yes, therapy helps!
Psychological interview for children: 7 key ideas on how to do it

Psychological interview for children: 7 key ideas on how to do it

January 6, 2023

The psychological interview for children is a tool that allows gathering information about the emotional, cognitive or behavioral situation of the children. It is one of the most used tools for psychological evaluations and interventions.

In this sense, it is important to take into consideration some questions about its design and application. We will see next what some of these can be.

  • Related article: "Child psychology: a practical guide for fathers and mothers

General characteristics of the psychological interview

In general terms, an interview is a method of gathering information. It is a tool that allows you to collect data through a series of questions on a particular topic. As such, it is a technique that can be used for very different purposes. Depending on these purposes, the interview is structured and applied in one way or another.


When it comes to a psychological interview, the general objective is to gather information about the set of manifestations that make up the psychology of a person. This is, to know cognitive processes, sensations, perceptions, emotions, attitudes and even behavior .

From this, one of the specific objectives of the psychological interview can be for example to know the way in which a person processes or retains information, and from there to perform a certain intervention. The interview can also focus on exploring a particular experience, or, in the possible causes of some behavior or discomfort determined.


In general, the collection of this information is directed towards offering a type of evaluation, determining the characteristics of a particular situation, or it can be used to establish a specific intervention guide.

Types of interview

The psychological interview can be designed in a structured or semi-structured or open manner.

The first case is a series of previously established questions whose order and enunciation do not allow to be modified at the time of realization.

In the second case, the interviewer can previously establish a script, although at the time of the interview admits the possibility of introducing new questions or omitting other . It is a more flexible type of interview.

Finally, in the open interview, a particular topic is previously established, but without the need to set specific questions, since at the time of the interview, the interviewee himself is expected to be more specific about the specific topics he is interested in addressing.


Psychological interview for children: 7 strategies

The psychological interview conducted with a child can have different objectives, and it is from these that the script, the time and the application of the interview will be structured. In general terms, this type of interview requires attention to the psychological resources of the child, their evolutionary development, their interests and hobbies , the sources of family and social support, their perception of the stability of their close contexts and their emotional coping strategies, and their ways of adapting to daily life.

That said, we'll look at some guidelines below that may be important to consider when designing and applying a psychological interview for children.

1. Establish the objectives

The design of the psychological interview consists in determining the objectives of the interview and, based on this, the script and the structure. In other words, the questions may be different according to the purpose of the interview . For example, it will not be the same script if it is to determine if there has been a domestic violence experience, than when it comes to assessing the child's cognitive abilities.

2. Consider the child's evolutionary cycle and its context

When conducting a psychological interview with children, the questions should be adapted to their area of ​​proximal development. According to your age, we can hardly expect him to stay seated answering closed questions for a long period of time. In the same sense, it is important to avoid complex and long questions: the vocabulary must be accessible and close to the child.

3. Free techniques

Related to the above, it is advisable to design an open or semi-structured interview. That is to say, resort to free techniques (with questions that are not answered only with "yes" or "no") and little directives. The feeling of being in an interrogation can be a source of important stress for the child and hinder the process of the interview.

4. Prevent the question from influencing the response

In the same sense, consider that the way in which the interviewer asks a question often guides or influences the response of the interviewee, especially in the case of children. To avoid this it is important to avoid overly specific questions as well as voice tones or forced approaches .

5. The climate of trust

It is important to foster a climate of trust, security and freedom for the child. In this sense the interview must be done in a protected environment, which allows an empathic climate , and with this, the expression of emotions, thoughts and behaviors.

In the same sense, respect the silences and pauses avoiding pressing for an answer that we probably expect. This means that it is necessary to adapt to the emotional situation of the child and respect their own times.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The Rapport: 5 keys to create an environment of trust"

6. Attend to non-verbal language

When applying a psychological interview with children it is very important to take non-verbal language into consideration. This is so because, according to the child's stage of development, his cognitive abilities, his emotional situation and even his socioeconomic context, it may happen that your linguistic resources are limited .

Paying attention to nonverbal language, looks, silences, pauses, redness, gestures, repetitive movements, smiles, volume or tone of voice, etc., can facilitate the understanding of situations that are being source of conflict or satisfaction for the child.

7. Use the game

One of the most used strategies for conducting interviews with children is the game. In general, games adapt more easily to the life cycle of children than direct questions. In addition, it is a close and striking language for them. Especially it is important to use the game at the time of rapport , since it is the situation that precedes the interview and that allows to open the climate of trust. It is also advisable to use during closing.

Again, the games that are used depend to a great extent on the information that we want to collect, and can range from memoramas to drawings or simulations of everyday life.

Bibliographic references:

  • Echeburúa, E. and Subijana, I.J. (2008). Guide of good psychological practice in the judicial treatment of sexually abused children. International Journal of Clinical Health Psychology, 8 (3) [Online]. Retrieved October 18, 2018. Available at //www.redalyc.org/html/337/33712016008/
  • Herjanic, B. and Reich, W. (1997). Development of a Structured Psychiatric Interview for Children: Agreement Between Child and Parent on Individual Symptoms. Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, 25 (1): 21-31.

The Nurture Room (Child Psychology Documentary) - Real Stories (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Entretien psychologique pour enfants: 7 idées clés sur la façon de le faire

Entretien psychologique pour enfants: 7 idées clés sur la façon de le faire

Novembre 24, 2022

L'entrevue psychologique pour enfants est un outil cela permet de recueillir des informations sur la situation émotionnelle, cognitive ou comportementale des enfants. C'est l'un des outils les plus utilisés pour les évaluations et les interventions psychologiques.

En ce sens, il est important de prendre en compte certaines questions concernant sa conception et son application. Nous verrons ensuite quelles sont certaines d'entre elles.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de l'enfant: guide pratique pour les pères et les mères

Caractéristiques générales de l'entretien psychologique

De manière générale, une interview est une méthode de collecte d'informations. C'est un outil qui vous permet de collecter des données à travers une série de questions sur un sujet particulier. En tant que telle, cette technique peut être utilisée à des fins très différentes. En fonction de ces objectifs, l’entretien est structuré et appliqué d’une manière ou d’une autre.


Lorsqu'il s'agit d'un entretien psychologique, l'objectif général est de rassembler des informations sur l'ensemble des manifestations constituant la psychologie d'une personne. C'est savoir processus cognitifs, sensations, perceptions, émotions, attitudes et même comportement .

À partir de là, l’un des objectifs spécifiques de l’entretien psychologique peut être, par exemple, de savoir comment une personne traite ou conserve des informations et, de là, d’effectuer une certaine intervention. L’interview peut également porter sur l’exploration d’une expérience particulière ou dans les causes possibles de certains comportements ou inconfort déterminé.


En général, la collecte de ces informations vise à proposer un type d’évaluation, à déterminer les caractéristiques d’une situation particulière, ou à établir un guide d’intervention spécifique.

Types d'interview

L'entrevue psychologique peut être conçue de manière structurée, semi-structurée ou ouverte.

Le premier cas est une série de questions déjà établies dont l'ordre et l'énonciation ne permettent pas d'être modifiées au moment de la réalisation.

Dans le second cas, l’intervieweur peut établir un script au préalable, bien qu’au moment de l’interview admet la possibilité d'introduire de nouvelles questions ou d'omettre d'autres . C'est un type d'interview plus flexible.

Enfin, dans l'entretien ouvert, un sujet particulier a déjà été défini, mais sans qu'il soit nécessaire de poser des questions spécifiques, car au moment de l'entretien, l'interviewé devrait lui-même être plus précis sur les sujets qu'il souhaite aborder.


Entretien psychologique pour enfants: 7 stratégies

L'entretien psychologique réalisé avec un enfant peut avoir différents objectifs, et c'est à partir de ceux-ci que seront structurés le scénario, l'heure et l'application de l'entretien. De manière générale, ce type d’interview requiert l'attention sur les ressources psychologiques de l'enfant, son développement évolutif, ses intérêts et ses loisirs , les sources de soutien familial et social, leur perception de la stabilité de leurs contextes proches et de leurs stratégies de gestion émotionnelle, ainsi que leurs façons de s’adapter à la vie quotidienne.

Cela dit, nous examinerons ci-dessous certaines des lignes directrices qu'il pourrait être important de prendre en compte lors de la conception et de l'application d'un entretien psychologique pour enfants.

1. Établir les objectifs

La conception de l'entretien psychologique consiste à déterminer les objectifs de l'entretien et, sur cette base, le scénario et la structure. En d'autres termes, les questions peut être différent selon le but de l'entretien . Par exemple, il ne s'agira pas du même scénario pour déterminer s'il y a eu une expérience de violence domestique que pour évaluer les capacités cognitives de l'enfant.

2. Considérer le cycle évolutif de l'enfant et son contexte

Lors d'un entretien psychologique avec des enfants, les questions doivent être adaptées à leur zone de développement proximal. Selon ton âge, nous pouvons difficilement nous attendre à ce qu'il reste assis à répondre aux questions fermées pendant une longue période. Dans le même sens, il est important d'éviter les questions longues et complexes: le vocabulaire doit être accessible et proche de l'enfant.

3. Techniques gratuites

En relation avec ce qui précède, il est conseillé de concevoir une interview ouverte ou semi-structurée. C'est-à-dire, recourir à des techniques gratuites (avec des questions auxquelles on ne répond pas seulement par "oui" ou "non") et de petites directives. Le sentiment d'être dans un interrogatoire peut être une source de stress important pour l'enfant et entraver le processus de l'entretien.

4. Empêcher la question d'influencer la réponse

Dans le même sens, considérez que la manière dont l’intervieweur pose une question guide ou influence souvent la réponse de l’interviewé, en particulier dans le cas des enfants. Pour éviter cela, il est important d'éviter les questions trop spécifiques ainsi que des tonalités de voix ou des approches forcées .

5. Le climat de confiance

Il est important de créer un climat de confiance, de sécurité et de liberté pour l'enfant. En ce sens, l'entretien doit être fait dans un environnement protégé, ce qui permet un climat empathique , et avec cela, l’expression d’émotions, de pensées et de comportements.

Dans le même sens, respectez les silences et les pauses en évitant de demander une réponse à laquelle nous nous attendons probablement. Cela signifie qu'il est nécessaire de s'adapter à la situation émotionnelle de l'enfant et de respecter son propre temps.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le Rapport: 5 clés pour créer un environnement de confiance"

6. S'occuper du langage non verbal

Lors de l'entretien psychologique avec des enfants, il est très important de prendre en compte le langage non verbal. En effet, selon le stade de développement de l'enfant, ses capacités cognitives, sa situation émotionnelle et même son contexte socio-économique, il peut arriver que vos ressources linguistiques soient limitées .

Faire attention au langage non verbal, aux apparences, aux silences, aux pauses, aux rougeurs, aux gestes, aux mouvements répétitifs, aux sourires, au volume ou au ton de la voix, etc., peut faciliter la compréhension des situations à l'origine de conflit ou de satisfaction pour l'enfant.

7. Utilisez le jeu

Le jeu est l'une des stratégies les plus utilisées pour mener des entretiens avec des enfants. En général, les jeux s’adaptent plus facilement au cycle de vie des enfants que les questions directes. De plus, c'est une langue proche et frappante pour eux. Spécialement il est important d'utiliser le jeu au moment du rapport , puisque c’est la situation qui précède l’entretien et qui permet d’ouvrir le climat de confiance. Il est également conseillé d'utiliser lors de la fermeture.

Encore une fois, les jeux utilisés dépendent dans une large mesure des informations que nous souhaitons collecter et peuvent aller de mémorandums à des dessins ou à des simulations de la vie quotidienne.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Echeburúa, E. et Subijana, I.J. (2008). Guide de bonne pratique psychologique en matière de traitement judiciaire des enfants victimes d'abus sexuels. Revue internationale de psychologie clinique de la santé, 8 (3) [en ligne]. Récupéré le 18 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.redalyc.org/html/337/33712016008/.
  • Herjanic, B. et Reich, W. (1997). Mise au point d’une interview psychiatrique structurée pour enfants: accord entre enfant et parent sur les symptômes individuels. Journal of Anormal Child Psychology, 25 (1): 21-31.

????Entretien d'embauche : comment le réussir ? ( Conseils pratiques) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes