yes, therapy helps!
Psychology and Nutrition: the importance of emotional feeding

Psychology and Nutrition: the importance of emotional feeding

November 21, 2022

What we eat not only affects how we feel, but how we feel also affects the way we eat .

It is for this reason that there is a branch of psychology specialized in caring for the way we eat. Usually receives the name of Psychology of Nutrition , or Food Psychology .

Psychology and nutrition: a necessary tandem for our health

Although many people do not believe it, psychology can be an important to improve adherence to a diet, either to improve body image or to control excessive food intake in cases of overweight, as there are psychological variables related to success when it comes to following a diet.


Therefore, psychologists are professionals who can provide their services for individuals to make behavioral changes or changes in lifestyle. There are tools (such as good planning, avoidance of stimuli, etc.) that can be beneficial to carry out a successful dietary plan.

A psychologist can be a great help in the fight against obesity, because the emotional aspects are very important at the time of achieving a permanent change in the customs that affect food. In addition, in serious cases of eating disorders , the psychologist is an indispensable figure for the correct treatment of pathologies.


Eating with the palate: a pleasant behavior

Many people do not eat based on their nutritional needs, but it is the palate that motivates them to eat food without control. This may seem like an everyday act, but can be very harmful to health if you abuse food with low nutritional value and a high content of substances harmful to the body (such as fats trans).

Abusing the pleasurable act of eating, not only can make us feel more tired and constantly look for more food, but can cause serious health problems. Eating with the palate is a behavior that has to do with pleasure and, therefore, comes into play the reward system, mediated by dopamine. Dopamine is a neurotransmitter that actively participates in the reinforcement of pleasurable behaviors such as sex or drug use.


Emotions affect our diet: emotional feeding

In many occasions people know very well the pedagogy of food, the problem is that they do not adhere to a dietary plan for many reasons: lack of motivation, unrealistic objectives, beliefs of negative self-efficacy, exposure to interfering stimuli and, above all, a low mood .

The relationship emotions-nutrition It is clear, because in times of emotional instability we are more likely to consume fatty foods. This is not positive for weight control and causes excess fat in the diet. When we use diet to calm our emotional state, this is called emotional feeding.

The psychological and emotional variables are very important to be successful in the diet, since for many people it is not an easy way. On the other hand, we must understand human behavior and know that when we are anxious or have emotional problems, many individuals respond with large food intakes. In addition, stress also causes mood problems that influence dietary intake.

Depression and binge eating

In severe cases such as depression, depressed individuals often increase their intake of food disproportionately. According to him Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM IV) During the course of depression, episodes of overeating may appear but without loss of control (Something that does happen in binge eating disorder).

The reason why individuals with depression or emotional problems often go in search of food to feel better and calm their mood, is because many foods include tryptophan, an amino acid that causes the release of serotonin (low levels of serotonin they are associated with depression and obsession).

The lack of serotonin causes different negative effects on the organism, such as anguish, sadness or irritability. Since the body does not produce tryptophan, it must be obtained from the diet. Therefore, foods rich in this amino acid act as natural antidepressants.

There are several studies that relate serotonin with a greater sense of well-being, relaxation, better sleep, higher self-esteem, greater concentration and a better state of mind. In addition, serotonin has an important function in the brain since it establishes the balance between other neurotransmitters such as dopamine or norepinephrine (noradrenaline).These neurotransmitters are important since they are related to anguish, anxiety or eating disorders.

Foods to improve our wellbeing

Below is a list of Foods rich in Tryptophan :

  • Turkey
  • Chicken
  • Milk
  • cheese
  • Fish
  • Eggs
  • Tofu
  • Soy
  • Nuts
  • Chocolate
  • Chia seeds

Finally, regarding serotonin, Low levels of this neurotransmitter are associated with obsessive behaviors and binge eating disorder .

In a study published in the Journal of Clinical Investigation, explains that researchers from the USDA / ARS Child Nutrition Research Center at the Baylor College of Medicine, in Houston, and the Children's Hospital of Texas, in the United States, demonstrated that The hormone estrogen can increase serotonin production to inhibit binge eating.

Psychology applied to nutrition

As we have commented, there is a relationship between psychology and nutrition . The call "Psychology of Nutrition"It deals with the study and application of these phenomena both in their normal conditions and in those that occur in the pathology.The quality of the link between the psyche, social, emotional and educational factors, and nutrition, are essential for the healthy development of any person.

In the Western world, and due to the existing socioeconomic system, we have been educated to consume aesthetics. This causes pathologies or eating disorders such as Anorexia or Bulimia if you do not work to minimize the effects of the culture of the image. This need for exchange between disciplines such as Nutrition and Mental Health, makes necessary the contribution of psychology for a healthy development of individuals.

For example, the problem of obesity is not only to lose weight, In many cases there are certain aspects involved that must be addressed and that not only have to do with food . An individual who has been obese since childhood has never had a representation of his lean body. Any change that occurs will not only affect your weight, but it will have consequences on your identity. Psychology, therefore, plays an important role in the well-being of people, and nutrition is an important aspect for the full development of an individual.


The surprisingly dramatic role of nutrition in mental health | Julia Rucklidge | TEDxChristchurch (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie et nutrition: l'importance de l'alimentation émotionnelle

Psychologie et nutrition: l'importance de l'alimentation émotionnelle

Mai 22, 2022

Ce que nous mangeons n'affecte pas seulement ce que nous ressentons, mais comment nous nous sentons affecte également notre façon de manger .

C’est pour cette raison qu’il existe une branche de la psychologie spécialisée dans les soins pour notre alimentation. Reçoit habituellement le nom de Psychologie de la nutrition ou Psychologie alimentaire .

Psychologie et nutrition: un tandem indispensable à notre santé

Bien que de nombreuses personnes ne le croient pas, la psychologie peut jouer un rôle important dans l'amélioration de l'observance d'un régime, que ce soit pour améliorer l'image de son corps ou pour contrôler l'apport alimentaire excessif en cas de surcharge pondérale, car variables psychologiques liés au succès en matière de régime.


Par conséquent, les psychologues sont des professionnels qui peuvent fournir leurs services à des individus pour qu’ils modifient leur comportement ou leur mode de vie. Il existe des outils (tels qu'une bonne planification, l'évitement des stimuli, etc.) qui peuvent être bénéfiques pour mener à bien un plan diététique.

Un psychologue peut être d'une grande aide dans la lutte contre l'obésité, car les aspects émotionnels sont très importants au moment de réaliser un changement permanent des coutumes qui affectent les aliments. En outre, dans les cas graves de troubles de l'alimentation , le psychologue est une figure indispensable pour le traitement correct des pathologies.


Manger avec le palais: un comportement agréable

Beaucoup de gens ne mangent pas en fonction de leurs besoins nutritionnels, mais c'est le palais qui les pousse à manger des aliments sans contrôle. Cela peut sembler être un acte quotidien, mais peut être très nocif pour la santé si vous abusez d'aliments à faible valeur nutritive et une teneur élevée en substances nocives pour le corps (telles que les graisses trans).

Abuser du plaisir de manger, non seulement peut nous fatiguer et nous cherche constamment plus de nourriture, mais peut aussi causer de graves problèmes de santé. Manger avec le palais est un comportement lié au plaisir et, par conséquent, entre en jeu dans le système de récompense, véhiculé par la dopamine. La dopamine est un neurotransmetteur qui participe activement au renforcement de comportements agréables tels que le sexe ou la consommation de drogue.


Les émotions affectent notre alimentation: alimentation émotionnelle

Bien souvent, les gens connaissent très bien la pédagogie de l’alimentation, le problème est qu’ils ne respectent pas un régime alimentaire pour de nombreuses raisons: manque de motivation, objectifs irréalistes, convictions d’auto-efficacité négative, exposition à des stimuli perturbateurs et, surtout, un humeur basse .

La relation émotions-nutrition C'est clair, car en période d'instabilité émotionnelle, nous sommes plus susceptibles de consommer des aliments gras. Ce n'est pas positif pour le contrôle du poids et provoque un excès de graisse dans le régime alimentaire. Lorsque nous utilisons un régime alimentaire pour calmer notre état émotionnel, cela s'appelle une alimentation émotionnelle.

Les variables psychologiques et émotionnelles sont très importantes pour réussir dans l’alimentation, car pour beaucoup de personnes, ce n’est pas un moyen facile. D'autre part, nous devons comprendre le comportement humain et savoir que lorsque nous sommes anxieux ou ont des problèmes émotionnels, de nombreuses personnes réagissent avec un apport alimentaire important. En outre, le stress provoque également des problèmes d'humeur qui influent sur l'apport alimentaire.

Dépression et frénésie alimentaire

Dans les cas graves tels que la dépression, les personnes dépressives augmentent souvent leur consommation de nourriture de manière disproportionnée. Selon le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM IV) Au cours de la dépression, des épisodes de suralimentation peuvent apparaître, mais sans perte de contrôle. (Quelque chose qui arrive dans l'hyperphagie boulimique).

La raison pour laquelle les personnes souffrant de dépression ou de problèmes émotionnels vont souvent à la recherche de nourriture pour se sentir mieux et pour calmer leur humeur est due au fait que de nombreux aliments incluent du tryptophane, un acide aminé qui provoque la libération de sérotonine (faibles niveaux de sérotonine). ils sont associés à la dépression et à l'obsession).

L'absence de sérotonine a différents effets négatifs sur l'organisme, tels que l'angoisse, la tristesse ou l'irritabilité. Puisque le corps ne produit pas de tryptophane, il doit être obtenu à partir du régime alimentaire. Par conséquent, les aliments riches en cet acide aminé agissent comme antidépresseurs naturels.

Plusieurs études ont établi un lien entre la sérotonine et un sentiment accru de bien-être, de relaxation, un meilleur sommeil, une meilleure estime de soi, une plus grande concentration et un meilleur état d'esprit. En outre, la sérotonine joue un rôle important dans le cerveau car elle établit l'équilibre entre d'autres neurotransmetteurs tels que la dopamine ou la noradrénaline.Ces neurotransmetteurs sont importants car ils sont liés à l'angoisse, à l'anxiété ou aux troubles de l'alimentation.

Des aliments pour améliorer notre bien-être

Ci-dessous une liste de Aliments riches en tryptophane :

  • Dinde
  • De poulet
  • Du lait
  • Fromage
  • Poisson
  • Des oeufs
  • Tofu
  • Le soja
  • Noix
  • Au chocolat
  • Graines de chia

Enfin, en ce qui concerne la sérotonine, Les faibles niveaux de ce neurotransmetteur sont associés à des comportements obsessionnels et à des crises de frénésie alimentaire .

Dans une étude publiée dans le Journal of Clinical Investigation, explique que des chercheurs du centre de recherche USDA / ARS sur la nutrition infantile du Baylor College of Medicine de Houston et du Children's Hospital of Texas aux États-Unis ont démontré que L'hormone œstrogène peut augmenter la production de sérotonine pour inhiber la frénésie alimentaire.

Psychologie appliquée à la nutrition

Comme nous l'avons commenté, il y a une relation entre psychologie et nutrition . L'appel "Psychologie de la nutrition"Il traite de l'étude et de l'application de ces phénomènes à la fois dans leurs conditions normales et dans celles qui se produisent dans la pathologie.La qualité du lien entre la psyché, les facteurs sociaux, émotionnels et éducatifs et la nutrition est essentielle pour la développement sain de toute personne.

Dans le monde occidental, et en raison du système socio-économique existant, nous avons été éduqués à consommer de l'esthétique. Cette provoque des pathologies ou des troubles de l'alimentation comme l'anorexie ou la boulimie si vous ne travaillez pas pour minimiser les effets de la culture de l'image. Ce besoin d’échanges entre disciplines telles que la nutrition et la santé mentale rend nécessaire l’apport de la psychologie pour un développement sain des individus.

Par exemple, le problème de l'obésité n'est pas seulement de perdre du poids, Dans de nombreux cas, certains aspects doivent être traités et concernent non seulement la nourriture . Une personne obèse depuis l'enfance n'a jamais eu de représentation de son corps maigre. Tout changement qui se produira affectera non seulement votre poids, mais aura des conséquences sur votre identité. La psychologie joue donc un rôle important dans le bien-être des personnes et la nutrition est un aspect important pour le développement complet de l'individu.


On s'dit tout : Prise de poids entre nutrition et psychologie & Prenons soin de nos reins (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes