yes, therapy helps!
Psychological games: what are they and what are they for?

Psychological games: what are they and what are they for?

September 25, 2022

How many times have you participated or dipped directly or indirectly in psychological games ?

I assure you that many, and none have found a good ending. You can be aware that you often fall into the same situations obtaining the same answers, but you are surely completely unaware of why this happens to you.

What are psychological games?

Two do not play if one does not want to.

Eric Berne , psychiatrist and founder of the theory of Transactional Analysis (A.T.) explained the psychological games as a dysfunctional form of communication used to cover the needs of attention, recognition and affection towards the person, although always in a negative way. We talk about games in mode no fun, that is to say, they are always lost, which entails an enormous emotional cost, both for those who initiate them and for those who join or participate in them.


In this type of isolation, gadgets are used to manipulate and persuade the receiver, unconsciously most of the time, but used repetitively until resentment and interpersonal failure appear.

How do you play?

In any psychological game there is a systematic action , that is, you start at Bait, which is the play made by the first player and then a reaction of continuity is present if the other person decides to participate. Bear in mind that the first player always wins. To understand more clearly how these games are established we can resort to a practical example with the use of the game: "yes, but ..."


Person A: I have many problems in my relationship, if we continue like this I do not know how we will finish ...

Person B: Why do not you part?

Person A: Yes, but if we split up, how will we share custody of the children?

Person B: You can reach an agreement and keep it yourself. By schedules you can combine it better.

Person A: Yes, but I have 3 children, I alone will not be able to take everything as I should.

Person B: You can find someone to help you ...

Person A: Yes, but it would be an economic expense that could not allow me

Person B: "Silence"

This silence offered by person B is the result of the victory of the one who starts the game . But still, the person A could finish the play adding "you see, I can not separate" In this case we see how Person A has joined the game after hearing the first yes, but ... has now introduced the new role of "I just try to help you"


Types of psychological games

The psychological games are varied, Berne classifies them according to themes and scenarios, but we can highlight from power games, to sexual or couple among others . The most prominent are always in marital, life, meeting or office settings.

In this case we can highlight the dramatic Karpman triangle contributed by R. Kertész to highlight the change of theoretical roles that two or more people can follow during the games, in this case the roles of persecutor, savior and victim will lead to characters of the type "Yes, but ..." "Explain your sorrows" or "Everything goes wrong", consecutively.

Objectives and purposes of psychological games

According to E. Berne the three main reasons why a person is unconsciously involved in these games are the following:

  1. To protect against the fear of being unmasked and that the true "I" is exposed
  2. To avoid discomfort that can foster intimacy
  3. To ensure that others do what they want to do

These are the main reasons given by the author, but in a general way we could say that they are used for the purpose of manipulating others instead of establishing healthy relationships and to demonstrate that one is in a certain way in front of others.

The reality is that the use of these games is learned at an early age and then repeated systematically throughout the person's life, until the user becomes aware of its use and tries to remedy it if he observes that these acts are holding back and damaging his lifetime. Most games they destroy the true personality and increase the vulnerability of the person, they affect most areas of life, consume energy and provoke really high levels of frustration, as well as the establishment of insane and degraded relationships, contributing basically discontent and conflicting situations for the individual.

How to detect when we are facing a psychological game?

Well frankly if we stay tuned it will not be difficult to discover the first signs of these games, however you can apply different questions to identify them more easily.

  • How does the game start?
  • As follows?
  • What answers do you get?
  • How you feel?
  • How does the situation end?

Once these questions are applied we can look for alternative behaviors to prevent or avoid falling into these games . Whenever we are aware of the existence of certain behaviors, it will be easier for us to orient ourselves towards a different situation and avoid certain errors.

How to limit and curb this type of games?

From the psychological point of view, breaking these games is the first step to overcome resistance and obtain situations and healthy and direct relationships with others.

  • We must know the dynamics and the functioning of the games to prevent and stop them
  • Reflect on the benefits of continuing to play the game or stopping it
  • Think of alternatives to cover needs and personal needs
  • Search mechanisms and tools to use when someone engages us in a game

Some games to keep in mind

"Why not…? Yes, but ... "

Purpose: The person seeks reassurance from a child's perspective, enclosing the father's position

"I'm going to prove it" or "Mine is better"

Purpose: Competitiveness to seek the final triumph

"We are going to fight you and him"

Purpose: The protagonist seeks to fight others without intervening him, thus satisfying his psychological position

"Look what you forced me to do"

Purpose: To avoid responsibility through justification and "I have no fault"

"How do you get out of this situation?"

Purpose: The person is involved in difficult or complicated situations to be saved

Some conclusions ...

In short, psychological games are searched through transactions between the father, the adult and the child represented in the transactional analysis, evidence the weaknesses of the other to achieve a final benefit , which is never achieved in a positive way.

The game itself is always a risk to the player
-Gadamer, 1970: 149

How to React When Guys Play Psychological Games on You (Remaining Unreactive) (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Jeux psychologiques: que sont-ils et à quoi servent-ils?

Jeux psychologiques: que sont-ils et à quoi servent-ils?

Janvier 22, 2022

Combien de fois avez-vous participé ou plongé directement ou indirectement dans jeux psychologiques ?

Je vous assure que beaucoup, et aucun n'a trouvé une bonne fin. Vous pouvez être conscient que vous tombez souvent dans la même situation en obtenant les mêmes réponses, mais vous ne savez sûrement pas pourquoi cela vous arrive.

Quels sont les jeux psychologiques?

Deux ne jouent pas si on ne veut pas.

Eric Berne , psychiatre et fondateur de la théorie de Analyse transactionnelle (A.T.) a expliqué que les jeux psychologiques étaient une forme de communication dysfonctionnelle utilisée pour couvrir les besoins d’attention, de reconnaissance et d’affection envers la personne, mais toujours de manière négative. On parle de jeux en mode pas amusantc'est-à-dire qu'ils sont toujours perdus, ce qui entraîne un coût émotionnel énorme, à la fois pour ceux qui les initient et pour ceux qui les rejoignent ou y participent.


Dans ce type d'isolement, les gadgets sont utilisés pour manipuler et persuader le destinataire, inconsciemment, la plupart du temps, mais de manière répétitive jusqu'à ce que le ressentiment et l'échec interpersonnel apparaissent.

Comment joues-tu?

Dans tout jeu psychologique, il y a un action systématique c'est-à-dire que vous commencez à Appât, qui est le jeu joué par le premier joueur et ensuite une réaction de continuité est présente si l’autre personne décide de participer. Gardez à l'esprit que le premier joueur gagne toujours. Pour comprendre plus clairement comment ces jeux sont établis, nous pouvons recourir à un exemple concret avec l'utilisation du jeu: "oui, mais ..."


Personne A: J'ai beaucoup de problèmes dans ma relation, si on continue comme ça, je ne sais pas comment on va finir ...

Personne B: Pourquoi tu ne part pas?

Personne A: Oui, mais si nous nous séparons, comment partagerons-nous la garde des enfants?

Personne B: Vous pouvez conclure un accord et le conserver vous-même. Par horaires, vous pouvez mieux le combiner.

Personne A: Oui, mais j'ai 3 enfants, je ne pourrai pas tout prendre comme je devrais.

Personne B: Vous pouvez trouver quelqu'un pour vous aider ...

Personne A: Oui, mais ce serait une dépense économique qui ne pourrait me permettre

Personne B: "Silence"

Ce silence offert par la personne B est le résultat de la victoire de celui qui commence le jeu . Mais quand même, la personne A pourrait terminer la pièce en ajoutant "tu vois, je ne peux pas me séparer". Dans ce cas, nous voyons comment la personne A a rejoint le jeu après avoir entendu le premier oui, mais ... a maintenant introduit le nouveau rôle. de "je viens d'essayer de vous aider"


Types de jeux psychologiques

Les jeux psychologiques sont variés, Berne les classe en fonction de thèmes et de scénarios, mais nous pouvons mettre en valeur des jeux de pouvoir, des relations sexuelles ou des couples, entre autres . Les plus importants sont toujours dans les contextes matrimoniaux, de vie, de réunion ou de bureau.

Dans ce cas, nous pouvons mettre en évidence le triangle dramatique Karpman proposé par R. Kertész pour souligner le changement de rôles théoriques que deux ou plusieurs personnes peuvent suivre pendant les jeux. Dans ce cas, les rôles de persécuteur, de sauveur et de victime conduiront à: caractères du type "Oui, mais ..." "Expliquez vos chagrins" ou "Tout va mal", consécutivement.

Objectifs et buts des jeux psychologiques

Selon E. Berne, les trois principales raisons pour lesquelles une personne est inconsciemment impliquée dans ces jeux sont les suivantes:

  1. Protéger contre la peur d'être démasqué et que le vrai "je" est exposé
  2. Pour éviter le malaise qui peut favoriser l'intimité
  3. S'assurer que les autres font ce qu'ils veulent faire

Ce sont les principales raisons données par l'auteur, mais d'une manière générale, nous pourrions dire qu'elles sont utilisées dans le but de manipuler les autres au lieu d'établir des relations saines et de démontrer qu'elles sont d'une certaine manière face aux autres.

La réalité est que l’utilisation de ces jeux est apprise très tôt, puis répétée systématiquement tout au long de la vie de la personne, jusqu’à ce que l’utilisateur prenne conscience de son utilisation et essaie de la réparer s’il constate que ces actes l’entêtent la vie La plupart des jeux ils détruisent la vraie personnalité et augmentent la vulnérabilité de la personne, ils affectent la plupart des domaines de la vie, consomment de l'énergie et provoquent des niveaux de frustration très élevés, ainsi que l'établissement de relations insensées et dégradées, contribuant au mécontentement et aux situations conflictuelles de l'individu.

Comment détecter quand nous sommes confrontés à un jeu psychologique?

Bien franchement, si nous restons à l'écoute, il ne sera pas difficile de découvrir les premiers signes de ces jeux, mais vous pouvez appliquer différentes questions pour les identifier plus facilement.

  • Comment commence le jeu?
  • Comment ça se passe?
  • Quelles réponses obtenez-vous?
  • Comment vous sentez-vous?
  • Comment se termine la situation?

Une fois ces questions appliquées nous pouvons rechercher des comportements alternatifs pour éviter ou éviter de tomber dans ces jeux . Chaque fois que nous sommes conscients de l'existence de certains comportements, il nous sera plus facile de nous orienter vers une situation différente et d'éviter certaines erreurs.

Comment limiter et limiter ce type de jeux?

Du point de vue psychologique, rompre avec ces jeux est la première étape pour vaincre la résistance et obtenir des situations et des relations saines et directes avec les autres.

  • Il faut connaître la dynamique et le fonctionnement des jeux pour les prévenir et les arrêter
  • Réfléchissez aux avantages de continuer à jouer au jeu ou de l'arrêter
  • Penser à des alternatives pour couvrir les besoins et les besoins personnels
  • Mécanismes de recherche et outils à utiliser lorsque quelqu'un nous engage dans un jeu

Quelques jeux à garder à l'esprit

"Pourquoi pas…? Oui mais…"

But: La personne cherche à être rassurée du point de vue de l'enfant, en incluant la position du père

"Je vais le prouver" ou "Le mien est meilleur"

Objectif: Compétitivité à la recherche du triomphe final

"Nous allons nous battre contre lui"

But: le protagoniste cherche à combattre les autres sans intervenir, satisfaisant ainsi sa position psychologique

"Regarde ce que tu m'as forcé à faire"

But: éviter la responsabilité par la justification et "je n'ai aucune faute"

"Comment sortez-vous de cette situation?"

But: La personne est impliquée dans des situations difficiles ou compliquées à sauver

Quelques conclusions ...

En bref, les jeux psychologiques sont recherchés à travers des transactions entre le père, l'adulte et l'enfant représentés dans l'analyse transactionnelle, mettre en évidence les faiblesses de l'autre pour obtenir un bénéfice final , ce qui n’est jamais réalisé de manière positive.

Le jeu lui-même est toujours un risque pour le joueur
-Gadamer, 1970: 149

14 CHOSES QUE VOUS NE SAVEZ PAS SUR VOS RÊVES | Lama Faché (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes