yes, therapy helps!
Psychological profile of a psychopath, in 12 unmistakable traits

Psychological profile of a psychopath, in 12 unmistakable traits

December 4, 2020

The term "psychopathy" It is unclear to most people because multiple meanings are attributed to it. In fact, even within psychology this word is used to designate very different realities, the most questioned criterion being the relationship between psychopathy and criminality.

Authors such as Hervey Cleckley and Robert Hare have tried to delimit the psychological profile of psychopaths , describing personality traits and behavior patterns characteristic of those to whom such qualification applies. Let's see what conceptualizations exist about psychopathy and what is the classic profile of this alteration.

  • Related article: "Differences between psychopathy and sociopathy"

What is psychopathy?

Psychopathy is a personality disorder not recognized by the main diagnostic classifications. It is characterized by a lack of empathy and feelings of guilt , as well as egocentricity, impulsivity and the tendency to lie and manipulation. In contrast, sociopathy is associated to a greater extent with antisocial personality disorder.


In popular language this term is usually associated with criminal behavior, especially serial murders; However, the truth is that psychopaths they do not always commit crimes and they can be perfectly adapted to society. In fact, authors like Kevin Dutton (2013) have claimed the virtues of the psychopathic personality in the current context.

The current conception of psychopathy is based largely on the works of Hervey Cleckley and Robert Hare . In his book The mask of sanity (1941) Cleckley made the description of the most influential psychopathy to date, while Hare relied on this work to create the well-known PCL scale (1991), which evaluates psychopathic traits.


According to the triarchic model of Patrick et al. (2009), psychopathy is composed of three main features: daring, disinhibition and pettiness. It is known that psychopaths they feel less fear than other people , who have more difficulty controlling their impulses and their lack of empathy leads them to use others for their benefit.

On the other hand, Garrido (2000) divides psychopathy into two dimensions: the emotional and interpersonal area and the lifestyle. The first includes signs such as egocentricity, the tendency to manipulate and lack of guilt, while among behavioral factors includes the need for stimulation, impulsivity and criminal behavior.

  • You may be interested: "Manipulators have these 5 traits in common"

Psychological profile of psychopaths

In this section we will synthesize the personality traits of psychopaths according to the classifications made by Cleckley and Hare.


The presence of these characteristics, therefore, indicates the similarity of a certain person with the concept of psychopathy handled by experts.

1. Lack of empathy

Psychopathy has been related to a lack of empathy, that is, the ability to understand other people's mental state or to put themselves in their place. However, studies suggest that psychopaths have the ability to empathize, but they "activate" it at will; this would explain both the coldness and the social skills that characterize them.

Simon Baron-Cohen, who popularized the concept of "theory of mind", affirmed that psychopaths have cognitive but not emotional empathy, and that therefore it does not disturb the suffering of others . These deficits have been associated with less activation in the fusiform cortex and in the extrastriate, which are related to the recognition of faces.

2. Egocentrism and narcissism

Self-centeredness, or the inability to assume points of view foreign to one's own, is intimately related to a lack of empathy. Very often psychopaths are also narcissistic; this means that tend to think that they are superior to others and more important than them.

3. Surface charm

The typical profile of the psychopath is that of a lovely and sociable person , with good social skills. It can serve as an extreme example the case of the murderer Ted Bundy, who seduced his victims to gain their trust and received multiple love letters and marriage proposals after being sentenced to death.

4. Emotional poverty

The cerebral alterations characteristic of psychopathy make the range of emotions felt by these people limited. In particular, in addition to emotional coldness, psychopaths are characterized by Feel less negative emotions, especially fear , whereas it is believed that they feel positive emotions in a normal way.

5.Antisocial and criminal conduct

Psychopathy test scores correlate with substance abuse, incarceration, gender violence, rape and pedophilia. Economic and war crimes, as well as participation in organized crime, are also more frequent in psychopaths than in the general population.

Like the antisocial disorder, the predisposition to psychopathy may manifest itself in childhood in behaviors such as robberies, frequent lies, vandalism and violence towards people and animals; these signs are classified as "dissocial personality disorder".

6. Difficulty to learn from experience

According to research, the problems of psychopaths to learn from experience are due to alterations in the connection between the prefrontal cortex and the amygdala. These structures are related to executive functions and emotional learning, respectively.

It seems that psychopaths have more difficulties than the general population to associate the punishments they receive with the behaviors that caused them. Another biological explanation is the presence of reduced levels of cortisol and serotonin, related to aversive conditioning and behavioral inhibition .

7. Impulsiveness and lack of planning

The impulsivity of psychopaths may be caused by decreased activation in the frontal cortex, combined with an increase in testosterone levels and a reduction in serotonin levels. All this could reduce self-control , facilitating impulsive behaviors such as drug abuse or physical aggression.

This is also related to a lack of long-term planning. There is usually an absence of vital goals; the behavior is guided to a greater extent by the momentary impulses.

8. Insincerity and manipulation

The lack of sincerity and the tendency to manipulation typical of psychopaths can manifest with greater or lesser subtlety, but they are two very frequent characteristics in people with moderate levels of psychopathy that may not manifest many of the other traits we have seen.

9. Predisposition to boredom

The biological alterations of psychopaths lead them to a need for continuous stimulation . This makes it easy for them to get bored, a trait shared by very extroverted people (who have a low level of brain activation at rest) and by others with disorders that affect the brain, such as ADHD.

10. Parasitic lifestyle

The manipulation and egocentricity of psychopaths tend to tend to take advantage of others to meet their basic needs. Thus, they often live on other people's money, like their parents or their partners.

11. Absence of remorse

Even when they carry out behaviors that harm other people, such as some of the ones mentioned in the previous sections, psychopaths they do not usually feel guilty for their acts ; Their lack of emotional empathy allows them to commit crimes or manipulate others without remorse.

12. Sexual promiscuity

Often psychopaths they have many different relationships that last a short time . In addition, given their interpersonal difficulties and to establish commitments, they are involved in them superficially and are mainly concerned about sex and the practical benefits they can obtain from their partners.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cleckley, H. (1941). The mask of sanity: An attempt to clarify some issues about the so-called psychopathic personality (6th Ed.). Saint Louis: C. V. Mosby Co.
  • Dutton, K. (2013). The wisdom of psychopaths. Barcelona: Ariel.
  • Garrido, V. (2000). The psycho. A chameleon in today's society. Alzira: Algar.
  • Hare, R. D. (1991). The Hare Psychopathy Checklist-Revised (Hare PCL-R). Toronto: Multi-Health Systems.
  • Hare, R. D. (2011). Without conscience: The disturbing world of the psychopaths among us. New York: Guilford Press.
  • Patrick, C., Fowles, D. & Krueger, R. (2009). Triarchic conceptualization of psychopathy: Developmental origins of disinhibition, boldness, and meanness. Development and Psychopathology, 21 (3): 913-938.
  • Vernon, P.A., Villani, V.C., Vickers, L.C. & Harris, J.A. (2008). A behavioral genetic investigation of the Dark Triad and the Big 5. Personality and Individual Differences, 44 (2): 445-452.

In The Shadow Of Feeling (Psychopath Documentary) - Real Stories (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Profil psychologique d'un psychopathe, en 12 traits indéniables

Profil psychologique d'un psychopathe, en 12 traits indéniables

Septembre 18, 2019

Le terme "psychopathie" Cela n’est pas clair pour la plupart des gens, car plusieurs sens lui sont attribués. En fait, même dans la psychologie, ce mot est utilisé pour désigner des réalités très différentes, le critère le plus contesté étant le rapport entre psychopathie et criminalité.

Des auteurs tels que Hervey Cleckley et Robert Hare ont tenté de délimiter le profil psychologique des psychopathes , décrivant les traits de personnalité et les comportements caractéristiques de ceux à qui cette qualification s’applique. Voyons quelles conceptualisations existent sur la psychopathie et quel est le profil classique de cette altération.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre psychopathie et sociopathie"

Qu'est ce que la psychopathie?

La psychopathie est un trouble de la personnalité non reconnu par les principales classifications diagnostiques. Il se caractérise par un manque d'empathie et des sentiments de culpabilité , ainsi que l’égocentrisme, l’impulsivité et la tendance à mentir et à la manipulation. En revanche, la sociopathie est davantage associée au trouble de la personnalité antisociale.


En langage populaire, ce terme est généralement associé à un comportement criminel, en particulier des meurtres en série; Cependant, la vérité est que les psychopathes ils ne commettent pas toujours des crimes et peuvent être parfaitement adaptés à la société. En fait, des auteurs tels que Kevin Dutton (2013) ont revendiqué les vertus de la personnalité psychopathique dans le contexte actuel.

La conception actuelle de la psychopathie est basé en grande partie sur les travaux de Hervey Cleckley et Robert Hare . Dans son livre Le masque de la raison (1941) Cleckley décrivit la psychopathie la plus influente à ce jour, tandis que Hare s’appuyait sur ces travaux pour créer la célèbre échelle PCL (1991), qui évalue les traits psychopathiques.


Selon le modèle triarchique de Patrick et al. (2009), la psychopathie est composée de trois caractéristiques principales: l'audace, la désinhibition et la mesquinerie. On sait que les psychopathes ils ont moins peur que les autres , qui ont plus de difficulté à contrôler leurs pulsions et leur manque d'empathie les amène à utiliser les autres à leur avantage.

Par ailleurs, Garrido (2000) divise la psychopathie en deux dimensions: le domaine affectif et interpersonnel et le mode de vie. Le premier inclut des signes tels que l'égocentrisme, la tendance à la manipulation et le manque de culpabilité, tandis que les facteurs comportementaux incluent le besoin de stimulation, l'impulsivité et le comportement criminel.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 5 manipulateurs ont en commun"

Profil psychologique des psychopathes

Dans cette section nous allons synthétiser les traits de personnalité des psychopathes selon les classifications établies par Cleckley et Hare.


La présence de ces caractéristiques indique donc la similitude d'une personne avec le concept de psychopathie traité par des experts.

1. Manque d'empathie

La psychopathie est liée à un manque d'empathie, c'est-à-dire à la capacité de comprendre l'état mental des autres ou de se mettre à leur place. Cependant, des études suggèrent que les psychopathes ont la capacité de faire preuve d'empathie, mais ils "l'activent" à volonté; cela expliquerait à la fois la froideur et les compétences sociales qui les caractérisent.

Simon Baron-Cohen, qui a popularisé le concept de "théorie de l'esprit", a affirmé que les psychopathes avaient une empathie cognitive mais non émotionnelle, et que cela ne perturbe pas la souffrance des autres . Ces déficits ont été associés à une moindre activation dans le cortex fusiforme et dans l'extrastrié, ce qui est lié à la reconnaissance des visages.

2. L'égocentrisme et le narcissisme

L'égocentrisme, ou l'incapacité à adopter des points de vue étrangers au sien, est intimement lié à un manque d'empathie. Très souvent, les psychopathes sont aussi narcissiques. Ceci signifie que ont tendance à penser qu'ils sont supérieurs aux autres et plus important qu'eux.

3. Charme de surface

Le profil typique du psychopathe est celui de une personne charmante et sociable , avec de bonnes compétences sociales. Cela peut servir d'exemple extrême dans le cas du meurtrier Ted Bundy, qui a séduit ses victimes pour gagner leur confiance et a reçu plusieurs lettres d'amour et propositions de mariage après avoir été condamné à mort.

4. Pauvreté émotionnelle

Les altérations cérébrales caractéristiques de la psychopathie limitent la gamme des émotions ressenties par ces personnes. En particulier, en plus de la froideur émotionnelle, les psychopathes se caractérisent par Ressentez des émotions moins négatives, surtout la peur , alors qu’on pense qu’ils ressentent des émotions positives de manière normale.

5Conduite antisociale et criminelle

Les résultats des tests de psychopathie sont en corrélation avec la toxicomanie, l'incarcération, la violence sexiste, le viol et la pédophilie. Les crimes économiques et de guerre, ainsi que la participation au crime organisé, sont également plus fréquents chez les psychopathes que dans la population en général.

Comme le désordre antisocial, la prédisposition à la psychopathie peut se manifester dans l'enfance dans des comportements tels que vols, mensonges fréquents, vandalisme et violence envers les personnes et les animaux; ces signes sont classés comme "trouble de la personnalité dissociale".

6. Difficulté d'apprendre de l'expérience

Selon les recherches, les problèmes que les psychopathes peuvent tirer de l’expérience sont dus à des altérations de la connexion entre le cortex préfrontal et l’amygdale. Ces structures sont liées aux fonctions exécutives et à l'apprentissage émotionnel, respectivement.

Il semble que les psychopathes ont plus de difficultés que la population en général à associer les peines qu’ils reçoivent aux comportements qui les ont provoqués. Une autre explication biologique est la présence de niveaux réduits de cortisol et de sérotonine, liés au conditionnement aversif et à l'inhibition comportementale .

7. Impulsivité et manque de planification

L'impulsivité des psychopathes peut être causée par une diminution de l'activation dans le cortex frontal, associée à une augmentation du taux de testostérone et à une réduction du taux de sérotonine. Tout cela pourrait réduire la maîtrise de soi , facilitant les comportements impulsifs tels que la toxicomanie ou l'agression physique.

Ceci est également lié à un manque de planification à long terme. Il y a généralement une absence d'objectifs vitaux; le comportement est davantage guidé par les impulsions momentanées.

8. Insincérité et manipulation

Le manque de sincérité et la tendance à la manipulation typique des psychopathes peuvent se manifester avec plus ou moins de subtilité, mais il s'agit de deux caractéristiques très fréquentes chez les personnes présentant un degré modéré de psychopathie qui peuvent ne pas manifester bon nombre des autres traits observés.

9. Prédisposition à l'ennui

Les altérations biologiques des psychopathes les amener à un besoin de stimulation continue . Cela les rend faciles à s'ennuyer, un trait commun aux personnes très extraverties (qui ont un faible niveau d'activation du cerveau au repos) et à d'autres atteintes de troubles du cerveau, tels que le TDAH.

10. Mode de vie parasite

La manipulation et l’égocentrisme des psychopathes ont tendance à profiter des autres pour satisfaire leurs besoins fondamentaux. Ainsi, ils vivent souvent avec l'argent des autres, comme leurs parents ou leurs partenaires.

11. Absence de remords

Même lorsqu'ils adoptent des comportements qui nuisent à d'autres personnes, tels que certains de ceux mentionnés dans les sections précédentes, les psychopathes ils ne se sentent généralement pas coupables de leurs actes ; Leur manque d'empathie émotionnelle leur permet de commettre des crimes ou de manipuler les autres sans remords.

12. Promiscuité sexuelle

Souvent des psychopathes ils ont beaucoup de relations différentes qui durent peu de temps . De plus, compte tenu de leurs difficultés interpersonnelles et de la prise d’engagements, elles y sont impliquées superficiellement et se soucient principalement du sexe et des avantages pratiques qu’elles peuvent obtenir de leurs partenaires.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cleckley, H. (1941). Le masque de la santé mentale: tentative de clarification de certaines questions relatives à la soi-disant personnalité psychopathique (6e éd.). Saint Louis: C. V. Mosby Co.
  • Dutton, K. (2013). La sagesse des psychopathes. Barcelone: ​​Ariel.
  • Garrido, V. (2000). Le psychopathe Un caméléon dans la société d'aujourd'hui. Alzira: Algar.
  • Hare, R. D. (1991). La liste de contrôle de la psychopathie de Hare révisée (Hare PCL-R). Toronto: Systèmes de santé multiples.
  • Hare, R. D. (2011). Sans conscience: Le monde dérangeant des psychopathes parmi nous. New York: Guilford Press.
  • Patrick, C., Fowles, D. et Krueger, R. (2009). Conceptualisation triarchique de la psychopathie: origines développementales de la désinhibition, de l'audace et de la méchanceté. Development and Psychopathology, 21 (3): 913-938.
  • Vernon, P. A., Villani, V. C., Vickers, L. C. et Harris, J.. (2008). Une enquête génétique comportementale de la Triade noire et du Big 5. Différences de personnalité et d'individu, 44 (2): 445-452.

How Narcissists Took Over the World (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes