yes, therapy helps!
Psychologists: what they do and how they help people

Psychologists: what they do and how they help people

May 2, 2024

It is not easy to define a psychologist since there are many specializations. But in a summary way, the psychologist is a qualified professional who has received a formal university education in Psychology (Bachelor or Degree in Psychology).

This professional studies, from the scientific point of view, the way how individuals think, feel and behave, and has explanatory models and sufficient knowledge to be able to apply the appropriate tools and techniques for evaluation, diagnosis, treatment and the intervention in the different problems that may arise in different areas: education, organization, clinic, community, among others.


Occasionally, psychologists also work to improve the performance or potential of an organization or individual.

Psychologists are not only dedicated to treating psychopathologies

As we can see, the definition of the psychologist is complex. But it can be said that this one deals with certain aspects of human behavior, such as thinking, emotions, behavior and interpersonal relationships to help other people or groups better understand each other and solve psychological and relational needs so that they can enjoy greater psychological well-being.

On the other hand, we must clarify that not all psychologists are dedicated to the treatment of psychopathologies. For example, sports psychologists can help athletes improve their athletic performance.


What training does a psychologist have?

Psychology is a very broad field that covers different areas of application. Thus, There are certain differences in terms of the educational content of the different countries . For example, the curricular network of most Latin American countries, with a duration of five years, consists of a basic cycle of two years, and from the third year students already specialize in clinical, educational or organizational psychology (the latter , also called industrial).

In contrast, in Spain, the duration of the Degree in Psychology is four years. The specialization is achieved through the different graduate degrees that exist.

The postgraduate degrees can be official or own titles. The first give the option of accessing a PhD.

If you want to know more about psychology training, you can visit our articles:


  • Why study Psychology? 10 points that you should value (from the psychologist Bertrand Regader)
  • The 20 best Masters in Psychology
  • The 10 best universities to study Psychology in Spain

It is necessary that psychologists stay updated in their field of practice, for this they can attend seminars and courses to keep abreast of the profession.

What psychologists do and how they help us

Psychologists are engaged in research practice and teaching a wide range of topics related to thinking, emotions and human behavior. They work with people individually, with groups (such as families or sports teams) and organizations. Some psychologists also work with animals. For example, with dogs.

Then some thematic and problems are shown with which psychologists usually work :

  • Mental health and problems such as depression, anxiety, phobias or schizophrenia
  • Neurological, genetic, psychological and social determinants of behavior
  • Brain injuries and degenerative brain diseases
  • Perception and pain management
  • Psychological factors associated with physical problems and illnesses (for example, diabetes or cancer)
  • Psychological factors associated with terminal illness
  • Cognitive functions such as attention, learning, memory, problem solving and intelligence
  • Psychological development throughout life
  • Criminal behavior, crime prevention, victim assistance and psychological factors related to the criminal and judicial area
  • Use and abuse of addictive substances
  • Psychological well-being: management of emotions and other related aspects (for example, stress)
  • Development and personal growth (for example, realization and goal planning)
  • Factors that influence the maintenance of "wellness", that is, in mental, emotional and physical balance
  • Social and cultural behavior and the relationships between individuals and groups
  • Psychological factors related to performance in organizations and sports

The usefulness of psychologists

What psychologists do has to do with understanding the behavior and mental processes of people, but it also has a very clear applied part. After all, there is little point in understanding something if this knowledge can not be applied. That is why psychology has one aspect of research and another of application of the research.

In the first area we find, for example, psychologists and psychologists who study perception and decision making, and in the applied part is that part of the psychology community that applies this knowledge to psychotherapy, the psychology of marketing, etc.

In short, there are numerous professional and academic environments that benefit from the work done by psychologists in their day to day.

Differences between psychologists and psychiatrists

Psychology and psychiatry are two disciplines that are usually confused despite being two different fields of application within the field of mental health.

Some differences between both practices are: psychologists are graduates or graduates in psychology while psychiatrists have studied medicine, both employ different treatments (psychologists can not use drugs, psychiatrists do) or the problems they treat are different. In the latter case, psychologists are not only dedicated to the clinical field, but can work with people who do not suffer from psychopathologies.

If you want to know more data between both disciplines, you can read this post: "What is the difference between a psychologist and a psychiatrist?".

Where do psychologists work?

The psychologists they work in different places since there are many fields of application . Some work in schools, others in organizations, others in private clinics and others in prisons. Some psychologists can even practice their profession as researchers and others as teachers.

Although the fields of application of psychology are many, the most known areas are: Clinical Psychology, Educational Psychology and Development, Experimental Psychology, Neuroscience and Social and Organizational Psychology.

In addition to these areas, psychologists can specialize in: forensic psychology, sports psychology, psychology applied to nutrition, criminal psychology, legal psychology, sexology or coaching.


26 PSYCHOLOGY FACTS YOU NEVER KNEW ABOUT PEOPLE (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologues: ce qu'ils font et comment ils aident les gens

Psychologues: ce qu'ils font et comment ils aident les gens

Décembre 9, 2021

Il n’est pas facile de définir un psychologue car il existe de nombreuses spécialisations. Mais de manière synthétique, le psychologue est un professionnel qualifié qui a fait des études universitaires en psychologie (Baccalauréat ou diplôme en psychologie).

Ce professionnel étudie, du point de vue scientifique, la manière dont les individus pensent, se sentent et se comportent et dispose de modèles explicatifs et de connaissances suffisantes pour pouvoir appliquer les outils et techniques appropriés d'évaluation, de diagnostic, de traitement et de diagnostic. l'intervention dans les différents problèmes pouvant survenir dans différents domaines: éducation, organisation, clinique, communauté, entre autres.


De temps en temps, les psychologues travaillent également à améliorer les performances ou le potentiel d'une organisation ou d'un individu.

Les psychologues ne se consacrent pas uniquement au traitement des psychopathologies

Comme on peut le constater, la définition du psychologue est complexe. Mais on peut dire que celui-ci traite de certains aspects du comportement humain, tels que la pensée, les émotions, le comportement et les relations interpersonnelles pour aider les autres personnes ou groupes à mieux se comprendre et à résoudre leurs besoins psychologiques et relationnels afin de leur permettre de jouir d'un plus grand bien-être psychologique.

D'autre part, nous devons préciser que tous les psychologues ne sont pas dédiés au traitement des psychopathologies. Par exemple, les psychologues du sport peuvent aider les athlètes à améliorer leurs performances sportives.


Quelle est la formation d'un psychologue?

La psychologie est un domaine très vaste qui couvre différents domaines d'application. Pour lui, Il existe certaines différences en termes de contenu éducatif des différents pays. . Par exemple, le réseau de programmes de la plupart des pays d’Amérique latine, d’une durée de cinq ans, consiste en un cycle de base de deux ans. Dès la troisième année, les étudiants se spécialisent déjà en psychologie clinique, éducative ou organisationnelle (cette dernière). , aussi appelé industrielle).

En Espagne, par contre, la durée du diplôme en psychologie est de quatre ans. La spécialisation est réalisée à travers les différents diplômes d'études supérieures qui existent

Les diplômes de troisième cycle peuvent être des titres officiels ou propres. Les premiers donnent la possibilité d'accéder à un doctorat.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la formation en psychologie, vous pouvez visiter nos articles:


  • Pourquoi étudier la psychologie? 10 points à valoriser (du psychologue Bertrand Regader)
  • Les 20 meilleurs masters en psychologie
  • Les 10 meilleures universités pour étudier la psychologie en Espagne

Il est nécessaire que les psychologues restent à jour dans leur domaine de pratique. Pour ce faire, ils peuvent assister à des séminaires et à des cours pour se tenir au courant de la profession.

Que font les psychologues et comment ils nous aident

Les psychologues sont engagés dans la recherche et enseignent un large éventail de sujets liés à la pensée, aux émotions et au comportement humain. Ils travaillent avec des personnes individuellement, avec des groupes (familles ou équipes sportives) et des organisations. Certains psychologues travaillent également avec des animaux. Par exemple, avec des chiens.

Ensuite quelques thèmes et problèmes sont montrés avec lesquels les psychologues travaillent habituellement :

  • Santé mentale et problèmes tels que dépression, anxiété, phobies ou schizophrénie
  • Déterminants neurologiques, génétiques, psychologiques et sociaux du comportement
  • Lésions cérébrales et maladies dégénératives du cerveau
  • Perception et gestion de la douleur
  • Facteurs psychologiques associés aux problèmes physiques et aux maladies (par exemple, le diabète ou le cancer)
  • Facteurs psychologiques associés à la maladie en phase terminale
  • Fonctions cognitives telles que l'attention, l'apprentissage, la mémoire, la résolution de problèmes et l'intelligence
  • Développement psychologique tout au long de la vie
  • Comportement criminel, prévention du crime, assistance aux victimes et facteurs psychologiques liés aux domaines pénal et judiciaire
  • Utilisation et abus de substances addictives
  • Bien-être psychologique: gestion des émotions et autres aspects connexes (par exemple, stress)
  • Développement et développement personnel (par exemple, réalisation et planification des objectifs)
  • Facteurs qui influent sur le maintien du "bien-être", c'est-à-dire de l'équilibre mental, émotionnel et physique
  • Comportement social et culturel et relations entre individus et groupes
  • Facteurs psychologiques liés à la performance dans les organisations et les sports

L'utilité des psychologues

Ce que font les psychologues a à voir avec la compréhension du comportement et des processus mentaux des personnes, mais cela a aussi une partie très claire appliquée. Après tout, il est inutile de comprendre quelque chose si cette connaissance ne peut pas être appliquée. C'est pourquoi la psychologie a un aspect de la recherche et un autre de son application.

Dans le premier domaine, nous trouvons, par exemple, des psychologues et des psychologues qui étudient la perception et la prise de décision, et dans la partie appliquée se trouve la partie de la communauté de la psychologie qui applique ces connaissances à la psychothérapie, à la psychologie du marketing, etc.

En bref, il existe de nombreux environnements professionnels et universitaires qui bénéficient des travaux effectués quotidiennement par les psychologues.

Différences entre psychologues et psychiatres

La psychologie et la psychiatrie sont deux disciplines qui sont généralement confondues bien qu’il s’agisse de deux champs d’application différents dans le domaine de la santé mentale.

Certaines différences entre les deux pratiques sont les suivantes: les psychologues sont des diplômés ou des diplômés en psychologie, tandis que les psychiatres ont étudié la médecine, qu'ils utilisent des traitements différents (les psychologues ne peuvent pas utiliser de drogues, mais les psychiatres) ou les problèmes qu’ils traitent sont différents. Dans ce dernier cas, les psychologues ne sont pas seulement dédiés au domaine clinique, mais peuvent travailler avec des personnes ne souffrant pas de psychopathologies.

Si vous souhaitez connaître davantage de données entre les deux disciplines, vous pouvez lire le post suivant: "Quelle est la différence entre un psychologue et un psychiatre?".

Où travaillent les psychologues?

Les psychologues ils travaillent dans des endroits différents car il existe de nombreux domaines d'application . Certains travaillent dans des écoles, d'autres dans des organisations, d'autres dans des cliniques privées et d'autres dans des prisons. Certains psychologues peuvent même exercer leur profession en tant que chercheurs et d'autres en tant qu'enseignants.

Bien que les domaines d'application de la psychologie soient nombreux, les domaines les plus connus sont les suivants: psychologie clinique, psychologie de l'éducation et du développement, psychologie expérimentale, neurosciences et psychologie sociale et organisationnelle.

En plus de ces domaines, les psychologues peuvent se spécialiser dans les domaines suivants: psychologie judiciaire, psychologie du sport, psychologie appliquée à la nutrition, psychologie criminelle, psychologie juridique, sexologie ou coaching.


8 Choses Que Les Personnes Intelligentes Refusent de Faire (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes