yes, therapy helps!
Psychoactive substances: what are they and how are they classified?

Psychoactive substances: what are they and how are they classified?

June 24, 2021

Psychoactive substances are chemical substances (drugs or psychotropic drugs) of natural or synthetic origin that affect the functions of the central nervous system (CNS), that is, to the brain and the spinal cord. Among its effects, we can find the inhibition of pain, the change of mood, the alteration of perception, and so on.

Although drugs are associated with therapeutic and medicinal use, drugs are often considered recreational. The latter tend to relate to young people, but in reality they are consumed by people of very different profiles and of different ages.

Psychoactive substances are very versatile and have a wide repertoire of effects. It should be noted that some psychoactive substances are considered drugs and psychotropic drugs. One example is the Xyrem, which as medical use can be used for the treatment of narcolepsy, but in leisure circuits it is called liquid ecstasy or GHB.


You can know more about this substance in our article: "GHB: the drug that rapists use to neutralize their victims"

Psychoactive substances: their beginnings

Psychoactive substances have not only been used by modern man, but have been consumed for thousands of years. In fact, there are discoveries that indicate that they have been consumed since 3000 BC. The data suggest that opioids were already taken at that time. Later, it is known that the Aztecs made use of peyote and some shamans of hallucinogenic substances.

How psychoactive substances are classified

In the following lines we have made a classification of psychoactive substances differentiating the psychotropic drugs.


Types of psychotropic drugs

There is a great variety of psychotropic drugs and, therefore, they can be classified in different ways. None of the categories listed below are better than the rest, but we have taken into account the functionality or usefulness of each group of psychotropic drugs.

1. Neuroleptics and antipsychotics

They are psychotropic drugs that are used to treat psychotic crises. Some of these drugs have potent side effects, and often consume them, for example, patients with schizophrenia or paranoid disorder. Among the best known are haloperidol or olanzapine.

2. Anxiolytics and Hypnotic-sedatives

Anxiety disorders are one of the most frequent reasons for psychological consultation, so these psychotropic drugs are also the most used. Some of these drugs, which are included in this classification, are used as sedatives to facilitate sleep. We can highlight the diazepam (valium) or the tranquimazin.


3. Antidepressants

They are the psychotropic drugs used to treat depression, and they tend to increase the presence of serotonin, noradrenaline or dopamine in the brain thanks to different actions. For example, by inhibiting the reuptake enzymes. Highlights, among others, fluoxetine (or prozac) or sertraline.

4. Mood stabilizers / Eutimizers

This type of psychotropic drugs are psychoactive substances that are used in the case in which a patient suffers bipolar disorder, in this way, it is possible to stabilize the mood and keep it stable. We can highlight lithium salts or carbamazepine.

  • You can delve into these classifications in our article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Types of drugs

Drugs also have different effects and can be classified in several ways. They are the following.

According to its legality

According to their legality, drugs can be classified into:

  • Legal drugs: are those that are allowed by the law of a country. These laws can change from one country to another. In Spain, alcohol or tobacco are legal drugs.
  • Illegal drugs: are those that their consumption is not allowed in a country. In Spain, for example, we can talk about cocaine or ecstasy. The drug traffickers are responsible for marketing this type of substance, one of the best known was Pablo Escobar. You can read his biography in our article: "Biography and personality of Pablo Escobar, the irreducible narco"

According to how they are consumed

Drugs can be consumed in different ways. But what are they?

  • Smoked: tobacco, hashish or "crack" are some examples.
  • Oral route: ecstasy, alcohol, LSD
  • Inspired: speed, cocaine streaks.
  • Inhaled: glue, popper.
  • Injected: heroin

According to its effect on the central nervous system (CNS)

According to its effects, drugs can be classified in the following ways:

  • Depressants of the nervous system : They produce an inhibitory effect on some functions of the central nervous system.Alcohol, hypnotics (sleeping pills or barbiturates), anxiolytics such as benzodiazepines, opiates (heroin, morphine, methadone, etc.) or tranquilizers belong to this group.
  • Stimulants of the nervous system : They produce an opposite effect to the previous ones and they are exciting drugs, which provoke sensation of energy and stimulation of the waking state. Amphetamines, nicotine, cocaine or caffeine belong to this group. Psychedelic or disturbing substances: These are substances that cause hallucinations and exaggerated changes in perception. The best known are: LSD, mescaline, ketamine and MDMA

Drug use is very widespread today, and the variety of these is very remarkable. Some of these drugs are natural, produced by nature itself. Others, the synthetic ones, follow a series of chemical processes for their creation. The immediacy of its effects has to do with the rapidity in which the active principle passes into the blood. Generally, injectable drugs are the ones that cause the most rapid effects, and also the most addictive ones.

  • If you want more information about drugs, you can read our article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Classes of psychoactive drugs (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Substances psychoactives: que sont-elles et comment sont-elles classées?

Substances psychoactives: que sont-elles et comment sont-elles classées?

Juillet 18, 2022

Les substances psychoactives sont des substances chimiques (drogues ou psychotropes) d'origine naturelle ou synthétique qui affectent les fonctions du système nerveux central. (SNC), c’est-à-dire au cerveau et à la moelle épinière. Parmi ses effets, on trouve l'inhibition de la douleur, le changement d'humeur, l'altération de la perception, etc.

Bien que les drogues soient associées à une utilisation thérapeutique et médicinale, les drogues sont souvent considérées comme récréatives. Ces derniers ont tendance à toucher les jeunes mais, en réalité, ils sont consommés par des personnes de profils et d'âges très différents.

Les substances psychoactives sont très polyvalentes et ont un large répertoire d’effets. Il convient de noter que certaines substances psychoactives sont considérées comme des drogues et des drogues psychotropes. Un exemple est le Xyrem, qui peut être utilisé à des fins médicales pour le traitement de la narcolepsie, mais dans les circuits de loisirs, il est appelé ecstasy liquide ou GHB.


Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette substance dans notre article: "GHB: la drogue que les violeurs utilisent pour neutraliser leurs victimes"

Substances psychoactives: leurs débuts

Les substances psychoactives ont non seulement été utilisées par l'homme moderne, mais ont été consommées pendant des milliers d'années. En fait, certaines découvertes indiquent qu'ils ont été consommés depuis 3000 ans av. Les données suggèrent que les opioïdes étaient déjà pris à cette époque. Plus tard, on sait que les Aztèques utilisaient du peyotl et certains chamans de substances hallucinogènes.

Comment sont classées les substances psychoactives

Dans les lignes suivantes, nous avons effectué une classification des substances psychoactives différenciant les substances psychotropes.


Types de drogues psychotropes

Il existe une grande variété de médicaments psychotropes et, par conséquent, ils peuvent être classés de différentes manières. Aucune des catégories énumérées ci-dessous n'est meilleure que les autres, mais nous avons pris en compte la fonctionnalité ou l'utilité de chaque groupe de médicaments psychotropes.

1. Neuroleptiques et antipsychotiques

Ce sont des médicaments psychotropes utilisés pour traiter les crises psychotiques. Certains de ces médicaments ont des effets secondaires puissants et les consomment souvent, par exemple chez les patients atteints de schizophrénie ou de troubles paranoïaques. Les plus connus sont l'halopéridol ou l'olanzapine.

2. Anxiolytiques et hypnotiques-sédatifs

Les troubles anxieux étant l’une des raisons les plus fréquentes de consultation psychologique, ces médicaments psychotropes sont également les plus utilisés. Certains de ces médicaments, qui entrent dans cette classification, sont utilisés comme sédatifs pour faciliter le sommeil. Nous pouvons mettre en évidence le diazépam (valium) ou la tranquimazine.


3. antidépresseurs

Ce sont les médicaments psychotropes utilisés pour traiter la dépression et ils ont tendance à augmenter la présence de sérotonine, de noradrénaline ou de dopamine dans le cerveau grâce à différentes actions. Par exemple, en inhibant les enzymes de la recapture. Met en évidence, entre autres, la fluoxétine (ou le prozac) ou la sertraline.

4. Stabilisateurs d'humeur / Eutimisants

Ce type de médicaments psychotropes sont des substances psychoactives qui sont utilisées dans le cas où un patient souffre de trouble bipolaire. Il est ainsi possible de stabiliser l’humeur et de la maintenir stable. Nous pouvons mettre en évidence les sels de lithium ou la carbamazépine.

  • Vous pouvez approfondir ces classifications dans notre article: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Types de drogues

Les drogues ont également des effets différents et peuvent être classées de plusieurs manières. Ils sont les suivants.

Selon sa légalité

Selon leur légalité, les drogues peuvent être classées en:

  • Drogues légales: sont celles autorisées par la loi d'un pays. Ces lois peuvent changer d'un pays à l'autre. En Espagne, l'alcool ou le tabac sont des drogues légales.
  • Drogues illicites: sont celles pour lesquelles leur consommation n'est pas autorisée dans un pays. En Espagne, par exemple, on peut parler de cocaïne ou d’ecstasy. Les trafiquants de drogue sont responsables de la commercialisation de ce type de substance, l’un des plus connus étant Pablo Escobar. Vous pouvez lire sa biographie dans notre article: "Biographie et personnalité de Pablo Escobar, l'irréductible narco"

Selon la façon dont ils sont consommés

Les drogues peuvent être consommées de différentes manières. Mais que sont-ils?

  • Fumé: tabac, haschisch ou "crack" en sont des exemples.
  • Voie orale: ecstasy, alcool, LSD
  • Inspiré: vitesse, traînées de cocaïne.
  • Inhalé: colle, popper.
  • Injecté: l'héroïne

Selon son effet sur le système nerveux central (SNC)

Selon ses effets, les médicaments peuvent être classés comme suit:

  • Dépresseurs du système nerveux : Ils produisent un effet inhibiteur sur certaines fonctions du système nerveux central.L’alcool, les hypnotiques (somnifères ou barbituriques), les anxiolytiques comme les benzodiazépines, les opiacés (héroïne, morphine, méthadone, etc.) ou les tranquillisants appartiennent à ce groupe.
  • Stimulants du système nerveux : Ils produisent un effet opposé aux précédents et sont des médicaments excitants, qui provoquent une sensation d’énergie et stimulent l’état de veille. Les amphétamines, la nicotine, la cocaïne ou la caféine appartiennent à ce groupe. Substances psychédéliques ou dérangeantes: Ce sont des substances qui provoquent des hallucinations et des changements de perception exagérés. Les plus connus sont: le LSD, la mescaline, la kétamine et la MDMA

L’usage de drogues est très répandu aujourd’hui et sa variété est très remarquable. Certains de ces médicaments sont naturels, produits par la nature elle-même. D'autres, les synthétiques, suivent une série de processus chimiques pour leur création. L’immédiateté de ses effets est liée à la rapidité avec laquelle le principe actif passe dans le sang. En règle générale, les drogues injectables sont celles qui provoquent les effets les plus rapides et les plus addictifs.

  • Si vous souhaitez plus d'informations sur les drogues, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

L' Addiction et les Effets des Substances psychoactives sur le Cerveau (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes