yes, therapy helps!
Psious: virtual reality to deal with anxiety disorders

Psious: virtual reality to deal with anxiety disorders

May 9, 2021

The human brain is one of the most complex systems that exist, but with the passage of time new technologies are emerging that allow us to study its operation and intervene in it effectively. Among these novel proposals are those that have to do with the use of virtual reality, that is, the design and modeling of fictitious environments that we can explore through electronic devices placed in our eyes, ears, etc.

Interview with Xavier Palomer, CEO of Psious

Today we interview Xavier Palomer , CEO and co-founder of Psious, an ambitious project born in Barcelona that aims to bring virtual reality sessions closer to clinical intervention.


What is Psious and how was the initial idea of ​​undertaking this project born?

Psious Toolsuite is the first online platform speci fi cally created for mental health. It is an app designed by psychologists for psychologists who uses virtual reality and 3D technology for the treatment of anxiety disorders.

The project was started by Dani Roig, the other founder, and myself. We met in physics faculty. Dani was afraid to fly and looking for a therapy to heal the idea arose. We wanted to improve cognitive behavioral therapies with something more effective than imagination or in vivo. Today we can say that we are achieving it.

The project was born in Barcelona, ​​where the effects of the economic crisis are still noticeable. To what extent do you find it difficult to pull the project forward from here? How have you experienced the process of seeking financing?

The process of finding financing, not only in Spain, in Europe, was very difficult or almost impossible to obtain financing. We get little at a huge cost. We had to go to the US to look for investors and, fortunately, we did it. A fund from Silicon Valley (San Francisco), Rothenburg Ventures, saw potential in our application and invested. In the round of financing they invested other funds, including CaixaHolding, which is part of La Caixa. The process of seeking funding was very hard and we had to fight against many adversities, but the result has been worth every effort and minute spent.


We have had a hard time starting in Spain, introducing technology in a market such as psychology. We are creating a network of virtual reality experts to learn and improve on this technology applied to treatments of anxiety disorders. With which we have treated more than 1000 patients.

It has long been investigated about phobias and anxiety disorders using resources such as virtual reality. Why has so little been used in clinical intervention?

Think that Virtual Reality is a technology that until today only a few used due to its high cost. 20 years of studies show that VR works in the field of mental health, but it has not been until now when we have been able to take it to consultations at an affordable cost. One of the objectives of Psious is to democratize the RV for treatments and, honestly, little by little we are achieving it. To date, we can say that more than 500 mental health professionals already use this technology in their practice and that more than 1000 patients have already been successfully treated and that we have been in the market for a few months.


Psious has received several national and international awards. How is he doing in the market?

The awards are just the icing on the cake for good results and hard work from our team. The truth is that we are doing well. We are growing very fast. In Spain we can say that we practically have no competition where we have about 350 mental health professionals. In the US it is a bit more difficult to enter because people there prefer to treat themselves with medicines to save money and time, it is another culture and it is always a little more complicated. We have more than 100 in America, and in the rest of the world more than 50. Every day we have a new client, in a very short time we have climbed very quickly.

It is possible that some patients distrust so novel treatments and based on the use of a technology that they do not know. How would you convince them? What are the advantages of virtual reality-based treatments over other forms of psychotherapy?

Surprisingly, it is the opposite. The first thing that transmits them to see the Virtual Reality glasses is motivation, curiosity, laughter, emotion ... there are data that confirm that using this tool the patient has more facility at the time of starting a therapy than with imagination or in vivo . Having the therapist makes patients feel safe. Although their brain makes them believe at times that they are somewhere else, they know that in reality they are safe and protected. They are only exposed to a certain dose of anxiety, always modulated and controlled by the psychologist.Patients are motivated at the time of being treated because most of them want to solve possible problems that do not allow them a full life.

Cognitive behavioral therapy of Virtual Reality is more realistic and, therefore, more effective than therapy by imagination (many people do not have sufficient imaginative capacity to be treated). On the other hand, RV is safer than in vivo exposure (real exposure) that is impractical for recurrent use. With Psious Toolsuite the therapist can control the vitals of the patient through biofeedback and control at all times their levels of anxiety in order to have more precision in the treatment and ensure their well-being.

What kind of training do people have that are directly involved in the design and modeling of the virtual environments used in Psious?

The design of the environments is carried out by psychologists, the designers of Virtual Reality create them and computer engineers upload them to the platform.

Today, with how many "environments" or "scenarios" does the Psious catalog count? At what rate do you have thought that new options will be created?

Taking into account that for each concrete phobia or exercise there is more than one environment, right now we have a catalog of more than 30.

We are going at a very good rhythm. Our production department is growing. Right now we have just launched the first social phobia environment.

What are the next objectives to achieve in the short and medium term?

In the short term, we want to continue growing in Spain, increasing the number of expert psychologists dealing with virtual reality and the number of patients treated with this technology. We want to position virtual reality as one of the most used tools in psychology and for this we need the collaboration of psychologists and professionals in the sector. In the medium-short term we want to extend the product to the entire American continent, from north to south, where we already have several professionals using us and we generate a lot of interest.

In terms of product, we are continually developing new virtual reality environments. A few days ago we launched environments to treat social phobia or train and practice social skills.


Overcome your fears in virtual reality (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psious: la réalité virtuelle pour traiter les troubles anxieux

Psious: la réalité virtuelle pour traiter les troubles anxieux

Juillet 25, 2022

Le cerveau humain est l’un des systèmes les plus complexes qui existent, mais avec le temps, de nouvelles technologies font leur apparition, nous permettant d’étudier son fonctionnement et d’y intervenir efficacement. Parmi ces propositions novatrices, citons celles qui ont trait à l’utilisation de la réalité virtuelle, c’est-à-dire à la conception et à la modélisation d’environnements fictifs que nous pouvons explorer au moyen de dispositifs électroniques placés dans nos yeux, nos oreilles, etc.

Entretien avec Xavier Palomer, PDG de Psious

Aujourd'hui nous interviewons Xavier Palomer , PDG et cofondateur de Psious, un ambitieux projet né à Barcelone qui vise à rapprocher les séances de réalité virtuelle de l’intervention clinique.


Qu'est-ce que Psious et comment est née l'idée initiale de ce projet?

Psious Tools Suite est la première plate-forme en ligne spécialement créée pour la santé mentale. C'est une application conçue par des psychologues pour des psychologues qui utilisent la réalité virtuelle et la technologie 3D pour le traitement des troubles anxieux.

Le projet a été lancé par Dani Roig, l'autre fondateur, et moi-même. Nous nous sommes rencontrés à la faculté de physique. Dani avait peur de voler et cherchait une thérapie pour guérir cette idée. Nous voulions améliorer les thérapies comportementales cognitives avec quelque chose de plus efficace que l'imagination ou in vivo. Aujourd'hui, nous pouvons dire que nous y parvenons.

Le projet est né à Barcelone, où les effets de la crise économique sont encore perceptibles. Dans quelle mesure trouvez-vous difficile de faire avancer le projet d'ici? Comment avez-vous vécu le processus de recherche de financement?

Le processus de recherche de financement, non seulement en Espagne, mais également en Europe, a été très difficile voire presque impossible à obtenir. Nous obtenons peu à un coût énorme. Nous avons dû nous rendre aux États-Unis pour chercher des investisseurs et, heureusement, nous l'avons fait. Un fonds de la Silicon Valley (San Francisco), Rothenburg Ventures, a vu le potentiel de notre application et a investi. Dans la ronde de financement, ils ont investi d'autres fonds, y compris CaixaHolding, qui fait partie de La Caixa. Le processus de recherche de financement a été très difficile et nous avons dû lutter contre de nombreuses adversités, mais le résultat en a valu la peine.


Nous avons eu du mal à démarrer en Espagne en introduisant la technologie sur un marché tel que la psychologie. Nous créons un réseau d’experts en réalité virtuelle pour apprendre et améliorer cette technologie appliquée au traitement des troubles anxieux, avec laquelle nous avons traité plus de 1000 patients.

Il a longtemps été étudié sur les phobies et les troubles anxieux en utilisant des ressources telles que la réalité virtuelle. Pourquoi a-t-on si peu utilisé en intervention clinique?

Pensez que la réalité virtuelle est une technologie qui jusqu’à présent n’était utilisée que par peu en raison de son coût élevé. Vingt ans d’études montrent que la réalité virtuelle s’applique dans le domaine de la santé mentale, mais il n’a pas encore été possible jusqu’à présent de la mener à des consultations à un coût abordable. Un des objectifs de Psious est de démocratiser le VR pour les traitements et, honnêtement, nous le réalisons petit à petit. À ce jour, nous pouvons dire que plus de 500 professionnels de la santé mentale utilisent déjà cette technologie dans leur pratique et que plus de 1 000 patients ont déjà été traités avec succès et que nous sommes sur le marché depuis quelques mois.


Psious a reçu plusieurs prix nationaux et internationaux. Comment va-t-il sur le marché?

Les récompenses ne sont que la cerise sur le gâteau pour les bons résultats et le travail ardu de notre équipe. La vérité est que nous allons bien. Nous grandissons très vite. En Espagne, nous pouvons dire que nous n’avons pratiquement pas de concurrence où nous avons environ 350 professionnels de la santé mentale. Aux États-Unis, il est un peu plus difficile d'entrer parce que les gens là-bas préfèrent se traiter avec des médicaments pour gagner du temps et de l'argent, c'est une autre culture et c'est toujours un peu plus compliqué. Nous en avons plus de 100 en Amérique, et dans le reste du monde plus de 50. Chaque jour, nous avons un nouveau client, très rapidement, nous avons grimpé très vite.

Il est possible que certains patients se méfient de traitements si nouveaux et basés sur l'utilisation d'une technologie qu'ils ne connaissent pas. Comment pourriez-vous les convaincre? Quels sont les avantages des traitements basés sur la réalité virtuelle par rapport aux autres formes de psychothérapie?

Étonnamment, c'est le contraire. La première chose qui les transmet pour voir les lunettes de réalité virtuelle est la motivation, la curiosité, le rire, l’émotion ... il existe des données qui confirment que l’utilisation de cet outil donne plus de facilité au patient au moment de commencer une thérapie qu’avec imagination ou in vivo. . Avoir le thérapeute permet aux patients de se sentir en sécurité. Bien que leur cerveau leur fasse croire parfois qu'ils sont ailleurs, ils savent qu'en réalité ils sont en sécurité et protégés. Ils ne sont exposés qu'à une certaine dose d'anxiété, toujours modulée et contrôlée par le psychologue.Les patients sont motivés au moment de se faire soigner parce que la plupart d'entre eux veulent résoudre des problèmes qui ne leur permettent pas une vie bien remplie.

La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale de la réalité virtuelle est plus réaliste et donc plus efficace que la thérapie par l'imagination (beaucoup de personnes n'ont pas la capacité imaginative suffisante pour être traitées). D'autre part, le RV est plus sûr qu'une exposition in vivo (exposition réelle) peu pratique pour un usage récurrent. Avec Psious Toolsuite, le thérapeute peut contrôler les données vitales du patient par biofeedback et contrôler à tout moment son niveau d'anxiété afin d'obtenir plus de précision dans le traitement et d'assurer son bien-être.

Quel type de formation les personnes participent-elles directement à la conception et à la modélisation des environnements virtuels utilisés dans Psious?

La conception des environnements est réalisée par des psychologues, les concepteurs de la réalité virtuelle les créent et les informaticiens les téléchargent sur la plate-forme.

Aujourd'hui, avec combien "d'environnements" ou de "scénarios" le catalogue Psious compte-t-il? A quel taux avez-vous pensé que de nouvelles options seraient créées?

Tenant compte du fait que pour chaque phobie ou exercice concret, il existe plus d’un environnement, nous disposons actuellement d’un catalogue de plus de 30.

Nous allons à un très bon rythme. Notre département de production s'agrandit. Nous venons tout juste de lancer le premier environnement de phobie sociale.

Quels sont les prochains objectifs à atteindre à court et moyen terme?

À court terme, nous souhaitons continuer à croître en Espagne, en augmentant le nombre d’experts psychologues traitant de la réalité virtuelle et le nombre de patients traités avec cette technologie. Nous voulons positionner la réalité virtuelle comme l’un des outils les plus utilisés en psychologie. Pour ce faire, nous avons besoin de la collaboration de psychologues et de professionnels du secteur. À moyen et à court terme, nous souhaitons étendre le produit à l’ensemble du continent américain, du nord au sud, où nous avons déjà plusieurs professionnels qui nous utilisent et qui suscitent beaucoup d’intérêt.

En termes de produit, nous développons continuellement de nouveaux environnements de réalité virtuelle. Il y a quelques jours, nous avons lancé des environnements pour traiter la phobie sociale ou pour former et mettre en pratique des compétences sociales.


Gear VR Demonstration (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes