yes, therapy helps!
Psychophysics: the beginnings of Psychology

Psychophysics: the beginnings of Psychology

July 19, 2024

Nowadays it is not strange to hear about psychology as a science or the figure of the psychologist in various fields related to the study of mind and behavior. But nevertheless, it is a relatively young scientific discipline and that he encountered various difficulties to arise.

And is that although the human mind has interested man since ancient times, it was not until 1879 when Wilhelm Wundt created the first laboratory of psychology and established psychology as a science. At that time and even before that, the beginnings of psychology are linked to the first attempts to measure the relationship between physical and mental aspects; that is, to psychophysics .


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

What is psychophysics?

Psychophysics is understood as the branch of psychology whose main object of study is the relationship between external stimulation and its qualities and the perception of a subject of such stimulation.

It is one of the first types of studies that were carried out in a scientific manner in which psychological aspects such as sensation and the evaluation of it were analyzed. The measurement of psychophysical aspects required highly accurate instruments and the elaboration of different techniques that allow the obtaining of valid and reliable data, being psychophysics in fact the direct precursor of psychometrics.


In psychophysics they began to develop models in which they began to assign a numerical value to the characteristics of the stimuli and the perception of these, being a pioneer in the quantitative research of mental phenomena. In other words, it measures the behavioral response to the physical stimulus. Psychophysics was born in a beginning dedicated to the study of visual perception , but later it will be enlarged so that it ended up extending to the study of the relationship between the physiological and the psychic.

It is assumed that the stimulation generates a physiological activation that ends up causing a sensation, although both components separately also have the potential to generate sensations by themselves.

Psychophysics has used different methods to measure the sensation . Among them we find the description by the subject of the perceived, the recognition of the perceived, the detection, the perception of the magnitude or the search for the stimulus.


  • Related article: "What is Physiological Psychology?"

The parents of psychophysics

While there are precursors in ancient Greece and numerous philosophers such as Hume, it is considered that the main parents of psychophysics were Weber and Fechner .

The first one is especially recognized for its experiments related to the stimulus detection threshold. Weber investigated the threshold of dual detection, or the level of separation necessary for a stimulus to be captured in a fragmented way (he used a compass on the subject's skin, and analyzed when he noticed a single stimulus and when he was able to discern the two points as separate stimuli.

These experiments were extended and deepened by Fechner, who would elaborate the law of Weber-Fechner and would analyze phenomena like the absolute threshold or the minimum of stimulation necessary to awaken a sensation and the differential threshold, previously proposed by Weber, in which the necessary difference is studied so that they notice changes in the perception of a stimulus.

Weber's law and the reformulations of Fechner and Stevens

Weber's investigations, and later Fechner's investigations, made it possible to formulate one of the first psychophysical laws. Specifically, it is established that we can differentiate between different stimuli depending on the intensity with which they present themselves. We distinguish between relative changes: we can not grasp the difference between two different stimuli that occur at the same time unless there is a concrete change in the intensity of these.

But if the intensity of the stimulus itself increases, there will also be an increase in the relative difference to grasp the existence of two different perceptions. Thus, this capacity for discernment requires that said increase in intensity be constant, based on the value of the variation with respect to the starting point.

For example, if we get two drops of rain very close together we may need a small separation to notice two sensations, while if we are the jets of a hose the separation between them should be somewhat larger to be perceived as different elements.

This law would be overcome and modified by the reformulations of Fechner and Stevens , which would eventually identify that sometimes an increase in the magnitude of the stimulus does not generate a proportional change in perception but sometimes generates a perceptive change much greater or much lower than expected.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Aleksandr Luria: biography of the pioneer of neuropsychology"

Original methodology

The methods used during the first moments of psychophysics were indirect when working from the measurement of the physical stimulus and obtaining the sensation from it. It is considered that the sensation could not be measured directly , being only associated with the magnitude of the stimulus. In this type of psychophysics there are three major types of methods.

Limits method

The experimenter presents series of different stimuli, which will be or not captured by the subject studied. The experimenter manipulates the intensity of the stimulus, the examinee having to say if he is able to perceive the stimulus or if a comparison stimulus is more, equal or less intense . The stimuli have a continuous increasing or decreasing order, going in series. There may be habituation or expectations.

Average error method

This type of methodology is based on the manipulation of the stimulus until a sensation change is generated, adjusting the stimulus according to the response of the subject. While it is comfortable and simple since it is the examinee himself who regulates the stimulation, can generate errors based on the expectation that the stimulus will grow or decrease in intensity and perception is biased.

Method of constant stimuli

This methodology of classical psychophysics is based on the use of predetermined intensities that remain constant , but unlike the limit method, the intensity of the stimulus varies randomly. It is usually the most used method since it allows to minimize errors and biases, although it generates more fatigue.

Direct methodology

In addition to Weber and Fechner, another of the great pioneering authors of psychophysics is Stevens. This author would consider the need for direct measurements of the sensation, creating estimation scales centered on the subjective sensation of the subject and his way of assessing that perception. The methods proposed by Stevens, which subsequently are those that have continued to be used in practice, would be the following

1. Method of the categories

Similar to a Likert-type scale, a series of stimuli are presented to the subject that must be classified according to various categories that are proposed.

2. Reason estimation method

Two stimuli of the same type are presented to the examinee at the same time, the latter having to assess the numerical relationship that exists between the two.

3. Reasons production method

The examinee must generate a stimulus from an initial stimulus and a proportionality relationship that the examiner presents . For example, the subject has to generate a light twice as bright as the one presented to him.

4. Magnitude estimation method

In the estimation of magnitudes the experimenter presents to the examinee a series of stimuli that the subject must assess numerically , presenting an example so that you have an approximate idea of ​​the value of a sample of the stimulation.

5. Method of production of quantities

This methodology is based on the fact that the explored subject generates the level of stimulation corresponding to the intensity that the experimenter proposes (for example, the intensity of the sound of the voice).

6. Interval estimation method

In it the subject must estimate the difference between two presented stimuli .

7. Method of production of intervals

This method assumes that the examinee recreates an interval within the stimuli, dividing them into different parts.

Effect in other branches of Psychology

Psychophysics allowed the beginning of the qualitative study of psychological aspects such as perceptions . In the long run, this initiative would allow psychometrics to end up gestating, which in turn allowed for the generation of scales and methodologies that allow us to measure much more cognitive and abstract aspects based on performance in tasks related to these elements. For example personality traits, aptitudes and attitudes or intelligence.

Some branches that have benefited from the contributions of psychophysics are clinical, work or educational psychology. In fact, it can even be applied to elements such as physiological activation triggered by fear.

Bibliographic references:

  • Higueras, B. and Muñoz, J.J. (2012). Basic Psychology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 08. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Goldstein, E.B. (2006). Sensation and Perception 6th edition. Debate: Madrid.
  • Fontes, S. and Fontes A.I. (1994). Theoretical considerations on psychophysical laws. Rev. de Psicol. Gral. Y Aplic., 47 (4), 191-195. National University of Distance Education (UNED).
  • University of Barcelona (s.f.) Classical and contemporary psychophysics. [Online]. Available at: //www.ub.edu/pa1/node/113.

Sensation & Perception - Crash Course Psychology #5 (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychophysique: les débuts de la psychologie

Psychophysique: les débuts de la psychologie

Juillet 25, 2022

De nos jours, il n’est pas étonnant d’entendre parler de la psychologie en tant que science ou de la figure du psychologue dans divers domaines liés à l’étude de l’esprit et du comportement. Cependant, c'est une discipline scientifique relativement jeune et qu'il se soit heurté à diverses difficultés.

Et est-ce bien que l'esprit humain ait intéressé l'homme depuis l'Antiquité, ce n'est qu'en 1879 que Wilhelm Wundt a créé le premier laboratoire de psychologie et a établi la psychologie en tant que science. A cette époque et même avant cela, les débuts de la psychologie sont liés aux premières tentatives pour mesurer la relation entre les aspects physique et mental; c'est-à-dire à la psychophysique .


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Qu'est-ce que la psychophysique?

La psychophysique est comprise comme la branche de la psychologie dont le principal objet d'étude est la relation entre la stimulation externe et ses qualités et la perception d'un sujet de cette stimulation.

Il s’agit d’un des premiers types d’études scientifiques à avoir analysé des aspects psychologiques tels que la sensation et son évaluation. La mesure des aspects psychophysiques nécessite des instruments très précis et l'élaboration de différentes techniques permettant d'obtenir des données valides et fiables, la psychophysique étant en fait le précurseur direct de la psychométrie.


En psychophysique, ils ont commencé à développer des modèles dans lesquels ils ont commencé à attribuer une valeur numérique aux caractéristiques des stimuli et à leur perception, en devenant un pionnier dans la recherche quantitative de phénomènes mentaux. En d'autres termes, il mesure la réponse comportementale au stimulus physique. La psychophysique est née d'un début consacré à l'étude de la perception visuelle , mais plus tard, il sera élargi pour finalement s’étendre à l’étude des relations entre le physiologique et le psychique.

Il est supposé que la stimulation génère une activation physiologique qui finit par provoquer une sensation, bien que les deux composants aient également le potentiel de générer des sensations par eux-mêmes.

Psychophysique a utilisé différentes méthodes pour mesurer la sensation . Parmi eux, on trouve la description par le sujet du perçu, la reconnaissance du perçu, la détection, la perception de la magnitude ou la recherche du stimulus.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie physiologique?"

Les parents de la psychophysique

Bien qu'il existe des précurseurs dans la Grèce antique et de nombreux philosophes tels que Hume, on considère que les principaux parents de psychophysique étaient Weber et Fechner .

Le premier est particulièrement reconnu pour ses expériences sur le seuil de détection de stimulus. Weber a étudié le seuil de double détection, ou le niveau de séparation nécessaire pour capturer un stimulus de manière fragmentée (il a utilisé une boussole sur la peau du sujet et a analysé le moment où il a remarqué un seul stimulus et quand il a pu discerner les deux stimuli séparés.

Ces expériences ont été prolongées et approfondies par Fechner, qui élaborerait la loi de Weber-Fechner et analyserait des phénomènes comme le seuil absolu ou le minimum de stimulation nécessaire pour éveiller une sensation et le seuil différentiel, proposé précédemment par Weber, dans lesquels la différence nécessaire est étudiée de manière à ce qu'ils remarquent des changements dans la perception du stimulus.

La loi de Weber et les reformulations de Fechner et Stevens

Les enquêtes de Weber, puis celles de Fechner, ont permis de formuler l'une des premières lois psychophysiques. Plus précisément, il est établi que on peut distinguer différents stimuli en fonction de l'intensité avec lequel ils se présentent. Nous distinguons les changements relatifs: nous ne pouvons pas saisir la différence entre deux stimuli différents qui se produisent simultanément, à moins d’un changement concret de l’intensité de ceux-ci.

Mais si l'intensité du stimulus augmente elle-même, la différence relative augmentera également pour saisir l'existence de deux perceptions différentes. Ainsi, cette capacité de discernement nécessite que ladite augmentation d'intensité soit constante, en fonction de la valeur de la variation par rapport au point de départ.

Par exemple, si nous obtenons deux gouttes de pluie très rapprochées, nous aurons peut-être besoin d'une petite séparation pour noter deux sensations, tandis que si nous sommes les jets d'un tuyau, la séparation entre eux devrait être un peu plus grande pour être perçue comme des éléments différents.

Cette loi serait surmontée et modifiée par les reformulations de Fechner et Stevens , ce qui finirait par identifier que parfois une augmentation de la magnitude du stimulus ne génère pas un changement de perception proportionnel mais génère parfois un changement de perception beaucoup plus grand ou beaucoup plus faible que prévu.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Aleksandr Luria: biographie du pionnier de la neuropsychologie"

Méthodologie originale

Les méthodes utilisées au cours des premiers moments de la psychophysique étaient indirectes lorsque l'on partait de la mesure du stimulus physique et en obtenait la sensation. On considère que la sensation ne peut être mesurée directement , étant uniquement associé à la magnitude du stimulus. Dans ce type de psychophysique, il existe trois principaux types de méthodes.

Méthode des limites

L'expérimentateur présente des séries de différents stimuli, qui seront ou non capturés par le sujet étudié. L'expérimentateur manipule l'intensité du stimulus, le patient devant dire s'il est capable de percevoir le stimulus ou si un stimulus de comparaison est plus, égal ou moins intense . Les stimuli ont un ordre croissant ou décroissant continu, allant en série. Il peut y avoir une habituation ou des attentes.

Méthode d'erreur moyenne

Ce type de méthodologie est basé sur la manipulation du stimulus jusqu'à ce qu'un changement de sensation soit généré, en ajustant le stimulus en fonction de la réponse du sujet. Bien que ce soit confortable et simple, puisque c’est le candidat lui-même qui régule la stimulation, peut générer des erreurs basées sur l'espoir que le stimulus grandira ou diminution de l'intensité et la perception est biaisée.

Méthode de stimuli constant

Cette méthodologie de la psychophysique classique est basée sur l'utilisation d'intensités prédéterminées qui restent constantes , mais contrairement à la méthode limite, l’intensité du stimulus varie de manière aléatoire. C'est généralement la méthode la plus utilisée car elle permet de minimiser les erreurs et les biais, bien qu'elle génère plus de fatigue.

Méthodologie directe

En plus de Weber et Fechner, Stevens est un autre des grands auteurs pionniers de la psychophysique. Cet auteur considérerait le besoin de mesures directes de la sensation, créant des échelles d’estimation centrées sur la sensation subjective du sujet et sur sa manière d’évaluer cette perception. Les méthodes proposées par Stevens, qui sont par la suite celles qui ont continué à être utilisées dans la pratique, seraient les suivantes:

1. Méthode des catégories

Semblable à une échelle de type Likert, une série de stimuli sont présentés au sujet et doivent être classés en fonction des différentes catégories proposées.

2. Méthode d'estimation de la raison

Deux stimuli du même type sont présentés au candidat en même temps, ce dernier devant évaluer la relation numérique existant entre les deux.

3. Raisons méthode de production

Le candidat doit générer un stimulus à partir d’un stimulus initial et une relation de proportionnalité que l'examinateur présente . Par exemple, le sujet doit générer une lumière deux fois plus brillante que celle qui lui est présentée.

4. Méthode d'estimation de la magnitude

Dans l'estimation des grandeurs, l'expérimentateur présente au candidat une série de stimuli que le sujet doit évaluer numériquement , en présentant un exemple pour que vous ayez une idée approximative de la valeur d’un échantillon de la stimulation.

5. Méthode de production des quantités

Cette méthodologie est basée sur le fait que le sujet exploré génère le niveau de stimulation correspondant à l'intensité proposée par l'expérimentateur (par exemple, l'intensité du son de la voix).

6. Méthode d'estimation d'intervalle

Le sujet doit estimer la différence entre deux stimuli présentés .

7. Méthode de production des intervalles

Cette méthode suppose que le candidat recrée un intervalle dans les stimuli, en les divisant en différentes parties.

Effet dans d'autres branches de la psychologie

Psychophysique permis le début de l'étude qualitative des aspects psychologiques tels que les perceptions . À long terme, cette initiative permettrait à la psychométrie de finir sa gestation, ce qui a permis la génération d'échelles et de méthodologies nous permettant de mesurer des aspects beaucoup plus cognitifs et abstraits basés sur la performance dans des tâches liées à ces éléments. Par exemple, traits de personnalité, aptitudes et attitudes ou intelligence.

Certaines branches qui ont bénéficié des apports de la psychophysique sont la psychologie clinique, du travail ou pédagogique. En fait, il peut même être appliqué à des éléments tels que l'activation physiologique déclenchée par la peur.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Higueras, B. et Muñoz, J.J. (2012). Psychologie de base Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 08. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Goldstein, E.B. (2006). Sensation et perception 6ème édition. Débat: Madrid.
  • Fontes, S. et Fontes A.I. (1994). Considérations théoriques sur les lois psychophysiques. Rev. de Psicol. Gral. Y Aplic., 47 (4), 191-195. Université nationale d'enseignement à distance (UNED).
  • Université de Barcelone (s.f.) Psychophysique classique et contemporaine. [En ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.ub.edu/pa1/node/113.

LA PREMIERE THEORIE A LIER PHYSIQUE ET PSYCHOLOGIE ! (LME12) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes