yes, therapy helps!
Proxemics: what it is and how it helps us understand spaces

Proxemics: what it is and how it helps us understand spaces

November 27, 2021

Proxemics is the study of relationships and communication that we humans establish through space and through the distances that we put between ourselves and towards things around us.

Then we will see what proxemics is , what this theory has contributed to the communication sciences and how it differs from other forms of non-verbal communication, such as kinesthesia.

  • Related article: "What is Cultural Psychology?"

What is proxemics?

Proxemics is a theory that emerged in the 1960s and was developed by the American anthropologist Edward T. Hall , who studied how we perceive space in different cultures and how we use it to establish different relationships.


In other words, Proxemics is the study of proximity , and how proximity allows us to communicate with each other and even build relationships and a particular worldview.

Also known as proxemia, it is considered a part of semiotics (which is the study of the signs we use to communicate), because it pays attention to the way in which physical distances established in different cultures make us communicate in different ways and not necessarily verbally.

That is to say, that the proxemics includes not only the individual communicative competences but the way in which the social and cultural norms on the space limit or condition these competences. That is why it is considered as one of the most complex branches of human communication systems.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Proxemic language: this is how the use of distances is used to communicate"

Communication systems and some types

To explain in more detail what proxemia is, we will remember that human communication is a very complex system . In basic terms, it consists of understanding and using a set of signs and symbols to transmit certain information (for example, ideas, feelings, opinions, emotions, moods, etc.).

That is, the process and the ability to communicate it does not come down to language skills (such as being able to speak or understand some language), but involves a set of much more complex actions in which our body always participates.

The standard and most basic scheme of communication includes two main characters: an emitter and a receiver; who are the ones who emit, code and receive a message.


This message can include both linguistic signs, such as words, phrases or statements; as body movements that also transmit information. In turn, this information, and how it is organized and transmitted, depends on the social, geographical and cultural situation in which the sender and receiver are located; as well as their own grammatical, discursive, strategic and sociolinguistic competences .

Generally, two major types of communication are recognized: verbal and non-verbal, which are not really separated from each other, but are manifested on a par with each relationship we establish with other people.

Nonverbal communication and difference between proxemics and kinesia

Verbal communication is what is established from signs and linguistic symbols transmitted through the spoken word. On the other hand, non-verbal communication is that established by non-verbal signs that generally transmit information about character, personality or mood .

These last signs may include, for example, crying, laughter, shouting (which are paralinguistic signs); or, they may involve gestures, signs or mimicry (which are the kinesthetic signs). Both types of signs, paralinguistic and kinesthetic, are elements of basic nonverbal communication. But, there is also another type of non-verbal communication that is more complex because it involves the cultural and social elements that define how we use the body and space, and even the time to transmit information in different contexts and situations.

The latter are the proxemic system (whose signs are basically the habits relating to the use of space , for example, the distances that we maintain between us depending on whether we are at home with our partner, or in the office with co-workers); and the chronémico system (where the perception and use of time in different cultures is studied mainly).

That is to say, the difference between proxemic and kinesthetic is that the former refers to the non-verbal communication established by the physical distances that we put when relating to each other; and kinésica is the nonverbal communication that is established by means of bodily movements such as gestures and also by proprioception.

Its importance in communication and social studies

According to Hall, the physical distances we establish are determined by cultural norms that tell us, for example, what the limits are in the public space and what are in the private space, or what does the word inside mean and the word outside regarding furniture or individual spaces inside the home; spaces that are also influenced by age or gender or by the social status of each person.

The proxemic norms, in addition, are those that reaffirm a group of human beings as a "group" and not as another, that is, they delimit the characteristics that some people have in common, reinforcing the intragroup identity, and sometimes hindering intergroup identity.

That is why it has important effects on the communication that we establish both with our group of belonging and with similar groups, and it allows us to understand how we build a particular image of the world, as well as the rules of coexistence in different contexts.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cestero, A. (2014). Non-verbal communication and effective communication. ELUA Magazine, 28: 125-150
  • Schmidt, S. (2013). Proxemics and intercultural communication: non-verbal communication in the teaching of e / le. Doctoral thesis to obtain the degree of Doctor in Spanish Philology, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona.
  • Losada, F. (2001). The space lived. A semiotic approach Notebooks of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of the National University of Jujuy. 17: 271-294.

Proxemics: the study of personal space (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Proxemics: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça nous aide à comprendre les espaces

Proxemics: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça nous aide à comprendre les espaces

Janvier 17, 2022

Proxemics est l’étude des relations et de la communication que nous, humains, établissons à travers l'espace et à travers les distances que nous mettons entre nous et vers les choses qui nous entourent.

Ensuite nous verrons ce qu'est la proxémie , en quoi cette théorie a contribué aux sciences de la communication et en quoi elle se distingue des autres formes de communication non verbale, telles que la kinesthésie.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie culturelle?"

Qu'est-ce que la proxémie?

Proxemics est une théorie qui a émergé dans les années 1960 et a été développé par l'anthropologue américain Edward T. Hall , qui a étudié la manière dont nous percevons l’espace dans différentes cultures et comment nous l’utilisons pour établir différentes relations.


En d'autres termes, Proxemics est l’étude de la proximité , et comment la proximité nous permet de communiquer les uns avec les autres et même d’établir des relations et une vision du monde particulière.

Aussi connu sous le nom de proxémie, il est considéré comme faisant partie de la sémiotique (qui est l'étude des signes que nous utilisons pour communiquer), car il prête attention à la manière dont les distances physiques établies dans différentes cultures nous font communiquer de différentes manières. et pas nécessairement verbalement.

En d'autres termes, la proxémie comprend non seulement les compétences de communication individuelles, mais également la manière dont les normes sociales et culturelles de l'espace limitent ou conditionnent ces compétences. C'est pourquoi il est considéré comme l'une des branches les plus complexes des systèmes de communication humaine.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Langage proximal: c’est comme ça que l’on utilise les distances pour communiquer"

Systèmes de communication et certains types

Pour expliquer plus en détail ce qu'est la proxémie, rappelons-nous que la communication humaine est un système très complexe . En termes de base, il consiste à comprendre et à utiliser un ensemble de signes et de symboles pour transmettre certaines informations (par exemple, des idées, des sentiments, des opinions, des émotions, des humeurs, etc.).

Autrement dit, le processus et la capacité de communiquer il ne s'agit pas de compétences linguistiques (comme être capable de parler ou de comprendre une langue), mais implique un ensemble d’actions beaucoup plus complexes auxquelles notre corps participe toujours.

Le schéma de communication standard et le plus élémentaire comprend deux caractères principaux: un émetteur et un récepteur; qui sont ceux qui émettent, codent et reçoivent un message.


Ce message peut inclure les deux signes linguistiques, tels que des mots, des phrases ou des déclarations; comme des mouvements du corps qui transmettent également des informations. Cette information, ainsi que son organisation et sa transmission, dépendent de la situation sociale, géographique et culturelle dans laquelle se trouvent l'expéditeur et le destinataire; ainsi que leurs propres compétences grammaticales, discursives, stratégiques et sociolinguistiques .

En général, deux types principaux de communication sont reconnus: verbal et non verbal, qui ne sont pas vraiment séparés l'un de l'autre, mais se manifestent au même niveau que chaque relation que nous établissons avec d'autres personnes.

Communication non verbale et différence entre la proxémique et la kinésie

La communication verbale est ce qui est établi à partir de signes et de symboles linguistiques transmis par le mot parlé. D'autre part, la communication non verbale est celle qui est établie par des signes non verbaux qui transmettre des informations sur le caractère, la personnalité ou l'humeur .

Ces derniers signes peuvent inclure, par exemple, des pleurs, des rires, des cris (qui sont des signes paralinguistiques); ou, ils peuvent impliquer des gestes, des signes ou des mimiques (qui sont les signes kinesthésiques). Les deux types de signes, paralinguistique et kinesthésique, sont des éléments de base de la communication non verbale. Mais, il existe également un autre type de communication non verbale, plus complexe, car elle implique les éléments culturels et sociaux qui définissent la manière dont nous utilisons le corps et l’espace, voire le temps nécessaire pour transmettre des informations dans différents contextes et situations.

Ces derniers sont le système proxémique (dont les signes sont essentiellement les habitudes relative à l'utilisation de l'espace par exemple, les distances que nous maintenons entre nous, selon que nous sommes à la maison avec notre partenaire ou au bureau avec des collègues); et le système chronémico (où la perception et l'utilisation du temps dans différentes cultures sont principalement étudiées).

C'est-à-dire que la différence entre proxémique et kinesthésique est que le premier se réfère à la communication non-verbale établie par les distances physiques que nous mettons en relation l'un avec l'autre; et kinésica est la communication non verbale qui est établie au moyen de mouvements corporels tels que des gestes et également par la proprioception.

Son importance en communication et en études sociales

Selon Hall, les distances physiques que nous établissons sont déterminées par des normes culturelles qui nous indiquent, par exemple, quelles sont les limites de l’espace public et celles de l’espace privé, ou Que signifie le mot à l'intérieur et le mot à l'extérieur concernant les meubles ou les espaces individuels à l'intérieur de la maison; espaces également influencés par l’âge, le sexe ou le statut social de chaque personne.

Les normes proxémiques, en plus, sont ceux qui réaffirment un groupe d'êtres humains en tant que "groupe" et non pas comme un autre, c’est-à-dire qu’elles délimitent les caractéristiques communes à certaines personnes, renforçant ainsi l’identité intragroupe et empêchant parfois l’identité intergroupe.

C’est pourquoi elle a des effets importants sur la communication que nous établissons à la fois avec notre groupe d’appartenance et avec des groupes similaires, et nous permet de comprendre comment nous construisons une image particulière du monde, ainsi que les règles de coexistence dans différents contextes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cestero, A. (2014). Communication non verbale et communication efficace. ELUA Magazine, 28: 125-150
  • Schmidt, S. (2013). Proxemics et communication interculturelle: communication non verbale dans l'enseignement de l'e / le. Thèse de doctorat pour l'obtention du diplôme de docteur en philologie espagnole, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona.
  • Losada, F. (2001). L'espace vécu. Une approche sémiotique Cahiers de la Faculté des sciences humaines et sociales de l'Université nationale de Jujuy. 17: 271-294.

Relativité restreinte vs physique quantique (pte 4) (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes