yes, therapy helps!
Psychological profile of the emotional blackmailer, in 5 traits and habits

Psychological profile of the emotional blackmailer, in 5 traits and habits

June 13, 2024

The emotional blackmailer is a type of person used to manipulating others to achieve personal benefits. That is, he has become accustomed to using methods to limit the decision-making power of his victims to lead them to a certain decision.

But nevertheless, there are some characteristics that distinguish emotional blackmailers from another class of manipulators and, in fact, in many ways they are more difficult to detect than normal. That's why it's good to know some warning signs to identify the patterns of behavior that betray these people.

  • Related article: "Manipulators have these 5 traits in common"

The profile of the emotional blackmailer

Not all emotional blackmailers have to present all these characteristics, although they tend to present a good part of them. Keep in mind that emotional blackmail is not a personality trait, but a way of relating, or relational dynamics , which has been learned and internalized, often even almost unconsciously.


That means that the range of personality types behind emotional blackmailers may vary, although some are more likely than others to fall for this type of behavior. So, to recognize the emotional blackmailers is not so important to study the personality of the other, but see in real time how he interacts with others .

Let's move on to the traits and habits of the emotional blackmailer.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism"

1. They show vulnerabilities artificially

It is very typical of emotional blackmailers to talk about or tacitly refer to their own weaknesses even when that does not fit well with the subject of which one is speaking.


It is relatively normal to talk in a disruptive way about what makes us sad or what makes us feel "weak", since many times we need to take advantage of any moment of social interaction to express our feelings. However, in emotional blackmailers this has become a habit and occurs more often than usual.

Normally, this kind of "free" and out of context comments can be interpreted as a warning signal that the other person feels very bad, instead of recognizing in them a strategy to manipulate. The following habit allows to better distinguish what is really happening.

2. Victim comments are aimed at a few people

Emotional blackmailers do not make this kind of pessimistic comments to anyone with whom they have confidence, but only to those to whom they want to manipulate.


This is something that reveals the instrumental eagerness of this behavior; it's not just asking for help , but to make someone in particular do something determined.

3. The instrumental use of hints

Emotional blackmailers use ambiguity in their favor to get certain people to start thinking they have cause to feel guilty. That's why they usually resorting to hints published on social networks in a public or almost public way , relatively short texts (to make sure they are read in their entirety).

Given the uncertainty of whether the message is directed to oneself and the tension that this produces, we tend to abandon the logical thinking style and move on to use soft thinking, that is, intuitive and based on the emotional.

In this way, the emotional blackmailers get a very curious effect; As we notice that we feel bad in the face of uncertainty, we interpret that discomfort produced by the ambiguity of the message as a sign of our guilt.

4. The spread of the rumor of the conflict

Emotional blackmailers will rarely express signs of anger or enmity towards the people they want to manipulate, but they can inoculate the idea of ​​unresolved tension spreading rumors through the person's social circle .

For example, before others, and privately, can make statements that show a certain sadness by the distance or the alleged indifference that is supposedly making the victim a colder, individualistic and self-centered person. All this, of course, is not explained directly, but by insinuations.

When a few people in our social circle have perceived this idea, it is easier to assume that all others are right and that one is wrong . If we analyzed more what others believe about us, we would conclude that they too have been manipulated as a strategy to affect us indirectly.However, the "law of silence" and social conventions make it difficult to investigate the matter.

5. Disconcerting passive-aggressive attitude

The emotional blackmailers they do not use the passive-aggressive attitude constantly, but at key moments , so that its use has more powerful effects.

This means that on certain occasions the other person will act as if he did not expect anything from the victim, in a theatrical way that seems to mean the opposite: "you could be doing much more for me".


10 Types of Emotional Manipulation (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Profil psychologique du maître chanteur émotionnel, en 5 traits et habitudes

Profil psychologique du maître chanteur émotionnel, en 5 traits et habitudes

Février 27, 2024

Le maître chanteur émotionnel est un type de personne qui manipule les autres pour obtenir des avantages personnels. C'est-à-dire qu'il s'est habitué à utiliser des méthodes pour limiter le pouvoir décisionnel de ses victimes afin de les amener à une certaine décision.

Cependant, certaines caractéristiques distinguent les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels d'une autre classe de manipulateurs et, en fait, à bien des égards, ils sont plus difficiles à détecter que la normale. C'est pourquoi il est bon de connaître certains signes avant-coureurs pour identifier les schémas de comportement qui trahissent ces personnes.

  • Article connexe: "Les manipulateurs ont ces 5 traits en commun"

Le profil du maître chanteur émotionnel

Tous les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels ne doivent pas nécessairement présenter toutes ces caractéristiques, même s'ils ont tendance à en présenter une bonne partie. Gardez à l’esprit que le chantage émotionnel n’est pas un trait de personnalité, mais un mode de relation, ou dynamique relationnelle , qui a été appris et intériorisé, souvent même presque inconsciemment.


Cela signifie que la gamme de types de personnalité derrière les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels peut varier, bien que certains soient plus susceptibles que d'autres de tomber pour ce type de comportement. Donc, reconnaître les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels n’est pas si important d’étudier la personnalité de l’autre, mais voir en temps réel comment il interagit avec les autres .

Passons maintenant aux traits et aux habitudes du maître chanteur émotionnel.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et névrotisme"

1. Ils présentent des vulnérabilités artificiellement

Il est très typique des maîtres chanteurs émotionnels de parler ou se référer tacitement à leurs propres faiblesses même lorsque cela ne cadre pas bien avec le sujet dont on parle.


Il est relativement normal de parler de manière troublante de ce qui nous rend tristes ou de nous sentir "faibles", car nous avons souvent besoin de profiter de chaque instant d’interaction sociale pour exprimer nos sentiments. Cependant, chez les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels, cela est devenu une habitude et se produit plus souvent que d'habitude.

Normalement, ce genre de commentaires "libres" et hors contexte peuvent être interprétés comme un signal d'avertissement indiquant que l'autre personne se sent très mal, au lieu de reconnaître en eux une stratégie à manipuler. L’habitude suivante permet de mieux distinguer ce qui se passe réellement.

2. Les commentaires des victimes s'adressent à quelques personnes

Les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels ne font pas ce genre de commentaires pessimistes à quiconque avec qui ils ont confiance, mais seulement à ceux à qui ils veulent manipuler.


C’est quelque chose qui révèle l’empressement instrumental de ce comportement; ce n'est pas juste demander de l'aide , mais pour que quelqu'un en particulier fasse quelque chose de déterminé.

3. L'utilisation instrumentale d'indices

Les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels utilisent l'ambiguïté en leur faveur pour amener certaines personnes à penser qu'elles ont des raisons de se sentir coupables. C'est pourquoi ils ont l'habitude recours à des indices publiés sur les réseaux sociaux de manière publique ou quasi publique , textes relativement courts (pour s’assurer qu’ils sont lus dans leur intégralité).

Étant donné l’incertitude quant à savoir si le message s’adresse à soi-même et la tension qu’il génère, nous avons tendance à abandonner le style de pensée logique pour adopter une pensée douce, intuitive et basée sur l’émotionnel.

De cette manière, les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels obtiennent un effet très curieux. Lorsque nous remarquons que nous nous sentons mal face à l'incertitude, nous interprétons le malaise produit par l'ambiguïté du message comme un signe de notre culpabilité.

4. La propagation de la rumeur du conflit

Les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels exprimeront rarement des signes de colère ou d'inimitié à l'égard des personnes qu'ils veulent manipuler, mais ils peuvent inoculer l'idée d'une tension non résolue. répandre des rumeurs dans son cercle social .

Par exemple, avant que d’autres, et en privé, ne puissent faire des déclarations qui montrent une certaine tristesse face à la distance ou la prétendue indifférence qui est censée faire de la victime une personne plus froide, individualiste et égocentrique. Tout cela, bien sûr, ne s'explique pas directement, mais par des insinuations.

Lorsque quelques personnes de notre cercle social ont perçu cette idée, il est plus facile d’assumer que tous les autres ont raison et que l'on a tort . Si nous analysions davantage ce que les autres pensent de nous, nous en conclurions qu’ils ont eux aussi été manipulés en tant que stratégie visant à nous affecter indirectement.Cependant, la "loi du silence" et les conventions sociales rendent l’enquête difficile.

5. Attitude passive-agressive déroutante

Les maîtres chanteurs émotionnels ils n'utilisent pas l'attitude passive-agressive de façon constante, mais aux moments clés , de sorte que son utilisation a des effets plus puissants.

Cela signifie que, à certaines occasions, l’autre personne agira comme s’il n’attendait rien de la victime, d’une manière théâtrale qui semble vouloir dire le contraire: "vous pourriez faire beaucoup plus pour moi".


Attack on the Duergar Warcamp - Critical Role RPG Show: Episode 4 (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes