yes, therapy helps!
Psychological diagnosis? Yes or no?

Psychological diagnosis? Yes or no?

July 19, 2024

Since the beginning of psychology as a science responsible for the study of the mind and human behavior, numerous investigations have been carried out to determine the origins, consequences and perpetuating factors of the vast majority of psychological disorders.

But... Does this initiative have to name psychological phenomena some drawback?

  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

The investigation of mental disorders

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) and the World Health Organization (WHO) are two of the organizations that have invested the most time and effort in trying to understand in greater depth and provide clarification about how mental disorders work , what are the symptoms associated with each of them, how to detect them (how many symptoms must be present in order to establish an accurate diagnosis and for how long), etc. This information is reflected in their corresponding diagnostic manuals: the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V) and the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10).


The APA and other institutions such as the National Institute for Health and Care Excellente (NICE) have also been in charge since the 90s to verify which treatments are the most effective for each type of disorder, trying to establish empirical validations of different ways of carrying out out a therapeutic process.

Specifically, division 12 of the APA, created in 1993 a working group on the promotion and dissemination of psychological treatments based on the findings of their research, leading to the development of treatment guides with a theoretical-practical basis adapted to the characteristics of each disorder.

On the other hand, NICE's action includes the provision of information, education and guidance, the promotion of prevention and the proposal of ways to proceed in primary care and specialized services.


  • You may be interested: "No, mental disorders are not adjectives"

Different perspectives from which to investigate

The main difference we can find between one organism and another is how the APA focuses on the investigation of "classic" or "pure" disorders, while the NICE addresses issues that do not necessarily meet a clinical diagnosis, but rather Launches strategies to improve mental health in general (pregnancies, adherence to treatment, suspicion of abuse in childhood, welfare in the elderly, etc.).

In the case of the APA, "Purism" is a factor that usually limits the clinical performance because it is rare for a disorder to appear in its purest and most easily recognizable form, but criteria for other disorders (comorbidity) are usually met or variations of greater complexity are presented.


Therefore, in psychology to this day we have a wide range of research not only on the different types of disorders that we can find, but on which are the most appropriate ways of approaching them (to date).

Is the psychological diagnosis useful?

Usually, the procedure when you are going to perform some kind of psychological treatment is begin with an evaluation phase . In this phase, the interview known as the clinic provides us with a large amount of information about the situation of the patient in question.

Depending on the current of therapy from which each psychologist works, the interviews can have a more open or more structured format, but they will always have the objective of knowing in greater depth the functioning and environment of the person in front .

The evaluation phase can allow us to establish a diagnosis if there is a disorder, since some of the difficulties that arise in consultation (known as Z codes) are not included in the diagnostic manuals because they are considered critical situations / changes in the life cycle more than mental disorders (cases of separation, marital dissatisfaction, difficulties in managing the behavior of the children, duels, etc.).

In the case of a disorder, in the evaluation phase (in which, in addition to interviews, standardized questionnaires can be used) we will have been able to clarify the symptomatology, the course and the evolution of the patient's condition , as well as giving a name to the experience that is living.

This diagnosis, based on the aforementioned, allows us in a very useful way to know with what difficulty we are relating and to establish the most appropriate treatment mode for each person, so that we address the problem in the most effective and efficient way possible.

Should we always offer a diagnosis?

As health professionals we must take into account that each person is completely different from any other , and that what we would transmit to one patient may be harmful to another.

The diagnosis helps the professionals to understand and clarify the situation that is before us, as well as to design and plan our way of acting to solve it. However, we must be very careful when establishing diagnoses, since there are several dangers:

The label can be converted indirectly into a definition of the person

That is, we no longer talk about "X has schizophrenia", but we can incur "X is schizophrenic".

Diagnosis can lead to victimization of the patient

Whether prudently or not, establish a diagnosis can lead to the person being absorbed by his label : "I can not do X because I am agoraphobic".

The little detailed diagnosis can lead to a state of confusion in the patient

If sufficient information is not provided and the patient does not understand what is really happening to them, it is very likely that they "fill in" the gaps of information with data that can be extracted from less reliable sources than a health professional, generating negative and unrealistic expectations about your mental state .

The diagnostic label can generate feelings of guilt

"Something I've done to deserve this."

conclusion

Bearing this in mind, it goes without saying that for psychologists it is extremely complicated not to establish a mental diagnosis of the situation that is presented to us, since the diagnostic labels they facilitate the understanding of information in our mental schemes .

But, despite this, if the patient does not directly request a diagnosis for some reason, it is likely that they do not need to know what name the experience is going through, and simply seek to resolve it.

On the other hand, if we find a great insistence on "labeling" what is happening, it is important to first clarify whether the request has a solid basis in the person or can be influenced and pushed by other means with which it is related (social links, data on the internet, etc.).


A tale of mental illness | Elyn Saks (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Diagnostic psychologique? Oui ou non?

Diagnostic psychologique? Oui ou non?

Juillet 19, 2022

Depuis le début de la psychologie en tant que science responsable de l'étude de l'esprit et du comportement humain, de nombreuses recherches ont été menées pour déterminer les origines, les conséquences et les facteurs perpétuants de la grande majorité des troubles psychologiques.

Mais ... Cette initiative doit-elle nommer des phénomènes psychologiques un inconvénient?

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

L'enquête sur les troubles mentaux

L’American Psychiatric Association (APA) et l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) sont deux des organisations qui ont investi le plus de temps et d’efforts pour tenter de comprendre plus en profondeur et clarifier le fonctionnement des troubles mentaux , quels sont les symptômes associés à chacun d’eux, comment les détecter (combien de symptômes doivent être présents pour pouvoir établir un diagnostic précis et pour combien de temps), etc. Ces informations sont reflétées dans les manuels de diagnostic correspondants: Manuel de diagnostic et de statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-V) et Classification internationale des maladies (CIM-10).


L’APA et d’autres institutions telles que l’Institut national de la santé et des soins excellents (NICE) sont également chargées depuis les années 90 de vérifier les traitements les plus efficaces pour chaque type de trouble, en essayant d’établir des validations empiriques de différentes manières de procéder. un processus thérapeutique.

Plus précisément, la division 12 de l’APA a créé en 1993 un groupe de travail sur la promotion et la diffusion de traitements psychologiques sur la base des résultats de leurs recherches, qui a conduit au développement de guides de traitement avec une base théorique-pratique adapté aux caractéristiques de chaque trouble.

Par ailleurs, l'action du NICE comprend la fourniture d'informations, l'éducation et l'orientation, la promotion de la prévention et la proposition de moyens de procéder dans les soins primaires et les services spécialisés.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Non, les troubles mentaux ne sont pas des adjectifs"

Différentes perspectives à partir desquelles enquêter

La principale différence que nous pouvons trouver entre un organisme et un autre réside dans le fait que l'APA se concentre sur l'investigation de troubles "classiques" ou "purs", alors que le NICE traite de problèmes qui ne rencontrent pas nécessairement un diagnostic clinique, mais plutôt Lance des stratégies pour améliorer la santé mentale en général (grossesses, adhésion au traitement, suspicion de maltraitance dans l’enfance, bien-être chez les personnes âgées, etc.).

Dans le cas de l'APA, Le "purisme" est un facteur qui limite généralement les performances cliniques car il est rare qu’un trouble apparaisse dans sa forme la plus pure et la plus facilement reconnaissable, mais les critères pour d’autres troubles (comorbidité) sont généralement remplis ou des variations plus complexes sont présentées.


Par conséquent, à ce jour, en psychologie, nous avons un large éventail de recherches, non seulement sur les différents types de troubles que nous pouvons trouver, mais également sur les manières les plus appropriées de les aborder (à ce jour).

Le diagnostic psychologique est-il utile?

Habituellement, la procédure à suivre pour effectuer un traitement psychologique est commencer par une phase d'évaluation . Au cours de cette phase, l’entretien connu sous le nom de clinique nous fournit une grande quantité d’informations sur la situation du patient en question.

En fonction du courant thérapeutique auquel chaque psychologue travaille, les entretiens peuvent avoir un format plus ouvert ou plus structuré, mais ils auront toujours pour objectif de connaître plus en profondeur le fonctionnement et l'environnement de la personne devant .

La phase d’évaluation peut nous permettre d’établir un diagnostic en cas de trouble car certaines des difficultés rencontrées lors de la consultation (codes Z) ne figurent pas dans les manuels de diagnostic car elles sont considérées comme des situations critiques le cycle de vie plus que les troubles mentaux (cas de séparation, insatisfaction conjugale, difficultés à gérer le comportement des enfants, duels, etc.).

Dans le cas d’un trouble, à la phase d’évaluation (dans laquelle, en plus des entretiens, des questionnaires standardisés peuvent être utilisés) nous aurons pu clarifier la symptomatologie, l'évolution et l'évolution de l'état du patient , ainsi que donner un nom à l'expérience vécue.

Ce diagnostic, basé sur ce qui précède, nous permet de connaître très utilement les difficultés que nous rencontrons et d’établir le mode de traitement le plus approprié pour chaque personne, de manière à résoudre le problème de la manière la plus efficace et la plus rentable qui soit.

Devons-nous toujours proposer un diagnostic?

En tant que professionnels de la santé, nous devons tenir compte du fait que chaque personne est complètement différente de toute autre et que ce que nous transmettions à un patient peut être nocif pour un autre.

Le diagnostic aide les professionnels à comprendre et à clarifier la situation à laquelle nous sommes confrontés, ainsi qu’à concevoir et planifier notre façon d’agir pour la résoudre. Cependant, il faut être très prudent lors de l'établissement des diagnostics, car il y a plusieurs dangers:

L'étiquette peut être convertie indirectement en une définition de la personne

C'est-à-dire qu'on ne parle plus de "X a la schizophrénie", mais on peut encourir "X est schizophrène".

Le diagnostic peut conduire à la victimisation du patient

Que ce soit prudemment ou non, établir un diagnostic peut conduire à l'absorption de la personne par son étiquette : "Je ne peux pas faire X parce que je suis agoraphobe".

Le diagnostic peu détaillé peut conduire à un état de confusion chez le patient

Si les informations fournies ne sont pas suffisantes et si le patient ne comprend pas ce qui lui arrive réellement, il est très probable qu'il "comble" les lacunes d'informations avec des données pouvant être extraites de sources moins fiables qu'un professionnel de la santé, générant attentes négatives et irréalistes concernant votre état mental .

L'étiquette de diagnostic peut générer des sentiments de culpabilité

"Quelque chose que j'ai fait pour mériter ça."

conclusion

Gardant cela à l'esprit, il va sans dire que pour les psychologues, il est extrêmement compliqué de ne pas établir un diagnostic mental de la situation qui nous est présenté, car les étiquettes de diagnostic ils nous facilitent la compréhension des informations contenues dans nos schémas mentaux .

Mais malgré cela, si le patient ne demande pas directement un diagnostic pour une raison quelconque, il est probable qu'il n'a pas besoin de savoir quel nom l'expérience subit et cherche simplement à le résoudre.

D'autre part, si nous insistons beaucoup pour "étiqueter" ce qui se passe, il est important de commencer par préciser si la demande a une base solide dans la personne ou si peut être influencé et poussé par d'autres moyens avec lesquels il est lié (liens sociaux, données sur Internet, etc.).


Le Trouble Borderline, c'est quoi ? (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes