yes, therapy helps!
Psychology and statistics: the importance of probabilities in the science of behavior

Psychology and statistics: the importance of probabilities in the science of behavior

June 25, 2022

Mathematics is an important part of science and psychology, as a science that is, makes use of them to achieve its objectives of predicting and controlling human behavior. For this purpose, the use of probability is important, which allows scientists to have greater certainty when predicting how people act.

Psychology and statistics

The use of maths has been an important part of the sciences since they emerged as such at the beginning of the modern era, to the point where the great influence of numbers on what we call today is undeniable. scientific knowledge. Francis Bacon proposed a strong role for mathematics as part of his new method, while Galileo he conceived mathematics as the language with which God wrote nature (Fraile, 2000).


In that way it is completely reasonable that the psychology , as a science that is, use mathematics in one way or another in your studies, either as an auxiliary or as part of the hypothetical deductive method. This method has been the subject of one of the constant controversies among psychology theorists (Silva, 2013).

What are the aims of psychology as a science?

Now, in order to understand the importance of probability in psychological science, it is necessary to understand the aims of psychology. Regarding this, Coon and Mitterer (2010) tell us that psychology pursues four purposes , namely: the description, understanding, prediction and control of behavior and mental processes.


It is important, however, to understand well what is meant by the concepts prediction Y control . By prediction the ability to foresee a behavior with certainty is understood, while for control it will simply be understood as the ability to modify the conditions that affect behavior (Coon and Mitterer, 2010: 15).

The moment when the odds come into play

Having understood the above, it can be said that the probability helps just achieve the third objective and it is, in a way, the foundation of the fourth point. In other words, for psychology to be able to predict and / or control behavior at the time, it is necessary to be able to make all the particular data obtained through research be able to be generalized and hence inferred, with a rate of enough certainty, a behavior, action or situation.


Probability and statistics are used, on the one hand, as a way to obtain, interpret and generalize the data , and on the other, to be able predict from there certain future events . This can be clearly seen in the fact of the use of the poll, the studies correlational and case studies as research methods. The survey serves to obtain data used to collect information from a representative sample of a population, while correlational studies look for the relationship that may exist between two variables, which are not necessarily cause of one another. Finally, the case study that allows to study a single subject or situation in a high degree of detail. (Halguin and Krauss, 2008).

Statistics: a key element to infer results

As expected, all these methods (and even the experimental method) require the probability to infer results . But it goes beyond just numbers, touches issues that once applied can affect the people who are treated, for example, in a psychological office or in the workplace or school, for example.

The issues dealt with in these three areas directly affect the lives of people and therefore it is important to consider on the one hand the chances of success that are taken in therapy , or in the job interview or at school, so that a more accurate and efficient intervention can be given that can really help people and give them effective tools to achieve their objectives in the best possible way.

In the end, what is sought with the probability, from a scientific point of view, will be the predictability of an event. But from a personal point of view, and not infrequently existential of many people, what is sought is a certainty that gives meaning to the reality we live.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bologna, E. (2011) Statistics for Psychology and Education. Córdoba: Ed. Brujas
  • Coon, D. and Mitterer, J. (2010) Introduction to Psychology. Mexico: Cengage Learning
  • Fraile, G. (2000) History of Philosophy III: From humanism to the Enlightenment. Madrid: BAC.
  • Halguin, R. and Krauss, S. (2008) Psychology of Abnormality. Mexico: Mc Graw Hill
  • Silva, A. (2013) Philosophical foundations of Psychology. Mexico: PAX

Intro to Psych Statistics (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie et statistique: l'importance des probabilités dans la science du comportement

Psychologie et statistique: l'importance des probabilités dans la science du comportement

Décembre 9, 2021

Les mathématiques sont une partie importante de la science et la psychologie, en tant que science, les utilise pour atteindre ses objectifs de prédiction et de contrôle du comportement humain. À cette fin, l'utilisation de la probabilité est importante, ce qui permet aux scientifiques d'avoir une plus grande certitude lorsqu'ils prédisent comment les gens agissent.

Psychologie et statistique

L'utilisation de matematiques Les sciences constituent une partie importante des sciences depuis leur apparition en tant que telles au début de l’ère moderne, au point que la grande influence des nombres sur ce que nous appelons aujourd’hui est indéniable. connaissances scientifiques. Francis Bacon proposé un rôle important pour les mathématiques dans le cadre de sa nouvelle méthode, tout en Galilée il a conçu les mathématiques comme la langue avec laquelle Dieu a écrit la nature (Fraile, 2000).


De cette manière, il est tout à fait raisonnable que le psychologie , en tant que science, utilisez les mathématiques d’une manière ou d’une autre dans vos études, soit comme auxiliaire, soit dans le cadre du programme. méthode déductive hypothétique. Cette méthode a fait l'objet de nombreuses controverses parmi les théoriciens de la psychologie (Silva, 2013).

Quels sont les objectifs de la psychologie en tant que science?

Maintenant, pour comprendre l'importance de la probabilité en sciences psychologiques, il est nécessaire de comprendre les objectifs de la psychologie. À ce propos, Coon et Mitterer (2010) nous disent que la psychologie poursuit quatre objectifs , a savoir: la description, la compréhension, la prévision et le contrôle du comportement et des processus mentaux.


Cependant, il est important de bien comprendre ce que l’on entend par les concepts Prédiction et contrôle . Pourquoi Prédiction la capacité de prévoir un comportement avec certitude est comprise, tandis que pour contrôle il s'agira simplement de la capacité de modifier les conditions qui affectent le comportement (Coon et Mitterer, 2010: 15).

Le moment où les chances entrent en jeu

Après avoir compris ce qui précède, on peut dire que la probabilité aide seulement à atteindre le troisième objectif et c’est en quelque sorte le fondement du quatrième point. En d’autres termes, pour que la psychologie puisse prédire et / ou contrôler un comportement à la fois, il est nécessaire de pouvoir rendre toutes les données particulières obtenues grâce à la recherche pouvant être généralisées et donc déduites, avec un taux de assez de certitude, un comportement, une action ou une situation.


La probabilité et les statistiques sont utilisées, d’une part, pour obtenir, interpréter et généraliser les données , et d'autre part, pour pouvoir prévoir à partir de là certains événements futurs . Cela se voit clairement dans le fait de l’utilisation du enquête, le studios corrélationnel et études de cas comme méthodes de recherche. L'enquête sert à obtenir les données utilisées pour collecter des informations auprès d'un échantillon représentatif d'une population, tandis que les études corrélationnelles recherchent la relation pouvant exister entre deux variables, qui ne sont pas nécessairement causes l'une de l'autre. Enfin, l’étude de cas qui permet d’étudier un sujet ou une situation de manière très détaillée. (Halguin et Krauss, 2008).

Statistiques: un élément clé pour inférer des résultats

Comme prévu, toutes ces méthodes (et même la méthode expérimentale) exiger la probabilité d'inférer des résultats . Mais cela va au-delà des chiffres et touche des problèmes qui, une fois appliqués, peuvent affecter les personnes traitées, par exemple dans un bureau de psychologue, sur le lieu de travail ou à l'école, par exemple.

Les questions traitées dans ces trois domaines affecter directement la vie des personnes et il est donc important de prendre en compte, d'une part, les chances de succès de la thérapie ou lors d'un entretien d'embauche ou à l'école, afin de pouvoir réaliser une intervention plus précise et plus efficace qui puisse réellement aider les gens et leur donner des outils efficaces pour atteindre leurs objectifs de la meilleure façon possible.

Au final, ce qui est recherché avec la probabilité, d’un point de vue scientifique, sera le prévisibilité d'un événement. Mais d’un point de vue personnel, et il n’est pas rare que de nombreuses personnes soient existentielles, on cherche une certitude qui donne un sens à la réalité que nous vivons.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bologna, E. (2011) Statistiques pour la psychologie et l'éducation. Cordoue: Ed. Brujas
  • Coon, D. et Mitterer, J. (2010) Introduction à la psychologie. Mexique: Cengage Learning
  • Fraile, G. (2000) Histoire de la philosophie III: de l'humanisme aux Lumières. Madrid: BAC.
  • Halguin, R. et Krauss, S. (2008) Psychologie de l'anomalie. Mexique: Mc Graw Hill
  • Silva, A. (2013) Fondements philosophiques de la psychologie. Mexique: PAX

Risques, décisions et incertitudes — Crétin de cerveau #5 (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes