yes, therapy helps!
Psychology of pregnancy: this changes the mind of the pregnant woman

Psychology of pregnancy: this changes the mind of the pregnant woman

January 25, 2022

The branch of psychology that deals with pregnancy is the Psychology of Pregnancy, which seeks to promote the welfare of the mother during pregnancy, delivery and the puerperium, as well as the psycho-emotional development of the baby.

The Psychology of Pregnancy is interested in the mother-baby relationship , understanding it as a unit where the mental health of the mother is closely related to the health of the baby. The aim is, therefore, to promote the well-being of the mother-baby dyad, which also includes the father, especially in his role of emotional support for the mother. Let's see what this interesting branch of psychology consists of and what it studies.

The history of the nine months prior to the birth of the human is probably much more interesting and contains more momentous events than the next 70 years. Samuel Taylor Coleridge, 1840.


  • Related article: "Anxiety during pregnancy: causes, symptoms and how to manage it"

The importance of the Psychology of Pregnancy

From the physical conception, and even before , when the future baby is being conceived in the minds of their parents, a process of transformation of their psyche begins, fundamentally of the woman, which will accelerate during the pregnancy, and will be consolidated during the months and years following the birth .

Pregnancy is conceived as a moment of crisis from which the pregnant woman will develop a new identity: she will become a mother. During this period, it is common to review childhood itself, whose memories emerge easily.


So do the wounds of the past, making pregnancy a privileged time for psychotherapeutic work, since those wounds, which have sometimes burdened life for years, can heal much more quickly.

It is a period of increasing sensitivity, and of great vulnerability, for which they acquire vital importance the care provided by the immediate environment, the couple and the family , as well as by health system professionals.

Emotional ambivalence

During pregnancy they are frequent, and totally normal, the occasional depressive feelings . There is usually emotional ambivalence, that is, the coexistence of alternate moments of great joy and happy expectation, with others of fears and doubts about whether the right decision has been made, whether it is a good time to interrupt the professional career, or if you will be able to take responsibility for motherhood.


Although these ambivalent feelings are normal, it is advisable to pay special attention to the state of mind during pregnancy, and in the face of persistent negative emotions seek psychological help .

Psychological alterations in pregnancy

Several studies show a high prevalence of depressive episodes during pregnancy. Some talk about 10%, while others find that up to 40% of pregnant women suffer some type of depressive symptom.

Although postpartum depression is better known, around half the postpartum depressions begin during pregnancy . That is why taking care of the mental health of women during this period is highly recommended also from the point of view of the prevention of future disorders, as it has a positive effect on the welfare of the mother-baby dyad during the first months.

These four questions can serve as a first orientation to detect possible difficulties. Although we must bear in mind that each case is unique and full of nuances, if you answer positively to any of them, it would be advisable to go deeper into the psychological evaluation of your case:

• Have you often felt depressed, depressed or hopeless? • Have you often felt that you have lost interest and pleasure in doing things ? • Have you often felt nervous, anxious, or overwhelmed? • Have you felt unable to control or stop your worries ?

Neuroscience of pregnancy

If we take into account the discoveries of neuroscience, and of the deep process of transformation of your brain produced by the action of hormones , it is not surprising that in the mind of the pregnant woman there is a real emotional tsunami.

To begin with, it has been found that the brain during pregnancy reduces its volume by up to 7%. Does that mean that we lose cognitive abilities during pregnancy? If that were the case, nature would behave quite anomalously.

Conversely, what happens is an intense brain restructuring , similar to the one that takes place during puberty.In fact, during adolescence and pregnancy a similar synaptic pruning occurs, associated with the intense life crisis and the change of identity that both moments of life suppose.

It has been shown to increase the size of the pineal gland, and the gray matter in the brain areas related to maternal behavior. That is, with empathy , and the theory of the mind, which is the ability to understand what the other feels.

The change is so important that comparing the image of the brain of a woman who is pregnant, with that of another woman who is not pregnant, an expert in the field can say with 100% certainty which of the two corresponds to each image. The changes are clear and obvious, and can be seen at a glance.

Some pregnant women they perceive a decrease in memory and the capacity for concentration and attention . However, the studies seem to indicate that what is produced rather is a change in the attentional focus. The baby and its care, since it is in the womb, monopolize the attention of the woman, who during this period can forget more frequently, for example, where she has left the keys.

Apparently, not only is there no cognitive deficit, but it is known that the interaction with the baby is able to create new neurons in the mother's brain . Thus, given the intense nature of the changes produced in the pregnant woman's brain and psyche, which will lead her to the development of her identity as a mother, it is of vital importance to emphasize emotional care during pregnancy. Without forgetting that the welfare of the mother is also a source of health, present and future, for her son.

To learn more...

In Advance Psychologists a workshop on the Psychology of Pregnancy is given, aimed at pregnant women who want to go deeper into this topic , to live their pregnancy and face the birth in a positive way. If you are interested you can register at the following link: //www.avancepsicologos.com/taller-de-psicologia-del-embarazo/

  • Article written by Sandra del Bosque Andrés , psychologist Advance Psychologists

Author: Sandra del Bosque Andrés.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hoekzema, E .; Barba-Müller, E., Pozzobon, C .; Picado, M., Lucco, F., García-García, D., Soliva, J.C .; Tobeña, A .; Desco, M .; Crone, E.A., Ballesteros, A., Carmona, S., Vilarroya, O. (2016). "Pregnancy leads to long-lasting changes in human brain structure". Nature Rev. Neuropscience.
  • Joan Raphael-Leff. (2010). Healthy Maternal Ambivalence Studies in the Maternal 2 (1).

Can Giving Birth Permanently Change Your Brain? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie de la grossesse: cela change l'esprit de la femme enceinte

Psychologie de la grossesse: cela change l'esprit de la femme enceinte

Avril 15, 2021

La psychologie de la grossesse, qui vise à promouvoir le bien-être de la mère pendant la grossesse, l'accouchement et la période post-opératoire, ainsi que le développement psycho-émotionnel du bébé, est la branche de la psychologie liée à la grossesse.

La psychologie de la grossesse s'intéresse à la relation mère-bébé en le comprenant comme une unité où la santé mentale de la mère est étroitement liée à la santé du bébé. L’objectif est donc de promouvoir le bien-être de la dyade mère-bébé, qui inclut également le père, en particulier dans son rôle de soutien affectif pour la mère. Voyons en quoi consiste cette branche intéressante de la psychologie et ce qu'elle étudie.

L’histoire des neuf mois précédant la naissance de l’humain est probablement beaucoup plus intéressante et contient plus d’événements mémorables que les 70 prochaines années. Samuel Taylor Coleridge, 1840.


  • Article connexe: "Anxiété durant la grossesse: causes, symptômes et comment la gérer"

L'importance de la psychologie de la grossesse

De la conception physique, et même avant , lors de la conception du futur bébé dans l’esprit de leurs parents, commence un processus de transformation de leur psyché, essentiellement de la femme, qui s’accélérera au cours de la grossesse et se consolidera au cours des mois et des années suivant la naissance .

La grossesse est conçue comme un moment de crise à partir de laquelle la femme enceinte développera une nouvelle identité: elle deviendra mère. Au cours de cette période, il est courant de passer en revue l’enfance elle-même, dont les souvenirs s’émergent facilement.


Il en va de même pour les blessures du passé, faisant de la grossesse un moment privilégié pour le travail psychothérapeutique, car ces blessures, qui gênent parfois la vie depuis des années, peuvent guérir beaucoup plus rapidement.

C’est une période de sensibilité croissante et de grande vulnérabilité, pour laquelle ils acquièrent une importance vitale. les soins apportés par l'environnement immédiat, le couple et la famille , ainsi que par les professionnels du système de santé.

Ambivalence émotionnelle

Pendant la grossesse, ils sont fréquents et totalement normaux, les sentiments dépressifs occasionnels . Il y a généralement une ambivalence émotionnelle, c'est-à-dire la coexistence de moments alternés de grande joie et d'espoir heureux, avec d'autres de craintes et de doutes quant à savoir si la bonne décision a été prise, s'il est temps d'interrompre la carrière professionnelle ou si vous serez capable d'assumer la responsabilité de la maternité.


Bien que ces sentiments ambivalents soient normaux, il est conseillé de porter une attention particulière à l'état d'esprit pendant la grossesse. et face à des émotions négatives persistantes, demander une aide psychologique .

Altérations psychologiques pendant la grossesse

Plusieurs études montrent une forte prévalence d'épisodes dépressifs pendant la grossesse. Certains parlent d'environ 10%, tandis que d'autres trouvent que jusqu'à 40% des femmes enceintes souffrent d'un type de symptôme dépressif.

Bien que la dépression postpartum soit mieux connue, environ la moitié des dépressions post-partum commencent pendant la grossesse . C’est pourquoi il est vivement recommandé de veiller à la santé mentale des femmes au cours de cette période, du point de vue de la prévention des futurs désordres, dans la mesure où il a un effet positif sur le bien-être de la dyade mère-bébé au cours des premiers mois.

Ces quatre questions peuvent servir de première orientation pour détecter d'éventuelles difficultés. Même si nous devons garder à l'esprit que chaque cas est unique et plein de nuances, si vous répondez positivement à l'un d'entre eux, il serait souhaitable d'approfondir l'évaluation psychologique de votre cas:

• Vous êtes-vous souvent senti déprimé, déprimé ou sans espoir? • Avez-vous souvent senti que vous avez perdu l'intérêt et le plaisir de faire les choses ? • Vous êtes-vous souvent senti nerveux, anxieux ou dépassé? • avez-vous ressenti incapable de contrôler ou d'arrêter vos soucis ?

Neuroscience de la grossesse

Si nous prenons en compte les découvertes des neurosciences et des profondes processus de transformation de votre cerveau produit par l'action d'hormones , il n’est pas surprenant que la femme enceinte assiste à un véritable tsunami émotionnel.

Pour commencer, il a été constaté que le cerveau pendant la grossesse réduisait son volume jusqu'à 7%. Cela signifie-t-il que nous perdons des capacités cognitives pendant la grossesse? Si c'était le cas, la nature se comporterait de manière tout à fait anormale.

Au contraire, ce qui se passe est une restructuration intense du cerveau , semblable à celui qui a lieu pendant la puberté.En fait, lors de l'adolescence et de la grossesse, une taille synaptique similaire se produit, associée à la crise de la vie intense et au changement d'identité que les deux moments de la vie supposent.

Il a été démontré qu’il augmentait la taille de la glande pinéale et de la matière grise dans les zones du cerveau liées au comportement maternel. C'est-à-dire avec empathie et la théorie de l’esprit, qui est la capacité de comprendre ce que l’autre ressent.

Le changement est tellement important que pour comparer l’image du cerveau d’une femme enceinte à celle d’une autre femme qui n’est pas enceinte, un expert du domaine peut dire avec une certitude à 100% laquelle des deux correspond à chaque image. Les changements sont clairs et évidents et peuvent être vus d'un coup d'œil.

Quelques femmes enceintes ils perçoivent une diminution de la mémoire et la capacité de concentration et d'attention . Cependant, les études semblent indiquer que ce qui est produit est plutôt un changement d'attention. Le bébé et ses soins, puisqu'il est dans l'utérus, monopolisent l'attention de la femme qui, pendant cette période, peut oublier plus souvent, par exemple, l'endroit où elle a laissé les clés.

Apparemment, non seulement il n’ya pas de déficit cognitif, mais on sait que l'interaction avec le bébé est capable de créer de nouveaux neurones dans le cerveau de la mère . Ainsi, étant donné la nature intense des changements produits dans le cerveau et le psychisme de la femme enceinte, qui la conduira au développement de son identité en tant que mère, il est d’une importance vitale de mettre l’accent sur les soins émotionnels pendant la grossesse. Sans oublier que le bien-être de la mère est aussi une source de santé, présente et future, pour son fils.

Pour apprendre plus...

Dans Advance Psychologists, un atelier sur la psychologie de la grossesse est donné, destiné aux femmes enceintes qui veulent approfondir ce sujet , pour vivre leur grossesse et faire face à la naissance de manière positive. Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez vous inscrire sur le lien suivant: //www.avancepsicologos.com/taller-de-psicologia-del-embarazo/

  • Article écrit par Sandra del Bosque Andrés psychologue Psychologues avancés

Auteur: Sandra del Bosque Andrés.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hoekzema, E.; Barba-Müller, E., Pozzobon, C .; Picado, M., Lucco, F., García-García, D., Soliva, J.C .; Tobeña, A .; Desco, M .; Crone, E.A., Ballesteros, A., Carmona, S., Vilarroya, O. (2016). "La grossesse entraîne des modifications durables de la structure du cerveau humain". Nature Rev. Neuropscience.
  • Joan Raphael-Leff. (2010). Ambivalence maternelle saine Études chez la mère 2 (1).

Etes vous prêts à devenir parents ? (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes