yes, therapy helps!
Profile of the dependent person, in 9 traits and habits

Profile of the dependent person, in 9 traits and habits

June 21, 2024

The consumption of psychoactive substances It is a relatively frequent phenomenon in our society. The reasons for such consumption are many and varied, from treating the effects of a disorder or disease to alleviating the psychological or physical suffering caused by certain circumstances or even simply making recreational use of them.

But many of the people who use drugs habitually end up generating an addiction and dependence on the substance. In order to try to treat these people, it is necessary to study their characteristics and observe if there are points in common from which to work. In other words, it is very useful establish a profile of the person with drug dependence .


  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

What do we consider to be drug dependence?

Drug addiction is understood as the situation in which an individual habitually consumes one or more substances that he is not able to do without, being said compulsively consummated consumption in order to maintain a state of well-being or to avoid the discomfort associated with the withdrawal syndrome.

The subject in question does not have control of the consumption, wishing it constantly and carrying it out even though he may want and make various attempts to quit it. The person in question spends much of his time and effort in getting the substance. This addiction generates various problems and it diminishes the functioning of the person in a great majority of the domains and vital areas.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Addiction: disease or learning disorder?"

From occasional consumption to addiction

Having a dependence on a substance or drug supposes a more or less long process (depending on the substance, frequency of consumption, quantity and personality characteristics). The process begins with sporadic consumption that, in spite of not provoking the need to repeat itself or generate its absence anxiety, ends up reappearing and little by little it becomes something more habitual.

Over time, the body acquires a certain tolerance and it becomes necessary to consume more quantity in periods that are less and less separated in time in order to obtain the same effects as at the beginning. Consumption goes from becoming occasional to abusive, generalizing to various situations despite not being essential. Finally, as the habituation increases, the subject needs more and more in less time, losing little by little the control of the consumption and arriving to suffer adverse reactions in the absence of the drug.


The profile of the drug addict

Abusive use and drug dependence can be the result of a great variety of situations and circumstances, with which establishing a typical profile of the subject with drug dependence can be complex .

However, through the analysis of representative samples of the population, it is possible to establish a series of common characteristics among people who suffer from an addiction of this type.

1. Most frequent addictive substances: Alcohol, cocaine and heroin

There is a wide range of substances and drugs capable of producing dependence. The most frequent is alcohol, which due to the social acceptance of its consumption in general and its popularity tends to cause almost half of the cases of substance dependence .

With respect to illegal drugs, cocaine is the substance to which a greater number of people are addicted (although the most consumed is cannabis, a dependency is not usually generated), followed by heroin and other substances.

  • Related article: "The 10 most addictive drugs in the world"

2. Sex and age

The different studies carried out with respect to the type of individuals suffering from drug dependence reflect that there is a higher prevalence of substance addiction among men than among women.

The average age of the drug dependent is currently between twenty and fifty years of age, being the beginning of consumption during adolescence or early adulthood frequent.

3. Marital status: generally singles

With the exception of alcohol addiction, in which about 62% of cases have a partner, the most typical profile of the subject with drug dependence is that of a single person . In cases where there is a couple, there are often conjugal problems and family problems, whether they are the cause or consequence of addiction.

4. Socio-educational and labor level means

When you think about a subject addicted to drugs, many people tend to think that they are people of a low educational level, without work or studies and with few economic resources. However, although in some cases this image inherited from the eighties is true today, a large number of drug addicts are individuals they have at least primary and secondary education, in many cases even higher , having a job or profession that allows you to live relatively normally.

The exception, according to reports from the Proyecto Hombre, can be found in individuals politoxicómanos and / or addicted to heroin . Individuals addicted to heroin or more than one substance usually belong to more unstructured environments, having more family and social problems, as well as health. In many cases they do not have studies or employment.

5. Personality characteristics

With respect to the way of being of the addicted person, his personality and way of perceiving and acting in the world , there is also a great divergence between subjects. However, as a general rule they tend to be people with difficulties to establish limits and with little tolerance for frustration. They usually have high levels of anxiety or frustration.

In many cases there are feelings of low self-esteem and an adverse self-image that they try to supply through the immediate gratification of needs and evasion. As well the presence of emotional instability is frequent , relational dependence and little confidence in themselves. Sometimes they may have too high expectations, which they can not reach, although in other cases the problem is the absence of aspirations due to vital inhibition.

In many cases the origin of the addictive process can be found in the attempt to be accepted socially, overcome their own limitations or alleviate a situation of pain, isolation and little adaptation to the context.

6. They may seek to fill feelings of emptiness or despair.

Addiction to a substance does not appear from nowhere. The sporadic contact or consumption with a drug can provoke very different sensations that the user may consider pleasurable, but in many cases behind continued consumption there may be the attempt to reduce anxiety and suffering . The psychoactive substance is used in order to fill an internal vacuum, experiencing thanks to it sensations that help avoid and distract from aversive and frustrating situations such as abandonment, family or social abuse or the existence of a disability or disorder.

In this way, the drug consumed has a role and meaning for the drug addict, being an important element to try to maintain a certain mental well-being by at least temporarily supplying internal or external lacks and frustrations.

At the time of treating drug addiction it will be necessary to identify and work on the meaning of the drug or the fact of drugging for the individual, which represents for him and which allows him to do, feel or fail to do or feel.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 9 types of drug addiction and their characteristics"

7. They live in a sociocultural context that promotes their consumption

The sociocultural context is also an element to take into account when explaining drug addiction. In a society with a large number of social norms and impositions, some of them applied partially or unfairly, many subjects resort to the consumption of illegal substances as a sign of rebellion , generating the social perception that consuming is positive. Living with this type of context in which consumption is valued positively and seen as a sign of rebellion and liberation facilitates contact with the substance, directly or indirectly inducing frequent consumption.

It is important to bear in mind that with the socio-cultural context there is no reference necessarily (although in some cases there is also some connection) to the family environment, being frequent that many drug addicts are raised in families with values ​​contrary to consumption. Friendships, couples, work contacts or simply the knowledge that other people use drugs as a mechanism of evasion, identity search or protest can be other triggers of contact and subsequent dependence of substances.

Also in cases in which the addicted person decides to stop using the detoxification is much more complex if the stimuli the reinforcement received at environmental and / or social level can be associated with the drug.

Bibliographic references:

  • Project Man. (2012). Man Project Observatory on the profile of the drug addict. Report 2012. Delegation of the Government for the National Plan on Drugs, Spain.

Codependency Test | 9 Codependent Signs (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Profil de la personne dépendante, en 9 traits et habitudes

Profil de la personne dépendante, en 9 traits et habitudes

Juin 24, 2022

La consommation de substances psychoactives C'est un phénomène relativement fréquent dans notre société. Les raisons d'une telle consommation sont nombreuses et variées, allant du traitement des effets d'un trouble ou d'une maladie à l'atténuation des souffrances psychologiques ou physiques causées par certaines circonstances ou même simplement à une utilisation à des fins récréatives.

Mais beaucoup de personnes qui consomment des drogues finissent habituellement par créer une dépendance et une dépendance à la substance. Pour pouvoir traiter ces personnes, il est nécessaire d’étudier leurs caractéristiques et de déterminer s’il existe des points communs sur lesquels travailler. En d'autres termes, c'est très utile établir un profil de la personne toxicomane .


  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Que considérons-nous comme une dépendance à la drogue?

La toxicomanie est comprise comme la situation dans laquelle un individu consomme habituellement une ou plusieurs substances dont il est incapable de se passer, étant dit consommation consommée compulsivement afin de maintenir un état de bien-être ou d’éviter l’inconfort lié au syndrome de sevrage.

Le sujet en question n’a pas le contrôle de la consommation, il la souhaite constamment et la met en œuvre même s’il le souhaite et fait diverses tentatives pour la quitter. La personne en question consacre beaucoup de temps et d'efforts à se procurer la substance. Cette dépendance génère divers problèmes et cela diminue le fonctionnement de la personne dans une grande majorité des domaines et des domaines vitaux.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Dépendance: maladie ou trouble d'apprentissage?"

De la consommation occasionnelle à la dépendance

La dépendance à une substance ou à un médicament suppose un processus plus ou moins long (selon la substance, la fréquence de consommation, la quantité et les caractéristiques de la personnalité). Le processus commence par une consommation sporadique que, bien que ne provoquant pas le besoin de se répéter ou de générer son anxiété absente, finit par réapparaître et devient peu à peu quelque chose de plus habituel.

Au fil du temps, le corps acquiert une certaine tolérance et il devient nécessaire de consommer plus de quantité dans des périodes de moins en moins séparées dans le temps afin d'obtenir les mêmes effets qu'au début. La consommation, qui devient occasionnelle ou abusive, se généralise à diverses situations sans être essentielle. Enfin, au fur et à mesure que l'habituation augmente, le sujet a de plus en plus besoin en moins de temps, perdant peu à peu le contrôle de la consommation et en venant à subir des réactions indésirables en l'absence du médicament.


Le profil du toxicomane

L’abus et la toxicomanie peuvent être le résultat d’une grande variété de situations et de circonstances, avec lesquelles L’établissement d’un profil type du sujet toxicomane peut être complexe .

Cependant, grâce à l'analyse d'échantillons représentatifs de la population, il est possible d'établir une série de caractéristiques communes parmi les personnes qui souffrent d'une dépendance de ce type.

1. Substances addictives les plus fréquentes: alcool, cocaïne et héroïne

Il existe un large éventail de substances et de médicaments susceptibles de générer une dépendance. Le plus fréquent est l’alcool, qui, en raison de l’acceptation sociale de sa consommation et de sa popularité, tend à près de la moitié des cas de dépendance à une substance .

En ce qui concerne les drogues illicites, la cocaïne est la substance à laquelle un plus grand nombre de personnes sont toxicomanes (bien que le cannabis soit le plus consommé, une dépendance n'est généralement pas générée), suivie de l'héroïne et d'autres substances.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 drogues les plus toxicomanogènes au monde"

2. Sexe et âge

Les différentes études réalisées sur le type de toxicomanes montrent qu'il existe des une prévalence plus élevée de toxicomanie chez les hommes que chez les femmes.

L'âge moyen du toxicomane est actuellement compris entre vingt et cinquante ans, ce qui correspond au début de consommation fréquente à l'adolescence ou au début de l'âge adulte.

3. Etat civil: généralement célibataire

À l’exception de la dépendance à l’alcool, dans laquelle environ 62% des cas ont un partenaire, le profil le plus typique du sujet toxicomane est celui d'une personne isolée . Dans les cas où il y a un couple, il y a souvent des problèmes conjugaux et familiaux, qu'ils soient la cause ou la conséquence de la dépendance.

4. Niveau socio-éducatif et travail

Quand on pense à un sujet toxicomane, beaucoup de gens ont tendance à penser qu’ils sont peu scolarisés, sans travail ni études et avec peu de ressources économiques. Cependant, bien que dans certains cas cette image héritée des années 80 soit vraie de nos jours, un grand nombre de toxicomanes sont des individus. ils ont au moins un enseignement primaire et secondaire, voire supérieur dans bien des cas , ayant un travail ou une profession qui vous permet de vivre relativement normalement.

L’exception, selon les rapports du Proyecto Hombre, peut être trouvée chez des individus politoxicómanos et / ou accro à l'héroïne . Les personnes dépendantes à l'héroïne ou à plus d'une substance appartiennent généralement à des environnements moins structurés, ont plus de problèmes familiaux et sociaux, ainsi que de santé. Dans de nombreux cas, ils n’ont pas d’études ni d’emploi.

5. Caractéristiques de la personnalité

En ce qui concerne la façon d'être de la personne dépendante, sa personnalité et sa façon de percevoir et d'agir dans le monde , il y a aussi une grande divergence entre les sujets. Cependant, en règle générale, ce sont généralement des personnes qui ont des difficultés à établir des limites et qui tolèrent peu la frustration. Ils ont généralement des niveaux d'anxiété ou de frustration élevés.

Dans de nombreux cas, ils éprouvent un sentiment de faible estime de soi et une image de soi défavorable qu'ils essaient de véhiculer par la satisfaction immédiate des besoins et l'évasion. Aussi la présence d'une instabilité émotionnelle est fréquente , dépendance relationnelle et manque de confiance en soi. Parfois, ils peuvent avoir des attentes trop élevées, qu’ils ne peuvent pas atteindre, bien que dans d’autres cas, le problème réside dans l’absence d’aspirations dues à une inhibition vitale.

Dans de nombreux cas, l’origine du processus de dépendance peut être trouvée dans la tentative d’être acceptée socialement, de surmonter ses propres limites ou d’atténuer une situation de douleur, d’isolement et de faible adaptation au contexte.

6. Ils peuvent chercher à combler des sentiments de vide ou de désespoir.

La dépendance à une substance n'apparaît pas de nulle part. Le contact ou la consommation sporadique avec une drogue peut provoquer des sensations très différentes que l’utilisateur peut considérer comme agréables, mais dans de nombreux cas, une consommation continue peut entraîner la tentative de réduire l'anxiété et la souffrance . La substance psychoactive est utilisée pour combler un vide interne, éprouvant ainsi des sensations qui permettent d'éviter et de distraire des situations aversives et frustrantes telles que l'abandon, la violence familiale ou sociale ou l'existence d'un handicap ou d'un trouble.

De cette manière, la drogue consommée a un rôle et une signification pour le toxicomane en tant qu’élément important pour tenter de maintenir un certain bien-être mental en fournissant au moins temporairement des manques et des frustrations internes ou externes.

Au moment de traiter la toxicomanie, il sera nécessaire d'identifier et de travailler sur le sens de la drogue ou le fait de droguer pour le particulier, ce qui représente pour lui et lui permet de faire, ressentir ou ne pas faire ou ressentir.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 9 types de toxicomanie et leurs caractéristiques"

7. Ils vivent dans un contexte socioculturel qui favorise leur consommation

Le contexte socioculturel est également un élément à prendre en compte pour expliquer la toxicomanie. Dans une société avec un grand nombre de normes et d’impositions sociales, dont certaines appliquées partiellement ou injustement, de nombreux sujets ont recours à la consommation de substances illicites. en signe de rébellion , générant la perception sociale que la consommation est positive. Vivre avec ce type de contexte dans lequel la consommation est valorisée positivement et considérée comme un signe de rébellion et de libération facilite le contact avec la substance, induisant directement ou indirectement une consommation fréquente.

Il est important de garder à l’esprit que, dans le contexte socioculturel, il n’est pas fait référence (bien que dans certains cas, il existe également un lien) au milieu familial, étant donné que de nombreux toxicomanes sont élevés dans des familles aux valeurs contraires à la consommation. Des amitiés, des couples, des contacts de travail ou simplement le fait de savoir que d'autres personnes utilisent des drogues comme mécanisme d'évasion, de recherche d'identité ou de protestation peuvent être d'autres déclencheurs de contact et de dépendance ultérieure de substances.

De même, dans les cas où le toxicomane décide de cesser de recourir à la détoxication, le traitement est beaucoup plus complexe si le stimulus reçu au niveau environnemental et / ou social peut être associé à la drogue.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Projet Man. (2012). Man Project Observatory sur le profil du toxicomane. Rapport 2012. Délégation du gouvernement pour le Plan national de lutte contre les drogues, Espagne.

The War on Drugs Is a Failure (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes