yes, therapy helps!
Projective tests: the 5 most used types

Projective tests: the 5 most used types

May 22, 2024

Although they are reviled by many psychologists, projective tests such as Rorschach and thematic apperception can be very useful in assessing the personality of adults and minors.

In this article we will describe the 5 most used types of projective tests , including associative techniques and expressive or graphic techniques.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

What are projective tests?

The projective tests are methods of personality assessment and other mental characteristics that are based on ambiguous and unstructured stimuli. The logic underlying this type of evidence corresponds to the hypothesis that the people evaluated are more likely to project their mental processes into a test if the material is ambiguous and stimulates the imagination.


These techniques have traditionally been framed in psychoanalytic theory , according to which the personality has a stable character and is largely determined by irrational impulses that escape the consciousness of individuals. However, from the psychoanalysis it is defended that it is possible to identify the contents of the unconscious through diverse procedures.

Given that it is assumed that the respondent does not know the purpose of the items that make up the test, the projective tests are considered less susceptible to falsification than other methods of psychological evaluation, mainly those based on self-report. It is said that projective tests are masked evaluation techniques.


Although this type of test has been criticized by psychologists of other theoretical orientations at methodological level, the truth is that the long tradition of the use of projective tests has allowed for a high degree of systematization in many of these. A particularly clear case in this regard is the famous Rorschach test. However, despite this systematization, its effectiveness is seriously questioned if we are guided by the meta-analyzes that have been carried out in this regard.

Types of projective techniques

There are different types of projective tests: the structural ones, which are based on the organization of the visual material ; the thematic ones, consisting in narrating a story from different images; Expressives or graphics, centered on the drawing; constructive ones, such as the imaginary village test or the diagnostic game, and associative ones (eg, incomplete sentences).


Next, we will describe the most popular tests and projection types, including examples of all the classes mentioned in the previous paragraph. We will leave aside the refractory tests such as graphology , which aims to determine the personality from the aspect of writing and has not received any empirical support.

1. Rorschach test

In 1921 the psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach published a psychological test consisting of 10 sheets with symmetrical ink spots of ambiguous appearance . Over the years the subjectivity in the interpretation of this test decreased markedly; In particular, in the 1980s the Exner evaluation system, based on scientific research, became popular.

In the Rorschach test the person who evaluates presents the sheets in a determined order to the one being evaluated; in each case this d I must answer the question "What could this be?" without receiving any further indication. Subsequently, the evaluator returns to show each image to discover what aspects of these caused the answers.

Among the indicators analyzed in the Rorschach test we find the number of responses (the normal in adults is between 17 and 27 in total), the frequency of answers given in the general population or the predominance of certain contents. This analysis may suggest psychopathology ; for example, monotony is associated with depression.

Subsequently, other structural tests based on ink stains have been developed, such as Holtzman's, which aims to have greater reliability and consists of 45 images, and the Zulliger Z-Test, which consists of only 3 plates and is intended as a test of screening.

  • Related article: "The Rorschach inkblot test"

2. Murray thematic apperception test

The thematic apperception test or T.A.T., developed by Henry Murray , is the thematic projective test most used, especially in the evaluation of people of legal age. It consists of 31 sheets of which only 20 are applied to each individual, depending on their biological sex and age.

The images are much more structured than those of the Rorschach test: they show scenes related to themes such as family, fear, sex or violence, from which the subject must elaborate a story that includes a past, a present and a future. The objective is to analyze the psychological needs and pressures of the person evaluated.

There are variations of the T.A.T. for different age groups. The C.A.T. ("Child apperception test") are applied to children of different ages, cultural levels and physical and psychological characteristics, while the apperception test for senescence (SAT) evaluates typical variables in the elderly, such as loneliness or disability.

Two other well-known thematic tests are Phillipson's object relations test and the Rosenzweig frustration test . The images of the first show a degree of intermediate structuring compared to the T.A.T. and the Rorschach, and the Rosenzweig test presents frustrating scenes in which the person must add a dialogue.

3. Children's thematic tests

The Blacky and Pata Negra sheets tests , created respectively by Gerald Blum and Louis Corman, are specific thematic tests for children. Both are based on images of animals (Blacky is a dog and Pata Negra a pig) that serve as stimuli for children to talk about their vision of themselves and their family.

The fairy tale test is one of the most recent thematic projective tests; It was developed by Carina Coulacoglou in the 1990s. In this case the stimuli are drawings of famous characters from fairy tales, such as Little Red Riding Hood and the wolf or Snow White and the dwarves, and the child must answer several previously established questions.

4. Expressive or graphic techniques

In this type of techniques the evaluated person has to draw certain elements under the slogan of the evaluator. In comparison with the Rorschach test and the T.A.T., we can say that these tests they have a low level of standardization and their interpretation is quite subjective , although this does not mean that they can not be useful tools.

Within this category we find the house-tree-person test (HTP) of Buck, the drawing test of the person in the rain of Abramson, the test of the drawing of the family of Corman, the test of the tree of Koch and the test of the drawing of the human figure of Machover.

5. Associative techniques

The associative techniques consist in emitting answers in relation to a certain stimulus. The classic example of these tests is the word association, used by classical authors such as Galton and Jung , in which a list of terms is presented to which the evaluated person has to answer with the first word that comes to mind.

The incomplete sentences test is similar, although in this case instead of associating one word with another the sentence started by the evaluator must be finished. The desiderative (or bestiary) test of Zazzo analyzes the fear of death and defense mechanisms based on the answer to the question "What would you want to convert yourself if you stopped having human form?".


PSY 150 Personality Projective Tests (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Tests projectifs: les 5 types les plus utilisés

Tests projectifs: les 5 types les plus utilisés

Septembre 23, 2019

Bien qu'ils soient critiqués par de nombreux psychologues, les tests projectifs tels que Rorschach et l’aperception thématique peuvent être très utiles pour évaluer la personnalité des adultes et des mineurs.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les 5 types de tests projectifs les plus utilisés , y compris les techniques associatives et les techniques expressives ou graphiques.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

Que sont les tests projectifs?

Les tests projectifs sont méthodes d'évaluation de la personnalité et autres caractéristiques mentales qui sont basés sur des stimuli ambigus et non structurés. La logique sous-jacente à ce type de preuve correspond à l'hypothèse selon laquelle les personnes évaluées sont plus susceptibles de projeter leurs processus mentaux dans un test si le matériau est ambigu et stimule l'imagination.


Ces techniques ont été traditionnellement encadrées par la théorie psychanalytique , selon laquelle la personnalité a un caractère stable et est largement déterminée par des impulsions irrationnelles qui échappent à la conscience des individus. Cependant, de la psychanalyse, il est défendu qu'il est possible d'identifier le contenu de l'inconscient à travers diverses procédures.

Étant donné que le répondant est supposé ne pas connaître l'objectif des éléments composant le test, les tests projectifs sont considérés comme moins susceptibles d'être falsifiés que d'autres méthodes d'évaluation psychologique, principalement celles basées sur l'autodéclaration. On dit que les tests projectifs sont des techniques d'évaluation masquées.


Bien que ce type de test ait été critiqué par des psychologues d’autres orientations théoriques au niveau méthodologique, la vérité est que la longue tradition d’utilisation de tests projectifs a permis une haut degré de systématisation dans beaucoup d'entre eux. Le fameux test de Rorschach est un cas particulièrement frappant à cet égard. Cependant, malgré cette systématisation, son efficacité est sérieusement mise en doute si nous nous guidons sur les méta-analyses réalisées à cet égard.

Types de techniques projectives

Il existe différents types de tests projectifs: les structures, qui sont basées sur l'organisation du matériel visuel ; les thématiques, consistant à raconter une histoire à partir d’images différentes; Expressives ou graphiques, centrés sur le dessin; les constructifs, tels que le test de village imaginaire ou le jeu de diagnostic, et les tests associatifs (phrases incomplètes, par exemple).


Ensuite, nous décrirons les types de tests et de projections les plus populaires, ainsi que des exemples de toutes les classes mentionnées dans le paragraphe précédent. Nous laisserons de côté les tests réfractaires tels que la graphologie , qui vise à déterminer la personnalité du point de vue de l’écriture et n’a reçu aucun support empirique.

1. Test de Rorschach

En 1921, le psychiatre Hermann Rorschach publia un test psychologique consistant à 10 feuilles avec des taches d'encre symétriques d'apparence ambiguë . Au fil des ans, la subjectivité dans l'interprétation de ce test a nettement diminué; En particulier, dans les années 1980, le système d'évaluation Exner, basé sur des recherches scientifiques, est devenu populaire.

Dans le test de Rorschach, la personne qui évalue présente les feuilles dans un ordre déterminé à celui qui est évalué. dans chaque cas cela d Je dois répondre à la question "Qu'est-ce que cela pourrait être?" sans recevoir aucune autre indication. Par la suite, l’évaluateur revient pour montrer chaque image afin de découvrir les aspects de ceux-ci ayant entraîné les réponses.

Parmi les indicateurs analysés dans le test de Rorschach, nous trouvons le nombre de réponses (la normale chez l’adulte se situe entre 17 et 27 au total), la fréquence des réponses données dans la population générale ou la prédominance de certains contenus. Cette analyse peut suggérer une psychopathologie ; par exemple, la monotonie est associée à la dépression.

Par la suite, d’autres tests structurels basés sur les taches d’encre ont été mis au point, tels que celui de Holtzman, qui vise à améliorer la fiabilité et comprend 45 images, et le Zulliger Z-Test, composé de 3 plaques seulement et destiné à servir de test. de dépistage.

  • Article connexe: "Le test de la tache d'encre de Rorschach"

2. Test d'aperception thématique Murray

Le test d'aperception thématique ou T.A.T., développé par Henry Murray , est le test projectif thématique le plus utilisé, en particulier dans l’évaluation des personnes majeures. Il se compose de 31 feuilles dont seulement 20 sont appliquées à chaque individu, en fonction de leur sexe biologique et de leur âge.

Les images sont beaucoup plus structurées que celles du test de Rorschach: elles montrent des scènes liées à des thèmes tels que la famille, la peur, le sexe ou la violence, à partir desquelles le sujet doit élaborer une histoire qui comprend un passé, un présent et futur L’objectif est d’analyser les besoins et pressions psychologiques de la personne évaluée.

Il existe des variantes du T.A.T. pour différents groupes d'âge. Le C.A.T. ("Test de perception des enfants") sont appliqués à des enfants d'âges, de niveaux culturels et de caractéristiques physiques et psychologiques différents, tandis que le test de perception de la sénescence (SAT) évalue des variables typiques chez les personnes âgées, telles que la solitude ou le handicap

Deux autres tests thématiques bien connus sont Test de Phillipson sur les relations d'objet et sur le test de frustration de Rosenzweig . Les images de la première montrent un degré de structuration intermédiaire par rapport au T.A.T. et le test de Rorschach et de Rosenzweig présentent des scènes frustrantes dans lesquelles la personne doit ajouter un dialogue.

3. Tests thématiques pour enfants

Les tests de feuilles Blacky et Pata Negra , créés respectivement par Gerald Blum et Louis Corman, sont des tests thématiques spécifiques pour les enfants. Les deux sont basés sur des images d'animaux (Blacky est un chien et Pata Negra un cochon) qui incitent les enfants à parler de leur vision d'eux-mêmes et de leur famille.

Le test de conte de fées est l’un des tests projectifs thématiques les plus récents; Il a été développé par Carina Coulacoglou dans les années 1990. Dans ce cas, les stimuli sont des dessins de personnages célèbres de contes de fées, tels que Petit chaperon rouge et le loup ou Blanche-Neige et les nains, et l'enfant doit répondre à plusieurs questions préalablement établies.

4. Techniques expressives ou graphiques

Dans ce type de techniques, la personne évaluée doit tirer certains éléments sous le slogan de l'évaluateur. En comparaison avec le test de Rorschach et le T.A.T., on peut dire que ces tests ils ont un faible niveau de standardisation et leur interprétation est assez subjective , bien que cela ne signifie pas qu'ils ne peuvent pas être des outils utiles.

Dans cette catégorie on trouve le test de personne à la maison (HTP) de Buck, le test de dessin de la personne sous la pluie d'Abramson, l'épreuve du dessin de la famille de Corman, l'épreuve de l'arbre de Koch et l'épreuve du dessin de la figure humaine de Machover.

5. Techniques associatives

Les techniques associatives consistent à émettre des réponses par rapport à un certain stimulus. L’exemple classique de ces tests est le mot association, utilisé par des auteurs classiques tels que Galton et Jung , dans laquelle est présentée une liste de termes auxquels la personne évaluée doit répondre avec le premier mot qui lui vient à l’esprit.

Le test des phrases incomplètes est similaire, bien que dans ce cas, au lieu d’associer un mot à un autre, la phrase commencée par l’évaluateur doit être terminée. Le test desideratif (ou bestiaire) de Zazzo analyse la peur de la mort et les mécanismes de défense en fonction de la réponse à la question "Que voudriez-vous vous convertir si vous cessez d'avoir une forme humaine?".


test psychotechnique : Que manque t-il dans la case vide ? (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes