yes, therapy helps!
Psychology of conflict: theories that explain wars and violence

Psychology of conflict: theories that explain wars and violence

May 19, 2024

After the last days, we feel desolate. The attacks in Paris have been of such brutality that we are all in shock and injured. Feeling the dozens of deaths, today we are millions of victims of pain that have caused the events. Our greatest solidarity to France, Paris, victims, relatives and all those injured in the soul.

Right now, we navigate channel after channel for someone to explain us why these things happen . As a tribute to all of us who are victims, we will try to approach some theories that from the psychology explain the nature of conflicts; trying to put aside prejudices to offer the most objective information.


The realistic theory of the Sherif conflict

Muzafer Sherif (1967, 1967) analyzes the conflict from social psychology with a perspective of intergroup relations. Expose that the conflict arises from the relationship that two groups establish by obtaining resources . Depending on the type of resources, they develop different strategies.

  • Supported resources : its obtaining is independent for each group, that is, each group can achieve its objectives without influencing those of the other.
  • Incompatible resources : it is obtained at the expense of the other group; that a group obtains its resources prevents the attainment on the part of the other.

Also, depending on the type of resources that the groups want to access, different strategies of relationship between both are developed to obtain it:


  • Competition : against incompatible resources.
  • Independence : before compatible resources.
  • Cooperation : before resources that need joint effort (superordinate goal).

From this perspective, the conflict translates into "how to get the resources I need". Therefore, the strategy to follow depends on how the resources are. If they are unlimited, there is no relationship between the groups, since they can be obtained independently of what the other does without having to contact them. Now, if resources are scarce, groups enter into competition. The fact that one of them achieves its objectives implies that others can not, so by inertia they try to be the only ones that access.

A theory that takes into account the concept of competence

We could understand him as two people before a job interview. If there are several places on offer, the suitors do not have to relate to each other: they focus on their individual development. On the other hand, if only one place is offered, both people tend to consider each other . They have become competitors and it is important to know the opponent to develop the timely strategy and be selected


Now, there is also a third option: the cooperation. In this case, the type of resources is not specified, because their quantity is indifferent. The importance lies in the nature of the resource, if the joint participation of both groups is necessary to obtain it. This is how the superordinate goal is defined, a final goal that is subordinated to the individual interests of each one and that needs the contribution of both to achieve it.

The conflict for peace of Galtung

A complementary perspective to Sherif is that of Johan Galtung , from the social evolutionism. In this case, to understand the conflict it is necessary to understand its existence since the beginning of humanity. With this sense, Conflict is inherent to society, there will always be conflicts, so the focus lies on its resolution and how they will bring about changes in society. This is how conflict is not an end, but a necessary means to peace.

Following the direction that Galtung marks (cited in Calderón, 2009) in all conflicts there are several participants. Each of them has its own thoughts and emotions, behaves in a concrete way and has its own interpretation of the nature of the conflict. On these three vertices, the logic of conflict for the author is structured.

  • Attitudes : thoughts and emotions of each one of those involved.
  • Contradiction : differences in interpretations of the nature of the conflict.
  • Behavior : manifestation of those involved, how they deal with the other.

These points explain the conflict as normal. It is normal that, being different people, different emotions and thoughts -actitudes- develop, different interpretations about the events -contradiction- and different actions -behavior-.

Now, if everything is so natural, why do conflicts occur? It seems that understanding that we are all different is simple, but the problem arises when we do not let ourselves see that we are different.For Galtung, the above factors can exist in two different plans: they can be manifested, expressing themselves to the other; or latent, keeping hidden in each involved.

  • Manifest plane : the factors of conflict are expressed.
  • Latent plane : the factors of conflict are not expressed.

The key lies in the interpretation of the other's acts

Therefore, when we think, feel, and interpret reality, we shut it up and begin to relate to the other without letting him know our position; it is more likely to enter into conflict. A simple act like annulling an appointment can awaken different ways of understanding it; and if we do not let ourselves be understood, it is when the misunderstanding can appear.

It is at this point where the processes for its resolution come into play: the transcendence and the transformation. With transcendence reference is made to a change in the perception of conflict as an individual event, to see it as a process that encompasses different participants; the conflict not only affects us. Once with this perspective, the transformation is developed, a change in the resolution strategy, including the perspectives of others. That is to say, understand that the conflict is everyone's business and integrate them in their resolution .

Processes of resolution of conflicts according to Galtung

Galtung proposes these processes that lead to the resolution of conflicts:

  • Transcendence : global perspective of the conflict.
  • Transformation : integration in the solution of the rest of those involved.

Once we see that conflict not only affects us and we act with others in mind, we can develop strategies for peace. After the processes of transcendence and transformation, the road to peace goes through three characteristics that overcome the barriers of the previous factors:

  • Empathy to understand the attitudes of others.
  • Non-violence to manage behaviors.
  • Creativity to solve contradictions.

The Selman negotiations

The third approach we present focuses directly on conflict resolution strategies. Roger Selman (1988) proposes that the parties involved with any action they develop show their resolution strategy. That is to say, the exchange of actions taken by those involved is transformed into a process of negotiation of the conflict . In this sense, it not only leads to peace, but negotiation can also be a cause or aggravating conflict.

These actions that the involved parties develop are based on three components very similar to those proposed by Galtung: own perspective, objectives and control of the conflict. Based on these three components two positions can be given when solving a conflict.

Negotiation strategies, according to Selman

Roger Selman proposes the different negotiation strategies:

  • Autotransformer : try to change your own attitudes.
  • Heterotransformant : try to change the other's attitudes.

That is, we can be self-transforming, deciding change our way of thinking or acting to resolve the conflict . On the other hand, with the heterotransformant, we insist on making the other change and imposing our perspective. However, the conflict will remain latent if neither of the two strategies takes into account the other; obeying without questioning or imposing oneself authoritatively does not treat the problem and sooner or later it will resurface in some other way.

Therefore, to reach a satisfactory solution, it is necessary to take into account both participants. Precisely this is the factor that mediates the degree of its effectiveness; the ability to empathize and take perspective from the other to find the solution together. Based on this, Selman establishes four levels of coordination of the points of view of those involved.

  • Level 0 - Egocentric Indifference : each member has impulsive and unreflective reactions alien to the other. While the heterotransformant uses force to impose itself, the autotransformer submits impulsively out of fear or protection.
  • Level 1 - Subjective Difference : the actions are not impulsive, but they still do not involve the other. Both continue with the strategies of imposition / submission, but without being actions of force and reactions of fear.
  • Level 2 - Self-critical Reflection : there is a tendency to the nature of the strategy of each party, but you are aware of its use. In this case, the heterotransformant tries to consciously influence and persuade the other. In turn, the self-transformer is aware of his own submission and of first letting go of the wishes of others.
  • Level 3 - Mutual Decentralization : it is a shared reflection of oneself, of the other and of the conflict, which extinguishes the different positions. It is no longer a matter of trying or changing oneself, or influencing, but rather of jointly obtaining a solution for the shared objectives.

Therefore, the heterotransformant nature leads to impose and the self-transforming to submit. At the lower levels, these behaviors are impulsive and at higher levels more and more people reflect on them.Finally, the solution ends up sharing and coordinating; for leaving aside the self-hetero tendency to include the other and jointly develop the adequate strategy to resolve the conflict.

From the Psychology of Conflict to Psychology for Peace

The previous theories are just a few of the many that explain the processes of conflict. But in the same way that they explain problems, they also do it with their solutions. Moreover, the study of the conflict does not arise from the question "How is the conflict generated?" But from "How is a conflict solved?".

For this, Sherif proposes shared goals between the parties, Galtung a process of empathy to see that the conflict is not only ours and Selman the dialogue to develop a joint negotiation. In all cases, a key issue is to "share", co-create the solution because, if the conflict does not arise only from one of the parties, it will not come out of only one solution.

For that same reason it is important what to do when the conflict occurs; its management . From this perspective and the events in Paris, we do not want to urge dialogue with terrorists. But it does take into account the actions that are carried out and the prejudices that may arise. Because the existence of a conflict with a terrorist section can be true, but it does not exist with a religion or a people. Although some people have taken weapons in the name of a god, the conflict is not against that god, because no god gives weapons to his believers.

The conflict is natural to humanity, it has always existed and will always exist. With this we do not intend to trivialize the events, at all. If not to emphasize the importance of consequences, in which every conflict changes the course of humanity and that the current one does not lead us towards dehumanity. As one great professional and friend says, "There is no change without conflict1" Today we have to think about what change we want.

1María Palacín Lois, Professor Group Area of ​​the Department of Social Psychology (UB) Dtra. Master Driving Groups. President of the SEPTG.

Bibliographic references:

  • Calderón, P. (2009). Theory of conflicts by Johan Galtung. Peace and conflict magazine, 2, 60-81.
  • Selman, R. (1988). Use of interpersonal negotiation strategies and communication skills: a longitudinal clinical exploration of two disturbed adolescents. In R. Hinde, Relations interpersonnelles et developpment dessauciva.
  • Sherif, M. (1966). Group Conflict and Co-operation. Their Social Psychology, London: Routledge & Kegan Paul
  • Sherif, M. (1967). Conflict and cooperation, in J. R. Torregrosa and E. Crespo (comps.): Basic studies of Social Psychology, Barcelona: Time, 1984.

Karl Marx & Conflict Theory: Crash Course Sociology #6 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie du conflit: théories expliquant les guerres et la violence

Psychologie du conflit: théories expliquant les guerres et la violence

Juillet 23, 2019

Après les derniers jours, nous nous sentons désolés. Le Les attentats à Paris ont été d'une telle brutalité que nous sommes tous sous le choc et blessé. Ressentant des dizaines de morts, nous sommes aujourd'hui des millions de victimes de la douleur qui ont causé les événements. Notre plus grande solidarité envers la France, Paris, les victimes, les proches et tous les blessés dans l’âme.

En ce moment, nous naviguons canal après canal pour que quelqu'un nous explique pourquoi ces choses arrivent . En hommage à toutes les victimes, nous tenterons d’aborder certaines théories qui, de la psychologie, expliquent la nature des conflits; essayer de mettre de côté les préjugés pour offrir les informations les plus objectives.


La théorie réaliste du conflit de Sherif

Muzafer Sherif (1967, 1967) analyse le conflit de la psychologie sociale dans une perspective de relations intergroupes. Exposer que le conflit provient de la relation que deux groupes établissent en obtenant des ressources . Selon le type de ressources, ils développent différentes stratégies.

  • Ressources supportées : son obtention est indépendante pour chaque groupe, c'est-à-dire que chaque groupe peut atteindre ses objectifs sans influencer ceux de l'autre.
  • Ressources incompatibles : il est obtenu aux frais de l’autre groupe; le fait qu'un groupe obtienne ses ressources empêche la réalisation de la part de l'autre.

En outre, en fonction du type de ressources auxquelles les groupes veulent accéder, différentes stratégies de relation entre les deux sont développées pour l'obtenir:


  • Concours : contre les ressources incompatibles.
  • Indépendance : avant les ressources compatibles.
  • La coopération : avant les ressources qui nécessitent un effort commun (objectif supérieur).

De ce point de vue, le conflit se traduit par "comment obtenir les ressources dont j'ai besoin". Par conséquent, la stratégie à suivre dépend de la façon dont les ressources sont. S'ils sont illimités, il n'y a pas de relation entre les groupes, car ils peuvent être obtenus indépendamment de ce que l'autre fait sans avoir à les contacter. Maintenant, si les ressources sont rares, les groupes entrent en concurrence. Le fait que l'un d'eux atteigne ses objectifs implique que les autres ne peuvent pas, alors, par inertie, ils essaient d'être les seuls à pouvoir y accéder.

Une théorie qui prend en compte le concept de compétence

Nous pourrions le comprendre comme deux personnes avant un entretien d'embauche. S'il existe plusieurs lieux proposés, les prétendants ne doivent pas nécessairement se mettre en relation: ils se concentrent sur leur développement individuel. Par contre, si une seule place est offerte, les deux personnes ont tendance à se considérer . Ils sont devenus des concurrents et il est important de connaître l'adversaire pour développer la stratégie opportune et être sélectionné


Maintenant, il y a aussi une troisième option: le la coopération. Dans ce cas, le type de ressources n'est pas spécifié, car leur quantité est indifférente. L'importance réside dans la nature de la ressource si la participation conjointe des deux groupes est nécessaire pour l'obtenir. C’est ainsi que l’objectif supérieur est défini, un objectif final qui est subordonné aux intérêts individuels de chacun et qui a besoin de la contribution des deux pour le réaliser.

Le conflit pour la paix de Galtung

Une perspective complémentaire à Sherif est celle de Johan Galtung , depuis le évolutionnisme social. Dans ce cas, pour comprendre le conflit, il est nécessaire de comprendre son existence depuis le début de l’humanité. Dans ce sens, Le conflit est inhérent à la société, il y aura toujours des conflits, l'accent est donc mis sur sa résolution et comment ils vont amener des changements dans la société. C'est ainsi que le conflit n'est pas une fin, mais un moyen nécessaire pour la paix.

Suivant la direction que marque Galtung (citée dans Calderón, 2009) dans tous les conflits, il y a plusieurs participants. Chacun d’entre eux a ses propres pensées et émotions, se comporte de manière concrète et interprète de la même manière la nature du conflit. Sur ces trois sommets, la logique de conflit de l'auteur est structurée.

  • Les attitudes : pensées et émotions de chacun des participants.
  • La contradiction : différences d'interprétation de la nature du conflit.
  • Comportement : manifestation de ceux impliqués, comment ils traitent avec l'autre.

Ces points expliquent le conflit comme normal. Il est normal que, en tant que personnes différentes, différentes émotions et pensées - des attitudes - se développent, différentes interprétations des événements - contradictions - et différentes actions - comportements -.

Maintenant, si tout est si naturel, pourquoi des conflits se produisent-ils? Il semble simple de comprendre que nous sommes tous différents, mais le problème se pose lorsque nous ne nous laissons pas voir.Pour Galtung, les facteurs ci-dessus peuvent exister dans deux plans différents: ils peuvent être manifestés, s'exprimant à l'autre; ou latent, en gardant caché dans chaque impliqué.

  • Avion manifeste : les facteurs de conflit sont exprimés.
  • Avion latent : les facteurs de conflit ne sont pas exprimés.

La clé réside dans l'interprétation des actes de l'autre

Par conséquent, lorsque nous pensons, ressentons et interprétons la réalité, nous la fermons et commençons à nous relier à l’autre sans lui faire connaître notre position, elle risquerait davantage d’entrer en conflit. Un simple geste comme annuler un rendez-vous peut susciter différentes manières de le comprendre; et si nous ne nous laissons pas comprendre, c'est quand le malentendu peut apparaître.

C’est à ce stade que les processus de résolution du conflit entrent en jeu: la transcendance et la transformation. Avec transcendance, il est fait référence à un changement dans la perception du conflit en tant qu’événement individuel, pour le voir comme un processus englobant différents participants; le conflit ne nous concerne pas seulement. Une fois avec cette perspective, la transformation est développée, un changement dans la stratégie de résolution, incluant les perspectives des autres. C'est-à-dire, comprendre que le conflit est l'affaire de tous et les intégrer dans leur résolution .

Processus de résolution des conflits selon Galtung

Galtung propose ces processus menant à la résolution des conflits:

  • Transcendance : perspective globale du conflit.
  • Transformation : intégration dans la solution du reste des personnes impliquées.

Une fois que nous constatons que le conflit ne nous affecte pas et que nous agissons en tenant compte des autres, nous pouvons élaborer des stratégies de paix. Après les processus de transcendance et de transformation, le chemin de la paix comporte trois caractéristiques qui permettent de surmonter les obstacles des facteurs précédents:

  • Empathie comprendre les attitudes des autres.
  • Non-violence pour gérer les comportements.
  • Créativité pour résoudre les contradictions.

Les négociations Selman

La troisième approche que nous présentons est directement axée sur les stratégies de résolution des conflits. Roger Selman (1988) propose que les parties impliquées dans toute action qu'elles développent montrent leur stratégie de résolution. C'est-à-dire, l'échange des actions entreprises par les acteurs est transformé en un processus de négociation du conflit . En ce sens, non seulement cela conduit à la paix, mais la négociation peut aussi être une cause ou aggraver un conflit.

Ces actions développées par les parties impliquées reposent sur trois composantes très similaires à celles proposées par Galtung: la perspective propre, les objectifs et le contrôle du conflit. Sur la base de ces trois composantes, deux positions peuvent être données lors de la résolution d'un conflit.

Stratégies de négociation, selon Selman

Roger Selman propose les différentes stratégies de négociation:

  • Autotransformateur : essayez de changer vos propres attitudes.
  • Hétérotransformant : essayez de changer les attitudes des autres.

Autrement dit, nous pouvons nous transformer nous-mêmes et décider changer notre façon de penser ou d'agir pour résoudre le conflit . D'autre part, avec l'hétérotransformant, nous insistons pour que l'autre change et impose notre perspective. Cependant, le conflit restera latent si aucune des deux stratégies ne prend en compte l’autre; obéir sans se remettre en question ni s'imposer avec autorité ne traite pas le problème et tôt ou tard, il refera surface d'une autre manière.

Par conséquent, pour parvenir à une solution satisfaisante, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte les deux participants. C’est précisément ce facteur qui détermine le degré de son efficacité; la capacité d'empathie et de prendre en perspective de l'autre pour trouver la solution ensemble. Sur cette base, Selman établit quatre niveaux de coordination des points de vue des personnes impliquées.

  • Niveau 0 - Indifférence égocentrique : chaque membre a des réactions impulsives et non réfléchies étrangères à l'autre. Tandis que l'hétérotransformant utilise la force pour s'imposer, l'autotransformateur se soumet de manière impulsive par peur ou par protection.
  • Niveau 1 - Différence subjective : les actions ne sont pas impulsives, mais n'impliquent toujours pas l'autre. Les deux continuent avec les stratégies d'imposition / soumission, mais sans être des actions de force et des réactions de peur.
  • Niveau 2 - Réflexion autocritique : il y a une tendance à la nature de la stratégie de chaque parti, mais vous êtes conscient de son utilisation. Dans ce cas, l'hétérotransformant tente d'influencer et de persuader consciemment l'autre. À son tour, l'autotransformateur est conscient de sa propre soumission et du premier à laisser de côté les souhaits des autres.
  • Niveau 3 - Décentralisation mutuelle : c'est un reflet partagé de soi, de l'autre et du conflit, qui éteint les différentes positions. Il ne s'agit plus d'essayer ou de se changer, ni d'influencer, mais bien d'obtenir conjointement une solution aux objectifs partagés.

Par conséquent, la nature hétérotransformante conduit à imposer et l'auto-transformation à se soumettre. Aux niveaux inférieurs, ces comportements sont impulsifs et aux niveaux supérieurs, de plus en plus de gens y réfléchissent.Enfin, la solution finit par partager et coordonner; pour laisser de côté la tendance auto-hétéro à inclure l'autre et développer conjointement la stratégie adéquate pour résoudre le conflit.

De la psychologie du conflit à la psychologie de la paix

Les théories précédentes ne sont que quelques-unes des nombreuses explications des processus de conflit. Mais de la même manière qu'ils expliquent les problèmes, ils le font aussi avec leurs solutions. De plus, l'étude du conflit ne découle pas de la question "Comment le conflit est-il généré?" Mais de "Comment un conflit est-il résolu?".

Pour cela, Sherif propose des objectifs partagés entre les parties, Galtung un processus d'empathie pour voir que le conflit n'est pas seulement le nôtre et Selman le dialogue pour développer une négociation commune. Dans tous les cas, une question clé est de "partager", de co-créer la solution car, si le conflit ne provient pas seulement de l'une des parties, il ne sortira pas d'une seule solution.

Pour cette même raison il est important de savoir quoi faire en cas de conflit; sa gestion . De ce point de vue et des événements à Paris, nous ne souhaitons pas engager le dialogue avec les terroristes. Mais il prend en compte les actions menées et les préjugés qui peuvent en découler. Car l’existence d’un conflit avec une section terroriste peut être vraie, mais il n’existe pas avec une religion ou un peuple. Bien que certaines personnes aient pris des armes au nom d’un dieu, le conflit n’est pas opposé à ce dieu, car aucun dieu ne donne d’armes à ses croyants.

Le conflit est naturel à l’humanité, il a toujours existé et existera toujours. Avec cela, nous n’entendons pas du tout banaliser les événements. Mais souligner l'importance des conséquences, dans lesquelles chaque conflit modifie le cours de l'humanité et que l'actuel ne nous mène pas vers la déshumanité. Comme le dit un grand professionnel et ami: "Il n'y a pas de changement sans conflit1" Aujourd'hui, nous devons réfléchir au changement que nous souhaitons.

1María Palacín Lois, Groupe de Professeurs du Département de Psychologie Sociale (UB) Dtra. Groupes de conduite principaux. Président du SEPTG.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Calderón, P. (2009). Théorie des conflits de Johan Galtung. Magazine Paix et Conflits, 2, 60-81.
  • Selman, R. (1988). Utilisation de stratégies de négociation interpersonnelle et de communication: une exploration clinique longitudinale de deux adolescents perturbés. Dans R. Hinde, Relations interpersonnelles et développement dessauciva.
  • Sherif, M. (1966). Conflit de groupe et coopération. Leur psychologie sociale, Londres: Routledge & Kegan Paul
  • Sherif, M. (1967). Conflit et coopération, dans J. R. Torregrosa et E. Crespo (comps.): Études de base en psychologie sociale, Barcelone: ​​le temps, 1984.

VP #4 | LE RETOUR DE LA LUTTE DES CLASSES (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes