yes, therapy helps!
Psychopathic traits in the test of the human figure

Psychopathic traits in the test of the human figure

January 25, 2022

The projective test they are one of the psychodiagnostic tools that more clinical psychotherapists use. The basis of this is based on the fact that at the time of writing, drawing or speaking, we project different aspects of our personality, conflicts and even our aspirations unconsciously.

Usually, these tests have a psychoanalytic base, as we will remember was Sigmund Freud, father of psychoanalysis, who made the first explorations about the unconscious and its importance in our daily life.

Analyzing the way psychopaths draw human figures

An intense clinical experience has shown thatThe drawings of the human figure represent an intimate expression of the artist's personality . The Machover test is based on the theoretical foundation of the body schema that we project through the drawing. Today we will talk about this, one of the most widespread projective tests, used and accepted by the psychoanalytic community; At the same time, we will examine the graphic characteristics that tend to indicate some degree of psychopathy .


Learn more about psychopaths: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

Generalities regarding the drawing

Three aspects are very important when examining the drawing before inquiring about the characteristics projected in the human figure: dimension , the space and the position

It has been found in most drawings of psychopaths very large strokes, characteristic of a personality with remarkable exaltation of the ego . If we also find it in the middle of the page, we can affirm that the subject has a need to control their environment. If it is on the right we can assume that there are problems with authority and antisociality.


Hand in hand with the need to control, we find certain dependence on their environment (since the psychopath has a great need to exercise control) if in the drawing he presents accessory objects external to the human figure. Other generalities that we will find in drawings made by psychopaths are predominance of angles and picks, remarcamientos and intensity in the strokes. In addition, they usually start by drawing a figure of their own sex and usually the head will be the last trait they draw.

Head

How was expressed above, the head drawn by people with psychopathic personality it tends to be the last part of the body to be drawn In addition, it is usually disproportionately larger in relation to the size of the body, which is an indicator of egocentricity, megalomania and overvaluation of his intellectual capacity.

If this is also long it will be indicative of aggressiveness; if it is very marked, it will denote the need for domain; if there is no definite head contour, problems of connection to reality can be suspected. Lines of expression on the forehead and eyebrows that are highly populated or in the inward direction are indicative of latent aggressiveness. Detecting emphasis in the eyes indicates paranoid tendencies, while a penetrating or threatening look and also accentuated is a sign of latent hostility


Very often, in addition, there is a remarkable remark in the nostrils of psychopaths, which are interpreted as evidence of aggression. The emphasis on the mouth usually demonstrates verbal aggression and special tendency to irritability.

If the human figure is showing the language, there is orality at the primitive level in the subject. Undisputed signs of aggressiveness at the oral level are: the presence of teeth (much more if they show edge or expose the canines), angular or pointed features, draw the mouth as a thick line choppy. When the neck is long and also thin, the subject has trouble handling his impulses; the absence of this indicates that the subject is at their mercy.

The log

Another of the very particular characteristics that are often found in particularly aggressive psychopathic personalities that have physically attacked other people are: the exaltation of the chest that indicates narcissism, if it is also discovered adds hostility and arrogance; with muscular features accentuated is an aggressive subject.

In relation to the arms, the emphasis on the musculature and reinforcements in them show us aggressiveness and desires for physical power ; to find in the drawing the arms in "jarra" they show to a arrogant person and with anarchic tendencies; the long arms indicate material ambition. The angular hands are always indicative of antisociality to be parts of the body related to the bond and social contact.

This feature is also reinforced if we find fingers that are pointed or as an expressive claw. Fist-shaped hands indicate a strong pent-up aggressiveness.

Lower part of the body

If the legs are very reinforced, there is aggression; also if the legs are moving or as if they were kicking. Bare feet indicate primitive aggressiveness especially if nails are shown.

When the genital area is exposed, there is exhibitionism and / or lack of control of sexual impulses ; If the drawing is accentuated in the genital area as with excessive retouching, for example or thoroughness in the drawing of the closure there may be sexual disorders.

Other considerations

It should be remembered that you must always ask the subject to express a story about the human figure drawn, this story will complement the projective method will help us clarify some concerns about the drawing or

The clothing and actions performed by the individuals drawn can also provide us with many data that are usually especially compensatory, within the outfits that psychopathic personalities prefer to draw, we very often find that of a neat businessperson (my common in white collar delinquents) or someone who performs martial arts (with greater incidence in those who commit crimes of physical contact).

Finally, we insist that this projective test is complemented with others that allow to deepen the unconscious aspects of the personality of the individual.

Bibliographic references:

  • Portuondo, J.A., The human figure. Projective test of Karen Machover. Editorial New Library.

By the way, Are You a Psychopath? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Traits psychopathiques dans le test de la figure humaine

Traits psychopathiques dans le test de la figure humaine

Avril 22, 2019

Le test projectif ils constituent l’un des outils psychodiagnostiques que plus de psychothérapeutes cliniciens utilisent. La base de ceci est basée sur le fait qu'au moment où nous écrivons, dessinons ou parlons, nous projetons inconsciemment différents aspects de notre personnalité, des conflits et même de nos aspirations.

Habituellement, ces tests ont une base psychanalytique, comme nous nous en souviendrons, Sigmund Freud, père de la psychanalyse, qui a fait les premières explorations sur l’inconscient et son importance dans notre vie quotidienne.

Analyser la manière dont les psychopathes dessinent des figures humaines

Une expérience clinique intense a montré queLes dessins de la figure humaine représentent une expression intime de la personnalité de l'artiste . Le test de Machover est basé sur la base théorique du schéma corporel que nous projetons à travers le dessin. Nous allons parler aujourd'hui de ce test, l'un des plus répandus, utilisé et accepté par la communauté psychanalytique; Dans le même temps, nous examinerons les caractéristiques graphiques qui tendent à indiquer un certain degré de psychopathie .


En savoir plus sur les psychopathes: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

Généralités concernant le dessin

Trois aspects sont très importants lors de l’examen du dessin avant d’enquêter sur les caractéristiques projetées dans la figure humaine: Dimension , le espace et la position

Il a été trouvé dans la plupart des dessins de psychopathes de très gros traits, caractéristiques d'une personnalité avec une exaltation remarquable du moi . Si nous le trouvons également au milieu de la page, nous pouvons affirmer que le sujet a besoin de contrôler son environnement. Si c'est à droite, on peut supposer qu'il y a des problèmes d'autorité et d'antisocialité.


Main dans la main avec le besoin de contrôler, nous trouvons certaine dépendance vis-à-vis de leur environnement (puisque le psychopathe a un grand besoin d'exercer un contrôle) si, dans le dessin, il présente des objets accessoires extérieurs à la figure humaine. Les autres dessins que nous trouverons dans les dessins des psychopathes sont la prédominance des angles et des pointes, le remarcamientos et l’intensité des coups. En outre, ils commencent généralement par dessiner une figure de leur propre sexe et la tête sera généralement le dernier trait qu'ils dessineront.

La tête

Comment a été exprimé ci-dessus, la tête tirée par des personnes ayant une personnalité psychopathique il tend à être la dernière partie du corps à être dessinée De plus, il est généralement disproportionné par rapport à la taille du corps, ce qui est un indicateur de l'égocentrisme, de la mégalomanie et de la surévaluation de ses capacités intellectuelles.

Si cela est aussi long, cela indiquera de l'agressivité; s'il est très marqué, cela dénotera le besoin de domaine; s'il n'y a pas de contour de tête défini, des problèmes de connexion à la réalité peuvent être suspectés. Les lignes d'expression sur le front et les sourcils qui sont fortement peuplés ou dirigés vers l'intérieur indiquent une agressivité latente. Détecter l’emphase dans les yeux indique des tendances paranoïaques, alors que un regard pénétrant ou menaçant et accentué est un signe d'hostilité latente


Très souvent, en outre, il existe une remarque remarquable dans les narines des psychopathes, qui est interprétée comme une preuve d'agression. L'accent mis sur la bouche démontre généralement une agression verbale et une tendance particulière à l'irritabilité.

Si la figure humaine montre la langue, il y a oralité au niveau primitif dans le sujet. Les signes incontestés d’agressivité au niveau buccal sont les suivants: la présence de dents (bien plus si elles présentent un contour ou exposent les canines), de traits anguleux ou pointus, dessine la bouche en trait épais. Lorsque le cou est long et mince, le sujet a du mal à gérer ses impulsions; l'absence de ceci indique que le sujet est à leur merci.

Tronc

Les personnalités psychopathes particulièrement agressives qui ont agressé physiquement d'autres personnes sont une autre caractéristique très particulière: l'exaltation de la poitrine qui indique le narcissisme, si on la découvre également, ajoute à l'hostilité et à l'arrogance; avec des traits musculaires accentués est un sujet agressif.

Par rapport aux bras, l'accent mis sur la musculature et les renforts en eux nous montrent l'agressivité et le désir de puissance physique ; trouver dans le dessin les armes de "jarra" qu'ils montrent à une personne arrogante et à tendance anarchique; les bras longs indiquent une ambition matérielle. Les mains angulaires indiquent toujours que l'antisocialité est une partie du corps liée au lien et au contact social.

Cette caractéristique est également renforcée si nous trouvons des doigts pointus ou une griffe expressive. Les mains en forme de poing indiquent une forte agressivité refoulée.

Partie inférieure du corps

Si les jambes sont très renforcées, il y a agression; aussi si les jambes bougent ou comme si elles donnaient des coups de pied. Les pieds nus indiquent une agressivité primitive, surtout si les ongles sont visibles.

Lorsque la région génitale est exposée, il y a exhibitionnisme et / ou manque de contrôle des pulsions sexuelles ; Si le dessin est accentué dans la région génitale, par exemple avec des retouches excessives, par exemple ou si le dessin de la fermeture est minutieux, il peut y avoir des troubles sexuels.

Autres considérations

Rappelez-vous que vous devez toujours demander au sujet d’exprimer une histoire sur la figure humaine dessinée, cette histoire viendra compléter la méthode projective et nous aidera à clarifier certaines inquiétudes concernant le dessin o

Les vêtements et les actions réalisés par les individus dessinés peuvent également nous fournir de nombreuses données qui sont généralement particulièrement compensatoires, dans les tenues que les personnalités psychopathes préfèrent dessiner. quelqu'un qui pratique des arts martiaux (avec une incidence plus grande chez ceux qui commettent des crimes de contact physique).

Enfin, nous insistons pour que ce test projectif est complété par d’autres qui permettent d’approfondir les aspects inconscients de la personnalité de l'individu.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Portuondo, J.A., La figure humaine. Test projectif de Karen Machover. Nouvelle bibliothèque éditoriale.

Strange answers to the psychopath test | Jon Ronson (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes