yes, therapy helps!
Proud people: these are the 7 traits that they share

Proud people: these are the 7 traits that they share

March 26, 2024

There are people who interpret life as if it were all about a fight of egos. This has always happened, but in a context like the current one, in which both rivalry and appearances are highly valued elements, it is very common for this class of individuals, educated to become this way, to appear.

The proud people, in short , they are easily rewarded by society, and that reinforces that style of behavior and personality.

  • Related article: "Are you empathic?" 10 typical features of empathic people

The typical characteristics of proud people

Then we will see what are the characteristics and characteristics of the proud people who define them and distinguish them from the rest.


1. They deceive themselves

The proud nature of proud people has several costs, and one of the clearest is the need to maintain a false, bloated self-image . As a consequence, these individuals may assume risks that are too high, or directly unaffordable, and therefore go through a series of hardships and difficulties that are totally avoidable.

For example, a father who meets this psychological characteristic can access his daughter's request to build a real-size wooden boat in a couple of weeks, despite not having done anything like it before.

  • Related article: "False self-confidence: the heavy mask of self-deception"

2. They have to say the last word

Both inside and outside the social networks of the Internet, proud people feel the need to make clear that they win all the discussions in which they participate. Sometimes this will be true, and the use they will make of their arguments will be adequate to disarm dialectically their opponent ... however, in other cases they will have no choice but to stage a supposed victory that has never been produced .


And what is the best way to show that you have won an argument when it really is not? Easy: saying the last word. This pattern of behavior typical of proud people can lead to surreal situations in which those who have begun to discuss lengthen the conversation by adding short sentences that do not contribute anything, trying to make their contribution the one that closes the debate.

This is not only a clearly unfriendly attitude, but it greatly impedes the progress of any exchange of opinions. That is to say, it ruins the constructive potential of this kind of dialogue.


3. They have trouble asking for forgiveness

Offering an apology to others can be quite challenging for the proud people. It is not a simple problem of showing one's imperfections to others, with the strategic risk and the decompensation that this implies in some conflicts. It is something that goes beyond the objective consequences of asking for forgiveness.


The issue is, rather, in the discomfort that produces to recognize the errors because of a very idealized self-image. And it is that the incongruity between a bloated self-concept and the recognition that an error has been made they are ideas that collide with each other, produce what in psychology is known as cognitive dissonance.


So, when the circumstances arise that a proud person has to apologize, he does so through a staging, making it clear that it is not something spontaneous and honest, but something similar to a theater.

  • Related article: "Forgiveness: should I or should I not forgive the one who hurt me?"

4. Feel your ego threatened easily

For someone who places great importance on keeping their ego intact, life is a constant competition in which potential rivals constantly appear ... even if they do not present themselves as such or in an explicitly competitive context.

For example, as soon as they detect a person who excels in some quality in a way that someone may think is more skilled than them in a domain of life, this type of personality leads them to adopt a defensive attitude (not always openly hostile) and try to show off their own gifts and aptitudes.


5. They frequently talk about their past achievements

Proud people maintain their grandiose self-image, in part, by recalling those experiences of the past in which they showed off their skills or his special talents were evident. This is evident, for example, by forcing a change of subject in the conversations so that the dialogue derives towards what happened at certain moments of its past.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The" Porqueyolovalguismo ": the narcissistic philosophy applied to daily life"

6. They try not to ask for help

The myth of "the self-made person" is very strong in the mentality of proud people, who consider themselves something similar to a force independent of the rest of things that occur in nature, as if they were disconnected from the rest and everything that they would have achieved only by their own merits.

Thus, when the situation requires others to collaborate with their projects, they feel invaded and questioned , something that often leads them to adopt a defensive attitude.

7. Feel the will to have control

For the markedly proud people, the social circles over which one has influence they are like an extension of one's own body, a place in which one must try to maintain a certain order and harmony in its functioning.


It is because of this logic of thought that, when something is detected that could threaten that stability, it is viewed with suspicion whenever there is the possibility that the power that is held over part of those people (friends, family, etc.) fade or weaken.


What You See First Will Describe Your Inner State (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Des gens fiers: ce sont les 7 traits qu'ils partagent

Des gens fiers: ce sont les 7 traits qu'ils partagent

Mai 16, 2022

Il y a des gens qui interprètent la vie comme s'il s'agissait d'un combat d'ego. Cela a toujours été le cas, mais dans un contexte comme celui-ci, où la rivalité et les apparences sont des éléments de grande valeur, il est très courant que cette classe d'individus, éduqués pour devenir ainsi, apparaisse.

Les gens fiers, en bref , ils sont facilement récompensés par la société, ce qui renforce ce style de comportement et de personnalité.

  • Article connexe: "Êtes-vous empathique?" 10 caractéristiques typiques des personnes empathiques

Les caractéristiques typiques des gens fiers

Nous verrons ensuite quelles sont les caractéristiques des personnes fières qui les définissent et les distinguent des autres.


1. Ils se trompent

La nature fière des gens fiers a plusieurs coûts, et l’un des plus évidents est la nécessité de maintenir une fausse image de soi gonflée . En conséquence, ces personnes peuvent assumer des risques trop élevés ou directement inabordables, et donc subir une série de difficultés et de difficultés totalement évitables.

Par exemple, un père qui répond à cette caractéristique psychologique peut accéder à la demande de sa fille de construire un bateau en bois de taille réelle en quelques semaines, bien qu'il n'ait rien fait de tel auparavant.

  • Article connexe: "Fausse confiance en soi: le masque lourd de l'auto-illusion"

2. Ils doivent dire le dernier mot

À la fois à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des réseaux sociaux d’Internet, les personnes fières ressentent le besoin de faire savoir qu’elles gagnent toutes les discussions auxquelles elles participent. Parfois, cela sera vrai et l'utilisation qu'ils feront de leurs arguments sera suffisante pour désarmer dialectiquement leur adversaire ... Cependant, dans d'autres cas, ils n'auront d'autre choix que de mettre en scène une victoire supposée qui n'a jamais été produite .


Et quel est le meilleur moyen de montrer que vous avez gagné une dispute alors que ce n’est vraiment pas le cas? Facile: dire le dernier mot. Ce type de comportement typique des personnes fières peut conduire à des situations surréalistes dans lesquelles ceux qui ont commencé à discuter allongent la conversation en ajoutant des phrases courtes qui ne contribuent en rien, en essayant de faire de leur contribution celle qui clôture le débat.

C’est non seulement une attitude clairement hostile, mais également un obstacle majeur au progrès de tout échange d’opinions. C'est-à-dire que cela ruine le potentiel constructif de ce type de dialogue.


3. Ils ont du mal à demander pardon

Offrir des excuses aux autres peut être assez difficile pour les gens fiers. Ce n'est pas un simple problème de montrer ses imperfections aux autres, avec le risque stratégique et la décompensation que cela implique dans certains conflits. C’est quelque chose qui dépasse les conséquences objectives de demander pardon.


Le problème réside plutôt dans l'inconfort que suscite la reconnaissance des erreurs en raison d'une image de soi très idéalisée. Et c’est que l’incongruité entre un concept de soi boursouflé et la reconnaissance qu'une erreur a été commise ce sont des idées qui se heurtent, produisent ce que la psychologie appelle la dissonance cognitive.


Ainsi, lorsque survient le cas où une personne fière doit s'excuser, elle le fait par le biais d'une mise en scène, en précisant que ce n'est pas quelque chose de spontané et honnête, mais quelque chose de similaire à un théâtre.

  • Article connexe: "Pardon: devrais-je ou ne devrais-je pas pardonner à celui qui m'a fait mal?"

4. Sentez votre ego menacé facilement

Pour ceux qui attachent une grande importance à la préservation de leur ego, la vie est une concurrence constante dans laquelle des rivaux potentiels apparaissent constamment… même s'ils ne se présentent pas comme tels ou dans un contexte explicitement concurrentiel.

Par exemple, dès qu’ils détectent une personne qui excelle dans une qualité d’une manière qu’une personne pourrait penser être plus compétente que la leur dans un domaine de la vie, ce type de personnalité les conduit à: adopter une attitude défensive (pas toujours ouvertement hostile) et essayez de montrer leurs propres dons et aptitudes.


5. Ils parlent fréquemment de leurs réalisations passées

Les gens fiers maintiennent leur image grandiose de soi, en partie, en rappelant ceux expériences du passé dans lesquelles ils ont montré leurs compétences ou ses talents spéciaux étaient évidents. Ceci est évident, par exemple, en forçant un changement de sujet dans les conversations afin que le dialogue dérive vers ce qui s'est passé à certains moments de son passé.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le" Porqueyolovalguismo ": la philosophie narcissique appliquée à la vie quotidienne"

6. Ils essaient de ne pas demander de l'aide

Le mythe de «l'homme qui se fait soi-même» est très fort dans la mentalité des gens orgueilleux, qui se considèrent comme une force semblable à une force indépendante du reste de la nature, comme s'ils étaient déconnectés du reste et de tout ce qui se passe dans la nature. qu'ils n'auraient atteint que par leurs propres mérites.

Ainsi, lorsque la situation oblige les autres à collaborer à leurs projets, ils se sentent envahis et interrogés , quelque chose qui les amène souvent à adopter une attitude défensive.

7. Sentir la volonté de contrôler

Pour les gens très fiers, les cercles sociaux sur lesquels on a de l'influence ils sont comme une extension de son propre corps, un lieu dans lequel il faut essayer de maintenir un certain ordre et une certaine harmonie dans son fonctionnement.


C’est en raison de cette logique de pensée que, lorsqu'un élément détecté pourrait menacer cette stabilité, il est considéré avec suspicion chaque fois que le pouvoir détenu sur une partie de ces personnes (amis, famille, etc.) est susceptible de subsister. disparaître ou s'affaiblir.


The Gates of Zadash | Critical Role | Campaign 2, Episode 8 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes