yes, therapy helps!
Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future

Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future

May 6, 2021

Many students start the Degree in Psychology thinking about dedicating themselves to Clinical Psychology, but as the degree progresses, they realize that it is increasingly difficult to devote themselves to that area of ​​psychology . Currently, one of the fields with the greatest professional output is the psychology of work and organizations, in which many psychologists spend part of the human resources department of a company.

Now, human resources and the psychology of organizations are not exactly the same, and to be a professional human resources is not an essential requirement to be a psychologist . On the other hand, an organizational psychologist, in addition to the human resources department, can perform its functions at the management level or in the area of ​​commercial research and marketing and even production.


In today's article we will review the functions of organizational psychology and we will delve into its differences with the human resources professional.

What is a work psychologist or organizations?

The work psychologist or organizations, also known as industrial psychologist or business psychologist, is a professional who applies the principles of psychology in the organizational and work environment. To do this, he has studied mental processes and human behavior (both individual and group), and puts into practice his training to solve problems in the workplace. Its general role covers the study, diagnosis, coordination, intervention and management of human behavior within organizations .


You can work as part of the company, that is, as an employee within the organization's own organizational chart (for example, in the selection and training department), although, on occasion, you can work as part of an external company outside the company. organization, carrying out functions of evaluation of performance, work environment and health of workers or offering coaching services for employees or managers, among other functions. Some organizational psychologists choose to develop their professional career as scientists or professors.

Functions of the work psychologist or organizations

Basically, the organizational or work psychologist has an important role in three major areas:

  • Human Resources (training, training, etc.)
  • Marketing and Social and Commercial Research.
  • Health and safety at work (Occupational Health Psychology)

But what are the functions it performs? Some of the functions of this professional are the following:


  • Plan, organize or direct different functions within the organization , such as the admission, evaluation, compensation, retention and development of people.
  • Observe, describe, analyze, diagnose and resolve conflicts in human interactions. In this way it ensures a good working environment and develop the organizational culture.
  • Analyze and modify the physical social and psychological elements that affect job performance and impact the efficiency of employees.
  • Apply questionnaires and interviews for the correct diagnosis of climate , productivity and occupational health, and carries out preventive actions to correct possible imbalances.
  • Advise the scorecard when necessary , for example, in terms of collective bargaining, possible business strategies, the improvement of the corporate image, etc.
  • Analyze and implement different psychological techniques to increase productivity, improve the organizational climate, avoid fatigue and prevent accidents or occupational health problems, such as: burnout or boreout.
  • Contribute your knowledge as an expert in leadership styles , interpersonal relationships, emotional control, negotiation techniques, decision making or proper planning.
  • Use tools to detect talent and improve organizational development , and conducts studies on consumer needs.
  • R ecomienda, and if possible put into practice, actions to encourage, compensate and remunerate to staff, as well as ensuring their well-being, safety and occupational health.
  • Responsible for the training area, and design training programs for the development of the personnel, as well as career plans and promotions.
  • Directs and executes personnel selection processes . For this, you can use different psychological tests and questionnaires to detect the competencies of the candidates.
  • Analyze the needs of personnel , the job and the organization.

Differences between the work psychologist and the human resources professional

It is common to refer to the organizational psychologist as the human resources professional, when they are different things. The organizational psychologist is a psychologist who has specialized in the field of organizations and work, while the human resources professional may not have training as a psychologist. In Spain, for example, there is a university degree that is called the Degree in Labor Sciences and Human Resources (which replaces the old Labor Relations Degree), which is why the professional profile of the latter is different from that of the organizational psychologist . Among the subjects taught in this career are occupational psychology subjects, but also other topics are taught such as labor and union law or taxation of individuals.

This happens because in the human resources department of a company not only functions of personnel selection or training are carried out, but also you can carry out collective bargaining or tasks such as payroll management . The profile of the psychologist of the organizations fits in some areas of this department of human resources, but not in all.

Training of the organizational psychologist

If you are a psychologist and want to dedicate yourself to organizational psychology, you should know that an organizational psychologist, unlike the human resources professional, has completed the Degree in Psychology. Some psychologists finish the race and then start working as recruiters or selection technicians and, after knowing the world of human resources, they are trained to cover other areas of HR, such as personnel management or labor law.

Others, however, after finishing the Degree in Psychology decide to do a master's degree. If your intention is that, you must choose between taking a Master's Degree in Human Resources Management or a Master's Degree in Organizational and Work Psychology. While the first one forms you in questions such as the budget, the payments and expenses of the personnel, the labor legislation, contracts, labor rights, worker safety systems (to avoid accidents), selection and training. The second one allows you to study the behavior of the individual within an organization and everything related to motivation, leadership, stress (and other work-related illnesses), the climate and work culture or the influence of psychological variables in the performance.

  • If you want to know more about the Masters in Psychology, you can visit our post: "The 20 best Masters in Psychology"

Bibliographic references:

  • Vázquez Beléndez, M. (2002). Psychology of Work and Organizations - Historical Approach. University of Alicante.
  • Etkin, J. (2000). Politics, Government and management of organizations, Buenos Aires, Editorial Prentice Hall. (Chapter 3: The factors of complexity).
  • Schlemenson, A. (2002). Talent strategy, Bs. As., Editorial Paidós. (Chapter 4 The meaning of work).
  • Lévy-Levoyer, C. (2000). The motivation in the company - Models and strategies Editorial Management 2000. (Part II From theory to practice - Cap 4, Cap 5 and Conclusions).

The Future of Work and Organizational Psychology: Emerging Issues and Trends. UCM (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir

Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir

Mai 22, 2019

De nombreux étudiants commencent le diplôme en psychologie en pensant se consacrer à la psychologie clinique, mais à mesure que le diplôme progresse, ils se rendent compte qu'il est de plus en plus difficile de se consacrer à ce domaine de la psychologie . Actuellement, la psychologie du travail et des organisations est l’un des domaines où la production professionnelle est la plus importante. De nombreux psychologues y consacrent une partie du service des ressources humaines.

Maintenant, les ressources humaines et la psychologie des organisations ne sont pas exactement les mêmes, et être un professionnel des ressources humaines n'est pas une exigence essentielle pour être un psychologue . D'autre part, un psychologue d'organisation, en plus du département des ressources humaines, peut exercer ses fonctions au niveau de la direction ou dans le domaine de la recherche commerciale, du marketing et même de la production.


Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous examinerons les fonctions de la psychologie organisationnelle et nous examinerons ses différences avec le professionnel des ressources humaines.

Qu'est-ce qu'un psychologue du travail ou une organisation?

Le psychologue du travail ou des organisations, également connu sous le nom psychologue industriel o psychologue d'entreprise, est un professionnel qui applique les principes de la psychologie dans l’environnement organisationnel et professionnel. Pour ce faire, il a étudié les processus mentaux et le comportement humain (individuel et en groupe) et a mis en pratique sa formation pour résoudre des problèmes sur le lieu de travail. Son rôle général couvre l'étude, le diagnostic, la coordination, l'intervention et la gestion du comportement humain au sein des organisations .


Vous pouvez travailler au sein de l'entreprise, c'est-à-dire en tant qu'employé au sein de l'organigramme de l'organisation (par exemple, dans le département de sélection et de formation), même si, à l'occasion, vous pouvez travailler dans le cadre d'une entreprise externe à l'entreprise. organisation, exerçant des fonctions d'évaluation des performances, de l'environnement de travail et de la santé des travailleurs ou offrant des services de coaching aux employés ou aux dirigeants, entre autres fonctions. Certains psychologues d’organisation choisissent de développer leur carrière professionnelle en tant que scientifiques ou professeurs.

Fonctions du psychologue du travail ou des organisations

Fondamentalement, le psychologue d’organisation ou de travail joue un rôle important dans trois domaines principaux:

  • Ressources humaines (formation, formation, etc.)
  • Le marketing et recherche sociale et commerciale.
  • Sécurité et hygiène au travail (Psychologie de la santé au travail)

Mais quelles sont les fonctions qu'il remplit? Certaines des fonctions de ce professionnel sont les suivantes:


  • Planifier, organiser ou diriger différentes fonctions au sein de l'organisation , tels que l'admission, l'évaluation, la compensation, la rétention et le développement des personnes.
  • Observer, décrire, analyser, diagnostiquer et résoudre des conflits dans les interactions humaines. De cette façon, il garantit un bon environnement de travail et développe la culture organisationnelle.
  • Analyser et modifier les éléments physiques, sociaux et psychologiques qui ont une incidence sur le rendement au travail et ont une incidence sur l'efficacité des employés.
  • Appliquer des questionnaires et des entretiens pour un diagnostic correct du climat , la productivité et la santé au travail, et mène des actions préventives pour corriger les éventuels déséquilibres.
  • Conseiller le tableau de bord si nécessaire par exemple, en termes de négociation collective, de stratégies commerciales possibles, d'amélioration de l'image de marque, etc.
  • Analyser et mettre en œuvre différentes techniques psychologiques augmenter la productivité, améliorer le climat organisationnel, éviter la fatigue et prévenir les accidents ou les problèmes de santé au travail, tels que l'épuisement professionnel ou l'ennui.
  • Apportez vos connaissances en tant qu'expert en styles de leadership , relations interpersonnelles, contrôle émotionnel, techniques de négociation, prise de décision ou planification appropriée.
  • Utiliser des outils pour détecter les talents et améliorer le développement organisationnel et mène des études sur les besoins des consommateurs.
  • R ecomienda, et si possible mettre en pratique des actions pour encourager, compenser et rémunérer au personnel, tout en assurant leur bien-être, leur sécurité et leur santé au travail.
  • Responsable de la zone de formation et conception des programmes de formation pour le développement du personnel, ainsi que des plans de carrière et des promotions.
  • Dirige et exécute les processus de sélection du personnel . Pour cela, vous pouvez utiliser différents tests et questionnaires psychologiques pour détecter les compétences des candidats.
  • Analyser les besoins du personnel , le travail et l'organisation.

Différences entre le psychologue du travail et le professionnel des ressources humaines

Il est courant de parler de psychologue de l'organisation en tant que professionnel des ressources humaines, lorsqu'il s'agit de choses différentes. Le psychologue d’organisation est un psychologue spécialisé dans le domaine des organisations et du travail, tandis que le professionnel en ressources humaines n’a peut-être pas de formation de psychologue. En Espagne, par exemple, il existe un diplôme universitaire appelé diplôme en sciences du travail et ressources humaines (qui remplace l'ancien diplôme en relations de travail), raison pour laquelle le profil professionnel de ce dernier est différent de celui du psychologue d'organisation . Parmi les matières enseignées au cours de cette carrière figurent la psychologie du travail, mais d'autres matières sont également enseignées, telles que le droit du travail et le droit syndical ou encore la fiscalité des personnes.

Cela se produit parce que, dans le département des ressources humaines d’une entreprise, non seulement des fonctions de sélection ou de formation du personnel sont effectuées, mais aussi vous pouvez effectuer des négociations collectives ou des tâches telles que la gestion de la paie . Le profil du psychologue des organisations s’inscrit dans certains domaines de ce département des ressources humaines, mais pas dans tous.

Formation du psychologue d'organisation

Si vous êtes un psychologue et que vous souhaitez vous consacrer à la psychologie organisationnelle, sachez qu’un psychologue d’organisation, contrairement au professionnel des ressources humaines, a obtenu son diplôme en psychologie. Certains psychologues terminent la course puis commencent à travailler comme recruteurs ou techniciens de sélection et, après avoir connu le monde des ressources humaines, ils sont formés pour couvrir d'autres domaines des ressources humaines, tels que la gestion du personnel ou le droit du travail.

D'autres, cependant, après avoir obtenu leur diplôme en psychologie, décident de faire une maîtrise. Si votre intention est que, vous devez choisir entre prendre une maîtrise en gestion des ressources humaines ou une maîtrise en psychologie organisationnelle et du travail. Tandis que le premier vous pose des questions telles que le budget, les paiements et les dépenses du personnel, la législation du travail, les contrats, les droits des travailleurs, les systèmes de sécurité des travailleurs (pour éviter les accidents), la sélection et la formation. La seconde vous permet d’étudier le comportement de l’individu au sein d’une organisation et tout ce qui concerne la motivation, le leadership, le stress (et d’autres maladies liées au travail), le climat et la culture du travail ou l’influence de variables psychologiques dans la société. la performance

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur le Master en psychologie, vous pouvez visiter notre post: "Les 20 meilleurs masters en psychologie"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Vázquez Beléndez, M. (2002). Psychologie du travail et des organisations - Approche historique. Université d'Alicante.
  • Etkin, J. (2000). Politique, gouvernement et gestion des organisations, Buenos Aires, éditorial Prentice Hall. (Chapitre 3: Les facteurs de complexité).
  • Schlemenson, A. (2002). Stratégie en matière de talents, Bs. As., Editorial Paidós. (Chapitre 4 Le sens du travail).
  • Lévy-Levoyer, C. (2000). La motivation dans l'entreprise - Modèles et stratégies Editorial Management 2000. (Partie II De la théorie à la pratique - Cap 4, Cap 5 et Conclusions).

Christophe Dejours - "De la centralité du travail" (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes