yes, therapy helps!
Psychological profile of the rapist: 12 traits in common

Psychological profile of the rapist: 12 traits in common

July 22, 2022

In February 2015, a young university student was murdered in Turkey after resisting sexual assault. His body was found burned. Not long ago there was a wave of rapes against children in India, many of which later appeared dead. In many African countries, many women are raped with the intention of transmitting fear to the local population .

These and numerous other cases are examples of situations in which the maintenance of sexual relations has been forced, that is, cases in which a violation has been committed. And there is no need to go so far to find cases: A known case within our borders occurred during the past year when a young girl was raped by several individuals during the San Fermín festivities.


It is not an infrequent phenomenon: only in our country, it is estimated that a woman is raped every eight hours. That is why from psychology and other sciences has tried to develop a psychological profile of the rapist, finding common features that allow work on the elements that can lead to sexual assault. In this article we are going to try to find a series of twelve traits in common between rapists and we will see the psychological patterns that constitute the profile of the rapist .

  • Related article: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

What do we call rape?

While we all know roughly what we are talking about when we hear the word rape, understanding something is a necessary step in finding ways to make it not repeated, so conceptualizing the term rape is a useful step in understanding what a rapist does and why. be able to identify their psychological profile.


It is understood as a violation that aggression of a sexual nature through which an individual has sexual intercourse without consent with another. These relationships are carried out in direct opposition to the victim of aggression, using coercion, force or elements that cloud the victim's judgment, such as drugs. While it is generally thought that rape includes penetration, this is not necessarily the case.

In addition to this, rape is considered the carnal act with subjects who do not have sufficient understanding or judgment to assess the situation (such as people with mental deficiencies or problems that cloud their ability to judge, minors or even beings of other animal species ) or that are not in a position to make clear their position in this regard (people who are asleep, in a coma or drugged).

Most rapes are carried out by men, although there are also cases in which the aggressors are women. Although there are cases in which the victim is an adult male (whether male or female aggressor), the victims are usually women, people with physical or psychological difficulties or minors. It is also frequent that the rapist knows the victim beforehand It is not strange that it belongs to the family or to the nearby circle.


The main consequences of sexual assault

If the rape is lived with violence, it is common for the victim to avoid situations and places that remind him of the event, as well as flashbacks, depressive and dissociative symptoms and other symptoms, being one of the most frequent and studied reasons for stress disorder. post-traumatic

In many cases this causes the attacked person to be afraid to report the abuse, either because he resists accepting what he has lived, or because he considers that he will not be understood or even that he will be blamed for the situation.

That is why social awareness and psychological work is necessary in relation to preventing, detecting and treating cases of rape or other aggressions (fortunately more and more cases report their aggressors).

Types of sexual aggressor

Once we understand the concept of violation, we can go on to try define a psychological profile common to all rapists .

However, the different studies and experts who have dealt with the issue have encountered a problem: there is a very wide diversity of reasons and ways by which a subject decides to force another to maintain relationships. Some types of sexual aggressors are the following.

1. Circumstantial, casual or opportunistic rapist

These are subjects who use a situation or event in order to make the violation . It is the case of violations during parties and events. It is not usually aggressions planned in advance.

It is possible that they act under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or that they take advantage of the fact that the victim has consumed them to act and force the consummation of the sexual act.

2. Explosive rapist

This type of rapist seeks to subdue his victim as a result of a violent impulse of domination . It has the objective of carrying out a sexual assault, being indifferent who is the victim. For him, rape is clearly an act of power and violence, and not so much a sexual one (although this also occurs in the rest of the types of rapists, although not in such an obvious way).

3. Furious rapist

This subject uses rape as an act of punishment against someone whom he considers a representative of the gender , social or collective group that has produced some type of damage (real or imaginary). That is, he experiences the violation through a clear bias based on stereotypes and sometimes political content.

4. Violator in search of trust or compensation

It is a type of rapist who has a distorted perception of the relationship between the aggressor and the aggressed . The aggressor believes that his performance will make the victim enjoy and bring the person object of their desire closer, and may establish a romantic relationship.

4. Sadistic rapist

In this type of individuals a link between sexual arousal and aggressiveness is observed . The initiation of an interaction that the subject considers exciting can cause the aggressiveness of the subject to increase and experience aggressive impulses towards his victim, forcing it. It is not infrequent that they present antisocial disorder and paraphilia known as sexual sadism, and that in the case of rape is expressed directly, without filters.

6. Violation as a control mechanism

Some violations are carried out with an independent purpose of the sexual satisfaction and power of the aggressor. This is the case of some systematic violations carried out during wars, in which Sexual assault is used as a method of humiliation and control of the population and to diminish the morale of the enemy country. It is a strategic use of this type of violence, thanks to which objectives can be achieved beyond this action in itself.

The rapist's profile and its characteristics

Although it is true that due to the high diversity of variables that influence the perpetration of an act of this type, it is not possible to speak of a single rapist profile, it is possible to locate a series of variables that do not apply in all cases. Cases are very common among different types of sex offenders.

It is important to highlight it: there is not a single prototype of violated r , and the following characteristics, although they may be common, do not identify all violators.

1. They do not have to have a strange personality

Most people do not commit rape. This may suggest that a typical rapist profile must be that of someone with enormous particularities, characteristics that most people do not have and that make them, on a day to day basis, lonely and without normal contact with society. Although in some concrete case this can be true, in general this is not true.

A great majority of violations are carried out by subjects with a personality within the "normal" and that they have friends, family and work. In fact many of them are people with a couple, with whom they usually maintain relations in a conventional manner.

2. Power, not sex

One of the most common characteristics of most rapists is that the real purpose of their action is not to obtain sexual gratification.

Mostly, people who commit rape knowing what they are doing are looking for and are attracted to the idea of ​​exercising domination , to make other people do something against their will and obeying the aggressor's interest. In other words, in a violation what is sought is not only sex, but also and especially what is sought is the exercise of power.

3. They tend to look for victims they consider weakest

While there have been cases in which the victim is someone physically stronger than the aggressor, As a general rule, individuals who commit sexual assault seek victims they consider physically weaker that they or those who know weak points to take advantage of.

In either case, the choice of victim is linked to the possibility of exercising power either on someone whom they believe they can submit or on someone they consider above and whom they want to see humiliated and below themselves .

4. Feelings of inferiority and vital frustration

Another element shared by most rapists is the presence of a high feeling of frustration and inferiority that can be expressed through explosions of violence.

Although they do not have to demonstrate it in most of the facets of their daily life and they can even act in an overbearing manner, these feelings of inferiority can provoke a reaction in the form of a desire to dominate the other, a desire that in some people can lead to a sexual assault .

5. Little capacity for empathy

Sexual assault occurs for whatever reason, in general rapists have a very limited or no ability to empathy. A) Yes, the sexual aggressor can not, does not care or chooses not to think about what the rape is for the victim , or that he comes to consider that the satisfaction of his desire for power and sex deserves the suffering of the victim. This is visible in many of the cases that indicate that the victim really did want to maintain relationships or that he thoroughly enjoyed the situation.

6. No anticipation of the consequences

It has been observed that many rapists never thought about what could happen after committing the act , if the case would be investigated or if they would be found and detained. This reflects a certain deficit when it comes to anticipating the consequences of their own actions, whether for themselves or for others. This factor would not be determinant for people that what they actually seek are the consequence of the act itself more than the act per se itself.

7. Possible history of abuse or learning a coercive sexuality

As with gender-based violence, many people who currently commit sexual crimes have been abused or mistreated in childhood, or have witnessed abuse of other significant family members.

This means that in the long run they can identify coercion as a normal way of proceeding , and although they know that socially is frowned upon can feel the impulse to undertake the act.

8. They consider that they have the right to commit aggression

In a large number of cases, individuals who commit violations consider that they have the right to force the victim , sometimes for cultural reasons. Thus, sexual aggressions are more frequent in people and regions where there is still a certain consideration of superiority of men before women, or they consider their needs to be above others.

9. It's not about the mentally ill

Although the typical image of a rapist is that of a psychopath or someone who suffers from a mental disorder, to consider that sexual aggressors are people with a mental disorder would be false and reductionist.

It is possible to find that some personality disorders such as antisocial can facilitate such an action and it is true that cases of rape can be found during psychotic, manic or performed by people with intellectual disabilities, but as a general rule, the sexual aggressors are able to correctly judge the situation and know what they are doing.

10. They are mostly fully imputable

A consequence of the previous point. Given that most of the subjects who commit this type of acts are fully aware that their actions are harmful and are punishable by society, usually the rapists are judicially imputable .

11. Evade responsibility

A common characteristic in many of the cases in which there is no psychopathy or psychopathology is the attempt to evade his responsibility in the act . It is common to justify the behavior for the use of substances or to pretend to suffer a psychopathology to evade punishment. At the level of information, beyond the judicial processes, it is usual to blame the victim.

12. Blame the victim

Some of the subjects who commit violations usually indicate that the fault of the situation is the victim herself . Phrases like "I was provoking", "basically I wanted to" and variants of them are frequent in sexual aggressors who have been arrested, avoiding taking charge of the situation and excusing themselves.

Bibliographic references:

  • Burguess, A. G .; Burguess, A.W .; Douglas, J. & Ressler, R. (1992). Crime Classification Manual. Lexington Books.
  • Cáceres, J. (2001). Paraphilias and violation. Madrid: Editorial Síntesis.
  • González, E .; Martínez, V .; Leyton, C. & Bardi, A. (2004). Characteristics of sexual abusers. Rev. Sogia; 1 (1): 6-14.
  • Marshall, W. (2001). Sexual aggressors Studies on violence. Ed. Ariel. p. 107

10 Signs You're A Psychopath (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Profil psychologique du violeur: 12 traits communs

Profil psychologique du violeur: 12 traits communs

Janvier 19, 2023

En février 2015, une jeune étudiante d'université a été assassinée en Turquie après avoir résisté à une agression sexuelle. Son corps a été retrouvé brûlé. Il n'y a pas si longtemps, une vague de viols a été perpétrée contre des enfants en Inde, dont beaucoup ont paru par la suite morts. Dans beaucoup de pays africains, beaucoup de femmes sont violées avec l'intention de transmettre la peur à la population locale .

Ces cas et de nombreux autres sont des exemples de situations dans lesquelles le maintien de relations sexuelles a été forcé, c'est-à-dire des cas dans lesquels une violation a été commise. Et il n’ya pas besoin d’aller aussi loin pour trouver des cas: Un cas connu à l'intérieur de nos frontières s'est produit l'année dernière lorsqu'une jeune fille a été violée par plusieurs individus lors des festivités de San Fermín.


Ce n'est pas un phénomène rare: dans notre pays seulement, on estime qu'une femme est violée toutes les huit heures. C'est pourquoi la psychologie et d'autres sciences ont essayé de développer un profil psychologique du violeur, en trouvant des caractéristiques communes qui permettent de travailler sur les éléments pouvant conduire à une agression sexuelle. Dans cet article, nous allons essayer de trouver une série de douze traits communs aux violeurs et aux nous verrons les schémas psychologiques qui constituent le profil du violeur .

  • Article connexe: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

Comment appelle-t-on un viol?

Même si nous savons tous à peu près de quoi nous parlons lorsque nous entendons le mot viol, comprendre quelque chose est une étape nécessaire pour trouver le moyen de ne pas le répéter. Par conséquent, conceptualiser le terme viol est une étape utile pour comprendre ce que le violeur fait et pourquoi. être capable d'identifier leur profil psychologique.


C'est compris comme une violation cette agression de nature sexuelle par laquelle une personne a un rapport sexuel sans consentement avec un autre. Ces relations sont menées en opposition directe avec la victime d'agression, en utilisant la contrainte, la force ou des éléments qui obscurcissent le jugement de la victime, tels que la drogue. Bien que l’on pense généralement que le viol inclut la pénétration, ce n’est pas nécessairement le cas.

En plus de cela, le viol est considéré comme l'acte charnel avec des sujets qui ne possèdent pas suffisamment de compréhension ou de jugement pour évaluer la situation (tels que les personnes souffrant de déficiences mentales ou de problèmes nuisant à leur capacité de juger, les mineurs ou même les êtres d'autres espèces animales ) ou qui ne sont pas en mesure de préciser leur position à cet égard (personnes endormies, dans le coma ou droguées).

La plupart des viols sont commis par des hommes, bien qu'il existe également des cas dans lesquels les agresseurs sont des femmes. Bien que dans certains cas, la victime soit un homme adulte (agresseur masculin ou féminin), il s’agit généralement de femmes, de personnes aux prises avec des difficultés physiques ou psychologiques ou de mineurs. Il est également fréquent que le violeur connaisse la victime à l'avance Il n’est pas étonnant qu’il appartienne à la famille ou au cercle proche.


Les principales conséquences de l'agression sexuelle

Si le viol est vécu avec violence, il est courant que la victime évite les situations et les lieux qui lui rappellent l'événement, ainsi que les flashbacks, les symptômes dépressifs et dissociatifs et d'autres symptômes, étant l'une des causes les plus fréquentes et les plus étudiées du trouble de stress. post-traumatique

Dans de nombreux cas, la personne attaquée a peur de signaler l'agression, soit parce qu'elle refuse d'accepter ce qu'elle a vécu, soit parce qu'elle estime qu'il ne sera pas compris ou même qu'il sera blâmé pour la situation.

C'est pourquoi la sensibilisation sociale et le travail psychologique sont nécessaires pour prévenir, détecter et traiter les cas de viol ou d'autres agressions (heureusement, de plus en plus de cas signalent leurs agresseurs).

Types d'agresseur sexuel

Une fois que nous comprenons le concept de violation, nous pouvons continuer à essayer définir un profil psychologique commun à tous les violeurs .

Cependant, les différentes études et experts qui ont traité le problème ont rencontré un problème: il existe une très grande diversité de raisons et de moyens par lesquels un sujet décide de forcer un autre à entretenir des relations. Certains types d’agresseurs sexuels sont les suivants.

1. Violeur indirect, occasionnel ou opportuniste

Ce sont des sujets qui utilisent une situation ou un événement pour faire de la violation . C'est le cas de violations lors de fêtes et d'événements. Ce ne sont généralement pas des agressions planifiées à l'avance.

Il est possible qu'ils agissent sous l'influence de l'alcool ou de la drogue, ou qu'ils tirent parti du fait que la victime les a consommés pour agir et forcer la consommation de l'acte sexuel.

2. violeur explosif

Ce type de violeur cherche à soumettre sa victime à la suite d’une violente pulsion de domination . Il a pour objectif de commettre une agression sexuelle, étant indifférent à la victime. Pour lui, le viol est clairement un acte de pouvoir et de violence, et pas tellement un acte sexuel (bien que cela se produise également chez les autres types de violeurs, bien que cela ne soit pas aussi évident).

3. violeur furieux

Ce sujet utilise le viol comme un châtiment contre quelqu'un qu'il considère comme un représentant du genre , groupe social ou collectif ayant produit un type de dommage (réel ou imaginaire). C'est-à-dire qu'il expérimente la violation par un biais évident basé sur des stéréotypes et parfois du contenu politique.

4. Violateur en quête de confiance ou de compensation

C'est un type de violeur qui a une perception déformée de la relation entre l'agresseur et l'agressé . L’agresseur pense que sa performance permettra à la victime de jouir et de rapprocher la personne objet de son désir, et peut établir une relation amoureuse.

4. violeur sadique

Chez ce type d’individus, on observe un lien entre l’excitation sexuelle et l’agressivité . L'initiation d'une interaction que le sujet considère comme excitante peut accroître l'agressivité du sujet et lui faire subir des pulsions agressives à son égard. Il n'est pas rare qu'ils présentent un désordre antisocial et une paraphilie appelée sadisme sexuel et que, dans le cas d'un viol, elle s'exprime directement, sans filtre.

6. La violation en tant que mécanisme de contrôle

Certaines violations sont commises avec un objectif indépendant de satisfaction sexuelle et de pouvoir de l'agresseur. C’est le cas de certaines violations systématiques commises pendant les guerres, dans lesquelles L'agression sexuelle est utilisée comme moyen d'humiliation et de contrôle de la population et diminuer le moral du pays ennemi. C'est un usage stratégique de ce type de violence, grâce auquel des objectifs peuvent être atteints au-delà de cette action en soi.

Le profil du violeur et ses caractéristiques

S'il est vrai qu'en raison de la grande diversité de variables qui influencent la perpétration d'un acte de ce type, il n'est pas possible de parler d'un seul profil de violeur, il est possible de localiser une série de variables qui ne s'appliquent pas dans tous les cas. Les cas sont très fréquents chez différents types de délinquants sexuels.

Il est important de le souligner: il n'y a pas un seul prototype de violé r , et les caractéristiques suivantes, bien qu’elles puissent être communes, n’identifient pas tous les contrevenants.

1. Ils ne doivent pas avoir une personnalité étrange

La plupart des gens ne commettent pas de viol. Cela peut suggérer que le profil type d'un violeur doit être celui d'une personne présentant d'énormes particularités, caractéristiques que la plupart des gens n'ont pas et qui les rendent, au quotidien, seuls et sans contact normal avec la société. Bien que dans certains cas concrets, cela puisse être vrai, en général, ce n'est pas vrai.

Une grande majorité des violations sont commises par des sujets ayant une personnalité dans le "normal" et qu'ils ont des amis, de la famille et du travail. En fait, beaucoup d'entre eux sont des personnes avec un couple, avec qui ils entretiennent généralement des relations de manière conventionnelle.

2. Le pouvoir, pas le sexe

L'une des caractéristiques les plus communes de la plupart des violeurs est que le but réel de leur action n'est pas d'obtenir une gratification sexuelle.

Surtout, les personnes qui commettent un viol sachant ce qu’elles font cherchent et sont attirées par l’idée d’exercer une domination , faire que les autres fassent quelque chose contre leur volonté et obéissant aux intérêts de l'agresseur. En d'autres termes, dans une violation, ce n'est pas seulement le sexe qui est recherché, mais c'est surtout l'exercice du pouvoir qui est recherché.

3. Ils ont tendance à rechercher les victimes qu'ils considèrent les plus faibles

Dans certains cas, la victime est une personne physiquement plus forte que l'agresseur, En règle générale, les auteurs d'agression sexuelle cherchent des victimes qu'ils considèrent physiquement plus faibles que ce soit eux ou ceux qui connaissent les points faibles à exploiter.

Dans les deux cas, le choix de la victime est lié à la possibilité d’exercer un pouvoir soit sur une personne qu’elle croit pouvoir soumettre, soit sur une personne qu’elle considère comme supérieure et qu’elle veut voir humiliée et inférieure à elle-même. .

4. Sentiments d'infériorité et de frustration vitale

Un autre élément commun à la plupart des violeurs est la présence d’un fort sentiment de frustration et d’infériorité qui peut être exprimé par des explosions de violence.

Bien qu'ils n'aient pas à le démontrer dans la plupart des facettes de leur vie quotidienne et qu'ils puissent même agir d'une manière dominante, ces sentiments d'infériorité peuvent provoquer une réaction sous la forme d'un désir de dominer l'autre, un désir que chez certaines personnes peut mener à une agression sexuelle .

5. Peu de capacité d'empathie

Les agressions sexuelles se produisent pour une raison quelconque, les violeurs ont généralement une capacité d'empathie très limitée, voire nulle. Ainsi, l'agresseur sexuel ne peut pas, ne s'en soucie pas ou choisit de ne pas penser à ce que le viol est pour la victime , ou qu'il en vienne à considérer que la satisfaction de son désir de pouvoir et de sexe mérite la souffrance de la victime. Cela est visible dans de nombreux cas indiquant que la victime souhaitait réellement entretenir des relations ou appréciait pleinement la situation.

6. Aucune anticipation des conséquences

Il a été observé que beaucoup de violeurs n'ont jamais pensé à ce qui pourrait se passer après l'acte commis , si l'affaire ferait l'objet d'une enquête ou si elles seraient retrouvées et détenues. Cela traduit un certain déficit d’anticipation des conséquences de leurs propres actions, que ce soit pour elles-mêmes ou pour les autres. Ce facteur ne serait pas déterminant pour les personnes qui pensent que ce qu'elles recherchent est davantage la conséquence de l'acte lui-même que l'acte lui-même.

7. Antécédents possibles d'abus ou d'apprentissage d'une sexualité coercitive

Comme pour la violence sexiste, de nombreuses personnes qui commettent actuellement des crimes sexuels ont été maltraitées ou maltraitées dans leur enfance ou ont été témoins de mauvais traitements infligés à d’autres membres importants de la famille.

Cela signifie qu'à long terme, ils peuvent identifier la contrainte comme une manière normale de procéder et, bien qu'ils sachent que la société est socialement mal vue, peuvent sentir l’impulsion pour entreprendre l’acte.

8. Ils estiment avoir le droit de commettre une agression

Dans un grand nombre de cas, les auteurs de violations considèrent qu’ils ont le droit de forcer la victime à , parfois pour des raisons culturelles. Ainsi, les agressions sexuelles sont plus fréquentes dans les personnes et les régions où la supériorité des hommes sur les femmes est toujours considérée, ou ils considèrent que leurs besoins sont supérieurs à ceux des autres.

9. Il ne s'agit pas de malades mentaux

Bien que l'image typique d'un violeur soit celle d'un psychopathe ou d'une personne atteinte d'un trouble mental, considérer que les agresseurs sexuels sont des personnes atteintes d'un trouble mental serait faux et réductionniste.

Il est possible de constater que certains troubles de la personnalité tels que les troubles antisociaux peuvent faciliter une telle action. et il est vrai que des cas de viol peuvent être constatés lors de troubles psychotiques, maniaques ou commis par des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, mais en règle générale, les agresseurs sexuels sont capables de juger correctement la situation et de savoir ce qu'ils font.

10. Ils sont pour la plupart totalement imputables

Une conséquence du point précédent. Étant donné que la plupart des auteurs de ce type d'actes sont pleinement conscients que leurs actes sont nocifs et punissables par la société, généralement les violeurs sont juridiquement imputables .

11. échapper à la responsabilité

Une caractéristique commune dans de nombreux cas dans lesquels il n'y a ni psychopathie ni psychopathologie est la tentative d'échapper à sa responsabilité dans l'acte . Il est courant de justifier le comportement pour l'usage de substances ou de prétendre souffrir d'une psychopathologie pour échapper à la punition. Au niveau de l'information, au-delà des procédures judiciaires, il est habituel de blâmer la victime.

12. Blâmer la victime

Certains des auteurs de violations indiquent généralement que la victime est la faute de la situation . Des phrases telles que "je provoquais", "au fond, je le voulais" et leurs variantes sont fréquentes chez les agresseurs sexuels arrêtés, évitant de se prendre en charge et de se justifier.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Burguess, A. G.; Burguess, A.W.; Douglas, J. & Ressler, R. (1992). Manuel de classification de la criminalité. Livres de Lexington.
  • Cáceres, J. (2001). Paraphilias et violation. Madrid: Résumé de la rédaction.
  • González, E .; Martínez, V .; Leyton, C. et Bardi, A. (2004). Caractéristiques des agresseurs sexuels. La révérende Sogia; 1 (1): 6-14.
  • Marshall, W. (2001). Agresseurs sexuels Etudes sur la violence. Ed. Ariel. p. 107
Articles Connexes