yes, therapy helps!
Psychology of Development: main theories and authors

Psychology of Development: main theories and authors

May 24, 2022

The theories of the child's psychological development they pay attention to how they grow and develop throughout childhood in different areas: social, emotional and cognitive.

Many researchers have focused on knowing more about this stage of life, and the results of a wide range of studies in the fields of anthropology, medicine, sociology, education and, of course, the psychology of development, have highlighting the importance of childhood in the formation of intelligence, personality and social behavior.

Psychological theories about development in childhood

Psychologists such as Sigmund Freud, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget or Lev Vygotsky have tried to explain the different aspects through their theories. And although not all are fully accepted today, the influence of their perspectives have been very helpful in understanding how children grow, think and behave .


The following are some of the many theories of child development that have been proposed by theorists and researchers.

1. Theory of Psychosexual Development by Sigmund Freud

Freud is considered the father of Psychoanalysis. The psychoanalytic theory of child development it tends to focus on things such as the unconscious, the drives and the ego formation. Although their proposals do not enjoy great popularity at present, few doubt the importance that the events and experiences of childhood have on the future development of the child.

According to Freud, the child's development is described as a series of psychosexual stages : oral, anal, phallic, latent and genital. Now, this conception of the development of the mind and personality is the daughter of its time, and it is currently out of phase.


To learn more about this theory, in this article we explain it in detail: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst".

2. Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development

The Theory of the Psychosocial Development of Erikson (clicking on the link you can access a magnificent summary prepared by the psychologist Bertrand Regader) is one of the most widespread and accepted theories in the Psychology of Development . It is also a psychoanalytic theory, and this theorist, like Freud, proposed that there are different stages of development.

Erikson thinks that the resolution of the different stages gives rise to the acquisition of a series of competences that help to solve the goals that will be presented during the next life stage. In this way psychological growth occurs.


For example, the main conflict during the period from 6 to 12 years, called Laboriousness vs. Inferiority, implies the domain of social experience. At this stage the child begins his preschool and school instruction, and is eager to do things together with others, to share tasks, etc. If the child can not overcome this stage in the proper way, that is to say if he feels inferior, this will negatively affect his general functioning.

3. The Theory of Learning by Jean Piaget

The Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget, considered the father of constructivism, suggested that the cognitive development of children occurs following a series of stages . He observed that children play an active role in gaining knowledge of the world, that is, that he considered them "little scientists" who actively build their knowledge and understanding of the world, though, by means of mental norms that differ qualitatively from those that use adult people

Piaget's ideas are no longer valid as he formulated them, but this is one of the most important development theories , and in fact it is considered that it laid the foundations of what is now known as Developmental Psychology.

You can get more information about his theory in this article: "Jean Piaget's Theory of Learning". If what you want is to deepen in the different stages that the Swiss theorist proposed, this other article will be of great help to you: "The 4 stages of the cognitive development of Jean Piaget".

4. Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky

Another psychologist named Lev Vygotsky proposed a theory of cognitive development of children that has become one of the most influential and important theories, especially in the field of education and learning.

In the same way as Piaget, Vygotsky is a constructivist psychologist, and thought that children learn actively and through practical experiences. Now, unlike Piaget who explains that knowledge is constructed individually, Vygotsky concludes that learning is constructed through social interactions , with the support of someone more expert.

Thus, according to this theory of psychological development, the social context is part of the process of cognitive development, and it can not be considered something external that only "influences". The use of language itself, for example, is both collective and individual, and allows the emergence of great cognitive abilities, based on the development of very abstract concepts.

Vygotsky was important to understand the Collaborative learning and to learn more about the influence of the sociocultural environment on the cognitive development of children.

To delve into this interesting theory, you only have to click here: "Vygotsky's Sociocultural Theory".

5. Behavioral Theories: Classical Conditioning and Operant Conditioning

The behavioral theories they were important because They emphasized how the interaction of an individual with their environment influences their behavior . Three were the main exponents of these theories: Ivan Pavlov and John B. Watson as precursors of the Classical conditioning, and B.F. Skinner as father of Operant conditioning.

Although both theories are important in the field of learning, they only deal with observable behaviors. Therefore, the development is considered a consequence of rewards (or reinforcements) and punishments, and do not take into account the internal thoughts or feelings as conceived by cognitive psychologists, but consider them mere attributions to more difficult behaviors of Observe that movements.

Would you like to know more about these theories? Then we leave you two links so you can understand them better:

  • "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"
  • "B. F. Skinner: life and work of a radical behaviorist"

6. Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning

Albert Bandura realized that behavioral theories did not explain the learning of individuals as a whole, since they underestimate the social dimension of human behavior and the internal dimension of the subject, reducing it to an association that occurs due to repeated trials. So, understood that children's learning and development can not be understood without both components .

In addition to highlighting the importance of expectations and intrinsic reinforcements, such as a sense of pride, satisfaction and achievement, in the motivation of human beings, in his theory he emphasizes that Children learn new behaviors from the observation of other people . By observing the actions of others, including parents and peers, children develop new skills and acquire new information.

Do not miss his entire theory. Below we show you different articles of this Ukrainian-Canadian psychologist that you can read:

  • "Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"
  • "The Self-efficacy of Albert Bandura: do you believe in yourself?"
  • "Albert Bandura's Theory of Personality"

Overview of theories of development | Individuals and Society | MCAT | Khan Academy (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie du développement: principales théories et auteurs

Psychologie du développement: principales théories et auteurs

Août 31, 2022

Le théories du développement psychologique de l'enfant ils sont attentifs à leur croissance et à leur développement tout au long de leur enfance dans différents domaines: social, émotionnel et cognitif.

De nombreux chercheurs se sont attachés à en savoir plus sur cette étape de la vie et les résultats d'une vaste gamme d'études dans les domaines de l'anthropologie, de la médecine, de la sociologie, de l'éducation et, bien entendu, de la psychologie du développement, ont soulignant l'importance de l'enfance dans la formation de l'intelligence, de la personnalité et du comportement social.

Théories psychologiques sur le développement dans l'enfance

Des psychologues tels que Sigmund Freud, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget ou encore Lev Vygotsky ont tenté d'expliquer les différents aspects à travers leurs théories. Et bien que tous ne soient pas pleinement acceptés aujourd'hui, l'influence de leurs points de vue a été très utile pour comprendre comment les enfants grandissent, pensent et se comportent .


Voici quelques-uns des nombreux théories du développement de l'enfant qui ont été proposés par les théoriciens et les chercheurs.

1. Théorie du développement psychosexuel par Sigmund Freud

Freud est considéré comme le père de la psychanalyse. Le théorie psychanalytique du développement de l'enfant il a tendance à se concentrer sur des choses telles que l'inconscient, les pulsions et la formation de l'ego. Bien que leurs propositions ne jouissent pas d’une grande popularité à l’heure actuelle, peu de gens doutent de l’importance que les événements et expériences de l’enfance ont pour le développement futur de l’enfant.

Selon Freud, le développement de l'enfant est décrit comme une série de stades psychosexuels : oral, anal, phallique, latent et génital. Or, cette conception du développement de l'esprit et de la personnalité est la fille de son temps et elle est actuellement en décalage.


Pour en savoir plus sur cette théorie, nous expliquons en détail dans cet article: "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'œuvre du célèbre psychanalyste".

2. Théorie d'Erikson du développement psychosocial

La théorie du développement psychosocial d'Erikson (en cliquant sur le lien, vous pouvez accéder à un magnifique résumé préparé par le psychologue Bertrand Regader) une des théories les plus répandues et acceptées en psychologie du développement . C'est aussi une théorie psychanalytique, et ce théoricien, comme Freud, a proposé qu'il existe différents stades de développement.

Erikson pense que la résolution des différentes étapes donne lieu à l'acquisition d'une série de compétences qui aident à résoudre les objectifs qui seront présentés lors de la prochaine étape de la vie. De cette façon, la croissance psychologique se produit.


Par exemple, le conflit principal de 6 à 12 ans, appelé Laborieux vs Infériorité, implique le domaine de l'expérience sociale. À ce stade, l'enfant commence son enseignement préscolaire et scolaire et est désireux de faire des choses avec d'autres, de partager des tâches, etc. Si l'enfant ne peut pas surmonter cette étape correctement, c'est-à-dire s'il se sent inférieur, cela affectera négativement son fonctionnement général.

3. La théorie de l'apprentissage par Jean Piaget

Le psychologue suisse Jean Piaget, considéré comme le père du constructivisme, suggéré que le développement cognitif des enfants se produit après une série d'étapes . Il a observé que les enfants jouent un rôle actif dans l'acquisition de connaissances sur le monde, c'est-à-dire qu'il les considérait comme de "petits scientifiques" qui construisent activement leurs connaissances et leur compréhension du monde, bien que, au moyen de normes mentales qui diffèrent qualitativement de celles qui les utilisent. personnes adultes

Les idées de Piaget ne sont plus valables telles qu’il les a formulées, mais c’est une des théories de développement les plus importantes et, en fait, on pense qu’elle a jeté les bases de ce que l’on appelle maintenant la psychologie du développement.

Vous pouvez obtenir plus d'informations sur sa théorie dans cet article: "La théorie de l'apprentissage de Jean Piaget". Si vous souhaitez approfondir les différentes étapes proposées par le théoricien suisse, cet autre article vous sera d'une grande aide: "Les 4 étapes du développement cognitif de Jean Piaget".

4. Théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky

Un autre psychologue, Lev Vygotsky, a proposé une théorie du développement cognitif des enfants qui est devenue l'une des théories les plus influentes et les plus importantes, en particulier dans le domaine de l'éducation et de l'apprentissage.

De la même manière que Piaget, Vygotsky est un psychologue constructiviste et pense que les enfants apprennent activement et à travers des expériences pratiques. Maintenant, contrairement à Piaget qui explique que la connaissance est construite individuellement, Vygotsky conclut que l'apprentissage est construit par le biais d'interactions sociales , avec le soutien de quelqu'un de plus expert.

Ainsi, selon cette théorie du développement psychologique, le contexte social fait partie du processus de développement cognitif, et il ne peut être considéré comme quelque chose d'extérieur qui "influence" seulement. L'utilisation du langage lui-même, par exemple, est à la fois collective et individuelle et permet l'émergence de grandes capacités cognitives, basées sur le développement de concepts très abstraits.

Vygotsky était important de comprendre la apprentissage collaboratif et pour en savoir plus sur l'influence de l'environnement socioculturel sur le développement cognitif des enfants.

Pour approfondir cette théorie intéressante, il suffit de cliquer ici: "Théorie socioculturelle de Vygotsky".

5. Théories comportementales: conditionnement classique et conditionnement opérant

Le théories comportementales ils étaient importants parce que Ils ont souligné comment l’interaction d’un individu avec son environnement influence son comportement . Trois étaient les principaux représentants de ces théories: Ivan Pavlov et John B. Watson, précurseurs de la Conditionnement classiqueet B.F. Skinner comme père de Conditionnement opérant.

Bien que les deux théories soient importantes dans le domaine de l'apprentissage, elles ne traitent que des comportements observables. Par conséquent, le développement est considéré comme une conséquence des récompenses (ou des renforcements) et des punitions, et ne prend pas en compte les pensées ou sentiments internes tels que les conçoivent les psychologues cognitifs, mais les considère comme de simples attributions à des comportements plus difficiles de la vie. Observez ces mouvements.

Voulez-vous en savoir plus sur ces théories? Ensuite, nous vous laissons deux liens pour que vous puissiez mieux les comprendre:

  • "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"
  • "B. F. Skinner: la vie et le travail d'un comportementaliste radical"

6. Théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura

Albert Bandura s'est rendu compte que les théories comportementales n'expliquaient pas l'apprentissage de l'ensemble des individus, car elles sous-estimaient la dimension sociale du comportement humain et la dimension interne du sujet, le réduisant à une association due à des essais répétés. Pourtant, compris que l'apprentissage et le développement des enfants ne peuvent être compris sans les deux composantes .

En plus de souligner l'importance des attentes et des renforcements intrinsèques, tels que le sentiment de fierté, de satisfaction et de réussite, dans la motivation des êtres humains, il souligne dans sa théorie Les enfants apprennent de nouveaux comportements à partir de l'observation des autres . En observant les actions des autres, y compris les parents et les pairs, les enfants développent de nouvelles compétences et acquièrent de nouvelles informations.

Ne manquez pas toute sa théorie. Ci-dessous, nous vous présentons différents articles de ce psychologue ukraino-canadien que vous pouvez lire:

  • "Théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"
  • "L'efficacité personnelle d'Albert Bandura: croyez-vous en vous-même?"
  • "Théorie de la personnalité d'Albert Bandura"

Théories neuro-quantiques : penser et créer notre réalité, pour s'épanouir (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes