique de Primperan est «métoclopramide». Digespar, Clopan, Metoclox, Bitecain, Aeroflat, Novomit et Rilaquin sont d’autres noms commerciaux moins courants.

L'effet principal du métoclopramide est antiémétique : il agit comme un antagoniste des récepteurs dopaminergiques D2 et des récepteurs sérotoninergiques 5-HT3, réduisant ainsi les risques de vomissements.


En plus le Primperan détend le tube digestif , augmente le tonus du sphincter oesophagien inférieur et élargit les contractions gastriques. C'est pourquoi il est classé dans le groupe des médicaments procinétiques, qui facilitent le transit intestinal.

Le métoclopramide est administré par voie orale. Ses effets durent environ 6 heures et sa puissance maximale se situe entre une demi-heure et deux heures après sa prise.

A quoi bon Primperan?

Le métoclopramide est généralement utilisé pour traiter tout type de nausée; Cependant, ces dernières années, des études scientifiques se sont matérialisées les principales indications de ce médicament .

1. Nausées induites par la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie

Primperan est généralement prescrit pour prévenir l'apparition ou réduire l'intensité des nausées et des vomissements lors des traitements de chimiothérapie et de radiothérapie du cancer.


L’utilisation de médicaments antiémétiques sert également à éviter le développement de nausées et de vomissements anticipés qui se produisent lorsque le corps associe la thérapie à l’apparition de ces symptômes. Il se peut également que la nausée soit conditionnée à l’odeur ou au goût des aliments consommés après ces traitements.

2. Traitements postopératoires

Le métoclopramide est indiqué chez les personnes souffrant de nausées et de vomissements à la suite d'opérations chirurgicales . Il est également utilisé pour traiter la diminution de la vitesse du transit intestinal qui se produit après certaines interventions, en particulier le système digestif.

3. Vomissements causés par la migraine

Nausées et vomissements induite par la migraine aiguë ils sont fréquemment traités avec Primperan. Il est également généralement associé à des médicaments analgésiques pour la migraine tels que le paracétamol, car le métoclopramide facilite son absorption, augmentant ainsi son efficacité.


S'il est utilisé pour traiter les migraines, Primperan doit être pris à petites doses, car leur augmentation ne potentialise pas les effets, mais augmente le risque d'effets secondaires, notamment de somnolence et d'acathisie (agitation physique).

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les 7 types de migraine (caractéristiques et causes)"

4. Troubles digestifs et gastriques

Le Primperan peut être efficace soulager les symptômes de divers troubles gastro-intestinaux . L'acidité chronique ou le reflux gastro-œsophagien, une affection dans laquelle le liquide de l'estomac monte dans l'œsophage, l'irrite et provoque des symptômes tels que la toux et des difficultés à avaler, sont particulièrement à noter.

Il est également utilisé traiter la gastroparésie c'est-à-dire la diminution de la capacité de vidange de l'estomac. En particulier, il semble utile pour la gastroparésie diabétique; Dans ce trouble, les taux de glucose élevés du diabète endommagent les nerfs de l’estomac et le font se vider plus lentement.

Lorsque Primperan est utilisé pour traiter des problèmes digestifs, il est conseillé de faire très attention en raison des effets secondaires éventuels de son utilisation continue.

Effets secondaires et indésirables

Le plus grand risque de prendre Primperan est le développement de la dyskinésie , un trouble dans lequel se produisent des mouvements involontaires des muscles faciaux, tels que mastiquer, serrer les lèvres, plisser les sourcils ou cligner des yeux.

Il n'est pas recommandé de prendre le métoclopramide pendant plus de trois mois, car plus il est consommé longtemps, plus il est probable que vous développiez une dyskinésie et qu'elle persiste même après l'arrêt du traitement. ce phénomène est connu sous le nom de «dyskinésie tardive».

Il existe également un risque d'agranulocytose, un trouble consistant en une réduction importante du nombre de globules blancs. et le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques , ce qui inclut la fièvre, le délire et les altérations respiratoires, circulatoires et digestives.

En plus de ce qui précède, Primperan a des effets indésirables graves, notamment la dépression, l’agitation ou l’akathisie, des troubles du rythme cardiaque, des raideurs musculaires et des problèmes de vision. Il est recommandé de consulter le médecin si ces symptômes apparaissent.

Fatigue, somnolence, faiblesse, vertiges, maux de tête, nausées, vomissements, constipation, miction fréquente, croissance mammaire, diminution de la fonction sexuelle et disparition de la menstruation sont parmi les effets secondaires les plus courants et bénins.

Contre-indications et avertissements

La probabilité d'effets indésirables est plus grande chez les enfants. Par conséquent, il est Particulièrement déconseillé l'utilisation habituelle de Primperan chez les enfants , réduisant ses applications dans ces cas aux traitements postopératoires et à la chimiothérapie. Le métoclopramide ne doit en aucun cas être administré à des enfants de moins d’un an.

Le primperan Peut aggraver les symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson , car il a un effet antidopamine et que les symptômes de ce trouble sont dus à de faibles niveaux de dopamine. Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec la dépression, dans laquelle la fonction de ce neurotransmetteur est également modifiée.

Il est également déconseillé aux personnes à qui on diagnostique un syndrome des jambes sans repos, une hyperprolactinémie ou un trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention de prendre Primperan.

Le métoclopramide interagit avec divers médicaments, notamment les sédatifs, l'insuline, l'aspirine, les antihistaminiques, la lévodopa, les inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase et les antipsychotiques tels que l'halopéridol.

Prendre Primperan pendant la grossesse Cela semble assez sûr, sauf au dernier trimestre, lorsque le risque de syndrome extrapyramidal chez le bébé augmente. Le métoclopramide est excrété dans le lait maternel, il ne doit donc pas être pris pendant l'allaitement.


Le Primpéran® interdit aux enfants… et aux adolescents Ado Bonjour docteur (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes